eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Germany » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

The Reformation

The development of relations between society and religion in Germany was marked in the 16th century by the Reformation, particularly the Lutheran Reformation. Not only did the Protestant (...)

The development of relations between society and religion in Germany was marked in the 16th century by the Reformation, particularly the Lutheran Reformation. Not only did the Protestant Reformation establish the bi-denominational aspect that characteristics the religious situation to this very day, it also reinforced the political division among the territories of the German Empire. The policy of cuius regio eius religio (“he who rules, his religion”) formulated during the Peace of Augsburg (1555), guaranteed each Prince the freedom to determine whether Lutheranism or Catholicism was to prevail in their lands (ius reformandi - the right to regulate religion in your own state), at the same time subjects were granted the right to emigrate (ius emigrandi). This rule, which constitutes the Sectarian State, was proclaimed in the Treaty of Westphalia (1648) after the Wars of Religion of the 17th Century and also applies to the Protestant Reformed Religion. In the Protestant States the autonomy of political power is legitimised by Luther’s theory of the two kingdoms (Zwei-Reiche-Lehre), while the internal organisation of Protestant Churches follows the Catholic model, according to which place of residence determines to which parish or diocese one belongs.

D 10 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

Towards Secularisation

Under the impact of the French Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars, the territories were reorganised with the Reichsdeputationshauptschluss (1803), particularly through secularisation, that is, (...)

Under the impact of the French Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars, the territories were reorganised with the Reichsdeputationshauptschluss (1803), particularly through secularisation, that is, the loss of the Church’s property. The consequence was the internal dual denomination within political units and the separation between citizenship and religious affiliation. As a result, the Jewish population was granted the right to hold citizenship, a right it had previously been denied. However, the legal status of people belonging to independent Protestant Churches, voluntary associations that developed in the 19th century remained uncertain at the time, Protestant churches continued to function as State churches (Landeskirchen) controlled by the Princes as Summepiscopats. Indeed, the power of the State became stronger and this is evident through the union declared between the Lutheran and Reformed churches in Prussia (1817).

D 19 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

Prussian Rule

The unification of Germany under Prussian dominion (1871) intensified interdenominational conflict. While Protestantism was associated with German nationalism and imperialism, Catholicism (...)

The unification of Germany under Prussian dominion (1871) intensified interdenominational conflict. While Protestantism was associated with German nationalism and imperialism, Catholicism (representing one-third of the German population) was considered retrograde and disloyal by the political and intellectual elite. The Kulturkampf lead by Bismarck against Catholic ultramontanism and its political manifestation, the Zentrum Party (Centre Party), contributed to the stabilisation of denominational circles which only began to disband in the 20th century, after the sixties. On a legal level, the State officially ended the State Church in 1874 and introduced the Church Tax in 1875.

D 19 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

Separation of Church and State

The Weimar Constitution (1919) established the separation between Church and State (Art. 137.1: There shall be no State Church...), by recognising individual rights such as religious freedom and (...)

The Weimar Constitution (1919) established the separation between Church and State (Art. 137.1: There shall be no State Church...), by recognising individual rights such as religious freedom and religious equality. However, following the political action taken by conservative forces within Protestant Churches against social-democrat founders of the Republic, as religious societies (Religionsgesellschaften), the former State Churches were granted special status. They were attributed the status of corporations under public law (Körperschaften des öffentlichen Rechts) with an internal legal autonomy, they preserve the right to maintain Faculties of Theology in universities and religious instruction in schools and the State continues to levy Church Taxes. Other Churches and organisations are governed, as religious communities (Religiongemeinschaften), by the law on associations.

D 19 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

The “Religious Constitution” of 1933

The NSDAP already owed its electoral success during the Weimar Republic to the protestant population. The Nazi regime was openly supported by a fraction of the protestant churches, the “German (...)

The NSDAP already owed its electoral success during the Weimar Republic to the protestant population. The Nazi regime was openly supported by a fraction of the protestant churches, the “German Christian’s Faith Movement” (Glaubensbewegung Deutsche Christen). The Nazi regime cooperated with this fraction by reorganising protestant churches in the Religious Constitution (Reichskirchenverfassung) of 1933. At the same time, the regime concluded a concordat with the Vatican (Reichskonkordat), putting an end to the Zentrum (The Centre Party). In 1934, a minority opposition, known as the « Confessing Church » (Bekennende Kirche), began to form within the Protestant Church against the Nazi regime. This movement also influenced post-war Protestant Theology.

D 19 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

The “Two Germanys”

After 1945, the States founded on German territory referred to the Weimar Republic where legal relations between the Church and State were concerned. This was true for the Federal Republic of (...)

