eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Germany » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Religious education in public schools – juridical dispositions

In Germany, religious education is governed by article 7 of the Basic Law. Placing the entire curriculum under public control, this article implements religious education as a regular teaching (...)

In Germany, religious education is governed by article 7 of the Basic Law. Placing the entire curriculum under public control, this article implements religious education as a regular teaching subject in public schools, except in non-confessional schools. Parents can however decide for their child to follow religious lessons or not. From the age of 14, pupils can themselves decide to follow these lessons or not. No teacher can be forced to teach religion against his or her will.
As regards the content of religious teaching, the Basic Law stipulates that the religious education shall respect the principles of the religious communities without prejudicing the right of control by the State. Traditionally, religious lessons are organised by the Catholic and the Protestant Churches, the majority of the Länder imposing to follow a secular teaching of moral education (Ethik) to all the students who don’t belong to one of those communities.
The mere exception in the regulation governed by article 7 is the Bremen clause (art.141 of the Basic Law) which states: the first sentence of paragraph 3 of Article 7 shall not apply in any Land in which Land law provided otherwise on January 1, 1949. This clause is currently applied in the Länder of Bremen, Brandenburg and Berlin.

For further information, see the article "Religion in public education" of Hans Michael Heinig in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, European Consortium for Church and State Research, Trier, 2011, 167-194.

D 18 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig AMiriam Schader

Teachers wearing the Islamic headscarf

Analysis of the legal debates concerning public school teachers wearing headscarves, read article "Staat - Kirche - Kopftuch" by Michael Heinig.

Analysis of the legal debates concerning public school teachers wearing headscarves, read article "Staat - Kirche - Kopftuch" by Michael Heinig.

D 19 July 2012   

Denominational Islamic teaching at primary school

For the first time in Germany, denominational Islamic teaching has been introduced into around 20 primary schools in Hesse in time for the 2013/14 school year, in conformity with Article 7.3 of (...)

For the first time in Germany, denominational Islamic teaching has been introduced into around 20 primary schools in Hesse in time for the 2013/14 school year, in conformity with Article 7.3 of the Basic Law; it is modelled on Catholic or Protestant teaching delivered in state schools.
The DITIB (Turkish-Islamic Union for Religious Affairs) and the Muslim community Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat were designated as discussion partners of the Ministry of Education in Hesse in order to implement these courses. Some 440 pupils in the first year of primary school will be involved. It will be extended year after year to higher classes.
The courses are delivered in German by Muslim teachers who already teach other subjects. While legislation in Hesse prohibits wearing of the headscarf for female Muslim teachers and more generally within public office, they are authorised to wear a headscarf as a special dispensation within the framework of the lessons on religion.

For more information, see Frankfurter Rundschau and Focus.

January 2014

D 28 January 2014    ASylvie Toscer-Angot

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Allemagne > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Ecole

Ecole

Enseignement religieux à l’école publique – situation légale

En Allemagne, l’enseignement religieux est réglé par l’article 7 de la loi fondamentale. Plaçant tout l’enseignement scolaire sous contrôle public, cet article instaure l’instruction religieuse comme (...)

En Allemagne, l’enseignement religieux est réglé par l’article 7 de la loi fondamentale. Plaçant tout l’enseignement scolaire sous contrôle public, cet article instaure l’instruction religieuse comme matière d’enseignement régulière dans les écoles publiques à l’exception des écoles non-confessionnelles. Les personnes investies de l’autorité parentale ont néanmoins le droit de décider de la participation des enfants à l’instruction religieuse ; à partir de l’âge de 14 ans, les élèves peuvent en décider eux-mêmes. Aucun enseignant ne peut être obligé de dispenser l’instruction religieuse contre son gré.
Quant au contenu de cet enseignement, la loi fondamentale prévoit une instruction religieuse conforme aux principes des communautés religieuses, sans préjudice du droit de contrôle de l’Etat. Traditionnellement, les cours d’instruction religieuse sont organisés par les Eglises catholique et protestante, la plupart des Länder imposant la participation à un enseignement laïc d’instruction morale (Ethik) à tous les élèves non membres d’une de ces deux communautés.
La seule exception au règlement établie par l’article 7 est constituée par la clause de Brême (l’article 141 de la loi fondamentale) qui dit que l’article 7, al. 3, 1re phrase n’est pas applicable dans un Land où une disposition contraire du droit de Land était en vigueur au 1er janvier 1949. Cette clause est actuellement appliquée dans les Länder de Brême, Berlin et Brandebourg.

Pour plus d’information, voir l’article "Religion in public education" de Hans Michael Heinig in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, Consortium européen pour l’étude des relations Églises-État, Trèves, 2011, 167-194.

18 juillet 2012

Le port du foulard par les enseignantes

Pour une analyse des débats juridiques concernant le port du foulard par des enseignantes dans les écoles publiques, lire l’article "Staat - Kirche - Kopftuch" de Michael (...)

Pour une analyse des débats juridiques concernant le port du foulard par des enseignantes dans les écoles publiques, lire l’article "Staat - Kirche - Kopftuch" de Michael Heinig.

19 juillet 2012

Un enseignement islamique confessionnel à l’école primaire

Pour la première fois en Allemagne, un enseignement islamique confessionnel a été introduit en Hesse, lors de la rentrée scolaire 2013/2014, dans une vingtaine d’écoles primaires en conformité avec (...)

Pour la première fois en Allemagne, un enseignement islamique confessionnel a été introduit en Hesse, lors de la rentrée scolaire 2013/2014, dans une vingtaine d’écoles primaires en conformité avec l’article 7.3 de la Loi fondamentale, sur le modèle de l’enseignement catholique ou protestant confessionnel dispensé dans les écoles publiques.
Le DITIB (l’Union turco-islamique pour les affaires religieuses) et la communauté musulmane Ahmadiyya Muslim Jamaat ont été retenus comme interlocuteurs musulmans du ministère de l’éducation en Hesse pour la mise en place de cet enseignement. Il devrait concerner quelque 440 élèves de première année d’école primaire. Il sera étendu année après année aux classes supérieures.
Les cours sont dispensés en allemand par des professeurs musulmans qui enseignent déjà d’autres matières. Alors que la législation en Hesse interdit le port du foulard pour les enseignantes musulmanes, et de manière générale au sein de la fonction publique, elles sont autorisées à porter un foulard de manière dérogatoire dans le cadre du cours de religion.

Pour en savoir plus, voir Frankfurter Rundschau et Focus.

Janvier 2014
28 janvier 2014