eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » France » Law and religion » Provisions » Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

No public funding for faiths

The principle of no public funding for faiths is formulated in Article 2, paragraph 1 of the Law of 9 December 1905: “The Republic does not recognise, pay the salaries of, nor subsidise any (...)

The principle of no public funding for faiths is formulated in Article 2, paragraph 1 of the Law of 9 December 1905: “The Republic does not recognise, pay the salaries of, nor subsidise any faith”.

To date, the ban on public funding is a logical consequence of the end of the system of recognised religions, in force throughout the 19th century, which was based on the public law status of four religious groups - Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed and Jewish - organised and funded by the state. The separation of church and state logically entailed abolition of the public budget allocated to them and which mainly included salaries for ministers of worship and maintenance of religious communities’ built heritage. In addition to Article 2, one must mention the ban on subsidising religious associations which replaced the abolished state religious institutions and were “formed to support expenditure, maintenance and the public exercise of a faith” (Article 18). These associations must have practising a faith as their exclusive aim and, in particular, they cannot “in whatever form, receive subsidies from the state, départements or communes” (Article 19).

This no-funding rule has exceptions laid down by the legislator and administrative case law has also contributed to mitigate the effects of this ban.

D 16 April 2013    AAnne Fornerod

No public subsidies and principle of secularity

With the introduction and constitutionalization of the principle of secularity within the contemporary legal order, the secular state finds itself faced with two imperatives: that of implementing (...)

With the introduction and constitutionalization of the principle of secularity within the contemporary legal order, the secular state finds itself faced with two imperatives: that of implementing religious freedom and that of equality between the faiths, which derives from the principle of neutrality. The constitutional principle of secularity thus refers at first glance to an equilibrium that is not in principle opposed to financial intervention by public authorities; rather, it should, as appropriate, merge with it. Consequently, we find several interpretations in case law.

The decision by the Council of State of 15 February 2013 that “a ban on subsidising faiths, which cannot be compared to a cultural practice, has for over a century sought to guarantee - taking into account the history of the relationship between faiths and the French State - the neutrality of public persons with regard to faiths” (no. 347049). However, it should be noted that the Council of State had decided in March 2005 that “the constitutional principle of secularity which applies in French Polynesia and implies neutrality of the state and local authorities in the Republic and equal treatment for the different faiths, does not in itself forbid granting - in the public interest and under the conditions defined by law - certain subsidies for activities or equipment required by the faiths”. As for the Constitutional Council, it proposes a definition of the principle of secularity, from which it follows that the Republic does not recognize and pay the salaries of any faith... but it does not address the question of subsidies (21 Feb. 2013, no. 2012-297 QPC).

D 16 April 2013    AAnne Fornerod

Legal exceptions

Beyond the exceptions contained in the 1905 Act itself, the legislator has intervened on several occasions to correct situations which may prove to be discriminatory in a religious landscape that (...)

Beyond the exceptions contained in the 1905 Act itself, the legislator has intervened on several occasions to correct situations which may prove to be discriminatory in a religious landscape that is profoundly different from what it was in the early 20th century.

Article 2 should be read together with Article 1 of the Law of 1905, according to which “The Republic ensures freedom of conscience. It guarantees the free exercise of faiths subject solely to the restrictions published hereafter in the interest of public order”. These provisions can be construed as imposing a commitment by the state to protect the expression of religious beliefs, which extends to funding if necessary.

From among the exceptions, spiritual assistance should be cited first. Article 2 of the Law of 1905 provides that: “there could, however, be incorporated into said budgets expenditure relating to running chaplaincy services intended to ensure the free exercise of worship in public establishments, such as high schools, primary schools, old people’s homes, asylums and prisons.”

As regards the important issue of schools in the history of French secularity, one should highlight the Debré law of 31 December 1959; it deals with the relationship between the state and overwhelmingly Catholic private educational institutions, linking them to the public education service and, as such, organizing their funding.

In addition, religious activities and organisations benefit from a set of tax exonerations and deductions.

D 16 April 2013    AAnne Fornerod

Religious and cultural activities

Case law shows that the scope of the principle of no public subsidies covers strictly ritual practices, but also encompasses the activities of religious organisations, whether related or not to (...)

Case law shows that the scope of the principle of no public subsidies covers strictly ritual practices, but also encompasses the activities of religious organisations, whether related or not to such celebrations. The ban applies not only to all public subsidies for religious associations in the 1905 Act, but also to associations under the 1901 Act that have a broader purpose than exercising a faith and even if the subsidy is not aimed at this religious activity. Accordingly, due to its social and cultural activities, an association cannot benefit, for example, from tax exemptions designed for religious associations. But, because of these religious activities, it cannot receive public subsidies either, which constitute subsidies to faiths prohibited by Article 2 of the Law of 1905 (Council of State of 9 Oct. 1992, no. 94455).

D 16 April 2013    AAnne Fornerod

Council of State decisions of 19 July 2011

The Council of State has in some way put an end to a paradoxical aspect of the public subsidies of religious activites, and abandoned a wider understanding of worship in five decisions of 19 July (...)

The Council of State has in some way put an end to a paradoxical aspect of the public subsidies of religious activites, and abandoned a wider understanding of worship in five decisions of 19 July 2011 that open up a new approach to the legality of public funding. Generally speaking, one can read into the case law that it has been adapted to a renewed manifestation of religious practices in public within a secularised society, insofar as they should be welcomed and structured under the same conditions as other manifestations of social life.

The solution adopted in the Commune de Montpellier decision (no. 313518) follows this direction: the city had made premises for the exercise of worship available to an association for a renewable period of one year. The Council of State points out that “a commune cannot refuse the application to use such a room for the sole reason that this request is presented to it by an association with the aim of exercising a faith”. On the other hand, the commune could not authorise lasting and exclusive use of this room for an association to practise worship; it would then constitute a gift of a building of worship, flouting the 1905 Law.

The Communauté urbaine du Mans decision (no. 309161) concerns adapting disused municipal premises to install a temporary place of ritual slaughter during the feast of Eid al-Adha. The Council of State recalls that allocating the building must exclude any act of generosity, but above all, it submits its legality to the existence of “a local public interest arising out of the need that faiths be exercised under conditions conform to the requirements of public order, in particular public safety and public health, considering the distance from any slaughterhouse in which ritual slaughter is practised, in accordance with regulations”.

The Madame V. decision (no. 320796) deals with compatibility between administrative emphyteutic leases for the construction of places of worship and the ban on public funding for faiths. The issue was raised with regard to the amount of rent charged to the religious associations concerned, which sometimes symbolically could be likened to a subsidy. According to the Council of State, the legislator intended to “waive” the provisions of the Law of 9 December 1905 to allow local authorities to facilitate the realisation of such buildings.

Finally, two decisions relating to the Commune de Trélazé (no. 308544) and the Fédération de la libre pensée du Rhône (Rhône Federation of Free Thought) (no. 308817) both deal with the financial support that municipalities can offer religious cultural heritage. The first case concerns the purchase and installation of an organ in a parish church by the municipality, in order to organise cultural events. The second concerns a municipal subsidy for the installation of a disabled access ramp in the Basilica of Notre-Dame de Fourvière in Lyon. In both cases, the Council considered that the city’s financial intervention was motivated by cultural reasons, that its intention was to promote its religious heritage. So that the subsidy would be legal and not fall within the scope of Article 2 of the Law of 1905, these facilities and the equipment had to be in the local public interest, related specifically to the importance of the building for cultural development or else tourist and economic development in the local area. They had in no way to be intended for the exercise of worship. The fact that such facilities or equipment can, furthermore and incidentally, benefit people who practise the religion has no bearing on the legality of the subsidy.

D 16 April 2013    AAnne Fornerod

Funding places of worship

Article 19 of the Law of 1905, which prohibits subsidies for religious associations, does however provide for sums allocated to repair buildings used for public worship not to be considered as (...)

Article 19 of the Law of 1905, which prohibits subsidies for religious associations, does however provide for sums allocated to repair buildings used for public worship not to be considered as subsidies, whether or not the former are classified as historic monuments.

