eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Ireland » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

Independent Ireland

The Irish Nationalist rebellion in 1916 led to independence in 1922 for the southern 26 counties but which were partitioned from the six Ulster counties which remained with Britain. A civil war (...)

The Irish Nationalist rebellion in 1916 led to independence in 1922 for the southern 26 counties but which were partitioned from the six Ulster counties which remained with Britain. A civil war (1922-23) between Nationalists about the constitutional settlement demoralized the new state which was characterized by economic stagnation, protectionism in trade and Catholic moral conservatism. The latter was expressed through censorship of publications and a ban on divorce. The new state was overwhelmingly Catholic (see below for an historical account of Catholic-Protestant relations) and this was reflected in the new constitution of 1937 which had a clause recognizing the special position of the Roman Catholic Church (the effect of which was largely symbolic). That clause was removed in 1973 by referendum with Catholic consent. Ireland remained neutral during the Second World War and the state declared itself to be Republic in 1949. The political clout of the Catholic Church was illustrated in the 1950s when a measure (The Mother and Child Bill) by the Health Minister was withdrawn by the government in response to Catholic ecclesiastical criticism.

Economic growth improved in the 1960s by economic policies favouring foreign trade and investment and growth boosted by Ireland’s accession to the EEC (European Union) in 1973. The eruption of violent conflict in Northern Ireland had spill-over effects in the Republic but Roman Catholic and Protestant church leaders responded positively by displaying increasing ecumenism. On the Catholic side this was facilitated by the reforms of the Second Vatican Council, although in European terms the Catholic Church may be viewed as traditional and conservative. This was evident in bitter political debates in the 1980s and early 1990s around the liberalization of laws on divorce and abortion. Conservative Catholic lay groups with some support from Catholic bishops successfully mobilized support against liberal reforms, although a constitutional referendum for divorce was eventually narrowly passed in 1995.

Since the mid 1990s Irish society has been transformed by the unprecedented growth and prosperity of the ‘Celtic Tiger’ economy. This period has also seen a sharp decline in church attendance. While this religious change is consistent with the secularization thesis, an additional factor has been the spate of damaging abuse scandals involving some Catholic institutions and clergy.

D 21 September 2012    ARichard O’Leary

Historical origins and relations between Catholics and Protestants

Protestants and Catholics in the Republic of Ireland are part of the larger Protestant and Catholic populations on the whole island of Ireland. After the Reformation in the 16th century, the (...)

Protestants and Catholics in the Republic of Ireland are part of the larger Protestant and Catholic populations on the whole island of Ireland. After the Reformation in the 16th century, the native Gaelic Irish continued to adhere to the Roman Catholic faith. Settlers of English and Scottish origins were supported by the British Crown and in turn supported the Union with Britain. In the aftermath of the Irish War of Independence thousands of Protestants emigrated to Britain and Northern Ireland when the nationalist government came to power, although the level of inter-communal violence was low by international standards. However, the main issue of tension, especially from the Protestant point of view, was the Catholic Church’s strict rules on intermarriage which sought conversions and pre-nuptial commitments on the Catholic upbringing of the children. Up to the 1970s the great majority of the children of intermarriages were brought up as Catholic.

Relations between Catholics and Protestants in the Republic of Ireland have always been peaceful and have become more cordial since the 1970s. The relaxation since the 1970s of the Catholic Church’s rules on intermarriage, the increasing ecumenism involving the Churches and the wider secularization of society have largely dissipated the historical tensions.

D 21 September 2012    ARichard O’Leary

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Irlande > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

L’Irlande indépendante

La rébellion nationaliste irlandaise de 1916 conduisit en 1922 à l’indépendance des 26 comtés du sud, séparés des six comtés de l’Ulster qui restèrent rattachés à l’Angleterre. Une guerre civile (1922-23) (...)

