eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Portugal » Religions and society » Religions and the media

Religions and the media

The religions and radio

Religion-oriented radios

There are a few religious groups in Portugal that developed their own radio stations.
Radio Renascença, the Portuguese catholic broadcaster, is the oldest, most spread and heard in Portugal. The dream started in 1933 and was embodied a year later with the RR League of Friends. It didn’t begin broadcasting until 1936 though, and the daily programming was started on January 1st, 1937. Radio Renascença grew into highly successful radio projects, such as RFM (1978) and Mega FM, always bearing in mind the association of professionalism and the doctrinarian principles of the Catholic Church. In 1991, sharing the same mission and values, 31 local radio stations joined the catholic broadcaster and founded ARIC (the Christian-inspired Radio Stations Association). Presently this association counts 70 members nationwide, including the Azores and Madeira Archipelagos. It aims at promoting Christian principles and the amplest development of religious information, as well as supporting the training of professionals in order to improve the communication of the Christian message.

Founded in 1986, Radio Clube Sintra was the first non-catholic Christian radio station. Being owned by the Adventist Church, the RCS is programmed to have a diversified and rigorous selection of topics aiming at the civic education of its listeners. Health, education, family or sports, the various rubrics focus on offering the urban listener a complete and relevant programming. As a Christian inspired radio station, it is only natural that the reflection over the sacred scriptures has particular attention.

Radio Viva belongs to Maná Church and its mission is to contribute to the development of moral and civic values through programs oriented for prevention, education, debating and entertainment as well as the reflection of biblical contents.

ULTRAFM is a radio company belonging to the Corpo do Messias Church. It presents itself as a generalist project aiming at the diversification of journalistic styles. It tries to characterize itself through the accuracy, clarity and interest of its contents, offering its listeners in particular information and insight about regional life and the most significant data of the national and international current affairs.

Reino de Deus Universal Church owns Radio Miramar. It defines itself by presenting a wide coverage of the national sports events, and a musical choice with special attention to Portuguese music, particularly fado. Although the rest of the programs is mostly dedicated to religious subjects, there is time for public debate with listener interaction.

Religious programming in secular radio stations

Among the local radios that have religious programming – mostly of protestant inspiration – Radio Leziria stands out; it is set in the Greater Lisbon area and belongs to the Lezíria Comunicação Social S.A. group. Still significant are: Radio Clube Lamego, Radio Riba, Radio Clube do Interior, Radio informédia, Radio Soncentro, Radio Soberania, Radio Regional do Centro, Radio Foia, Radio Clube de Matozinhos, Radio Larouco, Radio Borba, Radio Central de Leiria, Radio Dueça, Radio Beira Alta, Radio Granada, Radio Tom Dela, Radio Voz de Reguengos, Radio Nova Contrasta. In the Isles, RDP Açores, Radio Pico, Radio Bandarra, Radio Elmo, Radio Montanha, Radio Lumena, Antena 9.

Religions and web radio

The catholic web radio (netradio catolica) opened on May 28th 2006 and its goal is to spread music of Christian inspiration, to produce contents of religious and catholic characteristics and to inform about the events of the mentioned church. Among its programs they have "Talking to... Cláudio Anaia" for current affairs debate and "Generation XXI" as a means of bringing light into catholic music.

In 2007 UCB Portugal started its radio religious broadcasting with 5 weekly rubrics. In 2008 it became a 24-hour long web radio associated to the UCB (United Christian Broadcasters), an international family aiming at spreading the Christian message in each nation through the media. In Portugal the project is in development, and on-line radio is becoming a reality in association with this perspective.

Transmundial Radio of Portugal is a national association which doesn’t belong to any religious institution and has the support of Trans World Radio. Its main objective is to present biblical contents to the listeners in a diversified way. Besides music and current affairs under a biblical point of view, they also provide help to Christian leaders.

