eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Spain » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

Legal relations between the Church and State

Today, the legal relations between Churches and State in Spain rely on three major principles that were set out in the Constitution of 27 December 1978.
The first is the religious neutrality (...)

Today, the legal relations between Churches and State in Spain rely on three major principles that were set out in the Constitution of 27 December 1978.

The first is the religious neutrality (aconfesionalidad) of the State: Spain has no official religion.

The second is religious freedom, set forth in article 16, paragraphs 1 and 2 of the constitution:
1. Freedom of ideology, religion and worship of individuals and communities is guaranteed, with no other restriction on their expression as may be necessary to maintain public order as protected by law.
2. Nobody may be compelled to make statements regarding his religion, beliefs or ideologies.
The third principle is the possibility of cooperation between the State, Churches, religions and religious communities, which is equivalent to an official recognition of religion and can therefore not be assimilated with a separatist logic. This principle is set out in article 16, paragraph 3 of the Constitution:
3. There shall be no State religion. The public authorities shall take the religious beliefs of Spanish society into account and shall in consequence maintain appropriate co-operation with the Catholic Church and the other confessions.

The third principle is equality among every Spanish citizen, regardless of his/her religious affiliation.

Voir IBÁN Iván C., "State and Church in Spain", in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), State and Church in the European Union, Third ed., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2019, p. 195-212.

D 13 September 2012    AClaude Proeschel

Normative developments and agreements

Article 16 was subjected to a capital normative development, in the form of the Law on Religious Freedom of 5 July 1980 (Ley Orgánica 7/80 del 5 de julio de 1980 de Libertad Religiosa). The LOLR (...)

Article 16 was subjected to a capital normative development, in the form of the Law on Religious Freedom of 5 July 1980 (Ley Orgánica 7/80 del 5 de julio de 1980 de Libertad Religiosa). The LOLR sets out in articles 5 and 6 that Churches, religions and religious communities would have juridical personality once they were registered in the Register of the Ministry of Justice. For the beneficiaries registration would imply full independence and the possibility of establishing their own standards of organisation, internal regime and a personnel regime.
Furthermore, article 7 of the LOLR specifies the conventions and conditions provided for in article 16-3.
The State, by taking into account the religious beliefs that already exist in Spanish society, will establish, if the need arises, agreements or agreements of cooperation with the Churches, religions and religious communities registered in the Register which, thanks to their context and number of followers can claim notorious presence (notorio arraigo) in Spain. In any case, these agreements were approved by a law of the Cortes Generales.
These conditions only apply to the three main minority religions, Judaism, Protestantism and Islam. Only these religions were able to benefit from the agreements signed in 1992, after both necessary conditions outlined by law had been met: the constitution of a unified representative against the State and the acknowledgement of notorio arraigo.
The main provisions of these agreements reinforce the effective freedom of religion by legalising the observance of a religious day of rest, and by providing the possibility of alternative dates in State and private education centres and for competitive entrance examinations for employment in public administration. They also grant a freedom to exercise religion in the army and permit the creation of chaplaincies in hospitals and prisons. It is these agreements that govern the religious teaching establishments and religion courses in State schools. Furthermore, they grant civil recognition to religious marriages.
To date, the following religious minorities benefit from the recognition of their notorious presence (notorio arraigo) by the Advisory Committee on Religious Freedom of the Spanish Ministry of Justice, a necessary step, but not sufficient to consider a cooperation agreement with the State:
• Protestants (1984)
• Muslims (1989)
• Jews (1984)
• Mormons (2003)
• Jehova’s Witnesses (2006)
• Budists (2007)
• Orthodox Church (2010)

D 13 September 2012    AClaude Proeschel AJulia Martínez-Ariño

The case of the Catholic Church

For the Catholic Church, Church-State relations are governed, aside from the Constitution and the LOLR, by the agreements concluded with the Vatican between 1976 and 1979. Their main goals are to (...)

