eurel

Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond

Tweeter Rss

Home > Russia > Law and religion > Provisions > Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

Direct and indirect subsidies

The constitutional principle of separation implies the absence of public funding for religions. However, Russian law does allow the payment of various subsidies.
Under Article 4§3 of the 1997 law, the state provides exemptions or tax deductions for religious organisations. It also gives financial support to religious organisations to restore, use and protect religious buildings classified as historical monuments.
Under Article 18§3 of the 1997 law, the state provides support for the charitable activities of religious organisations, as well as for cultural projects that they undertake in the interest of the public.
The Tax Code (ch. 21, art. 149§3-1) exempts from VAT sales transactions for goods for religious use and religious literature produced by religious organisations. The list of these items is specified in Ordinance no. 251 of 31 March 2001.
Under Article 251§1-27 of the Tax Code, revenues of religious organisations arising from performing rituals and religious ceremonies and from the sale of religious literature and objects for religious use are exempted from corporation tax.
Under Article 251§2-11 of the Tax Code, donations (including gifts in kind) received by religious organisations to exercise their statutory activities are exempt from corporation tax.
According to the Tax Code (art. 381§2), religious organisations are exempt from property tax on those assets used to perform religious activities.
Under the Tax Code (art. 395 §4), religious organisations are exempt from land tax for lands on which buildings used for worship or charity are located. In circular no. 03-06-02-02/41 of the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation of 24 May 2005, it is specified that any land belonging to a religious organisation on which is situated, for example, a place of worship or building used for charitable activities, is exempt from land tax, irrespective of the total size of the land or the existence of buildings of a non-religious vocation on the same land.

2 October 2012

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Russie > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

Subventions directes et indirectes

Le principe constitutionnel de séparation suppose l’absence de financement public des cultes. La législation russe permet cependant le versement de diverses subventions.
En vertu de l’article 4§3 de la loi de 1997, l’Etat prévoit des exonérations ou des déductions fiscales pour les organisations religieuses. Il accorde par ailleurs son soutien financier aux organisations religieuses pour restaurer, exploiter et protéger les édifices cultuels qualifiés de monuments historiques.
En vertu de l’article 18§3 de la loi de 1997, l’Etat accorde son soutien aux activités de bienfaisance des organisations religieuses, ainsi qu’à la réalisation par celles-ci de projets culturels d’utilité publique.
Le Code des impôts (ch. 21, art. 149§3-1) exonère de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée les opérations de vente d’objets à destination religieuse et de littérature religieuse, produits et réalisés par les organisations religieuses. La liste de ces articles est fixée par l’ordonnance n° 251du 31 mars 2001.
En vertu de l’article 251§1-27 du Code des impôts, les revenus des organisations religieuses tirés de l’accomplissement de rites et de cérémonies religieuses et de la vente de littérature religieuse et d’objets à destination religieuse sont exonérés de l’impôt sur les bénéfices.
En vertu de l’article 251§2-11 du Code des impôts, les dons (y compris les dons manuels) reçus par les organisations religieuses pour l’accomplissement de leur activité statutaire sont exonérés de l’impôt sur les bénéfices.
Selon le Code des impôts (art. 381§2), les organisations religieuses sont exonérées de tout impôt sur les immeubles pour ceux de leurs biens qui sont utilisés pour la réalisation des activités religieuses.
En vertu du Code des impôts (art. 395§4), les organisations religieuses sont exonérées de la taxe foncière pour les terrains sur lesquels se situent les bâtiments et les édifices à destination religieuse et de bienfaisance. Dans la circulaire n° 03-06-02-02/41du ministère des Finances de la Fédération de Russie du 24 mai 2005, il est précisé que tout terrain d’une organisation religieuse sur lequel se trouve, par exemple, un édifice du culte ou un bâtiment servant à des activités de bienfaisance est exonéré de la taxe foncière, et cela indépendamment de la dimension totale du terrain ou de l’existence sur celui-ci de bâtiments ayant des finalités non religieuses.

2 octobre 2012