After 1945, the States founded on German territory referred to the Weimar Republic where legal relations between the Church and State were concerned. This was true for the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) whose Basic Law (Grundgesetz) upholds the pertinent articles of the Weimar Constitution (see 3.2), and for the first Constitution of the German Democratic Republic (GDR). In West Germany, the Lutheran, Reformed and United Churches that were organised in the Evangelical Church of Germany (EKD) and the Catholic Church, whose demographic influence was reinforced by the division of Germany, played an important role in the recognition of the new democracy and the integration of the population (Volkskirchen). Meanwhile, in East Germany, the State had adopted a secular policy, emphasised by the introduction of the Jugendweihe (1954), the elimination of religious articles in the new constitution (1969) and the control over Churches. The Churches reacted by adapting and in part, by opposing the regime.

D 19 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

The Reunification

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, which occurred due to opposition movements that were able to rally together within the Churches, the GDR and the FRG were reunited (1990). New Länder were (...)

After the fall of the Berlin Wall, which occurred due to opposition movements that were able to rally together within the Churches, the GDR and the FRG were reunited (1990). New Länder were created and they adopted constitutions that were in accordance with the Basic Law and with its religious articles. The Protestant Churches of East Germany were reintegrated in the EKD and the Catholic dioceses into the German Episcopal Conference.

D 19 July 2012    AMatthias Koenig

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Allemagne > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

La Réformation

Le développement des relations entre société et religion en Allemagne est marqué tout d’abord, au 16e siècle, par la Réformation, notamment dans sa version luthérienne. Non seulement la Réforme (...)

Le développement des relations entre société et religion en Allemagne est marqué tout d’abord, au 16e siècle, par la Réformation, notamment dans sa version luthérienne. Non seulement la Réforme protestante établit une bi-confessionalité qui caracterise la situation religieuse jusqu’à nos jours, mais elle renforça également la fragmentation politique des territoires de l’Empire germanique. Le principe cuius regio eius religio, formulé lors de la Paix des Religions d’Augsbourg (1555), garantit la liberté des Princes de determiner la confession (luthérienne ou catholique) dans leurs territoires (ius reformandi), tandis qu’aux sujets fut reconnu le droit d’émigrer (ius emigrandi). Cette règle, qui constitue l’état confessionnel, fut affirmée après les guerres de religion du 17e siècle dans le Traité de Westphalie (1648), et s’applique aussi à la confession reformée. Dans les États protestants, l’autonomie du pouvoir politique est legitimée par la théorie luthérienne des deux royames (Zwei-Reiche-Lehre), tandis que l’organisation interne des Églises protestantes y suit le modèle catholique, d’après lequel le lieu de résidence determine l’appartenance à une paroisse et un diocèse donnés.

10 juillet 2012

Vers la sécularisation

Sous l’impact de la Revolution Française et les guerres Napoléoniennes, les territoires furent re-organisé dans le Reichsdeputationshauptschluss (1803), notamment par la "sécularisation", (...)

Sous l’impact de la Revolution Française et les guerres Napoléoniennes, les territoires furent re-organisé dans le Reichsdeputationshauptschluss (1803), notamment par la "sécularisation", c’est-à-dire la dépossession des biens ecclesiastiques. La conséquence fut la bi-confessionalité interne dans les unités politiques et la séparation entre citoyenneté et appartenance confessionnelle. De ce fait, la population juive reçut le droit à la citoyenneté, dont elle était auparavant exclue. Cependant, le statut juridique des personnes appartenant aux églises protestantes libres, associations voluntaristes qui se développent au 19° siècle, reste incertain à l’époque, les églises protestantes continuant de fonctionner comme des églises d’état (Landeskirchen) gouvernées par les Princes en tant que Summepiscopats. Effectivement, le pouvoir étatique se renforça, comme le montre l’union décrétée entre l’église lutherienne et l’église reformée en Prusse (1817).

19 juillet 2012

La domination prusse

L’unification nationale de l’Allemagne sous la domination prusse (1871) renforça le conflit inter-confessionnel. Tandis que le protestantisme s’associa au nationalisme et imperialisme Allemand, le (...)

L’unification nationale de l’Allemagne sous la domination prusse (1871) renforça le conflit inter-confessionnel. Tandis que le protestantisme s’associa au nationalisme et imperialisme Allemand, le catholisme (un tiers de la population allemande), fut considéré par l’élite politique et intellectuelle comme retrograde et déloyal. Le Kulturkampf mené par Bismarck contre l’ultramontanisme catholique et sa manifestation politique, le parti du Zentrum, contribua à la stabilisation des milieus confessionnels qui ne commencèrent à se dissoudre qu’au 20° siècle, après les années soixante. Sur le plan juridique, l’État règla le départ formel de l’Eglise d’Etat (1874) et introduisit l’impôt ecclesiastique (1875).

