eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Social and religious data » Religious participation » Religious events

Religious events

Easter

Easter celebrations are an essential part of popular orthodoxy in Greece. The special emphasis put on Easter comes from the pre-Christian period, with the myths and rituals of Ancient Greece (...)

Easter celebrations are an essential part of popular orthodoxy in Greece. The special emphasis put on Easter comes from the pre-Christian period, with the myths and rituals of Ancient Greece associated with spring, death and renewal. The symbolism of Easter in Greece is also strongly related to the Greek revolution which took place in the spring of 1821. There are similarities between the resurrection of Christ and the resurrection of the Greek nation and the liberation of the Greeks from Ottoman rule. The ways Greeks participate in Easter festivities are, for example, by going to church at midnight on Saturday, for the mass of the resurrection of Christ, and almost universally, regardless of their religiosity. There are also different religious rites and folkloric Easter traditions according to the different regions of Greece. Thus, Orthodoxy seems to function as a cultural operator regardless of religious belief and the religious factor.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

Manifestations of popular religion

The cult of saints and the Virgin Mary is largely integrated into official church practice, without reference or mediation of the clergy. There are for example personal exchanges between the (...)

The cult of saints and the Virgin Mary is largely integrated into official church practice, without reference or mediation of the clergy. There are for example personal exchanges between the faithful and Christ, the Virgin Mary or the saints for different existential or material problems, in the form of promises and thanksgiving plaques.
The Orthodox religion in Greece is inseparable from icons. They play an essential role in the instruction and non-verbal practices of the Orthodox Church. They are the point of contact between the faithful and the sacred, that is to say symbolic representations of the sacred event that is commemorated in the liturgy and ways of encouraging the faithful to participate in the liturgy. In the Orthodox tradition, icons are particularly important because they represent and give public focus to the sacred through the representation of saints and the Virgin Mary in the form of historical characters. Certain icons are even linked to miracles, like the miraculous icon of the Virgin Mary on the island of Tinos through a divine vision of sister Pelagie in 1822, during the second year of the Greek revolution against the Ottomans. Today on this site there is the Panagia Cathedral (Virgin Mary) in Tinos which has become an important place of pilgrimage in Greece. It is a place of hope and a place for believers to come together, especially during the feast of the Annunciation on 15 March (date of Greece’s independence) and of the Virgin Mary on 15 August. These two dates are national and religious feast days in Greece.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Données socio-religieuses > Participation religieuse > Manifestations religieuses

Manifestations religieuses

Pâques

Les fêtes de Pâques sont un aspect essentiel de l’orthodoxie populaire en Grèce. L’accent particulier mis sur la fête de Pâques vient de la période pré-chrétienne, avec les mythes et les rituels de (...)

Les fêtes de Pâques sont un aspect essentiel de l’orthodoxie populaire en Grèce. L’accent particulier mis sur la fête de Pâques vient de la période pré-chrétienne, avec les mythes et les rituels de l’antiquité grecque associés au printemps, à la mort et au renouveau. Le symbolisme de Pâques en Grèce est aussi fortement lié à la révolution grecque qui a eu lieu au printemps 1821. On retrouve donc des parallèles entre la résurrection du Christ et la résurrection de la nation grecque et la libération du peuple grec de la domination ottomane. La participation des Grecs aux festivités de Pâques et, par exemple, la fréquentation de l’Eglise le samedi soir à minuit, pour la messe pour la résurrection du Christ, est presque universelle, indifféremment de leur religiosité. On retrouve aussi une diversité de rites religieux et de traditions folkloriques pascales selon les différentes régions de la Grèce. Ainsi, l’orthodoxie semble fonctionner comme opérateur culturel indépendamment de la croyance religieuse et du facteur religieux.

19 septembre 2012

Manifestations de la religion populaire

Le culte des saints et de la Vierge Marie est largement intégré à la pratique ecclésiastique officielle, sans référence ou médiation du clergé. On observe par exemple des échanges personnels entre les (...)

Le culte des saints et de la Vierge Marie est largement intégré à la pratique ecclésiastique officielle, sans référence ou médiation du clergé. On observe par exemple des échanges personnels entre les fidèles et le Christ, la Vierge Marie ou les saints pour différents problèmes existentiels ou matériels, sous forme par exemple de promesses et d’ex-voto.
Le culte orthodoxe en Grèce est inséparable des icônes. Elles jouent un rôle essentiel dans l’enseignement et dans les pratiques non verbales de l’Eglise orthodoxe. Elles sont le point de contact entre les fidèles et le sacré, c’est-à-dire des représentations symboliques de l’évènement sacré que l’on commémore dans la liturgie et des moyens pour encourager le fidèle d’y participer. Dans la tradition orthodoxe, les icônes sont particulièrement importantes puisqu’elles représentent et médiatisent le sacré au travers de la représentation des saints et de la Vierge Marie sous forme de personnages historiques. Certaines icônes sont même liées à des miracles, comme l’icône miraculeuse de la Vierge Marie à l’île de Tinos grâce à une vision divine de la sœur Pélagie en 1822, pendant la deuxième année de la révolution grecque contre les ottomans. Sur ce lieu, on trouve aujourd’hui la cathédrale de Panagia (Vierge Marie) à Tinos qui est devenue un grand centre de pèlerinage en Grèce. Il s’agit d’un lieu d’espérance et de rencontre des croyants, surtout pendant la fête de l’Annonciation du 15 mars (date de l’indépendance grecque) et de la Vierge Marie le 15 août. Ces deux dates sont des jours de fêtes nationales et religieuses en Grèce.

19 septembre 2012