eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Hungary » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

A Christian country

Hungary has emerged to statehood by its adoption of western Christianity at the end of the first millennium. The foundations of the structure of the Catholic Church were laid by Saint Steven (...)

Hungary has emerged to statehood by its adoption of western Christianity at the end of the first millennium. The foundations of the structure of the Catholic Church were laid by Saint Steven (997-1038), the first king of Hungary, who founded ten dioceses. The (claim of the) "patronate", that is the royal (state) care of spiritual issues remained firm throughout the late 20th century. Whereas Hungarian history is determined be the adherence to the Latin Church, Orthodox minorities have been present in Hungary throughout the country’s history. The Reformation reached the country when the central state power was weak and so it was highly successful in the 16th century. The Reformed (Calvinist-Presbyterian) Church became the birthplace of the national culture (Bible-translations, schools etc.). The Counter-reformation achieved success, but the country has preserved a high level of denominational pluralism. A generally tolerant approach in religious issues is deeply rooted in Hungarian society. The coexistence of Catholics and Protestants (mainly Calvinists who often regard themselves as the "Church of the nation") was not always free of conflicts but it proved to be a fertilizing tension enriching the national and everyday culture.

D 20 September 2012    ABalázs Schanda

Religious pluralism

After the Turkish wars (at the end of the 17th century) ethnic Hungarians became a minority in the Kingdom of Hungary. While Serbs in the south remained Orthodox, large numbers of Romanians in (...)

After the Turkish wars (at the end of the 17th century) ethnic Hungarians became a minority in the Kingdom of Hungary. While Serbs in the south remained Orthodox, large numbers of Romanians in Transylvania and Ruthenians in the Carpathians entered the Union with the Catholic Church, enhanced by the Hapsburgs. The Jewish population had risen to over 5% by the end of the 19th century. The liberal era of the late 19th century enhanced the rapid assimilation of Hungarian Jewry. This era produced law n° XLIII in 1895, which proclaimed religious freedom for all, restricting, however, the right of public worship to the communities that were acknowledged (incorporated or recognized). The law established a de facto two tier system of religious communities as it upheld the legal framework that had emerged during history concerning the status of the Catholic Church, the Reformed (Calvinist) and the Lutheran Churches, the Orthodox, the Unitarians and the Jews (the latter just having become an “incorporated” religion). The law opened up the possibility of setting up “recognized” denominations. The mainstream churches remained part of the establishment (not only in the legal, but also in the social sense – e.g. the Catholic Church remained the largest landowner until 1945 and 2/3 of the elementary schools were run by churches until 1948).

D 20 September 2012    ABalázs Schanda

Limits to religious freedom

After the trauma of the secession of Hungary (after World War I), national conservative forces dominated the political and the cultural landscape, cutting back some of the liberal legislation of (...)

After the trauma of the secession of Hungary (after World War I), national conservative forces dominated the political and the cultural landscape, cutting back some of the liberal legislation of the late 1800s. Hungary became a small country surrounded all around by countries that had formerly belonged to her – and large ethnic Hungarian minorities. The country got involved into World War II and came under German occupation on the 19th of March 1944. In the following few months the vast majority of Hungarian Jewry – enjoying relative security until then – was deported and killed (Hungary lost ¾ of its Jewish population).
After World War II, the communists came into power with Soviet assistance and eliminated the democratic structures, human rights as well as the rule of law. Communist authorities systematically harassed clergy and believers. Religious freedom was only on the dead paper of the Constitution. The "separation" imposed was nothing else but strict state control and persecution. As control over the churches became almost total, open persecution got somewhat milder ("goulash communism"), but the guiding principles did not change until 1989. In the 70s and 80s churches were relatively free to worship within church buildings but there was no space for any kind of social action (communication, charity, organizations, institutions, religious orders etc.).

D 20 September 2012    ABalázs Schanda

Religion in a modern society

Hungary played a notable role in the Ostpolitik of the Holy See as an experimental test case; the "détente" between church and state did have beneficial effects but meant painful compromises as (...)

Hungary played a notable role in the Ostpolitik of the Holy See as an experimental test case; the "détente" between church and state did have beneficial effects but meant painful compromises as well; the Holy See and the Peoples’ Republic of Hungary concluded a partial agreement in 1964. The first three decades of communist rule brought a massive and forceful secularization of Hungarian society. Communism has left Hungary as an atomized society and in a moral vacuum. Ironically, the churches – hit so hard by the regime – turned out to be the largest forces of civil society. The collapse of communism brought a new freedom and new challenges. Never before in Hungarian history have the churches enjoyed such independence from the state as in the present – free on the one hand from state control, on the other hand enjoying the same means as prior to World War II. Finding their new role in society is a difficult and complex process.

D 20 September 2012    ABalázs Schanda

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Hongrie > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

Un pays chrétien

La Hongrie est devenue un Etat lorsqu’elle s’est convertie au christianisme occidental à la fin du premier millénaire. Les fondements de la structure de l’Eglise catholique ont été mis en place par (...)