For the Catholic Church, Church-State relations are governed, aside from the Constitution and the LOLR, by the agreements concluded with the Vatican between 1976 and 1979. Their main goals are to ensure that relations between the Holy See and Spain are in line with the tendencies of Vatican II and that they meet the desire for more independence and mutual freedom and initiate a new model of relations in Spain.
The Catholic Church enjoys extensive organisational freedom. Nominating bishops falls within the exclusive competence of the Holy See. The competence of Church courts is exclusive for crimes that only violate ecclesiastical law in accordance with canon law and such sentences cannot be appealed before the civil authorities. The agreement permits, even more explicitly, the Church to organise itself freely. This means it can modify the dioceses, put an end to or set up religious orders. It also authorises, among other things, the complete promulgation of the Holy See’s opinions and any communication with it. This is quite far from the Concordat system of 1953 and more generally from any form of Gallicansim, just like Regalism which left its mark on Spain’s history.

D 13 September 2012    AClaude Proeschel

A three-party situation

To summarize, Church-State relations in Spain resulted in a veritable three-party situation involving: the Catholic Church, with whom relations are governed by an international treaty and whose (...)

To summarize, Church-State relations in Spain resulted in a veritable three-party situation involving:

- the Catholic Church, with whom relations are governed by an international treaty and whose presence is much more obvious in daily life;
- the three religions with which the State signed agreements of cooperation;
- the other religions, that are governed by the common law of associations.

Two major problems stand out.
On one hand, are the restrictions set out in article 7 of the LOLR on signing agreements legitimate? The increasing number of groups brought about by the granting of religious freedom certainly made it necessary to set up conditions on what groups would have access to this regime. But are they impartial? Of course they are of a sociological nature and are not referred, in the form of the agreements being considered, to the content of the religions. The analysis of the parliamentary debates shows that the phrase "cooperation while taking into account the specific characteristics of each denomination" has been eliminated from the text. On the other hand, however, it seems arbitrary to let the State decide which religions are well established. Certain groups, which have only been established for a short time due to the recent nature of religious freedom, are unable to meet the criteria of numbers or notorious presence. The main minority religions could also be faced with the first problem, their roots in Spanish history, however, are unquestionable.
This situation is very far from that of the Catholic Church, whose cooperation is institutionalised and enjoys other pre or para-constitutional advantages. The agreements made with the Vatican in 1976 and 1979 are international treaties that were made prior to the LOLR. In their development, a joint commission between the Catholic Church and the State was created while the other religions were subject to a different regime. Article 8 of the LOLR outlines the creation of a commission that would decide for them.
Lastly, only the Catholic Church completely benefits from the financial advantages set forth by the agreements of cooperation. However, this situation is not a result of discrimination on the part of the State. Indeed, it was those who signed the conventions uniting it with the three main religious minorities that refused to benefit from the religion tax, a portion of income tax that can be paid back to Churches at the request of the taxpayer in order to help maintain their independence. It currently represents 0.5% of the total income tax collection. The taxpayer decides whether their contribution goes to the Catholic Church or to general interest social welfare works.

D 13 September 2012    AClaude Proeschel

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Espagne > Statut juridique des religions > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Les rapports juridiques entre Eglises et Etat

Les rapports juridiques entre Églises et État en Espagne s’appuient aujourd’hui sur trois grands principes, énoncés par la Constitution du 27 décembre 1978. Le premier est celui de l’aconfessionnalité (...)

Les rapports juridiques entre Églises et État en Espagne s’appuient aujourd’hui sur trois grands principes, énoncés par la Constitution du 27 décembre 1978.
Le premier est celui de l’aconfessionnalité (aconfesionalidad) de l’Etat : l’Espagne n’a pas de religion officielle.

Le deuxième est celui de la liberté religieuse, énoncé dans l’article 16 alinéas 1 et 2 de la Constitution :
1. La liberté idéologique, religieuse et de culte des individus et des communautés est garantie, sans autres limitations, quant à ses manifestations, que celles qui sont nécessaires au maintien de l’ordre public protégé par la loi.
2. Nul ne pourra être obligé à déclarer son idéologie, sa religion ou ses croyances.
Le troisième principe est celui de la possibilité de coopération entre l’Etat, les Églises, confessions et communautés religieuses, qui équivaut à une reconnaissance officielle du fait religieux et ne peut donc être assimilé à une logique séparatiste. Ce principe est énoncé dans l’article 16 alinéa 3 de la Constitution :
3. Aucune confession n’aura le caractère de religion d’Etat. Les pouvoirs publics tiendront compte des croyances religieuses de la société espagnole et entretiendront de ce fait des relations de coopération avec l’Eglise catholique et les autres confessions.

