eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Latvia » Law and religion » Provisions » Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

Development of the financing system of religious communities

here is no specific law in Latvia dealing with taxation as regards the churches. The financial and tax issues of the churches are dealt with in many laws and regulations. The development of the (...)

here is no specific law in Latvia dealing with taxation as regards the churches. The financial and tax issues of the churches are dealt with in many laws and regulations. The development of the financing system of religious organisations started first of all in 1998 after the adoption of amendments of Article 6 (Religious organisations and education) of the Law on Religious Organisations, by adding section 5: "(5) The teaching of Christian religion and ethics shall be financed out of the state budget."
Secondly, a certain amount of money was granted to the religious organisations after the Parliament elections in 2002 when "First Party" (Pirma partija) entered the Parliament, becoming a partner of the government coalition. The First Party is doing its utmost to support traditional and other religious organisations. In 2004, the First Party ensured that 1,481,176 lats from the State budget were allocated to the development of the infrastructure of tourism in holy places. Under the aegis of the Party, the churches have received almost 2 million euros from the state and regional budgets. Bigger or smaller sums have been allocated to more than 160 religious organisations (mostly to Lutheran, Catholic, Orthodox, Seven Day Adventist and Old-believer parishes). The allocated funds have been mostly spent for renovation, painting, as well as for installation of sewerage and heating systems in churches.

D 27 September 2012    ARingolds Balodis

Equal treatment and financing of Islam

According to Article 99 of the Constitution of the Republic of Latvia, the state and church are separate. Consequently, state funds should be separate from church financing. There is no uniform (...)

According to Article 99 of the Constitution of the Republic of Latvia, the state and church are separate. Consequently, state funds should be separate from church financing. There is no uniform law in Latvia stipulating the procedure for the payment of church taxes. In Latvia there are no differences as regards the financial policy of the religious communities, regardless of their respective country of origin. So speaking about Latvia we can not notice any difference with muslim religious organisations. Islam enjoys the same mechanisms of financing as other main religions.

D 27 September 2012    ARingolds Balodis

Tax relief for religious organisations

Latvia has a type of indirect financing, e.g. tax-exemption. According to the tax legislation of the Republic of Latvia, religious organisations registered in Latvia in conformity with the (...)

Latvia has a type of indirect financing, e.g. tax-exemption. According to the tax legislation of the Republic of Latvia, religious organisations registered in Latvia in conformity with the applicable legislation have tax allowances when paying real property, value added and company’s income taxes. This can be defined as indirect financing, e.g. tax-exemption model without preference to any specific religious organisation. The main condition is the registration of religious organisations to the Board of Religious Affairs of the Ministry of Justice of the Republic of Latvia.

Real property tax

The real estate of religious organisations (land plots, buildings, and structures) is real property tax-exempt provided it is not used by religious organisation for economic activities (item 4, section 2, chapter 1 of the law On real estate property tax). The use of the real property for charity purposes and for social care is not considered an economic activity; the same refers to the functioning of registered educational institutions preparing theological staff. According to the Regulation No. 131, item 7 of the Cabinet of Ministers, dated April 4, 2000 : "Application instructions of norms specified in the Law On the real property tax", the tax relief is applied only to the estates of religious organisations that are registered in accordance with the Law on Religious Organisations.

Company’s income tax

Religious organisations are not the company’s income tax payers. It is specified in the Law On company’s income tax, chapter 2, section 2, item 7.

Value added tax

In accordance with the Law On value added tax the charitable contribution payments and gratis goods and services (donated) are exempted from the value added tax. When receiving goods or services that have been paid up from foreign financial aid funds, religious organisations are entitled to the preference of the value added tax in accordance with the regulations No.651 of the Cabinet of Ministers, dated August 30, 2005: "The Procedure of application of the value added tax to the import of goods, delivery of goods and procurement of goods in the territory of the European Union and to the services paid from the foreign financial aid funds".
Religious organisations shall account its taxable transactions and the relief from the value added tax is not applicable when religious organisations are performing any kind of economic activity, for example, leasing out premises and receiving charge, providing public catering services for charge, executing commercial trade or performing other taxable transactions. If the total value of taxable goods and services delivered or provided within the last 12 months reaches or exceeds 10,000 lats, the religious organisations, at the latest within 30 days after reaching or exceeding this amount, shall register with the State Revenue Service Registry of the value added tax payers in accordance with Section five of Chapter 3 of the Law. Starting from the registration date, the value added tax related to the economic activities of the religious organisations shall be applied, collected and deposited in the state budget according to the applied legislation. At the same time, the organisation is entitled to receive the deduction of pre-tax as it is stipulated in Chapter 10 of the Law.
Religious organisations registered in Latvia are released from value added tax related to the provision of religious and ritual services (wedding, wedding jubilees, baptism, funeral and other rites). In accordance with the item 19.12 of the Regulations #534 of the Cabinet of Ministers dated July 2005: "The Procedures of application of the norms of the Law On value added tax" the norms of the Law On value added tax are not applied to the religious organisations. When religious organisations procure goods for provision of religious services (for example, candles, ornamental ribbons, etc.) the full price of such goods (including value added tax, that has been already included in the price) shall be paid to the seller or the value added tax shall be paid to the state budget after the importation and putting into free circulation of such goods. The Law does not envisage refunding this tax to religious organisations not registered to the State Revenue Service (SRS) Registry of value added tax payers.

