eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Slovakia » Law and religion » Provisions » Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

Public Financing of Churches

After 1989 new legislation enabled churches and religious communities to have full internal self-government, but it did not eliminate their direct financial dependence on the state.

Act no. 218/1949 Col. on financial provision for churches and religious communities, much amended, eliminated a discriminatory approach and state control over the churches, but still maintains a paternalistic approach to the churches in the filed of finance. By means of the act, the communist state imposed a unified form of direct state subsidy on churches and religious communities. The subsidy should have superseded the whole spectrum of individually differentiated traditional sources of income. In the period between 25 February 1948 and 1 November 1949 when Act no. 218/1949 Col. came into force, a crucial part of the churches’ productive property was nationalised without redress, especially by means of a unilateral implementation of Acts on land and agrarian reforms. Restitution of church property is one of the processes enabling churches to start working towards economic independence.
On the basis of Federal Act no. 298/1990 Col. on the regulation of some property relations of monastic orders and congregations and the Olomouc archbishopric as spelt out in Act no. 338/1991 Col., some property of monastic orders and congregations was returned. In the territory of the Slovak Republic, 95 monasteries were involved. Act no. 282/1993 Col. on the mitigation of some of the legal injustices to property caused to churches and religious communities enabled some ownership rights to be restored. This related to movable and immovable things of which churches and religious communities were dispossessed on the basis of decisions of the state bodies, civil law and administrative acts issued in the period between 8 May 1945 –2 November 1938 in the case of Jewish communities - and 1 January 1990. Act stipulated that proceedings relating to the surrender of immovable things be exempt from administrative and court fees, and compensation for costs connected with the geographical location of surrendered real estate must be provided by the State. Act no. 97/2002 Col. amending Act no. 282/1993 Col., added to the property to be restored lands that are the part of the forest land in national parks .

At present, on the basis of Act no. 218/1949 Col. and its amendment by Act no. 522/1992 Col., the State must provide churches and religious communities with funds for payment of their clergy stipends (including contributions to social and health care funds and the employment fund), if churches and religious communities so request. Churches and religious communities that were provided with personal benefits for their clergy up to 31 December 1989 are not obliged to do this. Four subjects of the total of 16 registered churches and religious communities (Religious community of Jehovah’s witnesses, Christian congregations, Church of Seventh Day Adventist, New Apostolic Church) do not exercise their claim for contributions. The classification and levels of clergy stipends are regulated by SR Government decree (Government order SR no. 578/1990 Col. as amended by Government order no. 187/1997 Col.). The State contributes to the operation of headquarters of registered churches and religious communities. The Ministry of Culture SR is the administrator of financial support that the National Council SR assigns for churches and religious communities. Through the church department it remits each month assigned funds to each church headquarters. The national budget sets contributions also to the Slovak Catholic Charity and Protestant Diakonia. The State may make financial contributions of up to the 80% of the purchase price for the installation of electronic security devices designed to protect sacral culture treasures.
All proceeds of church collections, income for church activities, and regular contributions of registered churches’ and religious communities’ members are tax exempt. The value of gifts provided for humanitarian, charitable and religious purposes of registered churches and religious communities may be deducted from the taxable income of natural persons and legal entities to the amount stipulated by the act. Lands forming one functional unit with the building or part of a building which is used for the performance of religious ceremonies, and with the whole or part of a building which serves as offices for persons commissioned for church administration, are exempt from land tax. Lands where cemeteries are founded are also exempt from land tax. Buildings and those parts of them serving exclusively for the performance of religious ceremonies or as the offices of church administrators are exempt from the tax on buildings. Legacies and gifts earmarked for the development of registered churches and religious communities are exempt from inheritance tax. Under conditions stipulated by Ordinance no. 17/1994 Col. religious objects and gifts for churches and religious communities are exempt from import duty.
On the basis of Section 48 of Act no. 366/1999 Col. on tax on earnings, as amended by later regulations, each taxpayer is entitled to remit, through the tax administrator, a sum of money equivalent to 1% of his or her income tax to one of the specified legal entities among which are agencies of churches and religious communities. Additionally, churches and religious communities as well as entities with legal personality derived from them, may apply for various grants and subsidies. Churches apply for grants towards the preservation and recovery of cultural landmarks that are in their ownership as well as for social, charitable, educational and cultural projects.

