eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » France » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

Principle of laïcité

Secularity (laïcité) is an organising principle of public authorities, fruit of a historical evolution resulting from the French Revolution. Since 1789, Article 10 of the Declaration of the Rights (...)

Secularity (laïcité) is an organising principle of public authorities, fruit of a historical evolution resulting from the French Revolution. Since 1789, Article 10 of the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen has proclaimed religious freedom, with it being enshrined in the 1791 Constitution. At the end of the nineteenth century, education acts made schooling free, secular and compulsory. The Law of 9 December 1905 put an end to the public service of recognised faiths. Without explicitly citing the notion of laïcité, it defines its contours by enunciating the principle of separation of churches and the state (Article 2) and by reaffirming the guarantee of freedom of conscience and free religious practice (Article 1). Laïcité became a constitutional principle with Article 1 of the 1946 Constitution and today the first article of the 1958 Constitution lays down that: “France is an indivisible, secular, democratic and social republic. It ensures equality before the law for all citizens without distinction of origin, race or religion. It respects all beliefs. (...)”.

As a principle of mutual independence between the political power and the different spiritual or religious movements, laïcité thus contains several dimensions, as recalled by the Council of State in its public report of 2004: neutrality of the French State, freedom of religion and respect for pluralism.

- The principle of the neutrality of public services is closely related to the guarantee of equal treatment of citizens. If they have freedom of conscience, the agents of public services cannot, as part of their professional activity, express philosophical, religious or political opinions. Case law (Council of State Opinion of 3 May 2000, Miss Marteaux, no. 217017) has consistently upheld the ban on public officials wearing any distinctive religious signs.

- Freedom of religion is a fundamental freedom whose manifestations may however be limited for reasons of public order. As in other European countries, it is in France largely framed by international law and in particular by the case law of the European Court of Human Rights.

- Secularity and the fact that the State “does not recognise any faith” (Article 2 of the Law of 1905) does not mean that the latter ignores the religious phenomenon, but rather that it must respect all beliefs. It is a guarantor of religious pluralism and acts positively to promote equality between faiths.

D 18 April 2013    AFrançoise Curtit

Organization of religious communities : general regime

Faiths are organised under different legal forms. The Law of 9 December 1905 envisages the constitution of religious associations, “associations formed to provide for the expenses, maintenance and (...)

Faiths are organised under different legal forms. The Law of 9 December 1905 envisages the constitution of religious associations, “associations formed to provide for the expenses, maintenance and public exercise of a faith” (Article 18), which are created in accordance with the common law on associations (Law of 1 July 1901). The Catholic Church refused this status on the grounds that it did not respect the hierarchical organisation of the Church and, from 1924 onwards, it created for its part diocesan associations placed under the authority of the bishop. These two types of associations have as exclusive aim practising a faith and they cannot receive public subsidies. They do, however, benefit from a number of tax benefits (on the question of funding, see the section “Funding faiths”). Faiths may also have recourse to other legal forms: common law associations (Law of 1901), foundations... which may have in full or in part a religious purpose.

Concerning the ownership of buildings of worship, the 1905 Law (Article 12 et seq.) acknowledged ownership by départements and communes of buildings belonging to them at that time, as well as buildings belonging to former public institutions of worship not claimed by a religious association (as in the case of Catholic buildings). The law of 2 January 1907 on public religious practice provides nevertheless that the buildings (mainly Catholic) belonging to the public domain “are left at the disposal of the faithful and of ministers of religion for the practice of their religion” (Article 5). Protestant and Jewish faiths which have formed religious associations have received full ownership of the buildings previously belonging to former public establishments, these buildings being the subject of legal assignment to the faith concerned. Buildings of worship built after 1905 belong to the private individuals who built or acquired them. This plurality of ownership systems for buildings of worship has resulted in a multiplicity of rules applicable to their maintenance and conservation.

D 19 April 2013    AFrançoise Curtit

Principle of non-discrimination and faith-based organizations

The Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen of 26 August 1789, then the constitutions of 27 October 1946 and 4 October 1958, lay down a principle of equality before the law that (...)

The Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen of 26 August 1789, then the constitutions of 27 October 1946 and 4 October 1958, lay down a principle of equality before the law that prohibits differences in treatment between persons, notably if based on religion or beliefs. French legislation on discrimination developed in the main by transposing Community directives (Law of 16 November 2001, supplemented by the laws of 17 January 2002 and 27 May 2008). Discrimination is punishable under criminal law (Penal Code, Articles 225-1 et seq.) and the Labour Code punishes any act of workplace discrimination (Labour Code, Articles L.1131-1 et seq.). In this area, possible differences in treatment must be justified by the nature of the task to be accomplished, to respond to an essential and crucial professional requirement and be proportionate to the desired objective (Labour Code, Articles L. 1133-1 and L. 1321-3). Case law on religious discrimination is relatively scarce.

In transposing Community directives, French laws have not retained any exceptions to equal treatment based on convictions or religion (Article 4 of Directive 2000/78) and this issue has anyway not been the subject of debate. Case law has, however, acknowledged on several occasions that a company with a religious ethos is not committing discrimination by choosing its staff according to a criterion of religious conformity (Court of Cassation, Assembly of 19 May 1978, Dame Roy, no. 76-41.211; Social Chamber, 20 November 1986, Fischer, no. 84-43.243).

The powers yielded by the High Authority against Discrimination and for Equality (HALDE), created in 2005, were transferred in May 2011 to the Defender of Human Rights, a new, independent constitutional authority with particular expertise in the fight against discrimination.

D 21 April 2013    AFrançoise Curtit

Wearing religious symbols

Following the report by the Committee for Reflection on the Application of the Principle of Secularity in the Republic (“Stasi Report”), Parliament passed the Act of 15 March 2004 governing the (...)

Following the report by the Committee for Reflection on the Application of the Principle of Secularity in the Republic (“Stasi Report”), Parliament passed the Act of 15 March 2004 governing the wearing of signs or clothing denoting religious affiliation in state primary and secondary schools. A Circular of 18 May 2004 specifies the conditions for its implementation (on this, see the topic Religion and Society).

Following up on the work undertaken by the Fact-finding Mission on the Practice of Wearing the Full Veil on French Territory (see Current Debates – October 2010), Law no. 2010-1192 of 11 October 2010, banning concealment of the face in public, aims to ban the full veil in all public places (on public streets, places open to the public and those assigned to a public service, Article 2). Failing to observe this ban is sanctioned by a fine of maximum 150 euros; this can be supplemented or substituted by the obligation to undertake a citizenship course (Article 3). In addition, the law punishes the act of any person imposing on one or more other people, due to their gender, concealment of their face using threat, violence, force, abuse of authority or abuse of power (one year imprisonment and 30,000 euros fine, Article 4).

The Circular of 2 March 2011 specifies the conditions of application of this ban (scope of application of the law, conduct to uphold in public service and information for the public).

In its decision no. 2010-613 DC of 7 October 2010, the Constitutional Council considered that “the legislator assessed that such practices [concealment of the face] can constitute a danger for public safety and ignore the minimal requirements for life in society; [it] also considered that women concealing their face, voluntarily or not, are being placed in a position of exclusion and inferiority that is obviously incompatible with the constitutional principles of freedom and equality”. It determines that this law enacts a conciliation which is "not patently disproportionate" between safeguarding public order and guaranteeing constitutionally protected rights. (See also, on the first judgments of the Court of Cassation on the wearing of a full veil, the section Current Debates, March 2013).

D 22 April 2013    AFrançoise Curtit

The central bureau of religions

The Bureau central des cultes (Central bureau of religions) of the Ministry of the Interior manages the relations of the State with the authorities representing the different religious bodies.
To (...)

The Bureau central des cultes (Central bureau of religions) of the Ministry of the Interior manages the relations of the State with the authorities representing the different religious bodies.
To learn more on the history and the missions of this administration, please read the document (in French) written by Bertrand GAUME, former head of the Central bureau of religions.

D 23 April 2013   

Organising the faiths: local systems

Historical reasons and people’s desire to hold onto the specific legal characteristics of their locality have led to the maintenance of different local law statutes which continue to coexist (...)

Historical reasons and people’s desire to hold onto the specific legal characteristics of their locality have led to the maintenance of different local law statutes which continue to coexist alongside the Law of 1905.

- Local law in Alsace-Moselle

The départements of the Lower Rhine, Upper Rhine and Moselle (Alsace-Moselle) became French once again in 1918, after nearly 50 years’ annexation by Germany. The former legislation on faiths, which had remained applicable under the German system, was maintained in force by the Act of 1 June 1924: Law of 18 Germinal year X (1801 Concordat and Organic Articles of the Catholic faith and Protestant faiths) and by Order of 25 May 1844 (Jewish faith). Neither the Act of 1901, nor that of 1905, therefore apply in these three départements and this exception, which was maintained after the Second World War, persists today.

The local law on faiths is characterised by a system of recognised faiths for the Catholic Church, Lutheran and Reformed Protestant churches and the Jewish faith. Organised under public law, they can be funded by the state and local communities and their ministers of worship are paid for by the state. Other denominations are organised in line with registered association status in local law and may be subsidised voluntarily by public authorities.

In terms of education, public authorities are required to organise confessional religious instruction integrated into the curricula of primary, secondary and vocational educational institutions. Parents who so desire can exempt their children from religious education.

- Systems in the overseas territories

In religious matters, several legal systems apply in the various overseas communities. According to the provisions of the Decree of 6 February 1911, the general scheme of the Law of 9 December 1905 applies in Martinique, Guadeloupe and La Réunion.

In Guyana, a Royal Order of 27 August 1828 organises just the Catholic faith. Its ministers are paid for by the département, which further maintains its buildings of worship. Other faiths are managed within the Decree-Law of 16 January 1939 (Mandel Decree).

This same decree-law applies in French Polynesia (Tahiti and Marquesas Islands), Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna and in New Caledonia. In these territories, faiths are formed into “religious missions”, endowed with a management board.

The Decree of 16 January 1939 applies in Mayotte too, yet with some particularities; the Muslim faith, in the majority in this territory, organises its activities within the framework of associations regulated by the Law of 1 July 1901.

For further details, see the Circular of 25 August 2011 (in French) on the regulation of faiths in the overseas territories and the regulation of faiths in the overseas territories, summary table.
See also the article by Anne Fornerod, "Après le droit alsacien-moselan, le droit des cultes guyanais devant le Conseil constitutionnel français", ORELA, July 2017.

D 6 July 2017    AFrançoise Curtit

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > France > Statut juridique des religions > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Principe de laïcité

La laïcité est un principe d’organisation des pouvoirs publics, fruit d’une évolution historique issue de la Révolution française. Dès 1789, l’article 10 de la Déclaration des droits de l’homme et du (...)