D 27 September 2012    ARingolds Balodis

Religious organisations as a public beneficiary

In accordance with the Chapter 4 of the Law On Public beneficiary organisations, the public beneficiary organisations (PBO) are entitled to receive tax relief specified by the applicable (...)

In accordance with the Chapter 4 of the Law On Public beneficiary organisations, the public beneficiary organisations (PBO) are entitled to receive tax relief specified by the applicable legislation. According to the Chapter 3 of the aforesaid law the PBO’s are associations and foundations having the goal of public beneficiary activities (that is specified either in their articles of association, constitution or regulations), as well as religious organisations and their institutions that are performing public beneficiary activities provided that these associations, foundations and religious organisations have been granted the status of PBO.
The status of PBO is granted by the Ministry of Finance based on the statement of the Public beneficiary commission. According to the information provided at the official website of the Ministry of Finance in 2005, the PBO’s status has been granted to 47 religious organisations. In its turn at the end of 2005, 1,171 religious organisations have been registered with the Registry of religious organisations of the Board of Religious Affairs. The religious organisations that have been granted the status of PBO, in compliance with the Chapter 20 of the Law On company’s income tax can receive donations allowing the donators to be entitled to apply the reduction of the company’s income tax. The aforesaid provision of the Law envisages that the tax payer is entitled to reduce this tax for 85% of the sum donated to PBO but the aforesaid tax deduction for the donator cannot exceed 20% of the total sum of the company’s income tax. The payers of the company’s income tax that have tax debts for previous taxation periods cannot apply the tax deduction relating to the donators having donated to ROs, that have obtained the status of PBO. It should be mentioned that the PBO system does not work very well in connection with religious organisation.

On 2006-07-20, 1,174 religious organisations were registered in Latvia. In accordance with the public information provided by the SRS, the religious organisations have received in 2005 donations reaching the amount of 6,7 million lats. From the aforesaid sum, 2,76 million lats have been donated by anonymous donators and grantors. Last year, the legal persons registered in Latvia donated to religious organizations 1,49 million lats, but foreign legal persons 1,32 million lats. The individuals residing in Latvia donated 594,790 lats, but individuals – non-residents donated 128,420 lats. (Source: "Last year religious organizations received donations of 6,7 million lats" / LETA, May 2, 2006). According to the officially circulating information in 2005 the religious organizations disposed of 7,03 million lats of donations and charitable contributions. The donations indicated for unrestricted utilisation were disposed of the amount of 4,28 million lats, for restricted utilisation – within the amount of 574,090 lats, but 2,18 million lats of donations were used for the purposes they have been donated for. The religious organizations have declared that at the end of 2004, 1,91 million lats have not been spent, but at the end of 2005, 1,58 million lats were not yet disposed.

D 27 September 2012    ARingolds Balodis

Religious organisations release from customs duty on imports

After joining the European Union, the Republic of Latvia has harmonized its national legislation with the European legislative acts. Taking into account the aforesaid, on May 1, 2004 the Law On (...)

After joining the European Union, the Republic of Latvia has harmonized its national legislation with the European legislative acts. Taking into account the aforesaid, on May 1, 2004 the Law On humanitarian aid consignments and the Regulations #64 of the Cabinet of Ministers dated February 23, 1999:"Procedures of issuing and voiding the permissions granted to religious and public organisations (funds) to receive humanitarian aid consignments" have become invalid. Instead of the abolished regulations the new regulations of Cabinet of Ministers #957 dated December 20, 2005: "Procedures of release from customs duty on imports of goods performed by the state budget institutions and public beneficiary organisations" became effective. The aforesaid regulations specify the procedures for the goods imported by the public beneficiary organisations released from the customs duty on imports. In accordance with the item 4 of these regulations, in order to receive the release from customs duty on imports, the religious organisations submits the application related to the every particular consignment and the copies of regulatory documents of the organisation (presenting the originals) to the customs supervision; and in turn the item 7 prescribes that the customs supervision institution adopts the resolution on permission to import goods for charity purposes or for philanthropic reasons by applying the release from the customs duty on imports.

