eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Finland » Social and religious data » Principal religions and denominations

Principal religions and denominations

The Evangelical Lutheran Church

71,8% of Finns are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church (31.12.2016). The Evangelical Lutheran Church consists of 9 dioceses and 407 parishes. Each parish is an independent working unit. (...)

71,8% of Finns are members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church (31.12.2016). The Evangelical Lutheran Church consists of 9 dioceses and 407 parishes. Each parish is an independent working unit. The Church is responsible for its own finances. The parishes receive some 80% of their total income from church taxes.
Most Finns come into contact with the Church every year for family occasions. These include baptisms, weddings, burials and confirmation. In 2016, 69,3% of newborn children were baptised, about half of couples solemnized their marriage in the church and 84% of all 15-year olds passed confirmation school. Participation in worship services totalled over seven million. However, many Finns attend church only a few times a year: at Christmas and Easter.

Updated by Kimmo Ketola

D 25 May 2017    AKimmo Kääriäinen

The Orthodox Church

The Orthodox Church is the second largest religious denomination in Finland. The Orthodox Church suffered during the Second World War and lost its monasteries and 90% of its assets, and more than (...)

The Orthodox Church is the second largest religious denomination in Finland. The Orthodox Church suffered during the Second World War and lost its monasteries and 90% of its assets, and more than two-thirds of its members had to flee their homes when the Soviet Union occupied Karelia. Membership of the Orthodox Church fell in the 1950s and 1960s as a consequence of the large proportion (close to 90%) of marriages between Lutherans and Orthodox. The children of these marriages were usually baptized as Lutherans. The trend changed in the 1980s and membership of the Orthodox Church has begun to grow, with more people joining it than leaving it. Immigration from Russia has also contributed to the increase of absolute numbers of believers even though the percentage of population has remained the same. It currently has about 60,000 members (of which 16 % are born outside of Finland), which is 1.1% of the Finnish population.

updated by Kimmo Ketola

D 25 May 2017    AKimmo Kääriäinen

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Finlande > Données socio-religieuses > Principales religions et Eglises

Principales religions et Eglises

L’Eglise évangélique luthérienne

71,8 % des Finlandais sont membres de l’Eglise évangélique luthérienne, qui possède 9 diocèses et 407 paroisses (31 déc. 2016). Chaque paroisse œuvre indépendamment des autres et gère ses propres (...)

71,8 % des Finlandais sont membres de l’Eglise évangélique luthérienne, qui possède 9 diocèses et 407 paroisses (31 déc. 2016). Chaque paroisse œuvre indépendamment des autres et gère ses propres finances. 80 % des revenus des paroisses proviennent des impôts d’Eglise.
Chaque année, la plupart des Finlandais entrent en contact avec l’Eglise à l’occasion d’évènements familiaux tels que les baptêmes, mariages, enterrements et confirmations. En 2016, 69,3 % des nouveaux-nés sur quatre (75,2 %) ont été baptisés, la moitié des couples ont célébré leur mariage à l’Eglise et 84 % des moins de 15 ans ont effectué leur confirmation. Plus de sept millions de fidèles ont pris part à la célébration du culte. Cependant, de nombreux Finlandais ne se rendent à l’Eglise que quelques fois dans l’année : à Noël et à Pâques notamment.

mis à jour par Kimmo Ketola
25 mai 2017

L’Eglise orthodoxe

L’Eglise orthodoxe est la deuxième plus grande communauté religieuse de Finlande. Elle a payé un lourd tribut pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, un grand nombre de ses monastères ont été détruits et (...)

L’Eglise orthodoxe est la deuxième plus grande communauté religieuse de Finlande. Elle a payé un lourd tribut pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, un grand nombre de ses monastères ont été détruits et elle a perdu 90 % de ses biens. Par ailleurs, plus de deux tiers de ses membres ont dû quitter leur domicile quand l’Union soviétique a occupé la Carélie. Dans les années 1950 et 1960, le nombre d’orthodoxes a chuté, conséquence de la forte proportion (près de 90 %) de mariages entre orthodoxes et luthériens. Généralement, les enfants nés de ces unions ont été baptisés luthériens. La tendance s’est inversée dans les années 1980 et le nombre de membres de l’Eglise orthodoxe a commencé à augmenter, les personnes qui la rejoignaient étant plus nombreuses que celles qui la quittaient. L’immigration de la Russie a également contribué à l’augmentation du nombre absolu de croyants même si le pourcentage de la population est resté le même. Actuellement, l’Eglise orthodoxe compte 60 000 membres, ce qui représente 1,1 % de la population finlandaise.

mis à jour par Kimmo Ketola
25 mai 2017