eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Social and religious data » Principal religions and denominations

Principal religions and denominations

The role of the Orthodox Church

Orthodoxy is largely visible in social and political life in Greece and it extends to several domains. For example, religious symbols (icons) are authorised and often displayed in official (...)

Orthodoxy is largely visible in social and political life in Greece and it extends to several domains. For example, religious symbols (icons) are authorised and often displayed in official buildings and the clergy is invited to give blessings in the military service and prisons or during national civil celebrations, marches and presidential inaugurations, during the religious oath taken by members of Parliament.
Helleno-Orthodoxy, as a continuation of the Hellenism of Ancient Greece and Byzantium in the modern Greece of the 19th and 20th century, remains an essential element of Greek identity. It is, for that matter, based on this point that the Church of Greece continues to justify its presence as a legitimisation authority. At the same time it is a factor of duality and ambiguity that represents significant stakes for Greece as a country that must adapt to several affiliations.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

A particular profile

The current religious situation in Greece is characterised by a religious fusion that is both official (close relations between Church and State) and popular (popular rituals). Greece also has a (...)

The current religious situation in Greece is characterised by a religious fusion that is both official (close relations between Church and State) and popular (popular rituals). Greece also has a socio-religious profile that is relatively exceptional compared to Western Europe’s religious model: secularisation and modernity/religious post-modernity. Greece did not directly experience the Renaissance, the Reformation or the Enlightenment and is the only Orthodox country that did not experience communism.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Données socio-religieuses > Principales religions et Eglises

Principales religions et Eglises

La place de l’Eglise orthodoxe

L’orthodoxie dispose d’une grande visibilité dans la vie sociale et politique en Grèce qui s’étend dans plusieurs domaines. Par exemple, des symboles religieux (icônes) sont autorisés et souvent (...)

L’orthodoxie dispose d’une grande visibilité dans la vie sociale et politique en Grèce qui s’étend dans plusieurs domaines. Par exemple, des symboles religieux (icônes) sont autorisés et souvent affichés dans des bâtiments officiels, et le clergé est invité à donner des bénédictions dans le service militaire et les prisons, ou pendant des célébrations civiles nationales, des défilés et des inaugurations présidentielles, lors de la prestation de serment religieux par les parlementaires.
L’helléno-orthodoxie, en tant que continuité de l’hellénisme de la Grèce antique et de Byzance dans la Grèce moderne du 19eme et du 20eme siècle, reste aujourd’hui un élément essentiel de l’identité grecque. C’est d’ailleurs sur ce point que l’Eglise de Grèce continue à justifier aujourd’hui sa présence comme instance de légitimation. En même temps il est un facteur de dualité et d’ambiguïté qui présente des enjeux importants pour la Grèce en tant que pays qui doit s’accommoder de plusieurs appartenances.

19 septembre 2012

Un profil très particulier

La situation religieuse actuelle en Grèce est caractérisée par une fusion de religion officielle (relations proches entre Eglise-Etat) et populaire (rituels populaires). La Grèce a également un (...)

La situation religieuse actuelle en Grèce est caractérisée par une fusion de religion officielle (relations proches entre Eglise-Etat) et populaire (rituels populaires). La Grèce a également un profil socio-religieux relativement exceptionnel comparé au modèle religieux de l’Europe occidentale : sécularisation et modernité/post-modernité religieuse. La Grèce n’a pas directement vécu la Renaissance, la Reforme ou les Lumières et est le seul pays orthodoxe à ne pas avoir vécu le communisme.

19 septembre 2012