eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Sweden » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

Religious freedom and the legal position of faith communities

In comparison with many other European countries, freedom of religion was introduced relatively late into Sweden. In 1726 a special decree prohibiting religious gatherings other than those of the (...)

In comparison with many other European countries, freedom of religion was introduced relatively late into Sweden. In 1726 a special decree prohibiting religious gatherings other than those of the established Church was issued, with the intention of containing the growing pietistic movement. These regulations were replaced in two steps 1860 and 1873 by new law which offered the possibility to leave the established Church if one became a member of another Christian denomination recognised by the state. Not until 1951 did Sweden get a law guaranteeing freedom of religion, giving Swedish citizens the right to freely practise a religion of their own choice, or to abstain from being a member of any religious body (SFS 1951:680). In the Swedish constitution, it is formulated as “freedom to practise religion, alone or together with other people” (SFS 1974:152).

Today, the Swedish state is officially neutral in relation to all faith communities. Since 1 January 2000, all faith communities should in principle be treated equally, although the Church of Sweden is still regulated separately and has particular responsibilities (see the section below). The Act on Faith Communities defines a faith community as “a community for religious activity that includes the arrangement of religious service” (SFS 1998:1593). This definition means that non-religious life view associations like the Swedish Humanist Association (Humanisterna) are not included within the state regulated group of faith communities. According to the act, no one is obliged to belong to a faith community, and children from the age of 12 must give their own consent to enter or leave a faith community. The communities requesting the legal status of “Faith community” can apply to the government, and thereby enter the official register of faith communities.

In order to become a registered faith community, three conditions must be met; a) The aim of the community should be religious activity including organising worship, b) The community should have a board or similar function, c) The name of the community must be distinguishable from other organisations or activities, and should not be in conflict with for example general good order or social life. These conditions are very broad and open and give no special legal status, rights or economic benefits. In order to be eligible for financial support a faith community needs to meet certain criteria described below under the heading “Provisions”.

D 3 March 2021    APer Pettersson

The semi-official status of the Church of Sweden

Even if the former state church is presently an organisation separate from the state, some elements of the activities of the Church of Sweden are still closely connected to the state. An example (...)

Even if the former state church is presently an organisation separate from the state, some elements of the activities of the Church of Sweden are still closely connected to the state. An example is the fact that the Church owns a large part of Sweden’s national cultural heritage in the form of medieval churches and other old buildings. The Church has responsibility for their administration and preservation, which is regulated by a special act (SFS 1988:950). The second example stressing the special status of the Church of Sweden is the requirement by law that the monarch, as head of state, must belong to the Church of Sweden (SFS 1974:152). The third example is that the Church of Sweden retains primary responsibility for the maintenance of burial grounds, with the exception of some special arrangements in a few places in Sweden. This includes the provision of special burial plots for people of other religious traditions when such requests occur. The state has delegated this public service responsibility to the Church of Sweden through special legislation (SFS 1990:1144). This function of the Church of Sweden is often referred to as the last remaining part of its former position as a public authority, which could be handed over to the state sometime in the future. Currently, however, this is not an important issue in political or public debate.
The semi-official character of the Church of Sweden is obvious when the Church of Sweden Act is examined (SFS 1998:1591). It states the following: “that the confession of the Church is, even in the future, to be evangelical Lutheran; that the Church is to be open to all; that its activities should cover the country as a whole; and that it is to be a democratic organisation”. These examples demonstrate that the close connection between state and Church has not disappeared. The state still regards the Church of Sweden as something different from, and more important than other faith communities. The state has no comparable ambitions regarding other religious organisations. It can thus be said that the Church of Sweden still has a semi-official position.

D 4 March 2021    APer Pettersson

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Suède > Statut juridique des religions > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Liberté religieuse et situation juridique des communautés religieuses

La liberté religieuse a été introduite assez tardivement en Suède par rapport à plusieurs autres pays européens. Dans le but de contenir le mouvement piétiste alors en pleine croissance, un décret (...)

