eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Portugal » Social and religious data » Other religious and non-religious groups

Other religious and non-religious groups

Other religions

Protestantism in Portugal has many acting denominations, especially of Evangelical and neo-Pentecostal denominations (e.g.: God’s Assembly and the Mana Church), or due to Brazilian immigration (e.g.: IURD, Igreja Universal do Reino de Deus Universal Church of God’s Kingdom).

The Jewish community in Portugal has managed to keep itself up to present days, in spite of order of expulsion dated December 5th 1496, by decree of the King Emanuel the First, obliging many to chose either forced conversions or effective expulsion from the country. Not to mention imprisonment and the subsequent penalties decreed by the Portuguese Inquisition, that, precisely for that motive, managed to be one of the most active in Europe. The way the cult took shape in the border town of Belmonte is one of the examples of the perseverance of Jews as a unity in Portugal. In Lisbon, in 1506, the Jews were massacred, and about 2.000 to 4.000 lost their lives, in one of the most violent conflicts of the time, at a European level.

There are also Hindu and Muslim minorities, formed almost entirely by the descendants of former immigrants, as well as some specific circles (some of them at a regional level) of Buddhists, Gnostics and Spiritists.

For further information: Paulo Mendes Pinto (dir.), Cosmovisões religiosas e espirituais. Guia didático de tradições presentes em Portugal, September 2016.

D 28 September 2012    AJosé Carlos Calazans ALuís Seabra Melancia APaulo Jorge Soares Mendes Pinto

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Portugal > Données socio-religieuses > Autres groupes religieux

Autres groupes religieux

Autres religions

Le protestantisme compte au Portugal beaucoup de confessions actives, principalement évangéliques et néo-pentecôtistes (par ex. les assemblées de Dieu et l’Eglise de Mana), ou liées aux immigrants brésiliens (par ex. l’Eglise Universelle du Royaume de Dieu).

La communauté juive portugaise est parvenue à perdurer jusqu’à présent malgré l’ordre d’expulsion du roi Emmanuel 1er le 5 décembre 1496. D’après ce décret, les juifs devaient se convertir, sinon ils étaient expulsés du pays. N’oublions pas que sous l’Inquisition portugaise, l’une des plus actives en Europe, les juifs étaient emprisonnés et punis. La communauté juive portugaise a réussi à toujours rester unie et dans la ville frontalière de Belmonte, le culte juif n’a jamais cessé d’exister en secret. A Lisbonne, en 1506, les juifs ont été massacrés, 2000 à 4000 d’entre eux périrent dans ce qui fut l’un des plus violents conflits de l’époque en Europe.

Il existe aussi des minorités hindoues et musulmanes, constituées pour la plupart par les descendants d’immigrés. On trouve également (parfois au niveau régional) certaines communautés de bouddhistes, de gnostiques et de spirites.

28 septembre 2012