eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Russia » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Law of 2012 on compulsory religious education in schools

In Russia, the secularity of state education is not a constitutional principle, but a legislative norm introduced by Law no. 3266-1 of 10 July 1992 on education. Teaching is secular in state and (...)

In Russia, the secularity of state education is not a constitutional principle, but a legislative norm introduced by Law no. 3266-1 of 10 July 1992 on education. Teaching is secular in state and local schools. The law does not prohibit religious education; on the contrary, it is considered as a consequence of the principle of secularity in teaching. However, a distinction is made between religious education, synonymous with catechesis and possibly seeking to convert pupils, and “neutral” instruction, which provides knowledge on the history, doctrine or the culture of a particular faith, without depicting it as “the only true religion” or teaching religious practice and worship. This kind of religious education is compatible with the principle of secularity. It can be compared to courses in “knowledge or understanding of religion as a human phenomenon” delivered in French schools.

The notion of the “neutral” teaching of religion has stimulated discussions about the possibility that such teaching can indeed be neutral and free from any religious or atheist propaganda. After major debates in society, the government has proposed courses on the “foundations of religious culture”, divided into six versions for pupils to choose from: the foundations of Orthodox, Muslim, Jewish and Buddhist cultures, of “the great religions in the world” and of secular ethics.
This course was initially introduced in certain regions on an experimental basis.

On 29 December 2012, the new Law no. 273-FZ on education in the Russian Federation repealed the Law of 1992. Article 87 of this law does not use the term “teaching of religion”, but a more complex expression: “teaching of knowledge about the foundations of spiritual and moral culture of the peoples of the Russian Federation, of the ethical principles and historical and cultural traditions of religions in the world”. In the same article, the law confirms the rights of parents of schoolchildren to choose for their children one of the six options on offer. The course curricula must be checked beforehand by the central organisations concerned, based on their historical and cultural traditions and doctrines.
By order of the Russian Government no. 84-р of 28 January 2012, the course on “the foundations of religious cultures and secular ethics” is integrated within the compulsory part of the school teaching curriculum as from the fourth year of primary school (in Russia, school starts at year one for the youngest) for all schools in Russia with effect from the 2012-2013 school year.

According to the report by the Ministry of Education and Science, this new course involved 1,393,666 pupils during the school year 2013-2014. They are divided up as follows:
“Foundations of secular ethics” - 637,412 pupils (45.8%);
“Foundations of Orthodox culture” - 436,706 pupils (31.2%);
"Foundations of the world’s great religions" - 262,473 pupils (18.8%);
“Foundations of Muslim culture” - 51,221 pupils (3.7%);
“Foundations of Buddhist culture” - 5,231 pupils (0.4%);
“Foundations of Jewish culture” - 161 pupils (0.1%);

August 2014

D 4 September 2014    AMikhaïl Chakhov

Theology in higher education

Article 87 of Law 273-FZ of 29 December 2012 on education in the Russian Federation also includes provisions regarding theology teaching in higher education organisations* and religious (...)

Article 87 of Law 273-FZ of 29 December 2012 on education in the Russian Federation also includes provisions regarding theology teaching in higher education organisations* and religious educational institutions (seminaries, etc.).

