eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Spain » Social and religious data » Religious participation » Religious events

Religious events

Pilgrimages, Processions and Devotions

According to the study carried out by the Sociological Research Centre (Centro de Investigaciones Sociológicas) in January 2002 on the religious beliefs and attitudes of Spaniards, the majority of (...)

According to the study carried out by the Sociological Research Centre (Centro de Investigaciones Sociológicas) in January 2002 on the religious beliefs and attitudes of Spaniards, the majority of Spaniards define themselves as non-practicing Catholics, since only 19.5% of the 79.1% that declared themselves Catholic said they went to church on a weekly basis, while 61.1% affirm that they do not participate in the activities and organisations of the community.
With regards to the indicators of popular religiosity, (pilgrimages, processions, devotions), the CIS’s figures reveal a weak participation index, since 56.1% of those questioned say they never take part in pilgrimages, 26.1% do so occasionally and 17.1% take part regularly. As for processions, 42% of the population says it never participates, 31.8% participates occasionally and 25.9% participates regularly. Moreover, 61.9% of people questioned said they have no devotion while 37.2% said they had a very strong form of devotion, 54.4% to the Virgin, 20.1% to a saint and 19.3% to Christ.

Source : CIS, Actitudes y creencias religiosas en la sociedad española, estudio n° 2443, enero 2002.

D 13 September 2012    AIrene González González

Religious feasts

The calendar of public holidays reflects both the historical influence exerted by the Catholic Church in Spanish society and the fact that the majority of the population belongs to this faith. (...)

The calendar of public holidays reflects both the historical influence exerted by the Catholic Church in Spanish society and the fact that the majority of the population belongs to this faith. Article 37.2 of Spain’s Labour Code (Estatuto de Trabajadores) states that public holidays, which are paid and can not be made up, shall not exceed the number of fourteen, and, despite the decrease, over the last several decades, in religious festivities, religious holidays remain predominant compared to non-religious ones.

Religious Public HolidaysNon-religious Public Holidays
All Saint’s Day (1 November)
The Immaculate Conception (8 December)
Christmas (25 December)
Epiphany (6 January)
Good Friday
Easter Sunday
The Feast of the Assumption (15 August)
2 local holidays (linked to the celebration of patron saints, honouring a saint, the Virgin or Christ)
National Holiday (12 October)
Constitution Day (6 December)
New Year’s Day (1 January)
Labour Day (1 May)
Other regional holidays (established by each Autonomous Community)

The Agreements of Cooperation signed by the Sate in 1992 with the Islamic Commission of Spain, Comisión Islámica de España (CIE), the Federation of the Jewish Communities of Spain (FCIE), and the Federation of Evangelical Religious Groups of Spain (FEREDE), stipulated that the holidays and religious commemorations of these denominations could be substituted for those established in the general regime of the Labour Code, in article 37.2, with the same characteristics of days that are paid and cannot be made up, as long as there is an agreement between the employee and the company. The following list was established.

Muslim HolidaysJewish Holidays
Al Hijrah (New Year)
Ashura
Milad-e Nabi (Birthday of the Prophet)
Lailat al-Isra wa al-Mi’raj (The Night of the Journey and the Ascension of the Prophet)
Eid-al-Fitr (Festival of Fast-Breaking for Ramadan)
Eid al Adha (celebrates the sacrifice made by the prophet Abraham)
Rosh Hashanah 1st and 2nd day
Yom Kippur
Succoth 1st, 2nd, 7th and 8th day
Passover 1st, 2nd, 7th and 8th day
Shavuot 1st, 2nd, 7th and 8th day

D 13 September 2012    AIrene González González

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Espagne > Données socio-religieuses > Participation religieuse > Manifestations religieuses

Manifestations religieuses

Pélerinages, processions et dévotions

Selon l’enquête réalisée par le Centre d’Investigations Sociologiques (Centro de Investigaciones Sociológicas) en janvier 2002 sur les croyances et attitudes religieuses des Espagnols, la majeure (...)

Selon l’enquête réalisée par le Centre d’Investigations Sociologiques (Centro de Investigaciones Sociológicas) en janvier 2002 sur les croyances et attitudes religieuses des Espagnols, la majeure partie d’entre eux se définit comme catholique non pratiquant, puisque seuls 19,5% des 79,1% qui se déclarent catholiques reconnaissent assister de manière habdomadaire aux offices religieux, tandis que 61,1% affirment ne pas participer aux activités et organisations de la communauté.
Concernant les indicateurs de religiosité populaire, (pélerinages, processions, dévotions ), les chiffres du CIS révèlent un faible indice de participation, puisque 56,1% des interrogés déclarent ne pas assiter à des pélerinages, 26,1% s’y rendre de manière occasionnelle, et 17,1% affirment y assister régulièrement. Pour ce qui concerne les processions, 42% de la population déclare ne pas y participer, 31,8% y participer de manière occasionnelle, et 25,9% y assister de manière régulière. D’autre part, 61,9% des personnes interrogées déclare ne manifester aucune dévotion tandis que 37,2% déclare vouer une telle dévotion, parmi lesquels 54,4% mentionnent une vierge, 20,1% un saint, et 19,3% un christ.

Source : CIS, Actitudes y creencias religiosas en la sociedad española, estudio n° 2443, enero 2002.

13 septembre 2012

Fêtes religieuses

Le calendrier des fêtes nationales, pour sa part, reflète à la fois le poids historique exercé par l’Eglise catholique dans la société et le fait que la majeure partie de la population appartienne à (...)

Le calendrier des fêtes nationales, pour sa part, reflète à la fois le poids historique exercé par l’Eglise catholique dans la société et le fait que la majeure partie de la population appartienne à cette confession. Le Code du Travail (Estatuto de Trabajadores) dans son article 37.2 établit que les jours fériés chômés, rétribués et non récupérables, ne peuvent excéder le nombre de quatorze, et, malgré la diminution, durant les dernières décennies, des festivités liées au fait religieux, les fêtes d’origine religieuse prédominent, par rapport à celles de caractère non religieux.

Fêtes nationales de caractère religieuxFestivités nationales non religieuses
Jour de tous les saints (1 novembre)
Immaculée Conception (8 décembre)
Noël (25 décembre)
Epiphanie (6 janvier)
Vendredi saint
Dimanche de la résurrection
Assomption (15 août)
2 fêtes locales (liées à la célébration de fêtes patronales, et à l’image d’un saint, vierge ou christ)
Fête nationale (12 octobre)
Jour de la Constitution (6 décembre)
Nouvel An (1er janvier)
Fête du travail (1 mai)
Jour de la Région (établi par chaque Communauté Autonome)

Les accords de coopération signés par l’Etat en 1992 avec la Commission Islamique d’Espagne, la Comisión Islámica de España (CIE), la Fédération des Communautés Israélites d’Espagne, Federación de comunidades Israelitas de España (FCIE), et la Fédération des Entités Evangéliques d’Espagne, Federación de Entidades Religiosas de Evangélicas de España (FEREDE), ont stipulé que les fêtes et commémorations religieuses de ces confessions pourraient être substituées à celles établies dans le régime général par le Code du travail , dans son article 37.2, avec les mêmes caractéristiques de jours rétribués et non récupérables, à partir du moment où existe un accord entre le travailleur et l’entreprise. La liste suivante a été établie.

Fêtes musulmanesFêtes juives
Al Hiyra (Nouvel an)
Achura
Idu al-Maulid (Naissance du Prophète)
Al Isra wa Al-Mi´ray (voyage nocturne et ascension du Prophète)
Idu Al-Fitr (point culminant du jêune de Ramadán)
Idu Al-Adha (célèbre le sacrifice effectué par le prophète Abraham)
Rosh Hashaná 1° et 2° jour
Yom Kippur
Succoth 1, 2°, 7° et 8° jour
Pesaj 1, 2°, 7° et 8° jour
Shavuot 1, 2°, 7° et 8° jour
13 septembre 2012