eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Religions and society » Religions and social welfare

Religions and social welfare

The Church of Greece and social welfare

It was mainly after the Second World War that the Church of Greece developed its social work. In 1941 it created a national organisation of Christian aid. The 1977 legislation (law 590/1977) restructured the administrative system of the Church with respect to the official social role of the Church, through a direct reference of the Church as an official partner in the domain of social protection. Until the 70s, the Greek Orthodox Church’s social role was above all to provide local aid in times of crises and national emergency, within the context of its philanthropic and charitable mission.
The international conference was an important step that marked a change in the diacony (social service) of the Church; it took place at the Orthodox Academy of Crete in 1978. The views included in the texts of this conference were extremely important in developing the social mission of the Church of Greece. At the beginning of the 80s there was a change in the Church of Greece’s position towards a more concrete doctrine on philanthropy and diacony as well as on different social issues. In 1977 the Church created a Synodal Committee on social issues and, following the election of the Archbishop of the Church of Greece (Christodoulos) at the end of the 90s, the Church offered a more concrete form of social welfare in response to social issues and needs. Article 8 of law 2646/1998, which confirms the Church as an official member of the Greek Council on Social Protection, indicates its more active role in the social welfare domain. In 2002 there was also the Church’s proposal to develop social initiatives in cooperation with the State that would be financed by the European Union.
The activities and social programmes of the Church of Greece are generally organised at the national level (through 7 central organisms of the Church of Greece governed by the Holy Synod), at the regional level (through the Archdiocese of Athens and the other 80 metropolises) and at the local level (through parishes and several monasteries). Nevertheless, many social activities are carried out in a more informal way with the support of the Church but at the initiative of the people. The Church’s social services are organised locally through priests and the non-religious personnel of the parish. The Church has a vast network of volunteers. The social welfare initiatives of the Church cover a range of social services, such as providing meals, clothing, financial aid, medical care, diverse rehabilitation programmes and cultural activities for underprivileged people/groups, which include women, youth, the elderly and so forth.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Religion et société > Action sociale et religion

Action sociale et religion

L’Eglise de Grèce et l’action sociale

C’est surtout après la deuxième guerre mondiale que l’Eglise de Grèce a développé son travail social. En 1941, elle a créé une organisation nationale d’aide chrétienne. La législation 1977 (loi 590/1977) a restructuré le système de l’administration de l’Eglise vis-à-vis du role social officiel de l’Eglise, au travers d’une référence directe de l’Eglise en tant que partenaire officiel dans le domaine de protection sociale. Jusqu’aux années 70, le rôle social de l’Eglise orthodoxe grecque fut surtout de procurer de l’aide locale lors des moments de crise ou d’urgences nationales, dans le contexte de son oeuvre philanthropique et charitable.
Un étape importante qui a marqué un changement fut la conférence internationale sur la diaconie (service social) de l’Eglise, qui a eu lieu à l’Académie Orthodoxe de Crète en 1978. Les positions figurant dans les textes de cette conférence sont d’une grande importance pour le développement de la mission sociale de l’Eglise de Grèce. Au début des années 80 on constate un changement de la position de l’Eglise de Grèce avec une tendance à formuler une doctrine plus concrète sur la philanthropie et la diaconie et sur des diverses questions sociales. En 1977 l’Eglise a créé un Comite Synodal pour les questions sociales et, suite a l’élection de l’Archevêque de l’Eglise de Grèce (Christodoulos) à la fin des années 90, l’Eglise apporte une action sociale plus concrète en réponse aux questions et aux besoins sociaux. L’article 8 de la loi 2646/1998 confirmant l’Eglise en tant que membre officiel du Conseil Grec de Protection Sociale, est indicatif de son role plus actif dans le domaine d’action sociale. On note aussi la proposition en 2002 de l’Eglise de développer des initiatives sociales en collaboration avec l’Etat grec, financées par l’Union européenne.
Les activités et les programmes sociaux de l’Eglise de Grèce sont généralement mis en place au niveau national (au travers de 7 organismes centraux d’Eglise sous la direction du saint synode), au niveau régional (au travers de l’archidiocèse d’Athènes et les 80 autres métropoles) et au niveau local (au travers des paroisses et de divers monastères). Cependant, plusieurs activités sociales sont réalisées de façon plus informelle, avec l’appui de l’Eglise, mais par l’initiative des individus. Les services sociaux de l’Eglise sont mis en place localement au travers des prêtres et du personnel non-religieux au niveau paroissial. L’Eglise dispose aussi d’un grand réseau de volontaires. Les initiatives d’action sociale de l’Eglise couvrent une grande gamme de services sociaux, y compris la fourniture de nourriture, d’habillement, d’aide financière, de soin médicaux, de divers programmes de réhabilitation, et d’activités culturelles aux personnes/groupes défavorisées, y compris aux femmes, aux jeunes et aux personnes âgées, etc.

19 septembre 2012