eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Europe » Social and religious data » Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Survey on youth and religion

A study conducted by European researchers, under the supervision of Hans-Georg Ziebertz of the University of Würzburg, revealed highly different degrees of religiosity among the youth of the (...)

A study conducted by European researchers, under the supervision of Hans-Georg Ziebertz of the University of Würzburg, revealed highly different degrees of religiosity among the youth of the countries concerned. About 10 000 youth from 10 countries (8 European countries, Turkey and Israel) were interviewed between 2004 and 2006 on their attitude with regard to religion.
A high degree of religiosity was observed in young Turkish Muslims, followed by young Israeli Jews. These are followed by the young Catholics in Poland, Croatia and Ireland. On the contrary, the young generation in traditionally protestant countries such as Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands and Sweden shows little identification with religion.

The study also tackles religious practices and the place of religion in the family and in school. Religious education is mostly practiced in Turkey and Poland where 80% of the interviewees declared to be willing to continue practicing the religion of their parents, while only 22% of the Germans hold the same opinion. In Turkey, 84% of parents believe it is important that their children practice the same religion as them. 60% of parents in Poland and only 9% in Germany hold the same opinion.

Religious education is positively regarded by the youth in Turkey, Poland, Croatia and Ireland whereas it is rejected in Sweden, the Netherlands and Germany. Respondents consider religion as an important aspect in the modern world except the young Dutch who believe it is outdated.

For more information: find detailed responses on the website of the university of Würzburg.

D 5 October 2012    AFrançoise Curtit

The importance of religion

In April 2005, SOFRES (French public opinion poll institute) conducted a telephone survey for EURO-RSCG (France’s leading advertising brand) on a national cross-section of people aged 18 and over (...)

In April 2005, SOFRES (French public opinion poll institute) conducted a telephone survey for EURO-RSCG (France’s leading advertising brand) on a national cross-section of people aged 18 and over in 10 European countries (Germany, Spain, Finland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, United Kingdom).
One of the questions dealt with religion: “Tell me if the following sentence corresponds a lot, a little, not really or not at all to what you think. Religion is important in my life.”
A majority of Europeans (58%) say religion is important in their lives, the results, however, are very different from country to country.
The Poles are in front, with 80% of people stating that religion is important in their lives, followed by the Italians (75%) and the Portuguese (72%).
Conversely, 66% of Czechs and 60 % of those living in the United Kingdom claim that religion is not important in their lives.
In France and in the Netherlands, more than half the people state that religion is not important in their lives (54%), while religion is considered important by a small majority in Spain (60%), Germany (56%) and Finland (53%).

Source: SOFRES poll on values in Europe.

D 5 October 2012    AAnne-Laure Zwilling

Survey on religious attitudes in Europe

One of Germany’s greatest research institutes, the GfK Group, carried out a study, at the request of Wall Street Journal Europe, in the autumn of 2004 on religious attitudes in Europe. The study (...)

One of Germany’s greatest research institutes, the GfK Group, carried out a study, at the request of Wall Street Journal Europe, in the autumn of 2004 on religious attitudes in Europe. The study was of 21 countries and included questions on attitudes towards religion, religious affiliation, belief in God, anti-Semitism and Muslims of their country.

For more information read the summary of the GfK study.

D 5 October 2012    AAnne-Laure Zwilling

Perception of Muslims

The Transatlantic Trends: Immigration 2008 survey is an opinion poll on immigration and integration led by the German Marshall Fund (USA). Chapter 4 of the final report dealing with national (...)

The Transatlantic Trends: Immigration 2008 survey is an opinion poll on immigration and integration led by the German Marshall Fund (USA). Chapter 4 of the final report dealing with national identity, provides information concerning religious belonging and the perception of Islam. The survey takes into account the United States, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland and the United Kingdom. The main data are also available online. The results display the complexity of opinions: European average is 47% of people agreeing that "Muslim immigrants have a lot to offer to the culture of their country", while at the sale time 53% think that "both ways of life are not reconcilable".

D 5 October 2012    AAnne-Laure Zwilling

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Europe > Données socio-religieuses > Opinions et croyances religieuses

Opinions et croyances religieuses

Enquête sur les jeunes et la religion

Une étude menée par des chercheurs européens, sous la direction de Hans-Georg Ziebertz de l’Université de Würzburg, révèle des degrés de religiosité très différents parmi les jeunes des pays concernés. (...)