D 27 September 2012    ARingolds Balodis

Religious organisations and the residents’ income tax

In accordance with the item 3 of the section 1 of the Chapter 10 of the Law On residents’ income tax, the justified expenses that are deducted from the annual taxable amount before the taxation (...)

In accordance with the item 3 of the section 1 of the Chapter 10 of the Law On residents’ income tax, the justified expenses that are deducted from the annual taxable amount before the taxation are the sums granted in the form of donation or charitable contribution to the religious organisations having the status of PBO. These amounts cannot exceed 20% of the amount of taxable income. In its turn, the donation for the purpose of this Law is considered to be cash or other items, that the individual – the tax payer – hands over for gratis to public beneficiary organisation, provided that the receiver has no counter-obligations to perform activities deemed to remuneration.

D 27 September 2012    ARingolds Balodis

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Lettonie > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

Développement du système de financement des communautés religieuses

Il n’existe pas en Lettonie de loi spécifique concernant la fiscalité des Eglises. Les finances et la fiscalité des Eglises sont régies par un grand nombre de lois et de règlements. C’est en 1998 (...)

Il n’existe pas en Lettonie de loi spécifique concernant la fiscalité des Eglises. Les finances et la fiscalité des Eglises sont régies par un grand nombre de lois et de règlements. C’est en 1998 qu’est apparue la mise en oeuvre du système de financement des organisations religieuses avec l’adoption des amendements à l’article 6 (relatif aux organisations religieuses et à l’éducation) de la loi sur les organisations religieuses, et l’ajout d’un alinéa 5 : "l’enseignement de la religion et de l’éthique chrétienne ne doit pas être financé par le budget de l’Etat."
Dans un second temps, une somme a été allouée aux organisations religieuses après les élections parlementaires de 2002 lorsque le Premier parti (Pirma partija) a fait son entrée au parlement, devenant un partenaire de la coalition gouvernementale. Le Premier parti a fait le maximum pour financer les organisations religieuses traditionnelles et les autres. En 2004, il a fait en sorte que 1 481 176 lats du budget national soient alloués au développement des infrastructures touristiques des lieux sacrés. Sous l’égide du Premier parti, les Eglises ont bénéficié d’environ 2 millions d’euros financés par l’Etat et les régions. Des sommes plus ou moins importantes ont été allouées à plus de 160 organisations religieuses (en particulier aux Eglises luthérienne, catholique, orthodoxe, adventiste du septième jour et aux vieux-croyants). Les fonds alloués ont principalement servi à la rénovation, à des travaux de peinture, ainsi qu’à l’installation de systèmes d’assainissement et de chauffage dans les églises.

27 septembre 2012

Egalité de traitement et financement de l’islam

Selon l’article 99 de la constitution de la République de Lettonie, il y a séparation entre l’Eglise et l’Etat. Par conséquent, les finances publiques doivent être séparées de celles de l’Eglise. Il (...)

Selon l’article 99 de la constitution de la République de Lettonie, il y a séparation entre l’Eglise et l’Etat. Par conséquent, les finances publiques doivent être séparées de celles de l’Eglise. Il n’existe pas de loi relative à l’acquittement d’un impôt d’Eglise. En Lettonie, aucune distinction n’est faite en matière de financement des communautés religieuses au regard de leur pays d’origine. Ainsi, il n’existe aucune différence entre les organisations musulmanes et les autres religions. L’islam bénéficie en effet des mêmes modes de financement que les autres principales religions.

27 septembre 2012

Allègement fiscal pour les organisations religieuses

La Lettonie est dotée d’un système de financement indirect, basé notamment sur l’exemption fiscale. D’après la législation fiscale de la République de Lettonie, les organisations religieuses enregistrées (...)

La Lettonie est dotée d’un système de financement indirect, basé notamment sur l’exemption fiscale. D’après la législation fiscale de la République de Lettonie, les organisations religieuses enregistrées en Lettonie bénéficient de certains allégements fiscaux dans le respect de la législation en vigueur, en matière d’impôt sur les biens immobiliers, de TVA et d’impôt sur les sociétés. Ce processus peut être considéré comme un mode de financement indirect, à savoir un modèle d’exemption fiscale ne favorisant aucune communauté religieuse en particulier. Pour en bénéficier, toutefois, les organisations religieuses doivent être enregistrées au Bureau des affaires religieuses du Ministère de la justice de la République de Lettonie.

