eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Switzerland » Research and higher education

Research and higher education

Teaching in law of religions

The teaching of the law of religions in Switzerland covers two aspects: the study of ecclesiastical law focusing on regulations and the organisation of religious confessions (canon law for the (...)

The teaching of the law of religions in Switzerland covers two aspects: the study of ecclesiastical law focusing on regulations and the organisation of religious confessions (canon law for the Catholic churches) and the study of constitutional law governing relations between religious communities and the state (law of religions). In this regard, we may note that, since its founding in 1848, the federal state is responsible for ensuring the fundamental rights of religions, such as freedom of religion, while the cantons are those competent to regulate the legal status of religious communities.

The Faculty of Law in Fribourg possesses a chair in general theory of law, history of law, canon law and ecclesiastical law. Courses in law of religions and canon law are offered to students following a Bachelor’s or Master’s in law. The mention “law of religions” may be appended to them.

The Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva also offers courses in canon law in the Bachelor’s and Master’s courses in law. At the University of Lucerne, it is within the Faculty of Theology that courses in canon law are offered.

D 28 March 2013    AEmmanuelle Buchard

Teaching in sociology of religions

Courses in sociology of religions are, depending on the university, delivered in the faculties of theology, arts or social sciences.
The Faculty of Theology and Science of Religions at the (...)

Courses in sociology of religions are, depending on the university, delivered in the faculties of theology, arts or social sciences.

The Faculty of Theology and Science of Religions at the University of Lausanne offers a Bachelor’s in Religious Studies and two Master’s in Sociology of Religions: religious plurality in modern societies (quantitative and qualitative approaches) and social sciences of migrations: diaspora and migrations. Five other Master’s addressing the subject of religion are also offered: psychology of religion, multidisciplinary approaches to Judaism, history and anthropology of Christianities, transverse and marginalised religious traditions, religious traditions in India and the comparative history of religions.

The University of Fribourg also places emphasis on the sociological approach to the study of religions. The Faculty of Arts offers a B.A. in Religious Studies and an M.A. in “pluralist societies: cultures, policies and religions”.

The universities of Geneva, Lucerne and Zurich also offer courses in sociology of religions in their Bachelor’s and Master’s in history or studies of religions.

D 28 March 2013    AEmmanuelle Buchard

Research in law of religion

The Faculty of Law of the University of Fribourg has a law institute of religion. Studies in public law of religions are conducted internally. This research is concerned with the law of religion (...)

The Faculty of Law of the University of Fribourg has a law institute of religion. Studies in public law of religions are conducted internally. This research is concerned with the law of religion point of view and interreligious.

D 28 March 2013    AEmmanuelle Buchard

Research into sociology of religions

The Institute of Social Sciences and Contemporary Religions (ISSRC) of the University of Lausanne is an academic, non-denominational, interdisciplinary and pluri-methodological institute. Study (...)

The Institute of Social Sciences and Contemporary Religions (ISSRC) of the University of Lausanne is an academic, non-denominational, interdisciplinary and pluri-methodological institute. Study and research of religious phenomena focuses on three main areas: the psychology of religion, the social sciences of migrations and sociology of religions.

The Group of Researchers on Islam in Switzerland (GRIS) works on sociological studies aimed at a better understanding of Muslim life in Switzerland. The researchers are trying to create - through knowledge gained on the ground - links between Muslims and civil society.

The Swiss Institute of Pastoral Sociology (SPI) in St. Gallen conducts several research projects into the religious dimensions of citizens in our contemporary societies. It also focuses on the study of the influence and role of Christian and non-Christian religious communities in the Swiss context.

The Research Committee on Religion and Society (RES) is working to promote research on religions in Switzerland from a sociological perspective. It organises seminars, workshops and conferences related to this field of study.

D 28 March 2013    AEmmanuelle Buchard

Publications

A large amount of research in sociology and religious studies are supported by the Swiss National Research Fund. Their website publishes the results of several national research programmes (...)

A large amount of research in sociology and religious studies are supported by the Swiss National Research Fund. Their website publishes the results of several national research programmes focused on the religious phenomenon in Switzerland (NRP 58, Religions, the State and Society).

Many results of studies in sociology of religions are also published in the Swiss Journal of Sociology.

In the field of law, one review, published in the German Freiburger Veröffentlichungen zum Religionsrecht, brings together scientific treaties on the law of Christian and non-Christian churches, as well as on law governing relations between state and church.

D 28 March 2013    AEmmanuelle Buchard

Information

La Société suisse pour la science des religions (SSSR). Provides information on recent publications on the science of religions from members (individual or collective).
L’institut du droit des (...)

La Société suisse pour la science des religions (SSSR).
Provides information on recent publications on the science of religions from members (individual or collective).

L’institut du droit des religions.
Provides documentation on the Law of religions cantonal and federal as well as information on recent case law on these issues in the Swiss context.

Religioscope.
Offers information about religious events in Switzerland and in the wider world.

Le Centre intercantonal d’information sur les croyances (CIC).
Public information service on current religious groups in Switzerland, new spiritualities and religions emerging.

D 28 March 2013    AEmmanuelle Buchard

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Suisse > Enseignement et recherche

Enseignement et recherche

L’enseignement en droit des religions

L’enseignement du droit des religions en Suisse recouvre deux orientations : l’étude du droit ecclésiastique qui s’intéresse aux règlements et à l’organisation des confessions religieuses (le droit (...)

