eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Ireland » Religions and society » Religions and the media

Religions and the media

Religious broadcasting

Since the establishment of Irish state broadcasting in radio (1926) and television (1960) the importance of the mass media has been recognised by all of Ireland’s major religious groups. Though (...)

Since the establishment of Irish state broadcasting in radio (1926) and television (1960) the importance of the mass media has been recognised by all of Ireland’s major religious groups. Though initially governed by an attitude of suspicion more concerned with censoring "immoral" content in cinema and television, the strategic value of the mass media as vehicles for the promotion of religion was also recognised early on - particularly by the Catholic Church. In 1932 state radio provided extensive coverage of the International Eucharist Congress held in Dublin that year - an example of religious broadcasting which was followed by the regular broadcasting of Catholic Mass every Sunday (since 1948) and the embedding of the Catholic Angelus into the radio schedule (since 1960). Today these are still broadcast on the flagship state radio channel (RTE1), with the occasional radio broadcast of Protestant religious services. However, these broadcasts have recently been demoted by being made available on medium wave transmissions rather than FM radio. The Angelus, however, persists across all wavebands as well as on the main state television channel (RTE1) at six o’clock.

D 21 September 2012    ASeán L’Estrange

Catholic media

In response to the challenge of televisual media in particular, the Irish Catholic Church established its own media production unit operating under the auspices of the Catholic Communications (...)

In response to the challenge of televisual media in particular, the Irish Catholic Church established its own media production unit operating under the auspices of the Catholic Communications Institute (est. 1969). Today, in the form of the Kairos Communications media production and training company, a variety of programming is provided according to a broad Christian agenda as opposed to a narrowly ecclesiastical one. This includes the production of a short "Prayer at Bedtime" programme broadcast nightly by the main state television channel, and occasional documentaries centred on the developing world in which Catholic missions are active.

With respect to "old" media, the Catholic Church has a number of publishing houses and retail outlets, the most prominent being Veritas - first established in 1928 as the commercial wing of the Catholic Truth Society of Ireland (1900-69) which was subsequently absorbed into the Catholic Communications Institute. Veritas publishes a wide variety of popular religious literature, with more scholarly work of religious interest published by the Columba Press and the Four Courts Press. With respect to the Press, the Irish Catholic weekly newspaper (est. 1888) - though not owned by the Church - functions as the leading newspaper for comment and coverage of Catholic religious affairs.

D 21 September 2012    ASeán L’Estrange

The dominant position of the Catholic Church

Protestantism has a far lower media profile than Catholicism within the Republic of Ireland. This is offset somewhat by its relative strength within Northern Ireland and by the availability of (...)

Protestantism has a far lower media profile than Catholicism within the Republic of Ireland. This is offset somewhat by its relative strength within Northern Ireland and by the availability of British state broadcasting within most of the island. However, with respect to the presence or otherwise of clergy in media debates and the arena of public discourse, Catholicism still occupies a dominant position, with Church representatives frequently invited to contribute on issues and topics considered to be the special preserve of the Church or where Church interests are directly implicated. Education, health and charitable ventures are prominent amongst these, including recent debates over immigration in response to which the Church has been particularly active. Non-christian media presence is virtually non-existent, though it is possible that this will change as numbers of Muslim migrants increase, and that even the "old" Western Christian profile will change in response to increased numbers of new evangelical Protestants and Eastern Orthodox migrants. However, the experience of older small communities of Chinese and Jewish, and their conspicuous lack of any media presence, suggests that the pluralisation of religious representation and participation in media may be slow in coming.

D 21 September 2012    ASeán L’Estrange

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Irlande > Religion et société > Médias et religion

Médias et religion

Emissions religieuses

Depuis la création des chaînes nationales de radio (1926) et de télévision (1960) en Irlande, l’importance des médias a été reconnue par tous les principaux groupes religieux du pays. Initialement (...)