Le troisième principe est celui de l’égalité entre tous les citoyens espagnols, indépendamment de leur appartenance religieuse.

Voir IBÁN Iván C., "État et Églises en Espagne", in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), État et Églises dans l’Union européenne, 2e éd., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2008, p. 147-165.

13 septembre 2012

Développements normatifs et accords

L’article 16 a été l’objet d’un développement normatif capital, sous forme de la Loi sur la Liberté Religieuse du 5 Juillet 1980 (Ley Orgánica 7/80 del 5 de julio de 1980, sobre la Libertad Religiosa). (...)

L’article 16 a été l’objet d’un développement normatif capital, sous forme de la Loi sur la Liberté Religieuse du 5 Juillet 1980 (Ley Orgánica 7/80 del 5 de julio de 1980, sobre la Libertad Religiosa). La LOLR prévoit dans ses article 5 et 6 que les Églises, confessions et communautés religieuses auront la personnalité juridique une fois inscrites sur un registre spécifique au Ministère de la Justice. L’inscription implique pour les bénéficiaires une pleine autonomie et la possibilité d’établir leurs propres normes d’organisation, régime interne et régime du personnel.
En outre, l’article 7 de la LOLR précise les formes et conditions de la coopération prévue à l’article 16-3.
L’Etat, prenant en compte les croyances religieuses existantes dans la société espagnole, établira, le cas échéant, des accords ou conventions de coopération avec les Églises, confessions et communautés religieuses inscrites au Registre qui, par leur cadre et nombre de croyants peuvent se prévaloir d’un enracinement notoire (notorio arraigo) en Espagne. Dans tous les cas, ces accords seront approuvés par une loi des Cortes générales.
Ces conditions ne s’appliquant qu’aux trois grandes confessions minoritaires, à savoir judaïsme, protestantisme et islam, elles seules ont pu bénéficier de ces accords passés en 1992, après que les deux conditions nécessaires énoncées par la loi aient été reconnues : la constitution d’un interlocuteur unifié face à l’Etat ; la reconnaissance du notorio arraigo.
Les principales dispositions de ces accords renforcent la liberté effective du culte en légalisant le respect du jour de repos religieux, et en ouvrant la possibilité de dates alternatives dans les centres d’enseignement public et privés et pour les concours d’entrée dans les administrations publiques. Elles accordent également une liberté d’exercice religieux dans l’armée et permettent la création d’aumôneries dans les hôpitaux et prisons. Ce sont ces accords qui vont régir les établissements d’enseignement confessionnels et les cours de religion à l’école publique. Ils donnent en outre effet civil aux mariages religieux.
À ce jour, les minorités religieuses suivantes bénéficient de la reconnaissance de leur enracinement notoire (notorio arraigo) par le Comité consultatif sur la liberté religieuse du ministère espagnol de la Justice, étape nécessaire mais non suffisante pour pouvoir envisager un accord de coopération avec l’Etat :
• Protestants (1984)
• Musulmans (1989)
• Juifs (1984)
• Mormons (2003)
• Témoins de Jéhovah (2006)
• Bouddistes (2007)
• Orthodoxes (2010)

13 septembre 2012

Le cas de l’Eglise catholique

Les relations Eglises-Etat sont régies, outre la Constitution, et la LOLR, par les accords conclus avec le Vatican entre 1976 et 1979 pour l’Eglise catholique. Ils ont surtout pour but de rendre (...)

