eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Belgium » Law and religion » Legal framework

Legal framework

A general guarantee of religious freedom

Ever since the origins of the Belgian Constitution, exercising freedom of worship has been open to all denominations without any formal pre-approval being required. Current Article 19 (14 in (...)

Ever since the origins of the Belgian Constitution, exercising freedom of worship has been open to all denominations without any formal pre-approval being required. Current Article 19 (14 in 1831) establishes freedom of religions and that of their public practice. Article 20 (15 in 1831) includes freedom not to join any religion. The independence of religions vis-à-vis the state is guaranteed by Article 21 (16 in 1831): no state intervention in appointments, dismissals or internal organisation; civil weddings should always precede nuptial benediction except in cases established by law, if any. Just one specific public regime was, however, subordinated to intervention by lawmakers: the financing of certain salaries for ministers of the faith or for chaplains and some teachers of religion and the granting of a special status for public bodies managing the temporal aspects of the faith. These different consequences of recognising a denomination do not all have the same status. Only the requirement for the state to pay salaries and pensions of ministers of religion has a constitutional guarantee under Article 181 (117 in 1831). Originally, the denominations in question were those recognised under previous legislation.

D 21 September 2012    ALouis-Léon Christians APatrick de Pooter

The status of recognised religions and secularity in Belgium

Introduction
Over time, Belgian law has granted the status of recognised denomination to six religious groups: Roman Catholicism, Protestantism, Anglicanism, Judaism, the Orthodox faith and (...)

Introduction

Over time, Belgian law has granted the status of recognised denomination to six religious groups: Roman Catholicism, Protestantism, Anglicanism, Judaism, the Orthodox faith and Islam. The recognition opens access to a special regime of financial support for the religion, chaplaincies and religious education.
Until recently, the Law of 4 March 1870 on the temporal aspects of religion was considered to be the basic law on recognised religions. This law specified at the beginning how four religions - Roman Catholic, Protestant, Anglican and Jewish – were to be regulated. Two other groups were then recognised following an amendment to this law: Islam (in 1974) and the Orthodox faith (in 1985). It should be mentioned that the Roman Catholic church was used as a model and benchmark for the development of the legal status of the other recognised religions.
The first four denominations are organised according to the areas covered by the municipalities. The last two - the Orthodox and Muslim faiths - are organised into areas covering one or several provinces and, additionally, the Brussels-Capital district.
Currently, the establishment and organisation of communities comes under the scope of regional authorities following the Law of 13 July 2001. The Law of 1870 was amended by the regional authorities in Brussels-Capital. In Flanders, a new decree manages the administration of these communities.

Procedures for federal recognition

The recognition of religions is still a federal responsibility. Once a religious group or a denominational community has been officially considered as a denomination (in most cases following a judgement), this group can be “recognised”.
In order to proceed with recognising a denomination, the Ministry of Justice refers to five “conditions” which were made explicit during several parliamentary questions:
1. having enough followers (several tens of thousands);
2. being structured;
3. having been established in the country long enough (several decades);
4. being of social interest;
5. not developing any activity that might go against the social order.
The lawmaker may check the features listed, but must refrain from making value judgements or judgements about the truth value of religion.

Secularism

In early 1980, the Justice Minister, Van Elslande, proposed organising the recognition of the group asking for the recognition of secularism in three steps:
- allocating a subsidy for the year 1980;
- passing a law legalising the annual allocation of such a grant;
- recognising secularism definitively.

The Law of 23 January 1981 on the granting of subsidies to non-confessional, philosophical communities in Belgium, introduced payment to the Central Lay Council (CCL) of an annual subsidy with expected yearly growth of 10%.
In 1993, a second paragraph was added to Article 181 of the Constitution, making the Treasury responsible for salaries and pensions of lay delegates.
And in the Law of 21 June 2002 on the Central Council of philosophical, non-denominational Communities in Belgium and on delegates and institutions managing material and financial interests of recognised non-denominational, philosophical communities, secularism obtained a status similar to that of the recognised religions.
Meanwhile, while legislation on the temporal aspects of religion was regionalised during the state reform of 2001, the legal framework for the secular group itself remains federal.

D 21 September 2012    ALouis-Léon Christians APatrick de Pooter

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Belgique > Droit et religion > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Une garantie générale de liberté religieuse

Dès l’origine constitutionnelle belge, l’exercice de la liberté des cultes a été ouvert à toutes les religions sans qu’aucune agréation préalable ne soit requise. L’actuel article 19 (14 en 1831) établit (...)