La laïcité est un principe d’organisation des pouvoirs publics, fruit d’une évolution historique issue de la Révolution française. Dès 1789, l’article 10 de la Déclaration des droits de l’homme et du citoyen proclame la liberté religieuse, puis la Constitution de 1791 instaure la liberté des cultes. À la fin du 19e siècle, les lois scolaires rendent l’école gratuite, laïque et obligatoire. La loi du 9 décembre 1905 met fin au service public des cultes reconnus. Sans citer explicitement la notion de laïcité, elle définit ses contours en énonçant le principe de séparation des Eglises et de l’Etat (art. 2) et en réaffirmant la garantie de la liberté de conscience et du libre exercice des cultes (art. 1). La laïcité devient principe constitutionnel avec l’article 1er de la Constitution de 1946, et aujourd’hui l’article 1er de la Constitution de 1958 énonce que : « la France est une république indivisible, laïque, démocratique et sociale. Elle assure l’égalité devant la loi de tous les citoyens sans distinction d’origine, de race ou de religion. Elle respecte toutes les croyances. (…) »
Principe d’indépendance réciproque entre le pouvoir politique et les différents courants spirituels ou religieux, la laïcité comporte ainsi plusieurs dimensions, rappelées par le Conseil d’Etat dans son rapport public de 2004 : neutralité de l’Etat, liberté de religion et respect du pluralisme.
- Le principe de neutralité des services publics est étroitement lié à la garantie d’égalité de traitement des citoyens. S’ils disposent de la liberté de conscience, les agents des services publics ne peuvent, dans le cadre de leur activité professionnelle, exprimer d’opinions philosophiques, religieuses ou politiques. Une jurisprudence constante (CE, avis, 3 mai 2000, Melle Marteaux, n° 217017) a notamment établi l’interdiction pour les agents publics de tous signes distinctifs à caractère religieux.
- La liberté de religion est une liberté fondamentale dont les manifestations peuvent être cependant limitées pour des motifs d’ordre public. Comme dans les autres pays européens, elle est en France largement encadrée par le droit international et en particulier par la jurisprudence de la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme.
- La laïcité et le fait que l’Etat « ne reconnaît aucun culte » (art. 2 de la loi de 1905) ne signifie pas que celui-ci ignore le phénomène religieux, mais plutôt qu’il doit respecter toutes les croyances. Il est garant du pluralisme religieux et intervient positivement pour promouvoir l’égalité entre les cultes.

18 avril 2013

Organisation des cultes : le régime général

Les cultes sont organisés sous différentes formes juridiques. La loi du 9 décembre 1905 prévoit la constitution d’associations cultuelles, « associations formées pour subvenir aux frais, à l’entretien (...)

Les cultes sont organisés sous différentes formes juridiques. La loi du 9 décembre 1905 prévoit la constitution d’associations cultuelles, « associations formées pour subvenir aux frais, à l’entretien et à l’exercice public d’un culte » (art. 18) qui sont créées conformément au droit commun des associations (loi du 1er juill. 1901). L’Eglise catholique a refusé ce statut au motif, notamment, qu’il ne respectait pas l’organisation hiérarchique de l’Eglise et a créé pour sa part, à partir de 1924, des associations diocésaines placées sous l’autorité de l’évêque. Ces deux types d’associations ont exclusivement pour objet l’exercice d’un culte et ne peuvent recevoir de subventions publiques. Elles bénéficient cependant d’un certain nombre d’avantages fiscaux (sur la question du financement, voir la rubrique Financement des cultes). Les cultes peuvent également avoir recours à d’autres formes juridiques : associations de droit commun (loi 1901), fondations… qui peuvent avoir une finalité partiellement ou totalement religieuse.
Concernant la propriété des édifices du culte, les départements et les communes se sont vu reconnaître par la loi de 1905 (art. 12 et s.) la propriété des édifices leur appartenant à cette date et des édifices appartenant aux anciens établissements publics du culte non revendiqués par une association cultuelle (cas des édifices catholiques). La loi du 2 janvier 1907 concernant l’exercice public des cultes prévoit néanmoins que les édifices (très majoritairement catholiques) qui font partie du domaine public sont « laissés à la disposition des fidèles et des ministres du culte pour la pratique de leur religion » (art. 5). Les cultes juif et protestants qui ont formé des associations cultuelles ont reçu quant à eux la pleine propriété des édifices appartenant auparavant aux anciens établissements publics, ces édifices étant grevés d’une affectation légale au culte. Les édifices du culte construits après 1905 appartiennent aux personnes privées qui les ont construits ou acquis. Cette pluralité de régimes de propriété des édifices cultuels entraîne une multiplicité de règles applicables pour leur entretien et leur conservation.

19 avril 2013

Principe de non-discrimination et entreprises de tendance

La Déclaration des droits de l’homme et du citoyen du 26 août 1789, puis les constitutions du 27 octobre 1946 et du 4 octobre 1958 ont énoncé un principe d’égalité devant la loi qui prohibe les (...)