Impôt sur les biens immobiliers

Les biens immobiliers des organisations religieuses (terrains, immeubles et infrastructures) sont exemptés de l’impôt sur la propriété immobilière à condition de ne pas être utilisés pour des activités économiques (rubrique 4, section 2, chapitre 1 de la loi sur l’impôt sur la propriété immobilière). L’utilisation des biens immobiliers à des fins caritatives ou sociales n’est pas considérée comme une activité économique. Il en va de même concernant le fonctionnement des institutions éducatives enregistrées qui forment le personnel religieux. D’après le règlement n°131, rubrique 7 du Conseil des ministres du 4 avril 2000 intitulé "Application des dispositions de la loi relative à l’impôt sur la propriété immobilière", seules les organisations enregistrées conformément à la loi sur les organisations religieuses bénéficient d’une exemption fiscale.

Impôt sur les sociétés

Les organisations religieuses sont exemptées de l’impôt sur les sociétés (voir la loi concernant l’impôt sur les sociétés, chapitre 2, rubrique 2, article 7).

Taxe sur la valeur ajoutée

Conformément à la loi sur la valeur ajoutée, les contributions caritatives ainsi que les biens et services gratuits sont exemptés de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée. Les organisations religieuses sont autorisées à bénéficier d’une préférence sur la valeur ajoutée lorsque celles-ci se voient octroyées des biens et services financés grâce à des fonds d’aide étrangers, conformément au règlement n°651 du Conseil des ministres du 30 août 2005 intitulé "Application de la valeur ajoutée à l’importation, la livraison et la fourniture de biens sur le territoire de l’Union européenne et sur les services financés par les fonds d’aide étrangers".
Les organisations religieuses doivent faire figurer toutes les transactions imposables dans leur comptabilité et ne bénéficient d’aucun allègement fiscal sur la valeur ajoutée lorsqu’elles exercent une activité économique telle que la location de locaux, des activités de restauration, des transactions commerciales ou toute autre transaction imposable. Conformément à la section 5 du chapitre 3 de la loi, si la valeur totale des biens et services imposables fournis ou livrés au cours des 12 derniers mois atteint ou dépasse 10 000 lats, les organisations religieuses doivent s’enregistrer au Service d’enregistrement de la TVA (SRS) au plus tard dans les 30 jours après avoir atteint ou dépassé cette somme. A compter de la date d’enregistrement, l’impôt sur la valeur ajoutée concernant les activités économiques des organisations religieuses est collecté et versé au budget national selon la législation en vigueur. En parallèle, les organisations religieuses sont autorisées à bénéficier d’une déduction avant impôt conformément au chapitre 10 de la loi.
Les organisations enregistrées en Lettonie sont exonérées de l’impôt sur la valeur ajoutée pour les services et rituels religieux (mariages, anniversaires de mariage, baptêmes, enterrements et autres). Conformément à l’article 19.12 du règlement 534 du Conseil des ministres datant de juillet 2005 ("Application des dispositions de la loi sur la TVA"), les dispositions de la loi sur la TVA ne s’appliquent pas aux organisations religieuses. Lorsque ces dernières fournissent des biens pour les services religieux tels que bougies, rubans d’ornement, etc, le prix total de ces biens (incluant la TVA) doit être payé au vendeur ou la TVA payée à l’Etat après l’importation et la mise circulation de ces biens. La loi ne prévoit pas de rembourser cette taxe aux organisations religieuses non enregistrées au Service d’enregistrement de la TVA.

27 septembre 2012

Les organisations religieuses en tant qu’organismes d’utilité publique

Conformément au chapitre 4 de la loi sur les organismes d’utilité publique, les organismes d’utilité publique sont autorisés à bénéficier d’un allégement fiscal selon la législation en vigueur. D’après le (...)

