eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Turkey » Law and religion » Provisions » Marriage

Marriage

Precedence of the civil mariage

Since the adoption of the Swiss Civil Code in 1926, the Muslim family and personal law no longer have legal value in Turkey. On the other hand, for social reasons, the religious weddings (imam (...)

Since the adoption of the Swiss Civil Code in 1926, the Muslim family and personal law no longer have legal value in Turkey. On the other hand, for social reasons, the religious weddings (imam nikahi) remain the prestigious choice for the socio-religious legitimation of a union among the rural population and lower classes. They are no longer practiced by the higher classes.
Legally, the religious wedding must be preceded by the civil ceremony. The Imams - must of them Government workers - are required to refuse to marry a couple in a religious ceremony if the couple fails to present a civil marriage certificate. In actual fact, every year especially in the summer, the town council organises civil marriage campaigns during which couples that have already been joined in religious ceremonies participate, sometimes in their hundreds. This clearly shows that often, the religious union precedes the civil ceremony.
Polygamy is illegal although isolated cases exist among the Kurds in the South-East where certain tribal customs are still practiced.

D 8 October 2012    ASamim Akgönül

Changes in the Civil Code

Since the Civil code was recently modified in 2001 and 2005, the man no longer has the status of family head. The couple is jointly responsible for their home, both represent their family as well (...)

Since the Civil code was recently modified in 2001 and 2005, the man no longer has the status of family head. The couple is jointly responsible for their home, both represent their family as well as provide for its needs. They jointly decide where to live, how to manage family life and share the financial responsibilities (Art. 186).

D 8 October 2012    ASamim Akgönül

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Turquie > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Mariage

Mariage

Antériorité du mariage civil

Depuis 1926, date de l’adoption du Code civil suisse, le droit de famille et le droit personnel musulmans n’ont plus aucune valeur en Turquie. En revanche le mariage religieux (imam nikahi) garde (...)

Depuis 1926, date de l’adoption du Code civil suisse, le droit de famille et le droit personnel musulmans n’ont plus aucune valeur en Turquie. En revanche le mariage religieux (imam nikahi) garde sociologiquement son prestige en tant que légitimation socioreligieuse de l’union dans les couches rurales et populaires, alors que dans la moyenne bourgeoise il n’est plus pratiqué.
Juridiquement, le mariage religieux doit être précédé par le mariage civil et les imams, fonctionnaires pour la plupart, ont l’obligation de refuser d’unir un couple religieusement s’il ne présente pas l’acte de mariage civil. Dans les faits, chaque année, notamment en été, les campagnes de mariage civil organisées par les mairies auxquelles participent parfois des centaines de couples déjà mariés religieusement démontrent qu’il arrive souvent que le mariage religieux précède le mariage civil.
La polygamie est interdite mais des cas isolés existent notamment chez les Kurdes du sud-est anatolien où certaines relations tribales sont encore en usage.

8 octobre 2012

Modifications du code civil

Depuis les récentes modifications du Code civil en 2001 et 2005, l’homme n’est plus le chef de famille. La responsabilité ainsi que la représentation du foyer est partagée par les deux époux comme (...)

Depuis les récentes modifications du Code civil en 2001 et 2005, l’homme n’est plus le chef de famille. La responsabilité ainsi que la représentation du foyer est partagée par les deux époux comme d’ailleurs le devoir de subvenir aux besoins de la famille. Les deux époux choisissent ensemble l’habitation, dirigent ensemble la famille et partagent les responsabilités financières (art. 186).

8 octobre 2012