eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Turkey » Historical highlights » Chronology » Some key dates

Some key dates

1071: The battle of Manzikiert, Turkish speaking mercenaries enter Asia Minor
1303: The Seljuk Empire collapses making way for Ottoman rule
1453: The Conquest of Constantinople by Sultan Mehmed II
1454: Establishment of the system of "millet" which separates the Ottoman society in autonomous groups according to the religious belonging
1512: Sultan Selim I becomes Caliph
1839: Secular reform movements called Tanzimat arise in the Ottoman Empire
1909: The Ottoman Grand Orient, the first Masonic Obedience of Turkey is formed
1916: Arab revolts leading to the separation of the Arab provinces from the Ottoman Empire
1920: The Empire is broken up after the Treaty of Sevres
1923: The Treaty of Lausanne is signed and the Turkish Republic is born
1924: The Caliphate is abolished and the royal family exiled. The Unification of Education law is passed
1925: Sufi brotherhoods are banned and their mausoleums shut down
1925: Sheikh Saïd leads a fundamentalist Kurdish revolt
1927: Secularism is adopted as a constitutional principle
1928: Latin alphabet replaces the Arabic alphabet
1930: Muslim revolts in Menemen
1934: Women are granted the right to vote and to stand for election
1937: Secularism becomes a constitutional principle
1938: Mustafa Kemal Atatürk dies
1950: The conservative Democratic Party comes to power
1950: 20 mausoleums are re-opened for pilgrimage purposes
1960: Military Coup d’etat
1961: Turkey’s second Constitution with very liberal influences is drafted
1970: The National Order Party is founded by Necmettin Erbakan (this party would later be banned in 1971)
1972: The National Salvation Party is founded by Necmettin Erbakan (it was later banned in 1980)
1974: The National Salvation Party takes part in government
1977: The National Salvation Party again takes part in government
1980: Military Coup d’etat. A new conservative and fascistic Constitution is drafted (still in force in 2016)
1984: The Welfare Party is founded by Necmettin Erbakan (later banned in 1998)
1996: The Welfare Party takes part in government
1998: The Virtue Party is founded by Necmettin Erbakan (later banned in 2001)
1999: The Helsinki European Council accepts Turkey’s application for membership of the European Union
2001: Erbakan forms the Felicity Party while the Justice and Development Party is founded by youth from Millî Görüş
2002: The Justice and Development Party wins the elections and forms a single-party government
2005: Turkey enters membership negotiations with the European Union
2014: Recep Tayyip Erdoğan is elected President of the Republic

D 6 June 2016    ASamim Akgönül

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact