eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Italy » Law and religion » Provisions » Financing of Churches

Financing of Churches

There are three types of Church financing

1. An indirect financing through public contributions for places of worship, social activities, chaplaincies, religion teachers and religious schools.
2. A direct financing through the possibility Italian citizens have been given to attribute a percentage of their income tax (8 for one thousand) to the Church of their choice (either the Catholic Church or another church having an agreement with the State).
3. An indirect fiscal financing regarding the possibility for members of the Catholic Church and churches with this agreement to have a percentage of their voluntary contributions, to churches entitled to this system of financing, deducted from their income tax.

In general, public financing of the Catholic Church remains privileged not only because of the will of the people (8 for one thousand), but also as a result of the financing system for Catholic chaplaincies in the army and in prisons and especially for Catholic religion teachers in State schools, who are chosen by the bishops and paid by the State.
Furthermore, the difference in the treatment of religions with an agreement and those without is much debated.

D 27 September 2012    AMarco Ventura

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Italie > Droit et religion > Dispositions > Financement des cultes

Financement des cultes

Il existe trois types de financement des cultes

1. Un financement indirect, par le biais des contributions publiques pour les édifices cultuels, les activités sociales, les aumôneries, les enseignants et les écoles religieuses.
2. Un financement direct par la possibilité donnée aux citoyens italiens de destiner un pourcentage de leur impôt sur les revenus des personnes physique (8 pour mille) à une Eglise de leur choix parmi l’Eglise catholique et les confessions avec entente.
3. Un financement indirect de nature fiscale concernant la possibilité pour les fidèles catholiques et des confession avec entente de déduire de leurs impôts un pourcentage donné de leurs contributions volontaires aux églises admises à ce systeme de financement.

De façon générale, le financement public de l’Eglise catholique reste privilégié non seulement à cause de la volonté populaire (8 pour mille), mais aussi grâce au système de financement des aumôniers catholiques dans l’armée et dans les prisons et surtout des enseignants de la religion catholique dans les écoles publiques, choisis par les évêques et rétribués par l’Etat.

Par ailleurs, la différence de traitement entre confessions avec entente et confessions sans entente est très controversée.

27 septembre 2012