Since 2000, work has been in progress towards the goal of a new model of financial provision for churches and religious communities. In 2001 the Ministry of Culture submitted Bill on financial provision for churches and religious communities. Bill preserves the principle of the existing model, but with the difference that financial means provision takes into account the number of members of each church and religious community and specific conditions of their activity in relation to their size. Bill passed through the legislative process up to being discussed by the National Council SR plenary. However, it was removed from the agenda on the proposal of one of the deputies, and up to now it has not been put back. A broad consensus of churches and religious communities, ministries, political parties, and other involved society constituents, seems to have foundered again.

D 3 October 2012    AMichaela Moravcikova

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Slovaquie > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

Le financement public des Eglises

Après 1989, une nouvelle législation a permis aux Eglises et communautés religieuses d’avoir leur propre gouvernement interne, sans cependant mettre un terme à leur dépendance financière vis-à-vis de l’Etat.
La loi n° 218/1949 relative aux dispositions financières pour les Eglises et communautés religieuses, qui a été largement amendée, a mis fin à une approche discriminatoire et au contrôle de l’Etat sur les Eglises en matière de financement, tout en maintenant une approche paternaliste. Avec cette loi, l’Etat communiste a imposé une procédure unifiée de financement direct de l’Etat aux Eglises et communautés religieuses. Ces subventions auraient dû remplacer le système traditionnel des sources de revenus différenciées. Entre le 25 février 1948 et le 1er novembre 1949, date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi n° 218/1949, une grande partie de la propriété productive des Eglises a été nationalisée sans aucune indemnité, notamment par le biais de l’application unilatérale de lois relatives aux réformes agraires. La restitution aux Eglises de leurs propriétés est l’une des étapes leur permettant d’accéder à leur indépendance économique.
Certains biens des ordres et congrégations monastiques leur ont été restitués en vertu de la loi fédérale n° 298/1990 relative à la réglementation des propriétés des ordres et congrégations monastiques et de l’archevêché d’Olomouc tels que définis dans la loi n° 338/1991 ; 95 monastères ont été concernés sur le territoire de la République Slovaque. La loi n° 282/1993 concernant la réparation de certaines injustices légales infligées aux Eglises et communautés religieuses en matière de propriété a permis de rétablir certains droits de propriété. Cela concernait les biens mobiliers et immobiliers dont les Eglises et communautés religieuses avaient été dépossédées par les décisions des autorités gouvernementales, la législation civile et les lois administratives entrées en vigueur entre le 8 mai 1945 – le 2 novembre 1938 pour les communautés juives – et le 1er janvier 1990. La loi dispose que les opérations de rachat des biens immobiliers sont exemptes de taxes administratives et juridiques et que la compensation des coûts engendrés par la localisation géographique du bien immobilier rendu doit être à la charge de l’Etat. La loi n° 97/2002 qui modifie la loi n° 282/1993 a ajouté parmi les propriétés devant être restituées des terres faisant partie des forêts des parcs nationaux.