Une étude menée par des chercheurs européens, sous la direction de Hans-Georg Ziebertz de l’Université de Würzburg, révèle des degrés de religiosité très différents parmi les jeunes des pays concernés. Environ 10 000 jeunes de 10 pays (8 pays européens, la Turquie et Israël) ont été interrogés entre 2004 et 2006 sur leur attitude vis-à-vis de la religion.
La religiosité la plus forte s’observe chez les jeunes musulmans turcs, suivis par les jeunes juifs israéliens. Viennent ensuite les jeunes catholiques en Pologne, Croatie et Irlande. La jeune génération des pays de tradition protestante comme l’Allemagne, la Finlande, la Grande-Bretagne, les Pays-bas et la Suède montre une faible identification à la religion.

L’étude aborde également les pratiques religieuses et la place de la religion dans la famille et à l’école. L’éducation religieuse dans la famille est la plus prégnante en Turquie et en Pologne où 80% des personnes interrogées déclarent vouloir continuer de suivre la religion de leurs parents. Par comparaison, elles ne sont que 22% en Allemagne. En Turquie, 84% des parents déclarent estimer important que leurs enfants suivent leur religion, ils sont 60% en Pologne et seulement 9% en Allemagne.

L’enseignement de la religion est jugé de façon positive en Turquie, en Pologne, en Croatie et en Irlande, mais il est rejeté par les jeunes Suédois, Néerlandais et Allemands. A l’exception des jeunes Néerlandais, la religion n’est cependant pas considérée comme étant dépassée, mais comme une chose tout à fait importante dans le monde moderne.

Pour en savoir plus : voir le détail des réponses sur le site de l’Université de Würzburg.

5 octobre 2012

Importance de la religion

En avril 2005, la SOFRES a réalisé pour EURO-RSCG une enquête par téléphone auprès d’échantillons nationaux représentatifs des populations âgées de 18 ans et plus dans 10 pays d’Europe (Allemagne, Espagne, (...)

En avril 2005, la SOFRES a réalisé pour EURO-RSCG une enquête par téléphone auprès d’échantillons nationaux représentatifs des populations âgées de 18 ans et plus dans 10 pays d’Europe (Allemagne, Espagne, Finlande, Italie, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République Tchèque, Royaume-Uni).
Une des questions portait sur la religion : "Dites-moi si la phrase suivante correspond beaucoup, un peu, pas vraiment ou pas du tout à ce que vous pensez : La religion occupe une place importante dans ma vie."
Une majorité d’Européens (58%) accorde une place importante à la religion dans sa vie ; les résultats sont cependant contrastés selon les pays.
Les Polonais viennent en tête, avec 80% de personnes accordant une importance à la religion, suivis par les Italiens (74%) et les Portugais (72%).
Inversement, 66% des Tchèques et 60 % des habitants du Royaume-Uni déclarent ne pas accorder d’importance à la religion dans leur vie.
En France et aux Pays-Bas, plus de la moitié des personnes déclarent ne pas accorder de l’importance à la religion (54%), tandis la religion est jugée importante par une petite majorité en Espagne (60%), en Allemagne (56%) et en Finlande (53%).

Source : enquête SOFRES sur les valeurs en Europe.

5 octobre 2012

Sondage sur les attitudes religieuses en Europe

Un des plus grands instituts de sondage allemand, GfK Group, a mené à l’automne 2004, à la demande de The Wall Street Journal Europe, une enquête sur les attitudes religieuses en Europe. L’étude a (...)

Un des plus grands instituts de sondage allemand, GfK Group, a mené à l’automne 2004, à la demande de The Wall Street Journal Europe, une enquête sur les attitudes religieuses en Europe. L’étude a porté sur 21 pays, et comportait des questions sur les attitudes envers la religion, l’appartenance religieuse, la croyance en Dieu, l’antisémitisme et les musulmans de leur pays.

Pour plus d’information, voir un résumé de l’enquête.

5 octobre 2012

Perception des musulmans

L’enquête Transatlantic Trends : Immigration 2008, enquête d’opinion sur l’immigration et l’intégration menée par le German Marshall Fund des Etats-Unis fournit au chapitre 4 du rapport final, qui traite (...)

L’enquête Transatlantic Trends : Immigration 2008, enquête d’opinion sur l’immigration et l’intégration menée par le German Marshall Fund des Etats-Unis fournit au chapitre 4 du rapport final, qui traite de l’identité nationale, des informations sur les questions d’appartenance religieuse et de perception de l’islam. L’enquête prend en compte les Etats-Unis, la France, l’Italie, les Pays-Bas, la Pologne, et le Royaume-Uni. Les principales données sont également disponibles en ligne. Les résultats soulignent la complexité des opinions : en moyenne, 47% des européens pensent que "les immigrés musulmans ont beaucoup à offrir à la culture de leur pays" ; ils sont cependant 53% à penser que ces deux cultures sont inconciliables.

5 octobre 2012