Higher education in Russia includes ’theology’ as a specialist subject with an official national curriculum adopted by order of the Ministry of Education on 2 March 2000. Through this specialism, it is possible to teach religious facts, history and doctrines without seeking to convert students to a religion or train them as religious ministers. The official national curriculum also offers university degrees in ’religious studies’ (religiovedenie) – (see section on ’Russia/Teaching and research’).
Teaching of Orthodox or Muslim doctrine as part of university courses in ’theology’ is considered to be secular in nature, while in the context of a seminar aimed at preparing future priests it is classified as religious education. The difference between ’secular theology’ and ’religious theology’ is highlighted by the difference between the two terms in Russian – the Greek-derived word theologia is used to refer to the university course of ’theology’ while the Russian equivalent bogoslovié (bog=theos, slovo=logos) is used to describe the course taught in seminaries. While these two words were previously regarded as synonyms, attempts are now being made to highlight the difference between them – one being secular and the other religious.
The results of theology teaching in public higher education organisations have been mixed. In Russia, theology has traditionally thrived in professional religious education institutions. Even under the Russian Empire, the subject was not taught in secular universities. At present, those who study ’theology’ at university do not have equivalent status to seminary students as they receive no religious training and are, therefore, unable to give religious services. Despite this, some secular experts specialising in religion perceive academic theology as disguised bogoslovié.
Under paragraphs 5 and 6 of Article 87 of the Russian Federation Education Act, professors delivering theology courses in universities must obtain a recommendation from the appropriate central religious organisation. These religious organisations are also involved in preparing courses and writing curricula and textbooks for academic theology as well as those relating to the ’foundations of religious cultures and secular ethics’.
In Russia, degrees from religious higher education institutions are not recognised as being equivalent to degrees issued by public higher education organisations. Degrees and ranks bestowed by religious universities are only valid for the relevant faith.
Federal Law 14-FZ of 28 February 2008 furthermore supplemented Article 19 of the law of 1997 on freedom of conscience and religious affiliations by stating that it is possible to teach secular disciplines within the scope of religious education curricula. Based on an official certification (’attestation’) from the Ministry of Education and Science, religious higher education institutions can acquire the right to also deliver higher education qualifications recognised by the state.
Consequently, seminarians can obtain two qualifications – one from a religious higher education (bogoslovié) institution, which is only valid within the Church and, at the same time as this ecclesiastical qualification, an academic qualification in history, philosophy, etc. provided of course that they have passed the two courses. In reality, seminaries and Orthodox academies generally opt to obtain official certification for the specialist subject of ’theology’ (academic) or ’religious studies’ as its content coincides with ecclesiastical courses on several points, thus avoiding doubling students’ workload.
Article 87 Paragraph 9 of the above law confirms the right of central religious authorities to introduce higher education curricula that are compliant with state education guidelines in religious education institutions.
Under paragraph 10 of this article, religious organisations retain internal control over the content of religious education curricula and training of religious ministers in religious education institutions.
According to official data, religious education organisations were split as follows on 1 April 2014: 56 Russian Orthodox, 109 Muslim, and 27 Protestant.

* The title ‘higher education organisations’ now replaces the previous legal title of ’higher education institution’ as concerns the universities.

D 4 September 2014    AMikhaïl Chakhov

Secular state education and denominational institutions

According to Article 3 of the Education Law of the Russian Federation of 29 December 2012, no. 273-FZ, the secular nature of teaching in state and local schools is one of the fundamental (...)

According to Article 3 of the Education Law of the Russian Federation of 29 December 2012, no. 273-FZ, the secular nature of teaching in state and local schools is one of the fundamental principles of state policy and of legal regulation in the education domain.

According to Article 5 §§ 1-2 of the 1997 Law on Freedom of Conscience and Religious Associations, everyone is entitled to the religious education of their choice, individually or collectively. Educating and training children is undertaken by parents or guardians, taking into account a child’s right to freedom of conscience.
Article 5 § 3 of the 1997 Law provides for religious organisations to create educational institutions in accordance with their statutes and the laws of the Russian Federation. Private religious schools, gymnasium schools and high schools have been established as a result of this legislative provision. Pupils receive compulsory general education there, as well as religious instruction. Their total number is small: there are about 200 private schools and Orthodox gymnasium schools.
Central religious organisations have the exclusive right to create denominational education institutions to train ministers of the faith and other religious personnel (Article 19 of the 1997 Law, as amended in 2013). Formerly, the term used in the law was “professional religious educational establishments”). Organisations for spiritual education must be registered as religious organisations and receive state authorisation for their educational activity.

