eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Law and religion » Provisions » Marriage

Marriage

Marriage

In 1982 the socialist government introduced a law on the institution of compulsory civil marriage. The Church was against compulsory civil marriage which would make religious marriage optional. (...)

In 1982 the socialist government introduced a law on the institution of compulsory civil marriage. The Church was against compulsory civil marriage which would make religious marriage optional. Thus, as a compromise solution (Law 1250/1982) civil marriage is not compulsory and both civil and religious marriages are equally valid.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos-Liederman

Divorce

The first proposal from a civil court on the legalisation of divorce dates back to 1920. In 1983, the socialist government introduced a law to institute an automatic divorce that is granted after (...)

The first proposal from a civil court on the legalisation of divorce dates back to 1920. In 1983, the socialist government introduced a law to institute an automatic divorce that is granted after a period of separation of 4 years. The Church was strongly opposed but in the end was forced to back down from its position.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos-Liederman

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Mariage

Mariage

Mariage

En 1982 le gouvernement socialiste a introduit une loi sur l’instauration du mariage civil obligatoire. L’Eglise s’est opposée à un mariage civil obligatoire qui rendrait le mariage religieux (...)

En 1982 le gouvernement socialiste a introduit une loi sur l’instauration du mariage civil obligatoire. L’Eglise s’est opposée à un mariage civil obligatoire qui rendrait le mariage religieux facultatif. Ainsi, dans une solution de compromis (loi 1250/1982), le mariage civil n’est pas obligatoire et les mariages civils et religieux sont également valides.

19 septembre 2012

Divorce

La première proposition par un tribunal civil sur la légalisation du divorce date de 1920. En 1983, le gouvernement socialiste a introduit une loi pour l’instauration du divorce automatique accordé (...)

La première proposition par un tribunal civil sur la légalisation du divorce date de 1920. En 1983, le gouvernement socialiste a introduit une loi pour l’instauration du divorce automatique accordé après une periode de séparation de 4 ans. L’Eglise y était fortement opposée, mais a dû finalement retirer sa position.

19 septembre 2012