eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Netherlands » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

Secularism and cooperation

The Netherlands does not have a state religion, nor does it have a policy of officially recognising religious denominations. However, the relationship between the Dutch state and religion has (...)

The Netherlands does not have a state religion, nor does it have a policy of officially recognising religious denominations. However, the relationship between the Dutch state and religion has always been characterised by extensive involvement of the state with religious expression in public life. In 1917, for example, the settlement of the ‘education struggle’ meant the adoption of Article 23 of the Dutch Constitution, establishing complete state funding for schools with a religious (Christian) identity, while safeguarding the freedom of those schools to determine their curricula. This settlement laid the foundation of what is known as the Dutch ‘pillarisation’ (verzuiling). Under this system, society was deeply divided into distinct and mutually antagonistic religious and ideological groups. A stable democracy was made possible through overarching cooperation at the elite level, and by allowing each group as much autonomy as possible. Muslim immigrants used the remnants of the ‘pillar’ model, according to which religious organisations were still considered a legitimate form of representation and community organisation. Muslims have the same right as other religious groups and, if they rely on the same principles as those applied to other religious groups such as Christians, they can obtain recognition for their claims (although often after considerable struggle).
However, the gradual shift towards a more secularised society in the Netherlands, from the 1960s on, has led to the emergence of opinion makers and politicians defending the secular outlook of Dutch society, making ‘secular’ not only a descriptive term but also a normative way of referring to part of identity politics in Dutch society.

D 28 September 2012    AMartijn de Koning

History of religion in the Netherlands

The Constitution of 1814 formed a new starting point for the relationship between church and state. The 1814 Constitution, and the 1815 Constitution even more, contained the idea that the State (...)

The Constitution of 1814 formed a new starting point for the relationship between church and state. The 1814 Constitution, and the 1815 Constitution even more, contained the idea that the State should not interfere with the organisation of the church. In reality, however, the state was still actively involved in church matters. In the revised version of the Constitution of 1848, the chapter on religion was modernised. The 1848 Revision prompted the Roman Catholic Church to restore its hierarchy in the Netherlands. This was achieved in 1853. The same year, the Religious Bodies Act was enacted. Its main merit was to explicitely grant the churches freedom of their internal organisation. This Act remained in force until 1988. The following period was basically one of consolidation as far as institutional relationships between church and state were concerned. In 1983, there was a general revision of the Constitution. The revised Constitution incorporated new fundamental rights including a wide range of social rights. It provided a renewed formulation of fundamental rights which were already protected, and a new formulation of freedom of religion. As of 1983, freedom of non-religious belief is also protected by the Constitution.

D 28 September 2012    AMartijn de Koning

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Pays-Bas > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

Laïcité et coopération

Les Pays-Bas n’ont ni religion d’État, ni politique de reconnaissance officielle des confessions religieuses. Cependant, la relation entre l’État néerlandais et la religion a toujours été caractérisée (...)

Les Pays-Bas n’ont ni religion d’État, ni politique de reconnaissance officielle des confessions religieuses. Cependant, la relation entre l’État néerlandais et la religion a toujours été caractérisée par une implication importante de l’État concernant l’expression religieuse dans la vie publique. En 1917, par exemple, la "guerre scolaire"’ s’est conclue par l’adoption de l’article 23 de la Constitution néerlandaise, établissant le financement total par l’État des écoles avec une identité religieuse (chrétienne), tout en protégeant la liberté de ces écoles de déterminer leurs programmes d’études. Cette disposition a jeté les bases de la "pilarisation" néerlandaise (verzuiling). Sous ce système, la société a été profondément divisée en groupes religieux et idéologiques distincts et antagonistes. Une démocratie stable a été rendue possible grâce à une coopération globale au niveau des élites et en accordant à chaque groupe autant d’autonomie que possible. Les immigrés musulmans ont utilisé ce qui restait du modèle des piliers, selon lequel les organisations religieuses étaient toujours considérées comme une forme légitime de représentation et d’organisation communautaire. Les musulmans ont les mêmes droits que les autres groupes religieux et, s’ils s’appuient sur les mêmes principes que ceux appliqués aux autres groupes religieux, comme les chrétiens, ils peuvent obtenir la reconnaissance de leurs revendications (mais bien souvent après une importante lutte).
Cependant, à partir des années 1960, le glissement progressif vers une société plus sécularisée aux Pays-Bas a conduit à l’émergence de leaders d’opinion et de politiciens qui défendent les perspectives laïques de la société néerlandaise, utilisant le mot "laïque" non seulement d’une façon descriptive, mais aussi d’une façon normative pour se référer à une partie de la politique identitaire de la société néerlandaise.

28 septembre 2012

Histoire de la religion aux Pays-Bas

La Constitution de 1814 est un nouveau point de départ des relations entre l’Église et l’État. La Constitution de 1814, et surtout celle de 1815, contenaient l’idée que l’État ne devait pas se mêler de (...)

La Constitution de 1814 est un nouveau point de départ des relations entre l’Église et l’État. La Constitution de 1814, et surtout celle de 1815, contenaient l’idée que l’État ne devait pas se mêler de l’organisation de l’Église. Mais en réalité, l’État était toujours activement impliqué dans les questions ecclésiastiques. Dans la version révisée de la Constitution de 1848, le chapitre sur la religion a été modernisé. Cette révision a incité l’Église catholique romaine à rétablir sa hiérarchie aux Pays-Bas, objectif atteint en 1853. La même année, la loi sur les organismes religieux a été adoptée. Son principal mérite était d’accorder explicitement aux Églises la liberté de leur organisation interne. Cette loi est restée en vigueur jusqu’en 1988. La période suivante a été essentiellement consacrée à la consolidation des relations institutionnelles entre l’Église et l’État. En 1983, la Constitution a été révisée et comporte de nouveaux droits fondamentaux, incluant un large choix de droits sociaux. Elle consacre une nouvelle formulation des droits fondamentaux qui étaient déjà protégés et de la liberté de religion. En 1983, la Constitution protège également la liberté de non-croyance religieuse.

28 septembre 2012