eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Switzerland » Country information

Country information

General overview

  • Area: 41 300 km²
  • Population: 8,200,000 hab - 24,3% not being of Swiss nationality suisse (2011)
  • Capital: Berne (137,919 inhabitants)
  • Largest cities and number of inhabitants: Zurich (378, 884 inhabitants), Geneva (201, 164 inhabitants), Basle (165, 041 habitants)
  • Official language and other languages: The Swiss Confederation is a multicultural country that has four national languages: Swiss-German (63.3%), French (22.7%), Italian (8.1%) and Romansh (0.5%) (Source Statistique Suisse)
  • Regions: 26 cantons(states), including 6 half cantons.
    Geneva, Neuchâtel, Argovia, St. Gall, Grischun, Soleure, Glarus, Freiberg, Lucerne, Thurgovia, Zug, Schaffhausen, Jura, Wallis, Schwyz, Uri, Ticino, Berne, Vaud, Zurich, Basle (Basle city and Basle country), Appenzell (Appenzell Inner Rhodes and Appenzell Ounter Rhodes), Unterwald (Nidwald and Obwald).

Source: the Swiss Portal

Switzerland is one of Western Europe’s smallest countries and is located in the middle of the continent, bordered by Germany, Austria, Italy and France. According to the survey conducted by the Office of Statistics in 2014, the majority of the population is Christian (69,9%). These were followed by no religious affiliation (23%), and Islamic communities (5,1%).

D 10 June 2016    AAnaïd Lindemann

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2024 eurel - Contact