eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Religions and society » Religious minorities

Religious minorities

General overview

This heading provides information on the social perception of religious groups in Greece. For further information concerning religious minorities in Greece, see the Social and religious data (...)

This heading provides information on the social perception of religious groups in Greece. For further information concerning religious minorities in Greece, see the Social and religious data heading.

  • Further information: see the Mineurel website of information on religious minorities, concerning Greece.

D 5 March 2012   

The status of religious minorities

Only the Muslim minority enjoys a special status and is recognised as a legal person under public law. The Ministry of Religious Affairs is responsible for appointing the two muftis (Komitini and (...)

Only the Muslim minority enjoys a special status and is recognised as a legal person under public law.
The Ministry of Religious Affairs is responsible for appointing the two muftis (Komitini and Xanthi) in western Thrace but this nomination is contested by the minority. The other minority religious groups, including the Catholics, are only recognised as private associations, which often poses a problem, especially with regards to protecting their property.
Indeed, authorisation from the Minister of Education (which relies on the advice of the Orthodox Church) and Religious Affairs is necessary to obtain a permit to construct or build a church or other place of worship. The religion must be recognised, its form of worship must not go against public order or morality and it must not practice proselytism. Taking into account Greek legislation on proselytism (article 13 of the Constitution), several cases (for example for Jehovah’s Witnesses or Catholics) of the Greek State rejecting authorisations were judged by the European Court (for example Manousakis vs. Greece in 1996). In the same perspective, Jehovah’s Witnesses were often prosecuted in Greece for proselytism, and in this case as well there have been several European Court judgements (for example Kokkinakis vs. Greece in 1992).

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos ASamim Akgönül

The Muslims of Thrace: a specific case

The specific case of Muslims living in Thrace, in the North of Greece, is governed by theTreaty of Lausanne of 1923 (in french). It stipulates Greece’s obligation (and Turkey’s for non-Muslims) to (...)

The specific case of Muslims living in Thrace, in the North of Greece, is governed by theTreaty of Lausanne of 1923 (in french). It stipulates Greece’s obligation (and Turkey’s for non-Muslims) to protect the religious, linguistic and educational freedoms of religious minorities.
The Muslim minority of Thrace seems homogenous, but it is divided, on a linguistic level, into three groups; Muslims of Turkish background, Pomaks and Roma. Minority schools, mainly primary schools but also two high schools, provide instruction solely in Turkish. Several years ago a quota was established for access to higher education for Greek Muslims.

D 19 September 2012    ALina Molokotos ASamim Akgönül

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Grèce > Religion et société > Minorités religieuses

Minorités religieuses

Présentation générale

Cette rubrique commente la présence sociale des minorités religieuses présentes en Grèce. Pour plus d’information sur les religions en Grèce, voir la rubrique Données socio-religieuses. Pour plus (...)

Cette rubrique commente la présence sociale des minorités religieuses présentes en Grèce. Pour plus d’information sur les religions en Grèce, voir la rubrique Données socio-religieuses.

  • Pour plus d’information, voir Mineurel, site d’information sur les minorités religieuses, sur la Grèce.
5 mars 2012

Le statut des minorités religieuses

Seule la minorité musulmane bénéficie d’un statut spécifique et est reconnue en tant que personne juridique de droit public. Le Ministère des Affaires Religieuses est responsable de la nomination des (...)

Seule la minorité musulmane bénéficie d’un statut spécifique et est reconnue en tant que personne juridique de droit public.
Le Ministère des Affaires Religieuses est responsable de la nomination des deux muftis (Komotini et Xanthi) en Thrace occidentale mais cette nomination est contestée par la minorité. Les autres groupes religieux minoritaires, y compris les catholiques, sont reconnus en tant qu’associations privées uniquement, ce qui a souvent posé problème, notamment en ce qui concerne la protection de leurs biens.
En effet, l’autorisation du Ministre de l’Education nationale (qui s’appuie sur l’avis de l’Eglise orthodoxe) et des Affaires Religieuses est nécessaire pour obtenir l’autorisation de construire ou de créer une église ou un autre lieu de prière. Il faut que la religion soit reconnue ; son culte ne peut pas être contraire à l’ordre public ou à la morale, et il ne doit pas exercer de prosélytisme. Compte tenu de la législation grecque sur le prosélytisme (article 13 de la Constitution), plusieurs cas (par ex. pour des Témoins de Jéhovah ou pour des Catholiques) de rejet des autorisations par l’Etat grec ont été jugés à la Cour Européenne (par ex. Manousakis vs. Grèce en 1996). Dans la même perspective, les Témoins de Jéhovah ont été souvent poursuivis en Grèce pour prosélytisme ; là encore, il y a plusieurs jugements de la Cour Européenne (par ex. Kokkinakis vs. Grèce en 1992).

19 septembre 2012

Un cas spécifique : les musulmans de Thrace

Le cas spécifique des musulmans vivant en Thrace, au nord de la Grèce, est réglé par le Traité de Lausanne de 1923. Celui-ci stipule l’obligation pour la Grèce (et la Turquie pour les non-musulmans) de (...)

Le cas spécifique des musulmans vivant en Thrace, au nord de la Grèce, est réglé par le Traité de Lausanne de 1923. Celui-ci stipule l’obligation pour la Grèce (et la Turquie pour les non-musulmans) de préserver la liberté religieuse, linguistique et éducative des minorités religieuses.
La minorité musulmane de Thrace montre un visage homogène, mais est divisée sur le plan linguistique entre les trois groupes qui la composent : musulmans d’origine turque, Pomaks et Roms. Les écoles minoritaires, principalement des écoles primaires mais aussi deux lycées, délivrent un enseignement uniquement en turc. Depuis quelques années, un quota est établi pour l’accès à l’enseignement supérieur des ressortissants grecs de confession musulmane.

19 septembre 2012