Dès l’origine constitutionnelle belge, l’exercice de la liberté des cultes a été ouvert à toutes les religions sans qu’aucune agréation préalable ne soit requise. L’actuel article 19 (14 en 1831) établit la liberté des cultes et celle de leur exercice public. A l’article 20 (15 en 1831), est inscrite la liberté de n’adhérer à aucun culte. L’indépendance des cultes vis-à-vis de l’Etat est assurée par l’article 21 (16 en 1831) : pas d’intervention de l’Etat dans les nominations, dans les révocations, dans l’organisation interne, le mariage civil devra toujours précéder la bénédiction nuptiale sauf les exceptions à établir par la loi, s’il y a lieu. Seul un régime public spécifique a toutefois été subordonné à des interventions législatives : le financement de certains traitements de ministres du culte ou d’aumôniers puis de certains professeurs de religion, et l’octroi d’un régime spécial d’établissement public aux organes de gestion du temporel du culte. Ces différentes conséquences de la reconnaissance d’un culte n’ont pas toutes le même statut. Seule la mise à charge publique des traitements et pensions des ministres des cultes bénéficie d’une garantie constitutionnelle en vertu de l’article 181 (117 en 1831). A l’origine, les cultes en question sont ceux reconnus par la législation antérieure.

21 septembre 2012

Le statut des cultes reconnus et de la laïcité en Belgique

Introduction
La loi belge a octroyé au cours du temps le statut de culte reconnu à six cultes : le culte catholique romain, protestant, anglican et israélite, orthodoxe et à l’islam. La (...)

Introduction

La loi belge a octroyé au cours du temps le statut de culte reconnu à six cultes : le culte catholique romain, protestant, anglican et israélite, orthodoxe et à l’islam. La reconnaissance ouvre un régime particulier de soutien financier pour le culte, les aumôneries, les cours de religion.
Jusqu’à récemment, la loi du 4 mars 1870 concernant le temporel du culte était considérée comme la loi de base des cultes reconnus. Cette loi contenait au début la réglementation de quatre cultes, c’est-à-dire le culte catholique romain, protestant, anglican et israélite. Deux autres cultes ont été reconnus ensuite par une modification de cette loi : l’islam (en 1974) et le culte orthodoxe (en 1985). Il faut mentionner que le culte catholique romain a servi de modèle et de point de repère pour l’élaboration du statut juridique des autres cultes reconnus.
Les quatre premiers cultes sont organisés sur la base du territoire de la commune. Les deux derniers, le culte orthodoxe et le culte musulman, sont organisés pour une ou plusieurs provinces et pour l’arrondissement Bruxelles-Capitale.
Actuellement, l’établissement et l’organisation des communautés appartiennent à l’autorité régionale suite à la loi du 13 juillet 2001. La loi du 1870 a été modifiée par les autorités régionales en Bruxelles-Capitale. En Flandres, un nouveau décret gère l’administration des ces communautés.

Procédures de reconnaissance fédérale

La reconnaissance des cultes est encore une compétence fédérale. Dès qu’un courant religieux ou une communauté confessionnelle est qualifié de "culte" (dans la plupart des cas par un jugement), ce culte peut être reconnu.
Afin de procéder à la reconnaissance d’un culte, le Ministère de la Justice se réfère à cinq "conditions", qui ont été explicitées dans plusieurs questions parlementaires :
1. avoir suffisamment d’adeptes (plusieurs dizaines de milliers) ;
2. être structuré ;
3. être établi dans le pays depuis suffisamment longtemps (plusieurs décennies) ;
4. présenter un intérêt social ;
5. ne développer aucune activité qui pourrait aller à l’encontre de l’ordre social.
Le législateur peut vérifier les caractéristiques indiquées, mais il doit s’abstenir de formuler un jugement de valeur ou un jugement sur la valeur de vérité d’une religion.

La laïcité

Au début de l’année 1980, le Ministre de la Justice Van Elslande proposa de régler la reconnaissance de la laïcité en trois étapes :
- attribution d’un subsides pour l’année 1980 ;
- vote d’une loi légalisant l’attribution annuelle d’un tel subside ;
- reconnaissance définitive de la laïcité.

Par la loi du 23 janvier 1981 relative à l’octroi de subsides aux communautés philosophiques non confessionnelles de Belgique, le versement au Conseil central laïc (CCL) d’un subside annuel, avec croissance annuelle prévue de 10 %, a été instauré.
En 1993, un 2ème paragraphe est ajouté à l’article 181 de la Constitution, mettant à charge du Trésor les traitements et pensions des délégués laïcs.
Par la loi du 21 juin 2002 relative au Conseil central des communautés philosophiques non confessionnelles de Belgique, aux délégués et aux établissements chargés de la gestion des intérêts matériels et financiers des communautés philosophiques non confessionnelles reconnues, la laïcité a obtenu un statut analogue à celui des cultes reconnus.
Entre-temps, alors que la législation relative au temporel des cultes a été régionalisée à l’occasion de la réforme de l’Etat de 2001, le cadre légal relatif à la laïcité est resté, lui, fédéral.

21 septembre 2012