Federal Law no. 14-FZ of 28 February 2008 supplemented Article 19 of the 1997 Law, stating that it is possible to arrange the teaching of secular subjects within the curricula of denominational educational institutes. As a result, students in seminaries will be able to obtain two degrees: the diploma in higher religious education, which only has value within the Church, and a secular diploma in law, engineering, history etc. (also see the article below “Theology in Higher Education”).

D 18 September 2014    AMikhaïl Chakhov

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Russie > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Ecole

Ecole

Loi de 2012 sur l’enseignement obligatoire de la religion à l’école

En Russie, la laïcité de l’enseignement public n’est pas un principe constitutionnel mais une norme législative, introduite par la loi n° 3266-1 du 10 juillet 1992 sur l’éducation. L’enseignement est (...)

En Russie, la laïcité de l’enseignement public n’est pas un principe constitutionnel mais une norme législative, introduite par la loi n° 3266-1 du 10 juillet 1992 sur l’éducation. L’enseignement est laïque dans les écoles d’État et municipales. La loi n’interdit pas l’enseignement religieux, considéré au contraire comme un corollaire au principe de laïcité de l’enseignement. Cependant, une distinction est faite entre l’enseignement religieux, synonyme de catéchèse, qui viserait à convertir les écoliers et l’enseignement "neutre", qui fournit des connaissances sur l’histoire, la doctrine, la culture de tel ou tel culte sans le présenter comme "la seule vraie religion", ni enseigner les pratiques religieuses et cultuelles. Ce dernier type d’enseignement de la religion est compatible avec le principe de laïcité. On peut le comparer avec "l’enseignement du fait religieux" dispensé dans les écoles françaises.

L’idée d’un enseignement "neutre" de la religion a suscité des discussions sur la possibilité qu’un enseignement puisse effectivement être neutre et exempt de toute propagande religieuse ou athée. Après de grands débats dans la société, le gouvernement a proposé un cours sur les "fondements de la culture religieuse" décliné en six versions au choix pour les écoliers : les fondements de la culture orthodoxe, musulmane, juive, bouddhiste, "des grandes religions dans le monde" et de l’éthique laïque.
Ce cours a d’abord été introduit à titre expérimental dans certaines régions.

Le 29 décembre 2012, la nouvelle loi n° 273-FZ sur l’éducation de la Fédération de Russie a abrogé la loi de 1992. L’article 87 de cette loi n’utilise pas le terme "enseignement de la religion" mais une expression plus complexe : enseignement des connaissances sur les fondements de la culture spirituelle et morale des peuples de la Fédération de Russie, des principes éthiques, des traditions historiques et culturelles des religions dans le monde". Dans le même article, la loi confirme le droit des parents d’élèves de choisir pour leur enfant l’une des six options proposées. Les programmes des cours doivent être préalablement contrôlés par les organisations centrales concernées, sur la base de leur doctrine et de leurs traditions historiques et culturelles.
Par l’ordonnance du gouvernement de Russie n°84-р du 28 janvier 2012, le cours sur « les fondements des cultures religieuses et de l’éthique laïque » est intégré dans la partie obligatoire du programme de l’enseignement scolaire à partir de la 4e année de primaire (en Russie, les classes commencent par la 1e pour les plus petits) pour toutes les écoles de Russie à partir de l’année scolaire 2012-2013.

Selon le rapport du ministère de l’Education et de la science, ce nouvel enseignement a concerné 1 393 666 élèves pour l’année scolaire 2013-2014. Ils se répartissent de la manière suivante :
"Fondements de l’éthique laïque" - 637 412 élèves (45,8%) ;
"Fondements de la culture orthodoxe" - 436 706 élèves (31,2%) ;
"Fondements des grandes religions dans le monde" - 262 473 élèves (18,8%) ;
"Fondements de la culture musulmane" - 51 221 élèves (3,7%) ;
"Fondements de la culture bouddhiste" - 5 231 élèves (0,4%) ;
"Fondements de la culture juive" - 161 élèves (0,1%).

août 2014
4 septembre 2014

La théologie dans l’enseignement supérieur

L’article 87 de la loi n° 273-FZ du 29 décembre 2012 sur l’éducation de la Fédération de Russie contient aussi des dispositions concernant l’enseignement de la théologie dans les organisations* de (...)