D 28 September 2012    ASimão Daniel

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Portugal > Religion et société > Médias et religion

Médias et religion

Les religions et la radio

Les radios à orientation religieuse

Quelques groupes religieux au Portugal ont développé leurs propres stations de radio.
Radio Renascença, (le radiodiffuseur catholique portugais) est la plus ancienne, la plus répandue et la plus écoutée au Portugal. Le rêve commença en 1933 et fut concrétisé un an plus tard avec la Ligue des Amis de RR. Cependant, les premières diffusions n’eurent lieu qu’en 1936 et la programmation quotidienne fut lancée le 1er janvier 1937. Radio Renascença s’est développée dans des projets de radio très réussis, tels que RFM (1978) et Mega FM, en gardant toujours à l’esprit d’associer professionnalisme et principes doctrinaires de l’Église catholique. En 1991, 31 stations locales, qui partageaient la même mission et les mêmes valeurs, ont rejoint le radiodiffuseur catholique et ensemble elles ont fondé l’ARIC (l’Association des stations de radio d’inspiration chrétienne). Actuellement, cette association compte 70 membres dans le pays, Açores et archipel de Madère compris. Elle vise à promouvoir les principes chrétiens et le plus ample développement de l’information religieuse, ainsi qu’à soutenir la formation des professionnels afin d’améliorer la communication du message chrétien.

Fondée en 1986, Radio Clube Sintra fut la première station chrétienne non-catholique. Propriété de l’Eglise adventiste, RCS propose dans sa programmation un choix diversifié de sujets visant l’éducation civique de ses auditeurs. Qu’il s’agisse de santé, d’éducation, de la famille ou du sport, les différentes rubriques ont pour but d’offrir une programmation complète et pertinente à l’auditeur urbain. En tant que radio d’inspiration chrétienne, il est naturel que la réflexion sur les écritures sacrées y reçoive une attention particulière.

Radio Viva appartient à l’Eglise Maná et sa mission est de contribuer au développement de valeurs morales et civiques par le biais de programmes axés sur la prévention, l’éducation, les débats et le divertissement ainsi que sur une réflexion sur le contenu de la Bible.

ULTRAFM est une société de radiodiffusion qui appartient à l’Eglise Corpo do Messias. Elle se présente comme un projet généraliste visant à diversifier les styles journalistiques. Elle essaie de se caractériser par la précision, la clarté et l’intérêt de son contenu et propose en particulier à ses auditeurs des informations et des connaissances sur la vie régionale et sur les points les plus importants de l’actualité nationale et internationale.

L’Église universelle Reino de Deus est la propriétaire de Radio Miramar. Elle se définit en fournissant un large éventail d’événements sportifs nationaux et une sélection musicale avec une attention particulière à la musique portugaise, en particulier au fado. Bien que le reste des émissions soit principalement dédié à des sujets religieux, un temps est réservé au débat public avec les auditeurs.

La programmation religieuse dans les chaînes de radio laïques

Parmi les radios locales qui ont des émissions religieuses - pour la plupart d’inspiration protestante - Radio Leziria se démarque : elle est située dans la région métropolitaine de Lisbonne et fait partie du groupe Lezíria Comunicação Social S.A. Les radios suivantes sont également importantes : Radio Clube Lamego, Radio Riba, Radio Clube do Interior, Radio informédia, Radio Soncentro, Radio Soberania, Radio Regional do Centro, Radio Foia, Radio Clube de Matozinhos, Radio Larouco, Radio Borba, Radio Central de Leiria, Radio Dueça, Radio Beira Alta, Radio Granada, Radio Tom Dela, Radio Voz de Reguengos, Radio Nova Contrasta. In the Isles, RDP Açores, Radio Pico, Radio Bandarra, Radio Elmo, Radio Montanha, Radio Lumena, Antena 9.

Les religions et la webradio

La webradio catholique (netradio catolica) est née le 28 mai 2006 et son objectif est de diffuser de la musique d’inspiration chrétienne, de produire des contenus à caractère religieux et catholique, et d’informer sur les événements de l’Eglise catholique. Parmi ses programmes on trouve : "Parler à... Claudio Anaia" pour débattre de l’actualité et "Génération XXI", qui vise à mettre en lumière la musique catholique.

En 2007, UCB Portugal a commencé sa radiodiffusion religieuse avec 5 rubriques hebdomadaires. En 2008 elle est devenue une webradio diffusant 24h/24 associée à l’UCB (Radiodiffuseurs chrétiens unis), une famille internationale ciblant la diffusion du message chrétien dans chaque pays à travers les médias. Au Portugal, le projet est en développement et la radio en ligne devient une réalité associée à cette perspective.

Transmundial Radio of Portugal est une association nationale qui n’appartient à aucune institution religieuse et qui a l’appui de Trans World Radio. Son objectif principal est de présenter le contenu de la Bible aux auditeurs de manière diversifiée. Outre la musique et les actualités d’un point de vue biblique, elle fournit également une aide aux leaders chrétiens.

28 septembre 2012