19 juillet 2012

La séparation de l’Eglise et de l’Etat

La Constitution de Weimar (1919) établit la séparation entre État et Églises (Art. 137.1 : "il n’y a pas d’Église d’État"), en reconnaissant le droit individuel à la liberté religieuse et à l’égalité des (...)

La Constitution de Weimar (1919) établit la séparation entre État et Églises (Art. 137.1 : "il n’y a pas d’Église d’État"), en reconnaissant le droit individuel à la liberté religieuse et à l’égalité des confessions. Cependant, suite à la mobilisation politique des forces conservatrices dans les églises protestantes contre les fondateurs sociaux-démocrates de la République, un statut privilégié est garantit aux anciennes Églises d’État en tant que sociétés religieuses (Religionsgesellschaften). Il leur est reconnu le statut de corporations de loi publique (Körperschaften des öffentlichen Rechts) avec une autonomie juridique interne, elles conservent le droit à maintenir des facultés de théologie dans les universités et l’enseignement religieux à l’école, et l’État continue à préléver des impôts ecclesiastique. D’autres Églises et organismes sont régis, en tant que communautés religieuses (Religiongemeinschaften), par le droit privé d’association.

19 juillet 2012

La "Constitution écclésiastique" de 1933

Déjà, pendant la République de Weimar, la NSDAP devait ses succès électoraux au milieu protestant. Le régime nazi fut ouvertement soutenu par une fraction des églises protestantes, le "mouvement de foi (...)

Déjà, pendant la République de Weimar, la NSDAP devait ses succès électoraux au milieu protestant. Le régime nazi fut ouvertement soutenu par une fraction des églises protestantes, le "mouvement de foi des Chrétiens Allemands" (Glaubensbewegung Deutsche Christen). Le régime nazi coopéra avec cette fraction en réorganisant les églises protestantes dans la constitution ecclésiastique (Reichskirchenverfassung) de 1933. En même temps, le régime conclut un concordat avec le Vatican (Reichskonkordat), ce qui mit un terme à l’existence du Zentrum. Au sein de l’église protestante, une opposition minoritaire se forma contre le régime nazi en 1934 : l’"église confessante" (Bekennende Kirche), qui influença la théologie protestante d’après-Guerre.

19 juillet 2012

Les "deux Allemagnes"

Après 1945, les États fondés sur le territoire allemand se réfèrent, au plan des relations juridiques entre Églises et État, à la République de Weimar. Cela vaut pour la République Fédérale de l’Allemagne (...)

Après 1945, les États fondés sur le territoire allemand se réfèrent, au plan des relations juridiques entre Églises et État, à la République de Weimar. Cela vaut pour la République Fédérale de l’Allemagne (RFA), dont la Loi Fondamentale (Grundgesetz) maintient les articles pertinents de la Constitution de Weimar (voir 3.2.), mais également pour la première constitution de la République Démocratique de l’Allemagne (RDA). En Allemagne de l’Ouest, les Églises luthériennes, réformées et unies, qui furent organisées dans l’Église Protestante de l’Allemagne (EKD), ainsi que l’Église catholique, dont le poid démographique avait été renforcé par la partition du pays, jouèrent un rôle important dans la légitimation de la nouvelle démocratie et l’intégration de la population (Volkskirchen). Cependant, en Allemagne de l’Est, l’État adopta une politique séculariste, mis en évidence dans l’introduction de la Jugendweihe (1954), l’élimination des articles ecclésiastiques dans la nouvelle constitution (1968) et le contrôle des Églises. Celles-ci réagirent par l’accomodation au régime et, en partie, par l’opposition.

19 juillet 2012

La réunification

Après la chute du mur, due à des mouvements d’opposition qui avaient trouvé au sein des Églises un espace de mobilisation, la RDA fut réunifiée à la RFA (1990) ; de nouvelles Länder furent créés, qui (...)

Après la chute du mur, due à des mouvements d’opposition qui avaient trouvé au sein des Églises un espace de mobilisation, la RDA fut réunifiée à la RFA (1990) ; de nouvelles Länder furent créés, qui adoptèrent des constitutions conformes à la Loi Fondamentale et à ses articles ecclesiastiques. Les Églises protestantes de l’Est furent re-intégrées dans l’EKD, les diocèses catholiques dans la Conférence épiscopale de l’Allemagne.

19 juillet 2012