La Déclaration des droits de l’homme et du citoyen du 26 août 1789, puis les constitutions du 27 octobre 1946 et du 4 octobre 1958 ont énoncé un principe d’égalité devant la loi qui prohibe les différences de traitement entre les personnes, sur la base notamment de la religion ou des convictions. La législation française en matière de discrimination s’est développée essentiellement par la transposition des directives communautaires (loi du 16 nov. 2001, complétée par les lois du 17 janvier 2002 et 27 mai 2008). La discrimination est réprimée en droit pénal (C. pén., art. 225-1 et s.) et le Code du travail sanctionne tout acte discriminatoire dans la relation de travail (C. trav., art. L. 1131-1 et s.). Dans ce domaine, d’éventuelles différences de traitement doivent être justifiées par la nature de la tâche à accomplir, répondre à une exigence professionnelle essentielle et déterminante et être proportionnées au but recherché (C. trav., art. L. 1133-1 et L. 1321-3). La jurisprudence en matière de discrimination religieuse est peu importante.
En transposant les directives communautaires, les lois françaises n’ont pas retenu d’exception à l’égalité de traitement fondée sur les convictions ou la religion (art. 4 de la directive 2000/78) et cette question n’a d’ailleurs pas été débattue. La jurisprudence a cependant reconnu à plusieurs reprises qu’une entreprise de tendance confessionnelle ne commet pas de discrimination en choisissant son personnel sur le fondement d’un critère de conformité religieuse (Cass. ass., 19 mai 1978, Dame Roy, n° 76-41.211 ; Cass. soc., 20 nov. 1986, Fischer, n° 84-43.243).
Les attributions de la Haute autorité de lutte contre les discriminations et pour l’égalité (HALDE) créée en 2005 ont été transférées en mai 2011 au Défenseur des droits, nouvelle autorité constitutionnelle indépendante, compétente notamment en matière de lutte contre les discriminations.

21 avril 2013

Port de signes religieux

A la suite notamment du rapport de la Commission de réflexion sur l’application du principe de laïcité dans la République (Rapport Stasi), le parlement a voté la loi du 15 mars 2004 encadrant le port (...)

A la suite notamment du rapport de la Commission de réflexion sur l’application du principe de laïcité dans la République (Rapport Stasi), le parlement a voté la loi du 15 mars 2004 encadrant le port de signes ou de tenues manifestant une appartenance religieuse dans les écoles, collèges et lycées publics. Une circulaire du 18 mai 2004 précise ses modalités d’application (voir sur ce sujet la rubrique Religion et société).
Faisant suite aux travaux de la Mission d’information sur la pratique du port du voile intégral sur le territoire national (voir Débats actuels octobre 2010), la loi n° 2010-1192 du 11 octobre 2010 interdisant la dissimulation du visage dans l’espace public vise notamment à interdire le voile intégral dans tous les espaces publics (voies publiques, lieux ouverts au public et lieux affectés à un service public, art. 2). Le non-respect de cette interdiction est sanctionné d’une amende d’un montant maximal de 150 euros, à laquelle peut s’ajouter ou se substituer l’obligation d’effectuer un stage de citoyenneté (art. 3). La loi réprime par ailleurs le fait pour toute personne d’imposer à une ou plusieurs autres personnes, en raison de leur sexe, de dissimuler leur visage par menace, violence, contrainte, abus d’autorité ou abus de pouvoir (un an d’emprisonnement et 30 000 euros d’amende, art. 4).
Une circulaire du 2 mars 2011 précise les modalités d’application de cette interdiction (champ d’application de la loi, conduite à tenir dans les services publics, information du public).
Dans sa décision n° 2010-613 DC du 7 octobre 2010, le Conseil constitutionnel a considéré que « le législateur a estimé que de telles pratiques [dissimulation du visage] peuvent constituer un danger pour la sécurité publique et méconnaissent les exigences minimales de la vie en société ; [il] a également estimé que les femmes dissimulant leur visage, volontairement ou non, se trouvent placées dans une situation d’exclusion et d’infériorité manifestement incompatible avec les principes constitutionnels de liberté et d’égalité ». Il juge que cette loi procède à une conciliation qui n’est « pas manifestement disproportionnée » entre la sauvegarde de l’ordre public et la garantie des droits constitutionnellement protégés. (Voir aussi, à propos des premiers arrêts de la Cour de cassation sur le port d’un voile intégral, la rubrique Débats actuels mars 2013)

22 avril 2013

Le bureau central des cultes

Les relations de l’Etat avec les autorités représentatives des cultes sont gérées notamment par le bureau central des cultes du Ministère de l’Intérieur.
Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire et les (...)