L’article 87 de la loi n° 273-FZ du 29 décembre 2012 sur l’éducation de la Fédération de Russie contient aussi des dispositions concernant l’enseignement de la théologie dans les organisations* de l’enseignement supérieur et les établissements d’enseignement confessionnels (séminaires etc.).

L’enseignement supérieur en Russie comprend une spécialité « théologie » dont le programme national officiel a été adopté par l’arrêté du ministère de l’Education du 2 mars 2000. Cette spécialité permet l’enseignement des faits religieux, l’histoire et les doctrines, sans tenter de convertir les étudiants à une religion ou les former à devenir ministre du culte. Par ailleurs, le programme national officiel prévoit également des diplômes universitaires en « étude des religions » (religiovedenie) – (voir la rubrique « Russie/ Enseignement et recherche »).
On estime que l’enseignement de la doctrine orthodoxe ou musulmane dans le cadre du cours universitaire de « théologie » a un caractère laïque, tandis que son enseignement dans un séminaire ayant pour but la préparation des futurs prêtres est considérée comme une instruction religieuse. La différence entre la « théologie laïque » et la « théologie confessionnelle » est soulignée par la différence des termes en russe : le cours universitaire de « théologie » est désigné par le mot d’origine grecque theologia, alors que le cours enseigné dans les séminaires est désigné par son équivalent russe bogoslovié (bog=theos, slovo=logos). Ces deux mots ont jusqu’à présent été compris comme des synonymes, mais aujourd’hui on essaie d’en souligner la différence : l’un comporterait un caractère laïque et l’autre un caractère religieux.
Le bilan de l’enseignement de la théologie dans les organisations publiques d’enseignement supérieur est mitigé. En Russie, la science théologique prospérait traditionnellement dans les établissements d’enseignement religieux professionnel. Même à l’époque de l’Empire russe, elle était absente des universités laïques. Aujourd’hui, ceux qui ont suivi le cours universitaire de « théologie » ne peuvent pas être assimilés aux étudiants des séminaires, puisqu’ils n’ont pas eu de formation religieuse et ne sont pas en mesure de diriger un office religieux. Malgré cela, certains experts laïques spécialistes des religions perçoivent la théologie universitaire comme une bogoslovié masquée.
Selon les alinéas 5 et 6 de l’article 87 de la loi sur l’éducation de la Fédération de Russie, les professeurs qui dispensent les cours de théologie dans les universités doivent obtenir une recommandation de l’organisation religieuse centrale correspondante. Ces organisations religieuses prennent également part à la préparation des cours et à la rédaction des programmes et manuels de théologie universitaire, mais aussi de ceux relatifs aux « fondements des cultures religieuses et de l’éthique laïque ».
En Russie, il n’y a pas de reconnaissance des diplômes de l’enseignement supérieur confessionnel en tant qu’équivalents de diplômes délivrés par les organisations publiques d’enseignement supérieur. Les diplômes et les grades des universités confessionnelles sont uniquement valides au sein de la confession concernée.
La loi fédérale n°14-FZ du 28 février 2008 a complété par ailleurs l’article 19 de la loi de 1997 sur la liberté de conscience et les associations religieuses en précisant qu’il est possible d’enseigner les disciplines laïques dans le cadre des programmes de l’enseignement confessionnel. Sur la base d’une certification officielle (« attestation ») du ministère de l’Education et de la Science, l’enseignement supérieur confessionnel peut ainsi obtenir le droit de délivrer également un diplôme de l’enseignement supérieur reconnu par l’Etat.
Il en résulte qu’un séminariste pourra obtenir deux diplômes : le diplôme de l’enseignement supérieur confessionnel (bogoslovié) qui n’a de valeur qu’au sein de l’Église et, en même temps que ce diplôme ecclésiastique, le diplôme universitaire d’historien, de philosophe, etc. - à condition bien sûr qu’il ait suivi avec succès les deux cursus. En réalité, les séminaires et académies orthodoxes préfèrent obtenir la certification officielle pour la spécialisation « théologie » (universitaire) ou « études des religions », car son contenu coïncide sur plusieurs points avec les cours ecclésiastiques, ce qui permet d’éviter une double charge pour les étudiants.
L’alinéa 9 de l’article 87 de cette même loi confirme le droit des organisations religieuses centrales d’établir dans les établissements d’enseignement religieux des programmes d’enseignement supérieur conformes aux directives de l’Education nationale.
Selon l’alinéa 10 de cet article, le contenu des programmes d’enseignement religieux et la formation des ministres du culte dans les établissements d’enseignement confessionnels restent de la compétence interne des organisations religieuses.
D’après les données officielles, il existait au 1er avril 2014 56 organisations d’enseignement confessionnelles de l’Église orthodoxe russe, 109 musulmanes et 27 protestantes.

