eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Switzerland » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Cantons regulate religious instruction

The Confederation’s Constitution is neutral on religious issues and guarantees the freedom of conscience and religious belief in its Article 15 (see the "main texts" sub-heading), principles which (...)

The Confederation’s Constitution is neutral on religious issues and guarantees the freedom of conscience and religious belief in its Article 15 (see the "main texts" sub-heading), principles which are consistent with the European Convention on Human Rights (art. 9). The regulation of the relationship between the Church and the State falls within the competence of the Cantons (art. 72 of the Constitution).

The regulation of education is also the responsibility of the Cantons. The law guarantees the participation of students of every creed and religion, including those who have no religion.

Private religious establishments are allowed as long as they follow the curriculum set by the Canton.

On religious instruction, the Federal Constitution grants the personal right to receive religious catechism (positive religious right) but also the right to discontinue (negative religious right, article 15). Every Canton regulates religious instruction in its own manner, with the more or less active participation of religious communities.

D 8 October 2012    AAnsgar Jödicke AKatharina Frank

Judicial precedents concerning religion and schools

Over the past few years, the Federal Court has taken several decisions following complaints related to religion and schools. In conformity with the principle of the State’s religious neutrality, (...)

Over the past few years, the Federal Court has taken several decisions following complaints related to religion and schools. In conformity with the principle of the State’s religious neutrality, schools no longer have the right to display crosses in their classrooms. This is to protect school children from the State’s influence on religious issues. Let us keep in mind that the age of religious majority is 16 years. In the same vein, the Federal Court banned a Muslim teacher from wearing the veil within the school’s premises (in Geneva). When the complaints concerned the students, the Federal Court ruled in favour of the students or parents. For instance, a female student in the Canton of Zurich obtained the right not to participate in swimming classes. Students are also accorded waivers not to attend school in order to participate in religious festivals.

D 8 October 2012    AAnsgar Jödicke AKatharina Frank

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Suisse > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Ecole

Ecole

L’enseignement est de la compétence des cantons

La Constitution de la Confédération est neutre du point de vue confessionnel, et garantit la liberté de conscience et de croyance dans son article 15 (voir la rubrique "principaux textes"), (...)

La Constitution de la Confédération est neutre du point de vue confessionnel, et garantit la liberté de conscience et de croyance dans son article 15 (voir la rubrique "principaux textes"), principes conformes à la Convention européenne des droits de l’Homme (art. 9). La réglementation des rapports entre l’Eglise et l’Etat est du ressort des cantons (Constitution, art. 72).

La réglementation de l’enseignement est également du ressort des cantons ; elle garantit la participation des élèves de toutes les confessions et de toutes les religions, y compris des personnes sans religion.

Les écoles confessionnelles privées sont admises, tant qu’elles respectent les programmes d’études du canton.

En ce qui concerne l’enseignement du fait religieux, la Constitution Fédérale exprime le droit personnel au catéchisme religieux (droit religieux positif) mais aussi le droit de se retirer (droit religieux négatif) (art.15). Chaque canton règle l’instruction religieuse à l’école à sa manière, avec la participation plus ou moins forte des communautés religieuses.

8 octobre 2012

La jurisprudence concernant la religion et l’école

Ces dernières années, le Tribunal Fédéral a pris plusieurs décisions suite à des plaintes en rapport avec l’école et la religion. Conformément au principe de neutralité confessionnelle de l’Etat, les (...)

Ces dernières années, le Tribunal Fédéral a pris plusieurs décisions suite à des plaintes en rapport avec l’école et la religion. Conformément au principe de neutralité confessionnelle de l’Etat, les écoles n’ont plus le droit de suspendre des crucifix dans leurs salles de cours, ceci pour protéger les élèves de l’influence de l’Etat en matière de religion. Rappelons ici que la majorité religieuse est fixée à 16 ans. Grâce au même type d’argumentation, le Tribunal Fédéral a interdit à une enseignante musulmane de porter le voile dans l’enceinte de l’école (Genève). Lorsque les plaintes se référaient aux élèves, le Tribunal Fédéral a tranché dans le sens des élèves ou des parents : par exemple, une écolière du canton de Zurich a obtenu le droit de se retirer du cours de natation. Des dispenses scolaires pour participer à des fêtes religieuses sont également concédées.

8 octobre 2012