Les relations de l’Etat avec les autorités représentatives des cultes sont gérées notamment par le bureau central des cultes du Ministère de l’Intérieur.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire et les attributions de cette administration, lire le document rédigé par Bertrand GAUME, ancien chef du bureau central des cultes.

23 avril 2013

Organisation des cultes : les régimes locaux

Des fondements historiques et la volonté des populations de conserver des particularités juridiques territoriales ont conduit au maintien de différents statuts de droit local qui continuent à (...)

Des fondements historiques et la volonté des populations de conserver des particularités juridiques territoriales ont conduit au maintien de différents statuts de droit local qui continuent à coexister avec le régime de la loi de 1905.

- Droit local d’Alsace-Moselle

Les départements du Bas-Rhin, du Haut-Rhin et de la Moselle (Alsace-Moselle) sont redevenus français en 1918 après près de cinquante ans d’annexion par l’Allemagne. L’ancienne législation cultuelle qui était restée applicable sous le régime allemand est maintenue en vigueur par la loi du 1er juin 1924 : loi du 18 germinal an X (Concordat de 1801 et Articles organiques du culte catholique et des cultes protestants) et ordonnance du 25 mai 1844 (culte juif). Ni la loi de 1901, ni celle de 1905 ne s’appliquent donc dans ces trois départements et cette exception, qui a été maintenue à la suite de la Seconde guerre mondiale, perdure aujourd’hui encore.
Ce droit local des cultes se caractérise par un régime de cultes reconnus pour l’Église catholique, les Eglises protestantes luthérienne et réformée et le culte israélite. Organisés dans le cadre du droit public, ils peuvent être financés par l’Etat et les collectivités locales et leurs ministres du culte sont rémunérés par l’Etat. Les autres confessions sont organisées selon un statut d’association inscrite de droit local et peuvent être subventionnées volontairement par les pouvoirs publics.
En matière d’enseignement, les pouvoirs publics sont tenus d’organiser un enseignement religieux confessionnel intégré dans les programmes des établissements d’enseignement primaire, secondaire et professionnel. Les parents qui le désirent peuvent faire dispenser leur enfant de l’enseignement religieux.

- Régimes des cultes outre-mer

En matière cultuelle, plusieurs régimes juridiques s’appliquent dans les différentes collectivités d’outre-mer. Selon les dispositions du décret du 6 février 1911, le régime général de la loi du 9 décembre 1905 s’applique à la Martinique, en Guadeloupe et à La Réunion.
En Guyane, une ordonnance royale du 27 août 1828 organise le seul culte catholique. Ses ministres sont rémunérés par le département qui entretient par ailleurs ses édifices cultuels. Les autres cultes sont gérés dans le cadre du décret-loi du 16 janvier 1939 (décret Mandel).
Ce même décret-loi s’applique en Polynésie française (Tahiti et Îles Marquises), à Saint-Pierre et Miquelon, Wallis-et-Futuna et en Nouvelle-Calédonie. Dans ces territoires, les cultes sont constitués en « missions religieuses » dotées d’un conseil d’administration.
Ce décret du 16 janvier 1939 s’applique également avec quelques particularités à Mayotte ; le culte musulman, majoritaire dans ce département, organise quant à lui ses activités dans le cadre d’associations régies par la loi du 1er juillet 1901.

Pour plus de détails, voir la circulaire du 25 août 2011 sur la réglementation des cultes outre-mer et le droit des cultes applicables en outre-mer, tableau synthétique.
Voir aussi l’article d’Anne Fornerod, "Après le droit alsacien-moselan, le droit des cultes guyanais devant le Conseil constitutionnel français", ORELA, juillet 2017.

6 juillet 2017