eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Estonia » Law and religion » Provisions » Education

Education

Religious education

According to the Education Act, the religious education in public schools is a voluntary subject. According to the Basic Schools and Upper Secondary Schools Act religious education shall be non-confessional, and a school is required to conduct religious education if there are at least 15 students of the same study age. The curriculum of the subject is approved by the Ministry of Education, and the teachers of religion in public schools must have both pedagogical training as well as training in religious studies or theology.
Two primary schools in Estonia are owned by religious associations – one by Roman Catholic Church and the other by Charismatic Christian "Word of Life" Congregation. The Estonian Jewish Community has also its own school – the Tallinn Jewish School. However, since 2010, several schools owned by foundations connected to religious associations have been established, and there are now also Lutheran and Orthodox private primary schools.

For further information, see the article "Religious education in Estonia" of Merilin Kiviorg in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, European Consortium for Church and State Research, Trier, 2011, p. 117-138.

September 2014

D 18 September 2012    ARingo Ringvee

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Estonie > Statut juridique des religions > Dispositions spécifiques > Ecole

Ecole

L’éducation religieuse

Selon la loi sur l’éducation, l’éducation religieuse dans les écoles publiques n’est pas obligatoire. Selon la loi sur les écoles primaires et secondaires, l’enseignement religieux est non confessionnel, une école est tenue de dispenser une éducation religieuse s’il existe au moins 15 élèves du même âge. Le programme est approuvé par le ministère de l’Education et les enseignants de religion dans les écoles publiques doivent avoir à la fois une formation pédagogique et une formation en sciences religieuses ou en théologie.
Il y a deux écoles primaires en Estonie appartenant à des associations religieuses – une gérée par l’Eglise catholique romaine et l’autre par la congrégation « Parole de vie » des « Chrétiens Charismatiques ». La communauté juive estonienne a aussi sa propre école - l’école juive de Tallinn. Cependant, depuis 2010, plusieurs écoles appartenant à des fondations liées aux associations religieuses ont été mis en place et il existe également des écoles primaires privées luthériennes et orthodoxes.

Pour en savoir plus, voir l’article "Religious education in Estonia" de Merilin Kiviorg in Gerhard Robbers (Hrsg.), Religion in Public Education – La religion dans l’éducation publique, Consortium européen pour l’étude des relations Églises-État, Trèves, 2011, p. 117-138.

Septembre 2014
18 septembre 2012