eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Hungary » Social and religious data » Religious belonging and religious demography

Religious belonging and religious demography

2001 census data on religious affiliation

Catholic 5 558 961 54.5% - Roman Catholic 5 289 521 51.9% - Greek Catholic 268 935 2.6% Reformed (Calvinist) 1 622 796 15.9% Lutheran 303 864 3.0% Jewish 12 871 0.1% Other 112 121 1.1% - (...)

Catholic 5 558 961 54.5%
- Roman Catholic 5 289 521 51.9%
- Greek Catholic 268 935 2.6%
Reformed (Calvinist) 1 622 796 15.9%
Lutheran 303 864 3.0%
Jewish 12 871 0.1%
Other 112 121 1.1%
- Orthodox 15 298 0.2%
- Romanian Orthodox 5 598 0.1%
- Russian Orthodox 3 502
- Greek Orthodox 2 472
- Serb Orthodox 1 914
- Baptist 17 705 0.2%
- Pentecostal 7 408 0.1%
- Unitarian 6 641 0.1%
- Adventist 5 840 0.1%
- Other Christians 24 340 0.2%
- Jehovah’s Witnesses 21 688 0.2%
- Muslims 2 907
No denomination 1 483 369 14.5%
No answer 1 034 767 10.1%
No data 69 566 0.7%
Total population 10 198 315 100%

Source : Hungarian Central Statistical Office, 2001.

An analysis of religious belief and national belonging in Central and Eastern Europe (May 2017) is available on the Pew Research Center website (full report available as a pdf document).

D 20 September 2012    ABalázs Schanda

Commentary

The proportion of those having a religious affiliation grows with the age groups. The average age of the population is 39.22, corresponding to the average age of Greek Catholics and those (...)

The proportion of those having a religious affiliation grows with the age groups. The average age of the population is 39.22, corresponding to the average age of Greek Catholics and those belonging to “other” denominations. The average age of Roman Catholics is 41.69, of Calvinists is 42.49, of Lutherans 44.79, whereas the age of those having no affiliation is only 28.85 and the average age of those not responding is 34.61.
Generally, women stated a higher affiliation to churches than men. Data also proved the shift in the proportion of denominations: the century-long decline of Protestants (especially that of Lutherans, who live in diasporas and consequently the percentage of mixed marriages is very high with them) in comparison with the Catholic population (especially the Greek Catholic minority) continued during the decades of communism. The affiliation to mainstream Christian denominations is stronger in rural areas than in towns. The proportion of people having no denomination or not responding to the question was the highest in Budapest, whereas the smaller a municipality becomes, the lower this percentage became too.
Women confessed a religious identity to a higher degree than men: most religions have more female adherents than males; consequently men constitute the majority of those having no denomination or not responding. Presumably Jews and adherents of some “new religious movements” are over-represented among those denying the answer (some estimations put the number of Jews ten times higher as the census results). Altogether the population stated affiliation to 260 different religious communities and beliefs. It is to be noted, that on the census the question was formulated in an open way, so that there were no pre-typed, possible answers listed.

Data were published indicating regions, municipalities, correlation to marital status and age. Központi Statisztikai Hivatal, 2001. évi népszámlálás. 5. Vallás, felekezet. Budapest, Központi Statisztikai Hivatal 2002.; Hungarian Central Statistical Office, Population census 2001. 5. Religion, denomination, Budapest, Hungarian Central Statistical Office, 2002.

D 20 September 2012    ABalázs Schanda

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Hongrie > Données socio-religieuses > Appartenance et démographie religieuses

Appartenance et démographie religieuses

Appartenance religieuse - recensement de 2001

Catholique 5 558 961 54.5% - Catholique romain 5 289 521 51.9% - Catholique grec 268 935 2.6% Reformé (calviniste) 1 622 796 15.9% Luthérien 303 864 3.0% Juif 12 871 0.1% Autre 112 121 1.1% (...)

Catholique 5 558 961 54.5%
- Catholique romain 5 289 521 51.9%
- Catholique grec 268 935 2.6%
Reformé (calviniste) 1 622 796 15.9%
Luthérien 303 864 3.0%
Juif 12 871 0.1%
Autre 112 121 1.1%
- Orthodoxe 15 298 0.2%
- Orthodoxe roumain 5 598 0.1%
- Orthodoxe russe 3 502
- Orthodoxe grec 2 472
- Orthodoxe serbe 1 914
- Baptiste 17 705 0.2%
- Pentecôtiste 7 408 0.1%
- Unitarien 6 641 0.1%
- Adventiste 5 840 0.1%
- Autres chrétiens 24 340 0.2%
- Témoins de Jehovah 21 688 0.2%
- Musulmans 2 907
Sans confession 1 483 369 14.5%
Sans réponse 1 034 767 10.1%
Pas de données 69 566 0.7%
Total de la population 10 198 315 100%

Source : Hungarian Central Statistical Office, 2001.

Une analyse des croyances religieuses et de l’appartenance nationale en Europe centrale et orientale (mai 2017) est disponible sur le site de Pew Research Center (le rapport complet est disponible en pdf, en anglais).

20 septembre 2012

Commentaire

La proportion de personnes affiliées à une religion augmente avec l’âge. L’âge moyen de la population est de 39,22 ans ce qui correspond à l’âge moyen des catholiques grecs et des personnes appartenant (...)

La proportion de personnes affiliées à une religion augmente avec l’âge. L’âge moyen de la population est de 39,22 ans ce qui correspond à l’âge moyen des catholiques grecs et des personnes appartenant aux « autres » confessions. L’âge moyen des catholiques romains est de 41,69 ans, celui des calvinistes de 42,49 ans, celui des Luthériens de 44,79 ans, alors que l’âge moyen des personnes sans confession est de 28,85 ans et celui des personnes qui ne se prononcent pas de 34,61 ans.
De manière générale, les femmes se déclarent plus fortement affiliées à l’Eglise que les hommes. Les chiffres démontrent également un changement dans la répartition des confessions : le recul des protestants pendant un siècle (particulièrement des luthériens, qui vivent en diaspora et chez qui les mariages mixtes sont donc particulièrement nombreux) par rapport aux catholiques (particulièrement à la minorité catholique grecque) s’est poursuivi pendant les décennies communistes. L’appartenance aux confessions chrétiennes traditionnelles est plus importante dans les zones rurales que dans les villes. La proportion de personnes sans confession ou ne répondant pas à la question est la plus élevée à Budapest, tandis que ce pourcentage diminue avec la taille des villes.
Les femmes affirment une identité religieuse plus forte que les hommes : la plupart des religions comptent plus de fidèles femmes que d’hommes. Par conséquent, les hommes sont majoritaires parmi les personnes sans confession ou qui de se prononcent pas. On peut supposer que les Juifs et les adhérents des « nouveaux mouvements religieux » sont surreprésentés parmi les personnes ne se prononçant pas (selon certaines estimations, le nombres de Juifs serait dix fois plus élevé que le résultat du recensement). La population a déclaré appartenir en tout à plus de 260 communautés et croyances religieuses différentes. Il faut noter que, lors du recensement, la question était ouverte, il ne s’agissait pas de cocher une réponse parmi une liste préétablie.

Les informations ont été publiées avec les données concernant les régions, les municipalités, le statut marital et l’âge. Központi Statisztikai Hivatal, 2001. évi népszámlálás. 5. Vallás, felekezet. Budapest, Központi Statisztikai Hivatal 2002 ; Office hongrois de statistique, Recensement de la population 2001. 5. Religion, confession, Budapest, Hungarian Central Statistical Office, 2002.

20 septembre 2012