Depuis la création des chaînes nationales de radio (1926) et de télévision (1960) en Irlande, l’importance des médias a été reconnue par tous les principaux groupes religieux du pays. Initialement reflétée par une attitude de suspicion essentiellement orientée vers la censure des contenus télévisuels et cinématographiques considérés comme "immoraux", l’importance stratégique des médias comme vecteurs permettant la promotion de la religion a été rapidement reconnue, en particulier par l’Eglise catholique. En 1932, la radio nationale a retransmis la quasi-intégralité du Congrès eucharistique international de Dublin qui se déroulait cette année-là. Cette émission religieuse servit d’exemple et fut ensuite suivie par la diffusion régulière de la messe catholique dominicale (depuis 1948) et par l’introduction de l’angélus catholique dans les programmes radiophonique (depuis 1960). Aujourd’hui, ces émissions sont toujours diffusées sur RTE1, la principale station de radio nationale, avec la diffusion occasionnelle de services religieux protestants. Ces émissions ont cependant été récemment retirées des programmes car elles peuvent à présent être captées sur les ondes moyennes à la place des ondes FM. La diffusion de l’angélus est toutefois maintenue sur toutes les fréquences ainsi que sur la principale station de radio nationale RTE1 à 18 heures.

21 septembre 2012

Les médias catholiques

Pour faire face à la concurrence que représentent en particulier les médias télévisuels, l’Eglise catholique irlandaise a créé sa propre unité de production audiovisuelle, administrée par le Catholic (...)

Pour faire face à la concurrence que représentent en particulier les médias télévisuels, l’Eglise catholique irlandaise a créé sa propre unité de production audiovisuelle, administrée par le Catholic Communications Institute créé en 1969. Aujourd’hui, Kairos Communications, société de production et de formation dans l’audiovisuel, offre toute une gamme d’émissions élaborées en fonction d’un programme chrétien plutôt que strictement ecclésiastique. Ceci inclut la production d’une courte émission de prière à l’heure du coucher (Bedtime Prayer) diffusée tous les soirs par la principale chaîne de télévision nationale, ainsi que des documentaires portant sur les pays en voie de développement dans lesquels les missions catholiques sont actives.
En ce qui concerne les médias plus "anciens", l’Eglise catholique possède un bon nombre de maisons d’édition et de points de vente, le plus connu étant Veritas, établi pour la première fois en 1928 comme branche commerciale de la Catholic Truth Society of Ireland (1900-1969) qui fut par la suite intégrée au Catholic Communications Institute. Veritas publie une littérature religieuse populaire très variée ainsi que des ouvrages d’intérêt religieux plus érudits édités par Columba Press et Four Courts Press. Quant à la presse écrite, l’hebdomadaire Irish Catholic (créé en 1888) est, bien qu’il ne soit pas la propriété de l’Eglise, considéré comme le principal journal en matière d’analyse et de couverture des affaires religieuses catholiques.

21 septembre 2012

La position dominante de l’Eglise catholique

Le protestantisme a une présence médiatique bien moindre que l’Eglise catholique en République d’Irlande. Cela est compensé par sa relative force en Irlande du Nord mais aussi par le fait que les (...)

Le protestantisme a une présence médiatique bien moindre que l’Eglise catholique en République d’Irlande. Cela est compensé par sa relative force en Irlande du Nord mais aussi par le fait que les émissions britanniques sont diffusées dans la majeure partie de l’île. Cependant, en ce qui concerne la présence du clergé dans les débats médiatiques et sur la scène publique, le catholicisme reste en position de force dans la mesure où ses représentants sont souvent invités à participer à des débats sur des questions considéréés comme étant la chasse gardée de l’Église catholique, ou concernant directement les intérêts de l’Eglise. Ces débats concernent principalement l’éducation, la santé et les activités caritatives, et plus récemment l’immigration, sujet sur lequel l’Eglise a été particulièrement active. Les médias non chrétiens sont pratiquement absents. Il est possible que cela change avec l’augmentation du nombre d’immigrés musulmans et avec la modification de l’"ancien" profil chrétien occidental suite à l’accroissement du nombre de nouveaux protestants évangéliques et d’immigrés membres de l’Eglise orthodoxe. Toutefois, l’expérience des petites communautés juives et chinoises plus anciennes, et leur manque évident de représentation médiatique, suggère que la diversification de la représentation et de la participation religieuse dans les médias risque d’être longue à venir.

21 septembre 2012