eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Greece » Historical highlights » Historical survey » Organisation of the Church of Greece

Organisation of the Church of Greece

The Greek territory is divided in 5 distinct ecclesiastical jurisdictions: a) the Autocephalous Church of Greece (the Metropolitanates in Central Greece, the Peloponnesus, the Cyclades islands, the Ionian islands and Thessaly); b) the so-called Church of the ‘New Lands’ (the Metropolitanates in Macedonia, Epirus and Thrace), which are under the administrative jurisdiction of the Church of Greece, but spiritually depend from the authority of the Ecumenical Patriarch; c) the Church of the Dodecanese islands, which is entirely under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarch; d) the semi-autonomous Church of Crete; and e) the self-governed monastic community of Mount Athos.

November 2013

D 21 September 2013    AKonstantinos Papastathis

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact