eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Spain » Social and religious data » Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

The Importance of Religion in the Spanish Society

The CIS’s study of January 2002 also tried to define the Spaniards opinion on the position of religion in the society of yesterday, today and tomorrow; 72.5% of people interviewed consider that (...)

The CIS’s study of January 2002 also tried to define the Spaniards opinion on the position of religion in the society of yesterday, today and tomorrow; 72.5% of people interviewed consider that religion today has less of an influence than it did ten years ago, while 64.9% of individuals say that religion will have less of an influence in the future than it does today.
When asked whether religious authorities should have an influence on government actions or not, 81.1% said no. These affirmations coincide with the religious neutrality of the Spanish State and mark a break with the characteristic situation of Franco’s regime, which was marked by a close interweaving of religion and the State.
One of the questions in the above-mentioned study refers to the importance of religion in the lives of Spaniards. Health was number one on their list, with a rating of 9.71 on a scale of 1 to 10, 1 being the lowest and 10 being the highest, family was next on the list with a rating of 9.62, followed by work with 8.53. The least important aspects were religion (5.34) and politics (3.69).

D 13 September 2012    AIrene González González

Young People and Religion

According to an opinion poll carried out by the Spanish Ministry of Labour, 63.2% of young Spaniards say they are Catholic (practicing or not), against 81% of the total population. The proportion (...)

According to an opinion poll carried out by the Spanish Ministry of Labour, 63.2% of young Spaniards say they are Catholic (practicing or not), against 81% of the total population.
The proportion of Spaniards aged 15 to 29 who say they are practicing Catholics has decreased by half between 2000 and the end of 2003, dropping from 28% to 14.2%. In 1967, during General Franco’s dictatorship, 77% of young Spaniards said they were practicing Catholics. Over the decade that followed, marked by the transition and return to democracy, religious practice dropped drastically to under 25% in 1987.
The study shows that 83% of young Spaniards used some method of contraception during their first sexual experience in order to avoid an unwanted pregnancy (92.5%) or to protect themselves from sexually transmitted diseases (36.7%). Condoms, which the Spanish church recognised for the first time on Tuesday for their preventive role against AIDS, are used regularly by 79.4% of those polled.

Opinion poll carried out by the Spanish Ministry of Labour on 5, 214 people at the end of 2003.

D 13 September 2012    AAnne-Laure Zwilling

Religious disaffiliation among the youth

Like previous studies, the 2004 Informe Juventud en España (study on the youth in Spain), carried out by the INJUVE (Spanish Ministry of Employment and Social Affairs), has once again revealed (...)

Like previous studies, the 2004 Informe Juventud en España (study on the youth in Spain), carried out by the INJUVE (Spanish Ministry of Employment and Social Affairs), has once again revealed that the majority of young people do not practise any religion. The number believers from all the religions put together, is lower than the number of atheists, agnostics, non-believers, those who are non-practising or indifferent. Among those who consider themselves to be believers, a little over 60 % are Roman Catholics, of whom only 14% say that they are practising Catholics.
For both boys and girls, the lower the age, the higher the level of religious practise. The turning point occurs at age 20. However, from this age, a difference also begins to set in between the sexes. It must be noted that this study does not provide data on young people who practise other religions - it merely assumes that they represent about 2.9% of the population under study.
The study also reveals the influence of other factors such as ideology, nationality, gender, level of education and size of area of residence on the extent of religious practise by individuals. The majority of Catholics and non-practising Catholics are centre-right women of Spanish nationality. Left-wing non-practising Catholics are mostly village dwellers with a low level of education.

Source: Informe Juventud en España 2004, INJUVE, Ministerio de Trabajo y Asuntos Sociales, 2005, pp. 533-534. See the study’s findings (in Spanish, Section IV, "Valores, Participación").

D 13 September 2012   

Changes in religious values and opinions among students

On the other hand, a survey carried out on University students by Fundaciòn BBVA between the end of 2004 and January 2005, reveals a low level of religiosity among them (average of 3.3 out of 10, (...)

On the other hand, a survey carried out on University students by Fundaciòn BBVA between the end of 2004 and January 2005, reveals a low level of religiosity among them (average of 3.3 out of 10, using multivariate criteria). Of the 3000 students who participated in the study, those who say that they are "not in anyway religious" (nada religiosos) are as high as 52.4%.
The data gathered shows an increasing detachment from the Roman Catholic doctrine and influence of the Church’s authorities. The Roman Catholic Church is the least trusted institution among the students. A large consensus appears in their opinions on current issues affecting society. 8.8 out of 10 students interviewed support the idea of unmarried couples living together, 8.4 support the use of human artificial reproduction methods, 7.9 are in favour of same-sex marriage, 7.8 support single parenthood, 7.5 euthanasia, 7 abortion and 6.8 back adoption by homosexual couples.Finally, the lowest level of religiosity is found among students in the social and experimental sciences.

See the findings of the survey (in Spanish) (section III, p. 16-17).
See the French translation of the survey by Claude Proeschel.

D 13 September 2012    APuerto García

The immigrant Muslim community in Spain

In April 2010, the Metroscopia Institute published the results of a survey entitled "The immigrant Muslim Community in Spain" (La Comunidad Musulmana de origen inmigrante en Espana). The survey (...)

In April 2010, the Metroscopia Institute published the results of a survey entitled "The immigrant Muslim Community in Spain" (La Comunidad Musulmana de origen inmigrante en Espana). The survey had been commissioned by the Spanish Government, the Ministry of the Interior, the Ministry of Justice and the Ministry of Work and Immigration, within the framework of the National Plan for the Alliance of Civilisations.
The survey firstly allows us to grasp the evolution in religious self-determination among the population concerned, which, between 2006 and 2009, shows a downward trend in practising Muslims (from 52 to 41 %) in favour of Muslims who practise occasionally or not at all.
A second set of questions deals with the way life is experienced in Spain, how compatible Islam is with it and, more generally, with democratic values. These are broadly asserted, along with general confidence in Spanish institutions. On conditions for exercising worship, immigrant Muslims are largely in favour of state neutrality in religious matters. A minority of them (13 %) state that they had encountered obstacles to practising their religion. Finally, most respondents consider that Western countries guarantee the major, fundamental values more than Muslim countries do, as well as favourable economic and social conditions.

D 13 September 2012    AClaude Proeschel

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Espagne > Données socio-religieuses > Opinions et croyances religieuses

Opinions et croyances religieuses

L’importance de la religion dans la société espagnole

L’étude du CIS de janvier 2002 tente également de cerner l’opinion des Espagnols sur la place de la religion dans la société dans le passé, le présent et le futur ; 72,5% des personnes interrogées (...)

L’étude du CIS de janvier 2002 tente également de cerner l’opinion des Espagnols sur la place de la religion dans la société dans le passé, le présent et le futur ; 72,5% des personnes interrogées considèrent que la religion à l’heure actuelle a moins d’influence qu’il y a dix ans, tandis que 64,9% des individus déclarent que la religion aura moins d’influence dans le futur qu’aujourd’hui.
A la question de savoir si les autorités religieuses doivent ou non avoir une influence sur l’action gouvernementale, 81,1% des interrogés répondent par la négative. Ces affirmations sont bien en adéquation avec l’aconfessionnalité actuelle de l’Etat espagnol et en rupture avec la situation caractéristique du régime franquiste, marqué par une imbrication étroite de la religion et de l’Etat.
Une des question de l’enquête sus mentionnée se réfère à l’importance de la religion dans la vie des Espagnols. Ceux-ci placent en tête de leur classement la santé, avec un chiffre de 9,71 – l’estimation est comprise entre 1 et 10,1 étant la notation minimale et 10 la notation maximale - , puis la famille avec 9,62 et le travail avec 8,53. Les domaines les moins importants sont la religion (5,34) et la politique (3,69).

13 septembre 2012

L’évolution des jeunes par rapport à la religion

Selon une enquête d’opinion du ministère espagnol du travail, 63,2% des jeunes Espagnols se disent catholiques (pratiquants ou non), contre 81% de l’ensemble de la population. La proportion (...)

Selon une enquête d’opinion du ministère espagnol du travail, 63,2% des jeunes Espagnols se disent catholiques (pratiquants ou non), contre 81% de l’ensemble de la population.
La proportion d’Espagnols de 15 à 29 ans se disant catholiques pratiquants a baissé de moitié entre 2000 et fin 2003, passant de 28% à 14,2%. En 1967, à l’époque de la dictature du général Franco, 77% des jeunes Espagnols se disaient catholiques pratiquants. Durant les 10 années suivantes, marquées par la transition et le retour à la démocratie, la pratique religieuse avait brutalement chuté, passant à moins de 25% en 1987.
L’étude révèle que 83% de jeunes Espagnols ont utilisé un moyen de contraception lors de leur dernier rapport sexuel, afin d’éviter une grossesse non-désirée (92,5%) et de se protéger des maladies sexuellement transmissibles (36,7%). Le préservatif, dont l’église espagnole a reconnu mardi pour la première fois le rôle préventif contre le sida, est couramment utilisé par 79,4% des sondés.

Enquête d’opinion du ministère espagnol du Travail effectuée auprès de 5.214 personnes fin 2003.

13 septembre 2012

Désaffiliation religieuse chez les jeunes

Le Informe Juventud en España (enquête sur la Jeunesse en Espagne) 2004, de l’INJUVE (Ministère du Travail et des Affaires Sociales), a de nouveau montré, comme les études antérieures, que la majorité (...)