The Law of 29 July 1961 (Articles L. 2252-4 and L. 3231-5 of the General Local Authorities Code) also enables public authorities to guarantee loans contracted by religious organisations in order to finance the construction of places of worship in developing conurbations. Public aid can also take the form of emphyteutic leases (Article L.451-1 of the Rural Code) for the construction of a place of worship on the private domain of the local authority owner: the land is thus placed at the disposal of the association (religious or not) via a long term lease, at the end of which the building becomes the property of the local community. More recently, the Order of 21 April 2006 (Article L. 1311-2 CGCT) opened up the possibility of resorting to the administrative emphyteutic lease “in order to assign a building of worship open to the public to a religious organisation”, within the public domain of local authorities.

The Ministry of Interior issued a summary document in 2016: Gestion et construction des lieux de culte, guide pratique (Management and construction of places of worship, practical guide).

D 15 April 2016    AAnne Fornerod

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > France > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

Non-financement des cultes sur fonds publics

Le principe de non-financement des cultes sur fonds publics est formulé à l’article 2, alinéa 1er de la loi du 9 décembre 1905 : « La République ne reconnaît, ne salarie ni ne subventionne aucun culte ». (...)

Le principe de non-financement des cultes sur fonds publics est formulé à l’article 2, alinéa 1er de la loi du 9 décembre 1905 : « La République ne reconnaît, ne salarie ni ne subventionne aucun culte ».
L’interdiction du financement public est à cette date une conséquence logique de la fin du régime des cultes reconnus, en vigueur pendant tout le 19e siècle, qui reposait sur le statut de droit public de quatre groupes religieux – catholique, luthérien, réformé et israélite – organisés et financés par l’État. La séparation des Églises et de l’État se traduit alors logiquement par la suppression du budget public qui leur était consacré, et qui comprenait essentiellement le traitement des ministres du culte et l’entretien du patrimoine bâti des communautés religieuses. Il faut mentionner, outre l’article 2, l’interdiction de subventionner les associations cultuelles qui remplacent les établissements publics du culte supprimés et sont « formées pour subvenir aux frais, à l’entretien et à l’exercice public d’un culte » (art. 18). Ces associations doivent avoir pour objet exclusivement l’exercice d’un culte et, surtout, elles ne peuvent « sous quelque forme que ce soit, recevoir des subventions de l’État, des départements ou des communes ». (art. 19).
Cette règle du non-financement connaît des exceptions posées par le législateur et la jurisprudence administrative a également contribué à atténuer les effets de cette interdiction.

16 avril 2013

Non-subventionnement public et principe de laïcité

Avec l’introduction et la constitutionnalisation du principe de laïcité dans l’ordre juridique contemporain, l’État laïque se trouve face à deux impératifs : celui de la mise en œuvre de la liberté (...)

Avec l’introduction et la constitutionnalisation du principe de laïcité dans l’ordre juridique contemporain, l’État laïque se trouve face à deux impératifs : celui de la mise en œuvre de la liberté religieuse et celui de l’égalité entre les cultes qui découle du principe de neutralité. Le principe constitutionnel de laïcité renvoie donc à première vue à un équilibre qui ne s’oppose pas par principe à l’intervention financière des pouvoirs publics, avec laquelle il doit plutôt, le cas échéant, se combiner. Aussi trouve-t-on plusieurs interprétations en jurisprudence.
Il ressort d’un arrêt du Conseil d’État du 15 février 2013 que « la prohibition des subventions à l’exercice même d’un culte, lequel ne peut être assimilé à une pratique culturelle, poursuit depuis plus d’un siècle le but légitime de garantir, compte tenu de l’histoire des rapports entre les cultes et l’État en France, la neutralité des personnes publiques à l’égard des cultes » (n° 347049). Toutefois, il est à noter que le Conseil d’État avait jugé en 2005 que « le principe constitutionnel de laïcité qui s’applique en Polynésie française et implique neutralité de l’État et des collectivités territoriales de la République et traitement égal des différents cultes, n’interdit pas, par lui-même, l’octroi dans l’intérêt général et dans les conditions définies par la loi, de certaines subventions à des activités ou des équipements dépendant des cultes ». Quant au Conseil constitutionnel, il propose une définition du principe de laïcité, dont il découlerait que la République ne reconnaît et ne salarie aucun culte… mais il ne se prononce pas sur la question du subventionnement (21 févr. 2013, n° 2012-297 QPC).