Les relations Eglises-Etat sont régies, outre la Constitution, et la LOLR, par les accords conclus avec le Vatican entre 1976 et 1979 pour l’Eglise catholique. Ils ont surtout pour but de rendre les relations du Saint-Siège avec l’Espagne conformes aux orientations de Vatican II, de répondre à la volonté de plus d’autonomie et de liberté mutuelle, et d’initier un nouveau modèle de relations au vrai inédit dans ce pays.
L’Eglise catholique bénéficie d’une très grande liberté organisationnelle. La libre nomination des évêques ressort exclusivement du Saint-Siège. La compétence des tribunaux de l’Eglise est exclusive pour les délits violant uniquement une loi ecclésiastique conforme au droit canon ; contre les sentences de ces tribunaux, il n’y a aucun recours devant les autorités civiles. L’accord permet, plus explicitement encore, la libre organisation de l’Eglise, ce qui l’autorise à modifier elle-même les diocèses, supprimer ou ériger des ordres religieux. Il autorise aussi, entre autres, la promulgation des avis du Saint-Siège sans entrave, ainsi que les communications avec lui. On est loin ici du système concordataire de 1953 et, plus généralement, de toute forme de gallicanisme, tout comme du régalisme qui a marqué une partie de l’histoire de l’Espagne.

13 septembre 2012

Une situation tripartite

On aboutit donc, pour résumer, dans les relations Eglises-Etat en Espagne, à une véritable situation tripartite :
l’Eglise catholique, avec laquelle les relations sont régies par un traité (...)

On aboutit donc, pour résumer, dans les relations Eglises-Etat en Espagne, à une véritable situation tripartite :

- l’Eglise catholique, avec laquelle les relations sont régies par un traité international, et dont la présence est évidemment nettement plus marquée dans la vie quotidienne ;
- les trois religions avec lesquelles l’Etat a signé des accords de coopération ;
- les autres confessions, qui sont régies par le droit commun des associations.

Deux problèmes principaux se posent ici.
D’une part, les restrictions imposée par l’article 7 de la LOLR pour la signature d’accords sont elles légitimes ? La multiplication des groupes entraînée par l’octroi de la liberté religieuse a certes rendu nécessaire la mise en place de conditions d’accès à ce régime. Mais respectent-elles l’impartialité ? Certes, elles sont de nature sociologique et non référées, dans la forme des accords envisagés, au contenu des confessions. L’analyse des débats parlementaires montre d’ailleurs qu’on a éliminé du texte de loi la formule « coopération en tenant compte des caractéristiques propres à chaque confession ». Mais, d’autre part, il parait arbitraire de laisser l’Etat décider quelles confessions religieuses sont bien implantées. Certains groupes, installés depuis peu du fait du caractère récent de la liberté religieuse, ont l’impossibilité de répondre au critère numéraire comme à celui de notoriété. Les grandes religions minoritaires peuvent elles-mêmes connaître le premier problème, alors que leur enracinement dans l’histoire de l’Espagne n’est pas discutable.
Cette situation est très éloignée de celle de l’Eglise catholique, pour laquelle la coopération est institutionnalisée, et qui bénéficie d’autres avantages, de type pré ou paraconstitutionnels. Antérieurs à la LOLR, les accords avec le Vatican de 1976 et 1979 appartiennent à la catégorie des traités internationaux. Dans leur prolongement, une commission paritaire Eglise catholique-Etat a été créée, les autres confessions étant soumises à un régime différent. L’article 8 de la LOLR énonce en effet la création d’une commission qui va statuer pour elles.
Enfin, seule l’Eglise catholique bénéficie en totalité des avantages offerts en matière financière par les accords de coopération. Mais cette situation n’est pas le fait d’une discrimination de la part de l’Etat. En effet, ce sont les signataires des conventions l’unissant aux trois grandes religions minoritaires qui ont refusé de bénéficier de l’impôt religieux, cette part de l’impôt sur le revenu qui peut être reversée aux Églises à la demande du contribuable afin de préserver leur indépendance. Elle représente actuellement 0,5% du total des recettes au titre de l’impôt sur les personnes physiques ; le contribuable doit opter pour son attribution entre l’Eglise catholique et des œuvres sociales d’intérêt général.

13 septembre 2012