La Hongrie est devenue un Etat lorsqu’elle s’est convertie au christianisme occidental à la fin du premier millénaire. Les fondements de la structure de l’Eglise catholique ont été mis en place par Saint-Etienne (997-1038), premier roi de Hongrie, qui créa dix diocèses. La revendication du « patronat » c’est-à-dire le fait que le roi (ou l’Etat) est responsable des questions religieuses, a perduré jusqu’à la fin du 20è siècle. Bien que l’histoire hongroise soit déterminée par son adhésion à l’Eglise catholique romaine, les minorités orthodoxes ont été présentes en Hongrie à travers toute son histoire. La Réforme est arrivée dans le pays alors que le pouvoir de l’Etat centralisé était faible, et a donc connu beaucoup de succès au XVIème siècle. L’Eglise réformée, (calviniste presbytérienne) devint le lieu de naissance de la culture nationale (traductions de la Bible, écoles, etc.). La contre-réforme a obtenu quelques succès, mais le pays a conservé un pluralisme confessionnel marqué. Une approche généralement tolérante des problèmes religieux est profondément ancrée dans la société hongroise. La coexistence entre catholiques et protestants (principalement des calvinistes qui se considèrent souvent comme l’« Eglise de la nation ») n’a certes pas toujours été sans heurts, mais s’est avérée être une tension productive qui a enrichi aussi bien la culture nationale que la culture quotidienne.

20 septembre 2012

Pluralisme religieux

Après la guerre avec l’Empire ottoman (à la fin du 17è siècle), les Hongrois de souche devinrent minoritaires dans le royaume de Hongrie. Tandis qu’au sud les Serbes sont restés orthodoxes, une grande (...)

Après la guerre avec l’Empire ottoman (à la fin du 17è siècle), les Hongrois de souche devinrent minoritaires dans le royaume de Hongrie. Tandis qu’au sud les Serbes sont restés orthodoxes, une grande partie des Tziganes, en Transylvanie, et des Ruthènes, dans les Carpates, ont conclu une union avec l’Eglise catholique, soutenue par les Habsbourgs. A la fin du 19è siècle, les Juifs représentaient 5% de la population. L’ère libérale de cette époque facilita l’assimilation rapide des Juifs hongrois. C’est à cette même époque qu’a été promulguée la loi XLIII de 1895 qui instituait la liberté religieuse pour tous, limitant cependant le droit de culte public aux communautés reconnues (intégrées ou légalement reconnues). La loi établissait de facto un système de communautés religieuses à deux niveaux qui perpétuait le cadre légal qui était apparu à travers l’histoire, et qui concernait le statut de l’Eglise catholique, de l’Eglise réformée (calviniste) et de l’Eglise luthériennes, des orthodoxes, des unitariens et des Juifs (ces derniers venant de recevoir le statut de religion « intégrée »). La loi donnait la possibilité d’établir des confessions « reconnues ». Les Eglises traditionnelles ont continué à faire partie des institutions établies (non seulement au plan légal, mais également social – l’Eglise catholique est demeurée, par exemple, la plus grand propriétaire terrien jusqu’en 1945 et les deux tiers des écoles élémentaires étaient dirigées par des Eglises jusqu’en 1948).

20 septembre 2012

Remise en cause de la liberté religieuse

Après le traumatisme de la sécession de la Hongrie (après la Première Guerre mondiale), les forces conservatrices nationales ont dominé le paysage politique et culturel, revenant sur une partie de la (...)

Après le traumatisme de la sécession de la Hongrie (après la Première Guerre mondiale), les forces conservatrices nationales ont dominé le paysage politique et culturel, revenant sur une partie de la législation libérale de la fin du 18è siècle. La Hongrie est devenue un petit pays entouré de toute part par des pays qui lui ont autrefois appartenu – et qui possèdent une minorité ethnique hongroise importante. Le pays participa à la Seconde Guerre mondiale et a été occupée par l’Allemagne le 19 mars 1944. Dans les mois qui ont suivi, la grande majorité des Juifs hongrois – qui jouissaient jusque là d’une certaine sécurité – a été déportée et exterminée (la Hongrie a perdu les ¾ de sa population juive).
Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les communistes ont pris le pouvoir avec l’aide de l’Union soviétique. Ils ont aboli les structures démocratiques, les droits de l’homme ainsi que l’état de droit. Les autorités communistes ont systématiquement harcelé le clergé et les croyants. La liberté de religion n’existait plus que dans le texte de la constitution. La « séparation » imposée n’était rien d’autre qu’une persécution et un contrôle strict par l’Etat. Lorsque le contrôle sur l’Eglise devint presque total, la pression est devenue un peu plus douce (« communisme goulasch »), mais les grandes lignes sont restées les mêmes jusqu’en 1989. Dans les années 1970 et 1980, les Eglises jouissaient d’une certaine liberté de culte à l’intérieur des édifices du culte, mais il ne leur était pas possible de mener quelque action sociale que ce soit (communication, charité, organisations, institutions, ordres religieux, etc...).

20 septembre 2012

La religion dans la société moderne

La Hongrie a joué un rôle important dans l’Ostpolitik du Saint Siège en tant que cas expérimental. La « détente » entre l’Eglise et l’Etat a eu des effets bénéfiques, mais a aussi signifié de douloureux (...)

La Hongrie a joué un rôle important dans l’Ostpolitik du Saint Siège en tant que cas expérimental. La « détente » entre l’Eglise et l’Etat a eu des effets bénéfiques, mais a aussi signifié de douloureux compromis. Le Saint Siège et la République de Hongrie ont conclu un accord partiel en 1964. Les trois premières décennies de communisme ont apporté une sécularisation massive et forcée de la société hongroise. Le communisme a laissé une société fragmentée et un vide moral. Ironiquement, les Eglises – qui avaient été si violemment touchées par le régime – se sont avérées être les forces les plus puissantes de la société civile. La chute du communisme a apporté une liberté nouvelle et des défis nouveaux. Jamais dans l’histoire hongroise les Eglises n’ont joui comme à présent d’une telle indépendance vis à vis de l’Etat – en étant d’une part libres de tout contrôle et en jouissant d’autre part des mêmes moyens qu’avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Trouver un nouveau rôle dans la société est cependant un processus difficile et complexe.

20 septembre 2012