eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Turkey » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Religious instruction

From the time the Republic was founded, several initiatives concerning religious education have been carried out besides a unified system of education. The aim is to create a religious culture (...)

From the time the Republic was founded, several initiatives concerning religious education have been carried out besides a unified system of education. The aim is to create a religious culture peculiar to the Turkish State, marking a break with former system. In this context, a law on the unification of education throughout the country was voted on 13 March 1924. At the same time, the madrasas (learning centres) existing under the old system were closed down and replaced with 29 "imam and preacher schools". Similarly, a theology faculty was opened at the University of Istanbul.

D 8 October 2012    ASamim Akgönül

Compulsory religious education

Article 24 of the Turkish Constitution states: "Education and instruction in religion and ethics shall be conducted under State supervision and control. Instruction in religious culture and moral (...)

Article 24 of the Turkish Constitution states: "Education and instruction in religion and ethics shall be conducted under State supervision and control. Instruction in religious culture and moral education shall be compulsory in the curricula of primary and secondary schools. Other religious education and instruction shall be subject to the individual’s own desire, and in the case of minors, to the request of their legal representatives".
Only members of the three official minority religions (Greek, Armenian Orthodox, and Jewish) are exempted. On the other hand, young Alevi children are required to follow the Sunni curriculum in school.
Following several reforms which took place in the years 2010, Islam now has a dominant place in public education. The Islamist trend currently in power introduced so-called "elective" courses on the life of the Prophet and other religious matters. Since 2011, approximately one-third of normal secondary schools have been transformed in schools of imams and preachers.

For further information see Nurcan Kaya, Forgotten or assimilated Minorities in the education system of Turkey, Minority Rights Group International, 2009.

D 6 June 2016    ASamim Akgönül

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Turquie > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Ecole

Ecole

L’instruction religieuse

Dès le début de la République, à côté d’un enseignement unifié, plusieurs initiatives ont concerné l’instruction religieuse, l’objectif étant de créer une religiosité spécifique à la Turquie en rupture avec (...)

Dès le début de la République, à côté d’un enseignement unifié, plusieurs initiatives ont concerné l’instruction religieuse, l’objectif étant de créer une religiosité spécifique à la Turquie en rupture avec l’ancien régime. Dans ce cadre, une loi visant l’unicité de l’éducation sur l’ensemble du territoire turc a été votée le 13 mars 1924. Dans le même temps, toutes les madrasas de l’ancien régime ont été fermées et remplacées par 29 "écoles d’imams et de prédicateurs". Parallèlement, une Faculté de théologie a été ouverte au sein de l’Université d’Istanbul.

8 octobre 2012

Un enseignement religieux obligatoire

L’article 24 de la constitution turque énonce que "L’éducation et l’enseignement religieux et éthique sont dispensés sous la surveillance et le contrôle de l’Etat. L’enseignement de la culture religieuse (...)

L’article 24 de la constitution turque énonce que "L’éducation et l’enseignement religieux et éthique sont dispensés sous la surveillance et le contrôle de l’Etat. L’enseignement de la culture religieuse et de la morale figure parmi les cours obligatoires dispensés dans les établissements scolaires du primaire et du secondaire. En dehors de ces cas, l’éducation et l’enseignement religieux sont subordonnés à la volonté propre de chacun et, en ce qui concerne les mineurs, à celle de leurs représentants légaux."
Seuls en sont dispensés les membres des trois minorités reconnues, c’est-à-dire les Grecs, les Arméniens et les Juifs. En revanche, les enfants alévis sont obligés de suivre cette instruction au sunnisme.
Depuis les réformes successives dans les années 2010, la religion musulman sunnite a une place prépondérante dans l’enseignement public. Le pouvoir de tendance islamiste a introduit des cours « optionnels » sur la vie du prophète et autres matières religieuses. Depuis 2011, approximativement le tiers des écoles publiques secondaires normales ont été transformées en écoles d’imams et de prédicateurs.

Pour en savoir plus, voir Nurcan Kaya, Forgotten or assimilated Minorities in the education system of Turkey, Minority Rights Group International, 2009.

6 juin 2016