L’enseignement du droit des religions en Suisse recouvre deux orientations : l’étude du droit ecclésiastique qui s’intéresse aux règlements et à l’organisation des confessions religieuses (le droit canonique pour les Eglises catholiques) et l’étude du droit constitutionnel réglant les relations entre les communautés religieuses et l’Etat (droit des religions). A cet égard, relevons que, depuis sa fondation en 1848, l’Etat fédéral est responsable d’assurer les droits fondamentaux des religions, telle la liberté des cultes, tandis que les cantons sont compétents pour régler la situation juridique des communautés religieuses.

La Faculté de droit à Fribourg possède une chaire de théorie générale du droit, histoire du droit, droit canon et droit ecclésiastique. Des cours de droit des religions et de droit canonique sont proposés aux étudiants poursuivant un Bachelor ou un Master en droit. Une mention "droit des religions" peut y être ajoutée.

La Faculté de droit de l’université de Genève propose également des enseignements de droit canonique dans les cursus Bachelor et Master en droit. A l’université de Lucerne, c’est au sein de la Faculté de Théologie que des enseignements en droit canonique sont proposés.

28 mars 2013

L’enseignement en sociologie des religions

Les enseignements en sociologie des religions sont, selon les universités, dispensés dans les facultés de théologie, lettres ou sciences sociales.
La faculté de théologie et science des religions de (...)

Les enseignements en sociologie des religions sont, selon les universités, dispensés dans les facultés de théologie, lettres ou sciences sociales.

La faculté de théologie et science des religions de l’université de Lausanne offre un Bachelor en science des religions et deux Masters en sociologie des religions : la pluralité religieuse dans les sociétés modernes (approches quantitatives et qualitatives) et sciences sociales des migrations : diasporas et migrations. Cinq autres Masters abordant la thématique de la religion sont également proposés : psychologie de la religion, approches pluridisciplinaires du judaïsme, histoire et anthropologie des christianismes, traditions religieuses transversales et marginalisées, traditions religieuses de l’Inde et histoire comparée des religions.

L’université de Fribourg met également un accent sur l’approche sociologique de l’étude des religions. La faculté des Lettres propose un BA en science des religion et un MA "sociétés plurielles : cultures, politiques et religions".

Les universités de Genève, Lucerne et Zürich offrent également des enseignements de sociologie des religions dans leur Bachelor et Master en science ou histoire des religions.

Mars 2013
28 mars 2013

Recherche en droit des religions

La faculté de droit de l’université de Fribourg possède un institut de droit des religions. Des études en droit des religions public et interne y sont menées. Ces recherches s’intéressent au droit des (...)

La faculté de droit de l’université de Fribourg possède un institut de droit des religions. Des études en droit des religions public et interne y sont menées. Ces recherches s’intéressent au droit des religions d’un point de vue interconfessionnel et interreligieux.

28 mars 2013

Recherche en sociologie des religions

L’institut de sciences sociales des religions contemporaines (ISSRC) de l’Université de Lausanne est un institut universitaire non-confessionel, interdisciplinaire et pluriméthodologique. L’étude et (...)

L’institut de sciences sociales des religions contemporaines (ISSRC) de l’Université de Lausanne est un institut universitaire non-confessionel, interdisciplinaire et pluriméthodologique. L’étude et la recherche concernant les phénomènes religieux sont menées selon trois axes : la psychologie de la religion, les sciences sociales des migrations et la sociologie des religions.

Le groupe de recherche sur l’islam en Suisse (GRIS) développe des études sociologiques visant une meilleure connaissance de la réalité musulmane en Suisse. Les chercheurs tentent de créer - à travers des savoirs issus du terrain - des liens entre les musulmans et la société civile.

L’institut suisse de sociologie pastorale (SPI) de Saint-Gall mène plusieurs recherches sur les dimensions religieuses des citoyens dans nos sociétés contemporaines. Il se penche également sur l’étude de l’influence et du rôle des communautés religieuses chrétiennes et non chrétiennes dans le contexte suisse.

Le comité de recherche Religion et société (RES) œuvre à la promotion de la recherche sur les religions en Suisse dans une perspective sociologique. Il organise des colloques, workshops et conférences en lien avec ce domaine d’étude.

28 mars 2013

Publications

Un nombre important de recherches menées en sociologie, science des religions sont soutenues par le Fonds national Suisse de la recherche. Leur site publie les résultats de plusieurs programmes (...)

Un nombre important de recherches menées en sociologie, science des religions sont soutenues par le Fonds national Suisse de la recherche. Leur site publie les résultats de plusieurs programmes nationaux de recherches qui se sont concentrés sur le phénomène religieux en Suisse (PNR 58, Collectivités religieuses, Etat et société)

De nombreux résultats d’études menées en sociologie des religions sont également publiés dans la Revue suisse de sociologie.

Concernant le domaine du droit, une revue, publiée en allemand Freiburger Veröffentlichungen zum Religionsrecht, rassemble des traité scientifiques sur le droit des Eglises chrétiennes et non-chrétiennes ainsi que sur le droit relevant des relations entre État et Eglise.

28 mars 2013

Informations

La Société suisse pour la science des religions (SSSR) propose des indications sur les publications récentes relatives à la science des religions émanant des membres (collectifs ou individuels). (...)

La Société suisse pour la science des religions (SSSR) propose des indications sur les publications récentes relatives à la science des religions émanant des membres (collectifs ou individuels).

L’institut du droit des religions propose des documentations sur le droit des religions cantonal et fédéral ainsi que des informations sur la jurisprudence récente concernant ces questions dans le contexte suisse.

La plateforme Religioscope propose des informations sur les événements religieux en Suisse et dans le monde plus largement.

Le Centre intercantonal d’information sur les croyances (CIC) est un service d’information public sur l’actualité des groupes religieux en Suisse, sur les nouvelles spiritualités et les religions émergentes.

28 mars 2013