eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Social and religious data » Religious belonging and religious demography

Religious belonging and religious demography

Homogeneousness and evolution

Greece is a relatively homogeneous country in terms of religion and ethnic groups. Official statistics show that approximately 95% of Greeks are Orthodox Christian (out of a population of (...)

Greece is a relatively homogeneous country in terms of religion and ethnic groups. Official statistics show that approximately 95% of Greeks are Orthodox Christian (out of a population of approximately 11 million). However, it is estimated that up to 10% of Greeks may have non-Orthodox beliefs. The religious and national homogeneousness is changing as a growing number of immigrants from different religious and ethnic backgrounds are settling in Greece. There are also a few religious minorities including Muslims, Catholics, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Protestants and Jews.

An analysis of religious belief and national belonging in Central and Eastern Europe (May 2017) is available on the Pew Research Center website (full report available as a pdf document).

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

A diffuse and popular religion

Greece’s religious landscape is highly marked by a popular and community religious culture and diffuse religion. Greek Orthodoxy, particularly marked by church attendance on special occasions, (...)

Greece’s religious landscape is highly marked by a popular and community religious culture and diffuse religion. Greek Orthodoxy, particularly marked by church attendance on special occasions, mainly operates as a point of reference and cultural reservoir, regardless of the degree of religious belief.
Religiosity in Greece is rooted in society in the liturgical sense and in several popular forms. In the Orthodox Church the clergy functions only as a mediator between God and the people. Thus, the priest’s role in Greece is first and foremost liturgical and charismatic. Furthermore, the lower clergy has always identified itself with the Greek people and the followers of the Church without forming a separate social class. Thus, there is a very relaxed relationship between individuals and the Church, which explains the popular character of Greek orthodoxy.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Données socio-religieuses > Appartenance et démographie religieuses

Appartenance et démographie religieuses

Homogénéité et évolution

La Grèce est un pays relativement homogène en termes religieux et ethniques : les statistiques officielles disent qu’approximativement 95% de la population grecque sont des chrétiens orthodoxes (sur (...)

La Grèce est un pays relativement homogène en termes religieux et ethniques : les statistiques officielles disent qu’approximativement 95% de la population grecque sont des chrétiens orthodoxes (sur une population d’approximativement 11 millions). Cependant, on estime que jusqu’à 10% de la population grecque pourrait avoir des croyance non Orthodoxes. L’homogénéité religieuse et nationale est en train de changer, car la Grèce accueille un nombre croissant de populations immigrées venant de divers milieux religieux et ethniques. On note aussi quelques minorités religieuses, y compris des Musulmans, des Catholiques, des Témoins de Jéhovah, des Protestants, et des Juifs.

Une analyse des croyances religieuses et de l’appartenance nationale en Europe centrale et orientale (mai 2017) est disponible sur le site de Pew Research Center (le rapport complet est disponible en pdf, en anglais).

19 septembre 2012

Une religion diffuse et populaire

Le paysage religieux en Grèce est fortement marqué par une culture de religion populaire et communautaire et de religion diffuse. L’orthodoxie grecque, marquée surtout par la participation au culte (...)

Le paysage religieux en Grèce est fortement marqué par une culture de religion populaire et communautaire et de religion diffuse. L’orthodoxie grecque, marquée surtout par la participation au culte pour des occasions spéciales, fonctionne principalement comme point de référence et réservoir culturel, indifféremment du degré de croyance religieuse.
La religiosité en Grèce est enracinée dans la société au sens liturgique et dans plusieurs formes populaires. Le clergé, dans l’orthodoxie, fonctionne seulement comme médiateur entre Dieu et les croyants. Ainsi, le rôle du prêtre en Grèce est avant tout liturgique et charismatique. Par ailleurs, le bas-clergé s’est toujours identifié au peuple grec et aux fidèles de l’Eglise sans former une classe sociale différente. Ainsi, on retrouve une relation très détendue entre l’individu et l’Eglise, dont découle le caractère populaire de l’orthodoxie grecque.

19 septembre 2012