16 avril 2013

Les exceptions légales

Au-delà des exceptions qui figurent dans la loi de 1905 elle-même, le législateur est intervenu à plusieurs reprises pour corriger les situations qui peuvent s’avérer discriminatoires dans un paysage (...)

Au-delà des exceptions qui figurent dans la loi de 1905 elle-même, le législateur est intervenu à plusieurs reprises pour corriger les situations qui peuvent s’avérer discriminatoires dans un paysage religieux profondément différent de ce qu’il était au début du 20e siècle.
L’article 2 doit être lu avec l’article 1er de la loi de 1905 selon lequel « La République assure la liberté de conscience. Elle garantit le libre exercice des cultes sous les seules restrictions édictées ci-après dans l’intérêt de l’ordre public ». Ces dispositions peuvent être interprétées comme imposant un engagement de l’État de protéger l’expression des croyances religieuses, qui se prolonge financièrement le cas échéant.
Parmi ces exceptions, il faut d’abord citer l’assistance spirituelle. L’article 2 de la loi de 1905 dispose que : « pourront toutefois être inscrites auxdits budgets les dépenses relatives à des services d’aumônerie et destinées à assurer le libre exercice des cultes dans les établissements publics tels que lycées, collèges, écoles, hospices, asiles et prisons. »
Au regard de l’importance de la question scolaire dans l’histoire de la laïcité française, il convient de signaler par ailleurs la loi Debré du 31 décembre 1959 sur les rapports entre l’État et les établissements d’enseignement privés, très majoritairement catholiques, qui les associe au service public de l’enseignement et organise à ce titre leur financement.
En outre, les organisations et activités religieuses bénéficient d’un ensemble d’exonérations et déductions fiscales.

16 avril 2013

Activités cultuelles et activités culturelles

Il ressort de la jurisprudence que le champ d’application du principe de non-subventionnement public couvre les pratiques strictement rituelles, mais vise également les activités des organisations (...)

Il ressort de la jurisprudence que le champ d’application du principe de non-subventionnement public couvre les pratiques strictement rituelles, mais vise également les activités des organisations religieuses, qu’elles soient en lien ou pas avec les célébrations. L’interdiction s’applique non seulement à toute subvention publique à des associations cultuelles de la loi de 1905, mais aussi à des associations de la loi de 1901 qui ont un objet plus vaste que l’exercice d’un culte et alors même que la subvention ne vise pas cette activité cultuelle. En conséquence, en raison de ses activités à caractère social et culturel, une association ne peut bénéficier, par exemple, des exemptions fiscales prévues pour les associations cultuelles. Mais du fait de ces activités religieuses, elle ne pourra pas non plus recevoir de subventions publiques qui constitueraient des subventions à un culte interdites par l’article 2 de la loi de 1905 (CE, 9 oct. 1992, n° 94455).

16 avril 2013

Les arrêts du Conseil d’État du 19 juillet 2011

Le Conseil d’État a d’une certaine façon mis fin à une dimension paradoxale du financement public des cultes et abandonné une conception élargie du culte dans cinq arrêts du 19 juillet 2011, qui (...)

