eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Slovakia » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Religious instruction in State schools

Section 23 of the Constitution stipulates that churches and religious communities “provide religious education ” and Act no. 308/1991 Col. reads that worshippers have the right to be raised in a (...)

Section 23 of the Constitution stipulates that churches and religious communities “provide religious education ” and Act no. 308/1991 Col. reads that worshippers have the right to be raised in a religious spirit, or to teach religion after fulfilling the conditions stipulated by internal directives of the churches and religious communities and by generally binding legal rules. The issue is regulated in more detail by the Basic Treary between the SR and the Holy See and the Agreement between the SR and registered churches and religious communities, yet they both refer to future detailed regulation in separate agreements. The right to religious teaching is established by Act no. 29/1984 Col. on the primary and secondary school system. Registered churches and religious communities are allowed to provide religious education in all schools and school facilities that are the part of the SR educational system. Teachers of religion has the same legal position as teachers of other subjects, but a necessary condition of their activity is authorisation by their own registered church or a religious community. Parents or legal guardians decide on the religious education of children up to the age of 15.

For more information, see the article "Religion in public education - Slovakia" of Marek Smid in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, European Consortium for Church and State Research, Trier, 2011, 443-454.

D 3 October 2012    AMichaela Moravcikova

Theological colleges and confessional universities

Theological colleges form part of several state universities. There are Roman Catholic theological colleges, Protestant, Orthodox and Greek Catholic theological colleges. Theological institutes (...)

Theological colleges form part of several state universities. There are Roman Catholic theological colleges, Protestant, Orthodox and Greek Catholic theological colleges. Theological institutes and ecclesiastical seminaries are also to be found. Missio canonica, or church commission is a necessary prerequisite for teaching in these institutions. The internal directives of theological colleges and confessional universities are approved by an academic senate after the relevant church or religious community has submitted them. Act no.131/2002 Col. stipulates which sections of the Act shall “proportionally” apply to confessional universities and theological colleges. 22 sections of the University Act are relevant. They concern academic rights and freedoms, the establishment of faculties, academic self-government and its competency, rectors, deans, entrance and disciplinary proceedings, students’ and teachers’ rights and duties, scientific and academic board, and public university administrative board competence.
In 2000 Catholic Church established Catholic University in Ružomberok. The State contributes to its running costs. It was established by the Bishops Conference of Slovakia. The Catholic University has a Faculty of Arts, a Theological Faculty (in Košice), and a Faculty of Education.
Additionally, there are pastoral centres serving students in university towns. Their legal status is subject to the Catholic Church, other churches usually appoint student chaplains for pastoral duties with students.

D 3 October 2012    AMichaela Moravcikova

Further informations

Further informations concerning the social aspect of schooling are available in the "Religions and schooling" heading.

Further informations concerning the social aspect of schooling are available in the "Religions and schooling" heading.

D 4 October 2012   

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Slovaquie > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Ecole

Ecole

L’enseignement de la religion dans les établissements publics

L’article 23 de la Constitution stipule que les Eglises et communautés religieuses "dispensent l’éducation religieuse" et la loi n° 308/1991 prévoit que les fidèles ont le droit d’être élevés dans un (...)

L’article 23 de la Constitution stipule que les Eglises et communautés religieuses "dispensent l’éducation religieuse" et la loi n° 308/1991 prévoit que les fidèles ont le droit d’être élevés dans un esprit religieux, et d’enseigner la religion après avoir satisfait aux conditions édictées par les directives internes des Eglises et communautés religieuses et par les normes juridiques contraignantes. La question est régie de façon plus détaillée par le Concordat entre la République slovaque et le Saint-Siège et par l’accord passé entre la République slovaque et les Eglises et communautés religieuses enregistrées. Ces deux textes font toutefois référence à une réglementation future plus détaillée sous la forme d’accords spécifiques. Le droit à recevoir un enseignement religieux est fixé par la loi n° 29/1984 sur le système d’enseignement primaire et secondaire. Les Eglises et communautés religieuses sont autorisées à dispenser une éducation religieuse dans toutes les écoles et structures scolaires faisant partie du système éducatif de la République slovaque. Les professeurs de religion occupent la même position légale que les enseignants d’autres matières, mais ils doivent nécessairement disposer d’une autorisation de leur Eglise ou communauté religieuse enregistrée. Les parents ou tuteurs légaux décident de l’éducation religieuse dispensée à leurs enfants jusqu’à l’âge de 15 ans.

Pour en savoir plus voir l’article "Religion in public education - Slovakia" de Marek Smid in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, Consortium européen pour l’étude des relations Églises-État, Trèves, 2011, 443-454.

3 octobre 2012

Les facultés de théologie et universités confessionnelles

Les facultés de théologie sont présentes dans plusieurs universités publiques. Il existe des facultés de théologie catholiques romaines, protestantes, orthodoxes et gréco-catholiques. On trouve (...)

Les facultés de théologie sont présentes dans plusieurs universités publiques. Il existe des facultés de théologie catholiques romaines, protestantes, orthodoxes et gréco-catholiques. On trouve également des instituts de théologie et des séminaires ecclésiastiques. La missio canonica (autorisation canonique) est la condition préalable nécessaire pour enseigner dans ces institutions. Les directives internes des facultés de théologie et des universités confessionnelles sont approuvées par un conseil d’université, après avoir été soumises par les Eglises ou communautés religieuses concernées. La loi sur les universités n° 131/2002 précise quels articles s’appliquent de façon "proportionnelle" aux universités confessionnelles et aux facultés de théologie. 22 articles sont concernés. Ils concernent les droits et libertés académiques, la création de facultés, les organes de la direction universitaire autonome et leurs compétences, les recteurs, les doyens, les conditions d’entrée et la discipline, les droits et devoirs des étudiants et des enseignants, les compétences des comités scientifique et universitaire et du comité administratif de l’université publique.
En 2000, l’Eglise catholique a créé une université catholique à Ružomberok. L’Etat participe à ses dépenses de fonctionnement. L’université catholique dispose d’une faculté des arts, d’une faculté de théologie (à Košice) et d’une faculté de pédagogie.
Il existe par ailleurs dans les villes universitaires des aumôneries destinées aux étudiants, leur statut légal est soumis à l’Eglise catholique ; les autres Eglises nomment généralement des aumôniers étudiants pour remplir les devoirs pastoraux auprès des étudiants.

3 octobre 2012

Autres informations

D’autres informations concernant la dimension sociale de l’éducation sont disponibles dans la rubrique "Ecole et religion".

D’autres informations concernant la dimension sociale de l’éducation sont disponibles dans la rubrique "Ecole et religion".

4 octobre 2012