Aujourd’hui, en vertu de la loi n° 218/1949 modifiée par la loi 522/1992, l’Etat doit accorder des subventions aux Eglises et communautés religieuses pour le paiement des traitements des ministres du culte (y compris les cotisations à la sécurité sociale et au fond pour l’emploi), si elles en font la demande. Les Eglises et communautés religieuses qui disposaient de bénéfices personnels pour leur clergé jusqu’au 31 décembre 1989 ne sont pas tenues de faire cette demande. Quatre des seize Eglises et communautés religieuses enregistrées (la Communauté religieuse des Témoins de Jéhovah, les Congrégations chrétiennes, l’Eglise adventiste du septième jour et l’Eglise n éo-apostolique) n’exercent pas ce droit de recours aux subventions. La classification et les niveaux des traitements du clergé sont définis par le gouvernement de la République slovaque (arrêté du gouvernement de la République Slovaque n° 578/1990 modifié par l’arrêté du gouvernement n° 187/1997). L’Etat contribue aux frais de fonctionnement des sièges des Eglises et communautés religieuses enregistrées. Le ministère de la Culture de la République slovaque est l’administrateur de l’aide financière que le Conseil national de la République slovaque attribue aux Eglises et communautés religieuses. Chaque mois, il remet aux Eglises les contributions qui leur reviennent, par l’intermédiaire du bureau des cultes. Le budget national détermine également les contributions à l’Association caritative catholique slovaque et au Diaconat protestant. L’Etat peut contribuer financièrement jusqu’à 80% du prix d’achat des installations électroniques de sécurité destinées à protéger les trésors culturels sacrés.
Toutes les recettes des collectes, les revenus engendrés par les activités ecclésiastiques et les cotisations des membres des Eglises et communautés religieuses enregistrées sont exonérés d’impôts. La valeur des dons effectués aux activités humanitaires, caritatives et religieuses des Eglises et communautés religieuses peut être déduite du revenu imposable des personnes physiques et morales jusqu’à une limite fixée par la loi. Les terrains formant une seule unité fonctionnelle avec le bâtiment ou une partie du bâtiment qui sert à la célébration des cérémonies religieuses, et avec le bâtiment ou une partie du bâtiment abritant les bureaux des personnes affectées à l’administration de l’Eglise, sont exonérés de taxe foncière. Il en va de même pour les terrains accueillant les cimetières. Les bâtiments et leurs annexes qui sont réservés exclusivement à la célébration de cérémonies religieuses ou qui abritent les bureaux des administrateurs de l’Eglise sont exonérés de la taxe sur les bâtiments. Les héritages et donations destinés au développement des Eglises et communautés religieuses enregistrées sont exonérés de droits de succession. Selon des conditions définies par l’ordonnance n° 17/1994, les objets religieux et les dons aux Eglises et communautés religieuses sont exonérés de droits d’importation.
Selon l’article 48 de la loi n° 366/1999 relative à l’impôt sur le revenu, modifiée par des dispositions ultérieures, chaque contribuable doit verser par le biais de l’administration fiscale une somme d’argent s’élevant à 1% de son impôt sur le revenu à l’une des personnes morales spécifiées, parmi lesquelles des Eglises et communautés religieuses. En outre, les Eglises et communautés religieuses, ainsi que les personnes morales qui en dépendent, peuvent poser leur candidature pour obtenir certaines bourses et subventions. Les Eglises se portent candidates pour des bourses dédiées à la préservation et la restauration des grands sites culturels dont elles sont propriétaires, ainsi qu’à des projets sociaux, caritatifs, éducatifs et culturels.

Depuis 2000, un nouveau modèle de dispositions financières pour les Eglises et communautés religieuses est en cours d’élaboration. En 2001, le ministère de la Culture a soumis un projet de loi relatif aux dispositions financières pour les Eglises et communautés religieuses. Ce projet conserve les principes du modèle actuel, la seule différence résidant dans le fait que les dispositions financières prennent en compte le nombre des membres de chaque Eglise et communauté religieuse et les conditions spécifiques de leur activité en fonction de leur taille. Le projet de loi est parvenu jusqu’en discussion en séance plénière du Conseil national de la République slovaque. Toutefois, il a été retiré de l’ordre du jour sur proposition d’un député, et n’y figure plus depuis lors. Le large consensus entre les Eglises et communautés religieuses, les ministres, les partis politiques et autres forces constituantes de la société semble s’être à nouveau désagrégé.

3 octobre 2012