La rébellion nationaliste irlandaise de 1916 conduisit en 1922 à l’indépendance des 26 comtés du sud, séparés des six comtés de l’Ulster qui restèrent rattachés à l’Angleterre. Une guerre civile (1922-23) entre nationalistes au sujet de l’établissement de la Constitution affaiblit cependant le jeune Etat, caractérisé par la stagnation économique, le protectionnisme commercial et un conservatisme moral catholique. Ce dernier s’exprimait notamment au travers de la censure des publications et de l’interdiction du divorce. Le jeune Etat était très majoritairement catholique (voir ci-dessous le résumé historique des relations entre catholiques et protestants) et cette prédominance se refléta dans la nouvelle Constitution de 1937, qui contenait une clause reconnaissant la position spéciale de l’Eglise catholique romaine (dont les effets étaient en grande partie symboliques). Cette clause sera retirée de la Constitution en 1973 par référendum, avec le consentement de l’Eglise catholique. L’Irlande resta neutre durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale et l’Etat s’auto-déclara République en 1949. Le poids politique de l’Eglise catholique fut particulièrement manifeste durant les années 1950 lorsqu’une mesure du ministre de la santé (The Mother and Child Bill) fut retirée par le gouvernement suite aux critiques émises par le clergé catholique.

La croissance économique connut une embellie durant les années 1960 grâce à une politique favorisant le commerce extérieur et les investissements étrangers, et cette croissance grimpa en flèche lors de l’accession de l’Irlande à la CEE (Union Européenne) en 1973. L’éruption de violents conflits en Irlande du Nord eut une incidence sur la République mais les dirigeants des Eglises catholique romaine et protestante répondirent de façon positive en faisant preuve de davantage d’œcuménisme. Du côté des catholiques, cette tendance fut facilitée par les réformes de Vatican II, bien que d’un point de vue européen l’Eglise catholique irlandaise puisse être considérée comme traditionnelle et conservatrice. Cela ressortit clairement lors de vifs débats politiques durant les années 1980 et au début des années 1990 autour de la libéralisation des lois sur le divorce et l’avortement. Des groupes de laïcs catholiques conservateurs réussirent, avec l’aide d’évêques catholiques, à mobiliser une force d’opposition aux réformes libérales, bien qu’un référendum constitutionnel en faveur du divorce ait été finalement voté à une faible majorité en 1995.

Depuis le milieu des années 1990, la société irlandaise s’est transformée sous l’effet d’une croissance et d’une prospérité sans précédent de l’économie du "tigre celtique". Cette période atteste également d’un fort déclin de la fréquentation des églises. Alors que ce changement religieux est conforme à la thèse de la sécularisation, une accumulation de scandales relatifs à des abus sexuels impliquant certaines institutions catholiques et le clergé en constitue un facteur supplémentaire.

21 septembre 2012

Origines historiques des relations entre catholiques et protestants

Protestants et catholiques de la République d’Irlande font partie de la population plus large des protestants et catholiques de l’ensemble de l’île d’Irlande. Après la Réforme au 16e s., les Irlandais (...)

Protestants et catholiques de la République d’Irlande font partie de la population plus large des protestants et catholiques de l’ensemble de l’île d’Irlande. Après la Réforme au 16e s., les Irlandais gaéliques de souche continuèrent d’adhérer à la foi catholique romaine. Les colons d’origine anglaise et écossaise étaient soutenus par la Couronne britannique et soutenaient en retour l’union avec la Grande-Bretagne. A la suite de la guerre d’indépendance de l’Irlande, des milliers de protestants immigrèrent en Grande-Bretagne et en Irlande du Nord lorsque le gouvernement nationaliste arriva au pouvoir, bien que le niveau de violence intercommunautaire fut faible selon des critères internationaux. Toutefois, le principal point de friction, particulièrement du point de vue des protestants, concernait les règles strictes de l’Eglise catholique sur le mariage mixte, qui requéraient la conversion et un engagement prénuptial concernant l’éducation catholique des enfants. Jusque dans les années 1970 la grande majorité des enfants issus de mariages mixtes étaient élevés dans la foi catholique.

Les relations entre catholiques et protestants en République d’Irlande ont toujours été pacifiques et sont devenues plus cordiales depuis les années 1970. L’assouplissement des règles catholiques sur les mariages mixtes depuis les années 1970, l’œcuménisme grandissant et la plus grande sécularisation de la société ont largement dissipé les tensions historiques.

21 septembre 2012