Le Informe Juventud en España (enquête sur la Jeunesse en Espagne) 2004, de l’INJUVE (Ministère du Travail et des Affaires Sociales), a de nouveau montré, comme les études antérieures, que la majorité des jeunes ne pratiquent aucune religion. Le nombre des non pratiquants, indifférents, non croyants, athées et agnostiques est supérieur à celui des croyants, toutes religions confondues. Parmi les jeunes qui se déclarent croyants, un peu plus de 60 % sont catholiques, et, parmi eux, seulement 14% se déclarent pratiquants.
A âge inférieur correspond une plus grande pratique religieuse, chez les filles comme chez les garçons. Le point d’inflexion se situe à l’age de 20 ans. Cependant, à partir de cet âge, on observe une différence entre les sexes. Cette étude ne fournit pas, il faut le noter de données sur les jeunes d’autres confessions, se contentant de supposer qu’ils représentent environ 2,9% de la population concernée.
L’enquête signale également l’influence que certaines caractéristiques comme l’idéologie, la nationalité, le genre, le niveau d’études, la taille de la commune d’habitation, exercent sur les niveaux de pratique religieuse. La majorité des catholiques, et des catholiques non-pratiquants, sont des femmes de centre-droit et de nationalité espagnole. Les catholiques non pratiquants de gauche se rencontrent principalement dans les villages et possèdent un niveau d’instruction peu élevé.

Source : Informe Juventud en España 2004, INJUVE, Ministerio de Trabajo y Asuntos Sociales, 2005, pp. 533-534 - voir les résultats (Partie IV, "Valores, Participación").

13 septembre 2012

Evolution des valeurs et croyances religieuses chez les étudiants

D’autre part, une enquête réalisée par la Fundaciòn BBVA entre la fin 2004 et janvier 2005 auprès des étudiants à l’université fait apparaître chez ceux-ci un faible taux de religiosité (moyenne de 3,3 sur (...)

D’autre part, une enquête réalisée par la Fundaciòn BBVA entre la fin 2004 et janvier 2005 auprès des étudiants à l’université fait apparaître chez ceux-ci un faible taux de religiosité (moyenne de 3,3 sur 10, indice multicritères). Parmi les 3000 étudiants qui ont participé à cette étude, le pourcentage de ceux qui se définissent comme "en rien religieux" (nada religiosos) atteint 52,4%.
Les données recueillies montrent un éloignement de la doctrine et de la hiérarchie catholique. L’Eglise catholique est l’institution qui inspire le moins confiance aux étudiants. Un large consensus apparaît dans leur attitude face aux débats de société actuels. Dans une notation de 1 à 10, les interviewés marquent leur accord avec les unions libres avec 8,8, l’utilisation de techniques de reproduction assistée (8,4), le mariage homosexuel (7,9), le fait d’être parent sans former un couple stable (7,8), l’euthanasie (7,5), l’avortement (7), l’adoption par les couples homosexuels (6,8). Enfin, le plus faible taux de religiosité caractérise les étudiants en sciences humaines et sciences expérimentales.

Voir les résultats de l’enquête en espagnol (partie III, p. 16-17).
Voir la traduction en français par Claude Proeschel des résultats de l’enquête concernant les croyances religieuses.

13 septembre 2012

La communauté musulmane issue de l’immigration en Espagne

L’institut Metroscopia a publié en avril 2010 les résultats d’une enquête intitulée "La communauté musulmane issue de l’immigration en Espagne" (La Comunidad Musulmana de origen inmigrante en Espana). (...)

L’institut Metroscopia a publié en avril 2010 les résultats d’une enquête intitulée "La communauté musulmane issue de l’immigration en Espagne" (La Comunidad Musulmana de origen inmigrante en Espana). Cette enquête a été commanditée par le gouvernement espagnol, le ministère de l’Intérieur, le ministère de la Justice et le ministère du Travail et de l’Immigration, dans le cadre du Plan national pour l’alliance des civilisations.
Cette enquête permet tout d’abord de saisir l’évolution de l’autoqualification religieuse au sein de la population concernée, qui entre 2006 et 2009, montre un mouvement de décroissance des musulmans pratiquants (52 à 41 %) au profit des musulmans pratiquants irréguliers ou non pratiquants.
Une seconde série de questions aborde la manière dont la vie en Espagne est appréhendée, la compatibilité de l’islam avec celle-ci et plus généralement avec les valeurs démocratiques. Elles sont largement affirmées ainsi que la confiance générale dans les institutions espagnoles. Concernant les conditions d’exercice du culte, les musulmans issus de l’immigration sont majoritairement favorables à la neutralité de l’Etat en matière religieuse. Une minorité d’entre eux (13 %) affirme avoir rencontré des obstacles à la pratique de sa religion. Enfin, la plupart des personnes interrogées considèrent que les pays occidentaux garantissent davantage que les pays musulmans les grandes valeurs fondamentales, mais aussi des conditions économiques et sociales favorables.

13 septembre 2012