eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Ireland » Social and religious data » Religious geography

Religious geography

A majority Catholic population in all parts of the country

Ireland is a small country but geographical distinctions are often made between the four historic provinces. These are Leinster in the east of the country, Munster in the south, Connaught in the west and Ulster in the north. Since the partition of Ireland only three of the nine Ulster counties now lie in the Republic of Ireland. The province of Leinster includes Dublin county and city.
Catholics form the overwhelming majority in all parts of the country. Protestants are the largest religious minority. The percentage of the regional population accounted for by Protestants and the absolute number of Protestants in each region varies considerably. This still largely reflects the historical pattern although it may change with continued immigration.
Dublin has a relatively large Protestant population and about a third of all Irish Protestants live there. However, as the Catholic population in this region is over one million, only about three percent of the Dublin population is Protestant. The whole province of Leinster accounts for over half of all Irish Protestants. In terms of absolute numbers about a fifth of all Irish Protestants live in the three Ulster counties. The Ulster counties are distinctive in the following ways. The inhabitants are predominantly rural, and the counties border Northern Ireland. Protestants here form a larger local minority than do Protestants elsewhere in the state and about half of these Protestants are Presbyterians. Protestants in Munster are concentrated in Cork while there are very few Protestants in Connaught.

D 21 September 2012    ARichard O’Leary

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Irlande > Données socio-religieuses > Géographie religieuse

Géographie religieuse

Une population majoritairement catholique dans toutes les régions du pays

L’Irlande est certes un petit pays, mais des distinctions géographiques sont souvent faites entre les quatre provinces historiques. Il s’agit du Leinster dans l’est du pays, du Munster au sud, du Connaught à l’ouest et de l’Ulster au nord. Depuis la partition de l’Irlande, seuls trois des neuf comtés de l’Ulster se situent aujourd’hui en République d’Irlande. La province du Leinster englobe le comté et la ville de Dublin.
Les catholiques constituent une majorité écrasante dans toutes les régions du pays. Les protestants représentent la plus grande minorité religieuse. Le pourcentage de la population protestante et le nombre absolu de protestants dans chaque région varient considérablement. Cette situation est le reflet d’une répartition historique, bien que cela soit susceptible de changer avec une immigration continue.
Dublin abrite une population protestante relativement importante et environ un tiers des protestants irlandais y vivent. Néanmoins, comme la population catholique de la région dépasse le million, les protestants ne représentent que près de trois pourcents de la population de Dublin. L’ensemble de la province du Leinster rassemble plus de la moitié des protestants irlandais. Si l’on considère les chiffres dans l’absolu, près d’un cinquième des protestants irlandais vit dans les trois comtés de l’Ulster. Ceux-ci se distinguent par plusieurs caractéristiques : la population y est majoritairement rurale, et ils bordent l’Irlande du Nord. Les protestants de la région constituent une plus grande minorité locale que les autres protestants partout ailleurs dans le pays et près de la moitié de ces protestants sont presbytériens. Les protestants du Munster se concentrent à Cork alors que très peu de protestants habitent le Connaught.

21 septembre 2012