eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Turkey » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

The islamisation of the Turkish-speaking and the conversion of the natives

Between the 9th and the 11th Century, the Turkish-speaking tribes from Central Asia settled in numbers, first, in the Caucasus Mountains and later in the Persian area and finally in Asia Minor. (...)

Between the 9th and the 11th Century, the Turkish-speaking tribes from Central Asia settled in numbers, first, in the Caucasus Mountains and later in the Persian area and finally in Asia Minor. During this period, these tribes progressively converted into Islam.
Heterodox movements coexisting with the classical Sunnite culture and local popular religions in a Christian environment penetrated the Anatolian Seldjoukid State between the 11th and the 13th Century. This Anatolian Islam, living in close coexistence with other religions, especially the Christian Orthodoxes and imprinted with pre-Islamic Turkish beliefs, is characterised by brotherhoods and Sufism.

D 8 October 2012    ASamim Akgönül

The Ottoman Empire

During the Ottoman Empire (15th-20th Century), the official Islam adopted a dogmatic and regressive attitude. This was mostly due to the establishment of a class of ulemas who were at the service (...)

During the Ottoman Empire (15th-20th Century), the official Islam adopted a dogmatic and regressive attitude. This was mostly due to the establishment of a class of ulemas who were at the service of the Sultan, from then on called Caliph (1512). The ottoman power given to the Orthodox Islam started persecuting the other heterodox religions such as Alevism and its brotherhood expression called Becktachism since the 16th Century.
Even though the Ottoman Empire was theocratic, it however, managed to establish an original system of religious coexistence called millets. These are ethno-religious groups with their individual religious hierarchy. The millets system evolved over time to take, in the 19th Century, both a national and religious nature. It gave rise to the use of religion in the formation of the nation, especially in the Balkans.

During this period of the formation of the nation, the Turkish Muslims living in Asia Minor slowly began to affirm itself, through a double process: firstly, with the arrival, throughout the 19th Century, of Muslims coming from the Balkans and the Caucasus to settle in Anatolia, as these regions were gaining independence with time and secondly, they chased out non-Muslim populations from Anatolia. This eviction was on the one hand, exile and genocide of the Armenians who were accused of betraying the "sublime door" by forming allies with Russia in the World War I; on the other hand, the mandatory exchange of people between Greece and Turkey in 1923, which led to the expulsion of the Anatolian Orthodox population. The continental Greece and the Aegean Islands were at the same time stripped of their Muslim population (see the Treaty of Lausanne under the heading Legal status – main texts).

D 8 October 2012    ASamim Akgönül

The Turkish Republic

The foundation of the Turkish Republic and its recognition by the international community in 1923 were followed by a period of coercive westernisation during which the proponents of the theory of (...)

The foundation of the Turkish Republic and its recognition by the international community in 1923 were followed by a period of coercive westernisation during which the proponents of the theory of Mustafa Kemal held an anti-religious position. Religion was considered to be the reason why the Ottoman Empire was primitive. In this regard, numerous spectacular measures were taken in order to reduce the weight of religion in people’s lives, for example, the abolition of the caliphate and the nationalisation of education in 1924, banning of brotherhoods in 1925 and finally, the integration of the principle of secularism in the constitution in 1927. However, in the same time, religion was still considered to have a dangerous influence in the society and as a result, the State was set to control Muslim religious practices through the establishment of the Directorate of Religious Affairs (Diyanet) in 1924.

Thus, the concept of secularism of the Turkish Republic was combined with the State interference in religious practices and mostly in religious messages. On the other hand, this policy of public orientation was only applied on the Sunnite Muslims. The largest religious minorities in the country, the heterodox Alevis, are at the heart of a polemic since 1990 (see current debates). The bone of contention revolves around the possibility of providing the services offered by the Directorate of the Religious Affairs to the Alevis and mostly around mandatory religious courses in public schools.

D 8 October 2012    ASamim Akgönül

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Turquie > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

L’islamisation des turcophones et la conversion des autochtones

Les tribus turcophones originaires d’Asie centrale sont arrivées en plusieurs vagues, dans le Caucase d’abord, puis dans l’espace persan et enfin en Asie mineure, entre le 9e et le 11e siècle. Durant (...)

