eurel

Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond

Tweeter Rss

Home > Austria > Historical highlights > Historical survey

Historical survey

A change of religious identity

For many long centuries, Austria was, up until the beginning of modern times, a Christian, Catholic country. Other religions, with the exception of Judaism, were scarcely represented on territory (...)

For many long centuries, Austria was, up until the beginning of modern times, a Christian, Catholic country. Other religions, with the exception of Judaism, were scarcely represented on territory of modern-day Austria. Those who were present were met with an extremely turbulent fate of both persecution and tolerance.
It was only in the 16th century, following the Reformation, that this Christian homogeneity changed. At the turning point of the 16th and 17th century, considerable parts of what is now called Austria became predominately Protestant. During the time of the Habsburg’s Counter-Reformation Austria returned to Catholicism at the end of the Thirty Years War. During the reign of Emperor Joseph II Catholicism was considered the dominant religion. Lutheran and Reformed Protestants as well as Orthodox Christians were tolerated; this was also the case for the Jewish population.

6 July 2012

Towards religious tolerance

The idea of tolerance and equal rights only really began to emerge in 1848 and was materialised in the Basic Law of the State on the General Rights of Citizens of 21 December 1867. This Basic Law (...)

The idea of tolerance and equal rights only really began to emerge in 1848 and was materialised in the Basic Law of the State on the General Rights of Citizens of 21 December 1867. This Basic Law of the State included, in particular, a provision granting specific fundamental rights to each Church or Religious Society recognised by the law. However, it was only in the 1874 Law on Recognition of Churches that the manner in which such “legal recognition” could be obtained was detailed. The first regulation under the terms of the 1874 Law on Recognition of Churches was adopted in 1877 for the Old Catholic Church.
The regime of Religious or Jewish Consistory Communities was established before 1890 on very diverse legal foundations that were stripped of the heterogeneity by a uniform regulation applicable to the whole of Austrian in the Law on Jews of 1890.

6 July 2012

The presence of Islam

As a result of the occupation and annexation of Bosnia-Herzegovina, more and more followers of Islam settled on the territory of modern-day Austria, so much so that this religious association was (...)

As a result of the occupation and annexation of Bosnia-Herzegovina, more and more followers of Islam settled on the territory of modern-day Austria, so much so that this religious association was recognised in 1912. During the last decades of the 20th century, the number of Muslims greatly increased due to the influx of migrant workers from the former Yugoslavia and Turkey.

20 July 2012

Current religious diversity

During the 20th century, a large number of people belonging to the most diverse religious groups came to Austria and made every effort to have their religious associations recognised publicly. (...)

During the 20th century, a large number of people belonging to the most diverse religious groups came to Austria and made every effort to have their religious associations recognised publicly. They were granted this recognition according to the provisions laid down in the Law on Recognition of Churches of 1874. Today Austria has 13 legally recognised religions and religious associations.

20 July 2012

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Autriche > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

Un changement d’identité confessionnelle

De longs siècles durant, l’Autriche a été jusqu’au début des Temps modernes un pays chrétien et catholique. D’autres confessions, à l’exception des juifs, n’étaient guère représentées sur le territoire de (...)

De longs siècles durant, l’Autriche a été jusqu’au début des Temps modernes un pays chrétien et catholique. D’autres confessions, à l’exception des juifs, n’étaient guère représentées sur le territoire de l’Autriche actuelle : ceux-ci, précisément, ont subi un sort extrêmement mouvementé entre persécution et tolérance.
Ce n’est qu’au 16e siècle que cette homogénéité confessionnelle chrétienne se transforma par suite de la Reforme : à la charnière des 16e et 17e siècles, de vastes parties de l’Autriche actuelle devinrent majoritairement protestantes. Dans le courant de la Contre-Reforme des Habsbourg, le pays redevint catholique après la fin de la guerre de Trente Ans. A l’époque de l’empereur Joseph II, la religion catholique était considérée comme dominante ; les protestants luthériens et reformes ainsi que les orthodoxes étaient tolérés ; ceci valait aussi pour les juifs.

6 juillet 2012

Vers la tolérance religieuse

L’idée de la tolérance et de l’égalité de droits ne commença essentiellement à s’imposer qu’à partir de l’année 1848 et se concrétisa dans la Loi fondamentale de l’Etat du 21 décembre 1867 relative aux droits (...)

L’idée de la tolérance et de l’égalité de droits ne commença essentiellement à s’imposer qu’à partir de l’année 1848 et se concrétisa dans la Loi fondamentale de l’Etat du 21 décembre 1867 relative aux droits généraux des citoyens. Cette loi fondamentale de l’Etat contient notamment une disposition accordant des droits fondamentaux déterminés à chaque Eglise ou Société religieuse reconnue par la loi. Ce ne fut toutefois que dans la Loi de reconnaissance de 1874 que se concrétisa la façon dont cette "reconnaissance par la loi" peut être obtenue. La première réglementation aux termes de cette Loi de reconnaissance de 1874 fut adoptée en 1877 pour l’Eglise vieille-catholique.
Le régime des Communautés cultuelles ou Consistoires israélites se fondait avant 1890 sur des bases juridiques très diverses, dont l’hétérogénéité fut éliminée par une réglementation uniforme valant pour l’Autriche toute entière dans la Loi sur les Israélites de 1890.

6 juillet 2012

La présence de l’islam

En conséquence de l’occupation et de l’annexion de la Bosnie-Herzégovine, de plus en plus d’adeptes de l’islam vinrent s’installer sur le territoire de l’actuelle Autriche, de sorte que cette association (...)

En conséquence de l’occupation et de l’annexion de la Bosnie-Herzégovine, de plus en plus d’adeptes de l’islam vinrent s’installer sur le territoire de l’actuelle Autriche, de sorte que cette association religieuse fut reconnue en 1912. Au cours des dernières décennies du 20e siècle, le nombre de musulmans a fortement augmenté, à cause de l’afflux de travailleurs migrants d’ex-Yougoslavie et de Turquie.

20 juillet 2012

La diversité religieuse actuelle

Dans le courant du 20e siècle, de nombreuses personnes des confessions les plus diverses vinrent en Autriche, et s’efforcèrent d’obtenir la reconnaissance de leur association religieuse au niveau (...)

Dans le courant du 20e siècle, de nombreuses personnes des confessions les plus diverses vinrent en Autriche, et s’efforcèrent d’obtenir la reconnaissance de leur association religieuse au niveau public. Celle-ci leur fut accordée, suivant les termes de la Loi de reconnaissance de 1874. Il existe aujourd’hui en Autriche 13 religions et associations religieuses reconnues par la loi.

20 juillet 2012