eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Finland » Law and religion » Provisions » Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

The Evangelical Lutheran Church and the Orthodox Church are entitled to levy taxes. The church tax is collected together with state and communal taxation and its amount varies locally from 1% to (...)

The Evangelical Lutheran Church and the Orthodox Church are entitled to levy taxes. The church tax is collected together with state and communal taxation and its amount varies locally from 1% to 2%. In April 2015 Finnish parliament passed a law, which states that the Lutheran church no longer receives a part of the corporate tax levied by the state. Instead, the state finances the church directly with an index-linked funding. This is considered to be a compensation for the societal duties discharged by the Church, for example population registration, cemetery maintenance and maintenance of historical buildings. In 2016 this amount was 114 million euros. The Evangelical Lutheran parishes pay their own share of the tax collection costs to the state. The Orthodox Church is not obliged to do so. Other religious organizations finance their operations mostly through donations, membership fees and their own fundraising activities. Other religious organizations have been able to apply for state subsidies to support their activities from 2008 onwards. In 2015 the total amount was 200.000 euros but rose to 532.000 euros in 2016.

D 25 May 2017    AKimmo Ketola

Legal position of the Orthodox Church

The Finnish Orthodox Church is an autonomous Orthodox church that belongs to the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople. It has about 60,000 members. There is a special mention of the Orthodox (...)

The Finnish Orthodox Church is an autonomous Orthodox church that belongs to the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople. It has about 60,000 members. There is a special mention of the Orthodox Church in Freedom of Religion Act. In addition, there is a separate Law on the Orthodox Church approved by the Parliament of Finland, which came into effect in 2007. This Act replaced the earlier one from 1969. According to the 1969 Act, the Bishops’ Council and the Synod decided on spiritual matters of the Church. In addition, the Synod had the right to govern the Church administration in issues, which do not need a decision of the Government. However, the highest decision making body was the Government. According to the Law on the Orthodox Church from 2007, the Orthodox Church has a wide internal autonomy. The highest legislative bodies are the Church Assembly and the Council of Bishops, while the Synod is responsible for the church’s administration and executive functions. There are three dioceses in the Orthodox Church and the Office of the Archbishop is in Kuopio. The state´s subsidy for the Orthodox Church in 2016 was 2,5 million euros.

Updated by Tommi Heino

D 25 May 2017    AKimmo Kääriäinen

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Finlande > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

L’église évangélique luthérienne et l’église orthodoxe ont toutes deux le droit de percevoir des impôts. L’impôt ecclésiastique est perçu en même temps que l’impôt d’État et l’impôt communal, et son taux (...)

L’église évangélique luthérienne et l’église orthodoxe ont toutes deux le droit de percevoir des impôts. L’impôt ecclésiastique est perçu en même temps que l’impôt d’État et l’impôt communal, et son taux varie localement de 1 % à 2 %. En avril 2015, le parlement finlandais a adopté une loi énonçant que l’Église luthérienne ne percevrait plus une partie de l’impôt sur les sociétés prélevé par l’État. Au lieu de cela, l’État finance directement l’Église à l’aide d’une subvention indexée. Cette subvention est considérée comme une compensation pour les devoirs sociétaux accomplis par l’Église, notamment l’enregistrement de la population, l’entretien des cimetières et l’entretien des bâtiments historiques. En 2016, ce montant s’élevait à 114 millions d’euros. Les paroisses évangéliques luthériennes paient leur part des frais de recouvrement fiscal à l’État. L’Église orthodoxe n’est pas obligée de le faire. D’autres organisations religieuses financent leurs opérations principalement par des dons, des frais d’adhésion et leurs propres activités de collecte de fonds. D’autres organisations religieuses ont pu demander des subventions publiques pour soutenir leurs activités depuis 2008. En 2015, le montant total s’élevait à 200 000 euros, mais il est passé à 532 000 euros en 2016.

25 mai 2017

La situation juridique de l’Eglise orthodoxe

L’Église orthodoxe finlandaise est une Église orthodoxe autonome qui appartient au Patriarcat œcuménique de Constantinople. Elle compte environ 60 000 membres. La loi relative à la liberté de religion (...)

L’Église orthodoxe finlandaise est une Église orthodoxe autonome qui appartient au Patriarcat œcuménique de Constantinople. Elle compte environ 60 000 membres. La loi relative à la liberté de religion comporte une mention spéciale sur l’Église orthodoxe. En outre, il existe une loi distincte sur l’Église orthodoxe approuvée par le Parlement finlandais, entrée en vigueur en 2007. Cette loi remplace le texte précédent de 1969. Selon la loi de 1969, le Conseil des évêques et le Synode se prononçaient sur les affaires spirituelles de l’Église. En outre, le Synode avait le droit de gouverner l’administration de l’Église sur des questions ne nécessitant pas une décision du gouvernement. Cependant, le gouvernement était l’organe décisionnel le plus haut placé. Selon la loi sur l’Église orthodoxe de 2007, l’Église orthodoxe dispose d’une large autonomie au niveau interne. Les plus hautes instances législatives sont l’assemblée de l’Église et le conseil des évêques, tandis que le Synode est responsable de l’administration et des fonctions exécutives de l’Église. L’Église orthodoxe est composée de trois diocèses et le bureau de l’archevêque se trouve à Kuopio. La subvention de l’État pour l’Église orthodoxe s’élevait à 2,5 millions d’euros en 2016.

Mis à jour par Tommi Heino
25 mai 2017