* On a récemment supprimé l’appellation juridique précédente d’« établissement de l’enseignement supérieur » pour les universités.

4 septembre 2014

Enseignement public laïque et établissements confessionnels

Selon l’article 3 de la loi sur l’éducation de la Fédération de Russie du 29 décembre 2012 n° 273-FZ, la laïcité de l’enseignement dans les écoles d’Etat et municipales est l’un des principes fondamentaux (...)

Selon l’article 3 de la loi sur l’éducation de la Fédération de Russie du 29 décembre 2012 n° 273-FZ, la laïcité de l’enseignement dans les écoles d’Etat et municipales est l’un des principes fondamentaux de la politique de l’Etat et de la régulation juridique dans le domaine de l’éducation.

Selon l’article 5§1,2 de la loi de 1997 sur la liberté de conscience et les associations religieuses, chacun a droit à la formation religieuse de son choix, individuellement ou collectivement. L’éducation et la formation des enfants sont réalisées par les parents ou les tuteurs, compte tenu du droit de l’enfant à la liberté de conscience.
L’article 5§3 de la loi de 1997 prévoit que les organisations religieuses peuvent créer des institutions d’enseignement conformément à leur statut et à la législation de la Fédération de Russie. Des écoles religieuses privées, des gymnases, des lycées ont été créés en vertu de cette disposition législative. Les élèves y reçoivent l’éducation générale obligatoire ainsi qu’un enseignement religieux. Leur nombre total est peu important : il existe environ 200 écoles et gymnases orthodoxes privés.
Les organisations religieuses centrales ont le droit exclusif de créer des organisations d’enseignement confessionnelles pour former des ministres du culte et autres personnels religieux (art. 19 de la loi de 1997, modifiée en 2013. Autrefois, on utilisait dans la loi le terme « établissements d’enseignement professionnel religieux »). Les organisations d’enseignement spirituel doivent être enregistrées en tant qu’organisations religieuses et recevoir une autorisation de l’État pour leur activité éducative.

La loi fédérale n° 14-FZ du 28 février 2008 a complété l’article 19 de la loi de 1997 en indiquant qu’il est possible d’organiser l’enseignement de disciplines laïques dans le cadre des programmes des organisations d’enseignement confessionnelles. Il en résulte que les étudiants des séminaires pourront ainsi obtenir deux diplômes : le diplôme de l’enseignement supérieur religieux, qui n’a de valeur qu’au sein de l’Église, et un diplôme laïque de juriste, d’ingénieur, d’historien etc. (voir aussi l’article ci-dessous "La théologie dans l’enseignement supérieur").

18 septembre 2014