La liberté religieuse a été introduite assez tardivement en Suède par rapport à plusieurs autres pays européens. Dans le but de contenir le mouvement piétiste alors en pleine croissance, un décret spécial est promulgué en 1726 afin d’interdire les rassemblements religieux autres que ceux de l’Église établie. En 1873, ces réglementations sont remplacées par une loi spéciale concernant en particulier les croyants des familles religieuses dites « étrangères ». Cette loi offre la possibilité de quitter l’Église établie et de rejoindre une autre confession chrétienne reconnue par l’état. Ce n’est qu’à partir de 1951 que la Suède dispose d’une loi garantissant la liberté religieuse. Cette loi donne aux citoyens du pays le droit de pratiquer librement la religion de leur choix, et également le droit de renoncer à adhérer à un groupe religieux quel qu’il soit (SFS 1951:680). Dans la Constitution suédoise, ce droit est énoncé comme « la liberté de pratiquer sa religion, seul ou avec d’autres personnes » (SFS 1974:152).
Aujourd’hui, l’État suédois est officiellement neutre par rapport aux communautés religieuses. Depuis le 1er janvier 2000, toutes les communautés religieuses doivent être, en théorie, traitées équitablement. Cependant, l’Église de Suède continue d’être réglementée distinctement et possède des responsabilités particulières. La loi relative aux communautés religieuses les définit comme « des communautés dédiées à l’activité religieuse, y compris l’organisation d’offices religieux » (SFS 1998:1593). Selon cette définition, les associations non religieuses comme l’Association humaniste suédoise (Humanisterna) ne font pas partie des communautés religieuses réglementées par l’État. D’après la loi, nul n’est obligé d’appartenir à une communauté religieuse. En outre, à partir de 12 ans, les enfants doivent donner leur propre consentement pour rejoindre ou quitter une communauté religieuse. Les communautés demandant le statut juridique de « communauté religieuse » peuvent déposer une demande en ce sens auprès du gouvernement et ainsi être inscrit au registre officiel des communautés religieuses.

Avril 2014
15 mai 2014

Le statut semi-officiel de l’Eglise de Suède

Certaines activités de l’Eglise de Suède demeurent encore étroitement liées à l’Etat, même si cette ancienne institution d’Etat est désormais une organisation distincte. Un exemple : l’Eglise possède une (...)

Certaines activités de l’Eglise de Suède demeurent encore étroitement liées à l’Etat, même si cette ancienne institution d’Etat est désormais une organisation distincte. Un exemple : l’Eglise possède une partie importante du patrimoine culturel national de la Suède sous la forme d’églises médiévales et d’autres édifices anciens. La responsabilité de leur administration et de leur préservation incombe à l’Eglise ; une loi spéciale réglemente ces éléments (SFS 1988:950). Le second exemple, soulignant le statut spécial de l’Eglise de Suède, est que la loi exige que le monarque, en tant que chef d’Etat, soit membre de l’Eglise de Suède (SFS 1974:152). Troisième exemple : l’Eglise de Suède conserve la responsabilité principale concernant l’entretien des cimetières exception faite de de certains autres arrangements dans quelques endroits du pays. Ceci inclut la mise à disposition de lieux d’inhumation spécifiques pour les personnes issues d’autres confessions lorsque la demande en est faite. L’Etat a délégué la responsabilité de ce service public à l’Eglise de Suède par la voie d’une législation spéciale (SFS 1990:1144). Cette fonction de l’Eglise de Suède est souvent désignée comme la part restante de son ancien statut en tant qu’autorité publique, part qui sera transférée à l’Etat dans le futur. Toutefois, ce point ne représente pas un enjeu important dans le débat politique ou public actuel.
Le statut semi-officiel de l’Eglise de Suède est évident lorsqu’on examine la loi la concernant (SFS 1998:1591). La loi dit en substance : "l’Eglise doit être de confession évangélique luthérienne y compris dans le futur, l’Eglise doit être ouverte à tous, ses activités doivent s’étendre à l’ensemble du pays, et elle doit être dotée d’une organisation démocratique". Ces exemples montrent que le lien étroit entre l’Etat et l’Eglise n’a pas disparu. L’Etat considère encore l’Eglise de Suède comme différente des autres communautés religieuses, et plus importante que ces dernières, car elles n’ont pas d’ambitions étatiques comparables. On peut ainsi affirmer que l’Eglise de Suède a un statut semi-officiel.

15 mai 2014