Les tribus turcophones originaires d’Asie centrale sont arrivées en plusieurs vagues, dans le Caucase d’abord, puis dans l’espace persan et enfin en Asie mineure, entre le 9e et le 11e siècle. Durant cette période, ces mêmes tribus se sont converties progressivement à l’islam.
L’État seldjoukide anatolien (11e-13e siècles) était traversé par des courants hétérodoxes coexistant avec le sunnisme classique et des religions populaires locales dans un environnement chrétien. Les confréries et le soufisme caractérisent cet islam anatolien vivant en contact étroit avec les religions environnantes, notamment l’orthodoxie chrétienne, et empreint des croyances turques préislamiques.

8 octobre 2012

L’Empire ottoman

C’est durant l’Empire ottoman (15e – 20e siècles) que l’islam officiel se dogmatise très régressivement, avec notamment le développement d’une classe d’oulémas au service du sultan désormais calife (...)

C’est durant l’Empire ottoman (15e – 20e siècles) que l’islam officiel se dogmatise très régressivement, avec notamment le développement d’une classe d’oulémas au service du sultan désormais calife (1512). Dès le 16e siècle, le pouvoir ottoman acquis à l’islam orthodoxe persécute les différents courants hétérodoxes, notamment l’alévisme et sa version confrérique le bektachisme.
L’empire ottoman, bien que théocratique, a cependant développé un système original de coexistence religieuse, celui des millets, autrement dit des groupes ethno-confessionnels ayant chacun une hiérarchie religieuse interne propre. Le système de millets a évolué dans le temps pour revêtir au 19e siècle un caractère aussi bien national que religieux ; il a donné lieu à l’utilisation du critère religieux dans les constructions nationales, notamment dans les Balkans.

Dans cette période de constructions nationales, la population turque / musulmane d’Asie mineure s’est peu à peu affirmée par un double mouvement : d’une part, par l’arrivée des musulmans venant des Balkans et du Caucase à l’Anatolie, tout au long du 19e siècle, au fur et à mesure que ces régions obtenaient leur indépendance. Et d’autre part, par l’éviction de l’Anatolie des populations non-musulmanes, principalement due à deux causes : l’exil et le génocide des populations arméniennes (accusées de trahir la "Sublime porte" en s’alliant avec les Russes) durant la Première Guerre Mondiale, mais aussi l’échange obligatoire de populations entre la Grèce et la Turquie en 1923, qui a vidé l’Anatolie de sa population orthodoxe (et la Grèce continentale, ainsi que les îles égéennes, de leur population musulmane (voir le Traité de Lausanne dans la rubrique Statut juridique - principaux textes).

8 octobre 2012

La République turque

La fondation de la République turque et sa reconnaissance internationale en 1923 ont été suivies d’une période d’occidentalisation coercitive pendant laquelle un certain discours anti-religieux a été (...)

La fondation de la République turque et sa reconnaissance internationale en 1923 ont été suivies d’une période d’occidentalisation coercitive pendant laquelle un certain discours anti-religieux a été développé par les kémalistes. Le caractère religieux de l’Empire ottoman était considéré comme une des raisons de son retard dans la modernité. Dans ce cadre, plusieurs mesure spectaculaires ont été prises afin d’alléger le poids de la religion dans la vie publique : l’abolition du califat et la nationalisation de l’enseignement en 1924, l’interdiction des confréries en 1925 et enfin l’inscription du principe de la laïcité dans la constitution en 1927 par exemple. Mais dans le même temps, l’emprise religieuse sur la société étant toujours considérée comme dangereuse, un fort contrôle étatique sur la pratique religieuse musulmane a été instauré à travers la création de la Direction des Affaires Religieuses Diyanet (1924).

Ainsi le concept de la laïcité de la République turque se conjugue-t-il avec une interférence de l’Etat dans la pratique religieuse, mais surtout dans le message religieux. En revanche, cet encadrement public ne concerne que les musulmans sunnites ; la plus grande minorité religieuse du pays, les alévis hétérodoxes, est au cœur d’une polémique depuis les années 1990 (voir les débats actuels) : le conflit porte sur la possibilité d’étendre les services de la Direction des Affaires Religieuses aux Alévis, et sur les cours d’instruction religieuse obligatoire dans les écoles publiques.

8 octobre 2012