Conformément au chapitre 4 de la loi sur les organismes d’utilité publique, les organismes d’utilité publique sont autorisés à bénéficier d’un allégement fiscal selon la législation en vigueur. D’après le chapitre 3 de cette loi, les organismes d’utilité publique sont des associations et des fondations ayant pour but d’exercer des activités d’utilité publique (ceci figurant soit dans les statuts de l’association, soit dans son règlement ou d’autres réglementations) ainsi que des organisations religieuses et leurs institutions exerçant des activités d’utilité publique. Ces associations, fondations et organisations religieuses doivent être dotées du statut d’organisme d’utilité publique.
Le statut des organismes d’utilité publique est attribué par le Ministère des finances sur la base d’une décision de la Commission d’utilité publique. D’après les informations figurant sur le site internet du Ministère des finances, 47 organisations religieuses se sont vues attribuer le statut d’organisme d’utilité publique en 2005. A cette époque, 1 171 organisations religieuses étaient enregistrées dans le registre des organisations religieuses du Bureau des affaires religieuses. Les organisations possédant le statut d’organisme d’utilité publique peuvent, conformément au chapitre 20 de la loi relative à l’impôt sur les sociétés, recevoir des dons permettant aux donateurs de bénéficier d’une réduction de l’impôt sur les sociétés. Cette disposition prévoit que le contribuable peut déduire 85% de la somme versée aux organismes d’utilité publique, dans la limite de 20% de la somme totale de l’impôt sur les sociétés. Les contribuables qui ne se sont pas encore acquittés de leur dette concernant l’année imposable précédente ne peuvent appliquer la déduction fiscale pour les dons aux organisations religieuses qui ont obtenu entre-temps le statut d’organisme d’utilité publique. Il faut mentionner que le système relatif aux organismes d’utilité publique ne fonctionne pas très bien avec les organisations religieuses.

Le 20 juillet 2006, 1 174 organisations religieuses ont été enregistrées en Lettonie. D’après les informations officielles fournies par le SRS, les organisations religieuses ont reçu en 2005 des donations s’élevant à 6,7 millions de lats. Sur ces 6,7 millions, 2,76 millions proviennent de donateurs anonymes. En 2006, les personnes morales enregistrées en Lettonie ont effectué des dons s’élevant à 6,7 millions de lats et à 1,32 millions de lats en ce qui concerne les personnes morales étrangères. 594 790 lats ont été versés par des personnes résidant en Lettonie et 128 420 lats par des personnes résidant à l’étranger. (Source : Last year religious organizations received donations of 6,7 millions of lats / LETA, 2 mai 2006). D’après les informations officielles, les organisations religieuses disposaient en 2005 de 7,03 millions de lats en donations et en contributions caritatives. Les donations à usage illimité qui ont été effectuées s’élevaient à 4,28 millions de lats, celles à usage limité à environ 574 090 lats et 2,18 millions de lats de donations ont été utilisés aux fins pour lesquelles ils étaient destinés. Les organisations religieuses ont déclaré qu’il leur restait 1,91 millions de lats non dépensés fin 2004 et 1,58 millions fin 2005.

27 septembre 2012

Exonération des droits de douane sur les importations des organisations religieuses

Suite à son entrée dans l’Union européenne, la République de Lettonie a adapté sa législation nationale aux actes législatifs européens. Par conséquent, la loi sur les envois d’aide humanitaire et le (...)

Suite à son entrée dans l’Union européenne, la République de Lettonie a adapté sa législation nationale aux actes législatifs européens. Par conséquent, la loi sur les envois d’aide humanitaire et le règlement du Conseil des ministres n°64 du 23 février 1999 intitulé "Procédures d’établissement et d’annulation des autorisations pour recevoir l’aide humanitaire pour les organisations religieuses et publiques" ont été abrogés le 1er mai 2004. Ils sont remplacés par le règlement du Conseil des ministres n°957 du 20 décembre 2005 intitulé "Procédure d’exonération des droits de douane sur les importations effectuées par les institutions publiques et par les organismes d’utilité publique". Cette réglementation spécifie les procédures d’exonération des droits de douanes des biens importés par les organismes d’utilité publique. Conformément à l’article 4 de ce texte, afin de bénéficier d’une exonération des droits de douane sur les biens importés, les organisations religieuses doivent soumettre pour chaque livraison une demande aux services douaniers et fournir un duplicata de leurs documents légaux. L’article 7 prévoit que les services douaniers donnent l’autorisation pour l’importation de biens à finalités caritatives ou philantropiques en appliquant l’exonération des droits de douane.

27 septembre 2012

Les organisations religieuses et l’impôt sur le revenu des personnes physiques

Conformément à l’article 3 de la rubrique 1 de la loi sur l’impôt sur le revenu des personnes physiques, peuvent être déduites du montant annuel imposable (avec justificatif) les dons ou contributions (...)

Conformément à l’article 3 de la rubrique 1 de la loi sur l’impôt sur le revenu des personnes physiques, peuvent être déduites du montant annuel imposable (avec justificatif) les dons ou contributions caritatives versées aux organisations religieuses qui ont le statut d’organisme d’utilité publique. Les versements pris en compte ne peuvent pas excéder 20% du montant du revenu imposable. Les dons concernés par cette loi sont des dons en liquide ou autres que l’individu - le contribuable - remet gratuitement aux organismes d’utilité publique, à condition que le destinataire de ces dons n’exerce aucune activité rémunérée en contrepartie.

27 septembre 2012