Le Conseil d’État a d’une certaine façon mis fin à une dimension paradoxale du financement public des cultes et abandonné une conception élargie du culte dans cinq arrêts du 19 juillet 2011, qui offrent une nouvelle approche de la licéité du financement public. Il est possible de lire dans cette jurisprudence, de façon générale, une adaptation à l’expression renouvelée des pratiques religieuses dans l’espace public d’une société sécularisée, dans la mesure où elles devraient être accueillies et encadrées dans les mêmes conditions que d’autres expressions de la vie sociale.
La solution adoptée dans l’arrêt Commune de Montpellier (n° 313518) va dans ce sens : la Ville avait mis à disposition d’une association un local en vue de l’exercice du culte, pour une durée d’un an renouvelable. Le Conseil d’État rappelle qu’« une commune ne peut rejeter la demande d’utilisation d’un tel local au seul motif que cette demande lui est adressée par une association dans le but d’exercer un culte ». En revanche, la commune ne pourrait autoriser une mise à disposition pérenne et exclusive de cette salle pour une association pour l’exercice du culte ; il s’agirait alors d’un don d’édifice cultuel, en méconnaissance de la loi de 1905.
L’arrêt Communauté urbaine du Mans (n°309161) concerne l’aménagement de locaux municipaux désaffectés pour y installer un lieu d’abattage rituel temporaire lors de la fête de l’Aïd-el-Kébir. Le Conseil d’État rappelle que l’attribution du bâtiment doit exclure toute libéralité, mais surtout, il soumet sa légalité à l’existence d’« un intérêt public local tenant à la nécessité que les cultes soient exercés dans des conditions conformes aux impératifs de l’ordre public, en particulier de la salubrité publique et de la santé publique, du fait, notamment, de l’éloignement de tout abattoir dans lequel l’abattage rituel pût être pratiqué dans des conditions conformes à la réglementation ».
L’arrêt Madame V. (n°320796) traite de la compatibilité entre les baux emphytéotiques administratifs pour la construction de lieux de culte et l’interdiction de financer les cultes sur fonds publics. La question était soulevée au regard du montant du loyer demandé aux associations cultuelles impliquées qui, parfois symbolique, pouvait s’apparenter à une subvention. Selon le Conseil d’État, le législateur a voulu « déroger » aux dispositions de la loi du 9 décembre 1905 pour permettre aux collectivités territoriales de faciliter la réalisation de tels édifices.
Enfin, les deux arrêts Commune de Trélazé (n°308544) et Fédération de la libre pensée du Rhône (n°308817), ont en commun de traiter du soutien financier que les municipalités peuvent apporter au patrimoine culturel religieux. La première affaire concerne l’achat et l’installation d’un orgue par la municipalité, dans une église paroissiale, en vue d’organiser des manifestations culturelles. La seconde concerne une subvention municipale en vue de l’installation d’une rampe d’accès pour les personnes handicapées dans la basilique de Fourvière à Lyon. Dans les deux cas, le Conseil a considéré que l’intervention financière de la ville était motivée par des raisons culturelles, qu’elle avait en vue de valoriser son patrimoine religieux. Pour que la subvention soit légale et ne tombe pas dans le champ d’application de l’article 2 de la loi de 1905, ces aménagements et équipements doivent présenter un intérêt public local, lié notamment à l’importance de l’édifice pour le rayonnement culturel ou le développement touristique et économique du territoire. Ils ne doivent en aucun cas être destinés à l’exercice du culte. Le fait qu’un tel équipement ou aménagement puisse, par ailleurs et de façon accessoire, bénéficier aux personnes qui pratiquent le culte n’a pas d’incidence sur la légalité de la subvention.

16 avril 2013

Le financement des lieux de culte

L’article 19 de la loi de 1905 qui prohibe les subventions aux associations cultuelles prévoit cependant que ne sont pas considérées comme subventions les sommes allouées pour réparations aux édifices (...)

L’article 19 de la loi de 1905 qui prohibe les subventions aux associations cultuelles prévoit cependant que ne sont pas considérées comme subventions les sommes allouées pour réparations aux édifices affectés au culte public, qu’ils soient ou non classés monuments historiques.
La loi du 29 juillet 1961 (art. L. 2252-4 et L. 3231-5 du Code général des collectivités territoriales) permet par ailleurs aux collectivités publiques de garantir les emprunts contractés par les organisations cultuelles en vue de financer la construction de lieux de culte dans les agglomérations en voie de développement. L’aide publique peut également prendre la forme des baux emphytéotiques (art. L. 451-1 du Code rural), en vue de la construction d’un lieu de culte sur le domaine privé de la collectivité territoriale propriétaire : le terrain est ainsi mis à la disposition de l’association, cultuelle ou non, par un bail de longue durée au terme duquel l’édifice devient propriété de la collectivité locale. Plus récemment, l’ordonnance du 21 avril 2006 (art. L. 1311-2 CGCT) a ouvert la possibilité de recourir au bail emphytéotique administratif « en vue de l’affectation à une association cultuelle d’un édifice du culte ouvert au public », sur le domaine public des collectivités territoriales.

Le ministère de l’Intérieur a publié en 2016 un document récapitulatif : Gestion et construction des lieux de culte, guide pratique

15 avril 2016