eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Denmark » Religions and society » Religions and the media

Religions and the media

Freedom of Speech and religion in media generally

Both a general and a more specific analysis of current debates on religion and media in Denmark begins with freedom of speech. As the right to put into print, writing and speech ones opinion (...)

Both a general and a more specific analysis of current debates on religion and media in Denmark begins with freedom of speech. As the right to put into print, writing and speech ones opinion without the fear of censorship, freedom of speech is guaranteed in the Danish Constitution of 1849 and in all subsequent revisions. Thus the latest from 1953, states in §77, that “… any person shall be at liberty to publish his ideas in print, in writing, and in speech, subject to his being held responsible in a court of law. Censorship and other preventive measures shall never again be introduced.”

Thus, it is the responsibility of government under the responsibility of parliament, both to make sure that there is a freedom of speech, while at the same time both prosecuting defamation and protecting the public order.A press council has been set up as an independent supervising institution that deals with complaints of any kind over media in all forms. This is done by the Danish Media Liability Act. It managed in collaboration with representatives from media and parliament the guidelines for sound press ethics and code of conduct. These guidelines, the press council and – in extreme cases – the police, are making sure that both the freedom of speech is maintained while no other freedoms are violated, among these, the freedom to privacy and freedom to belief and worship according to one’s convictions.

Religion has in a sense always been part of public life and thus also part of the media. The traditional and well established newspapers would report on events relating to the Church and from time to time a sermon or a theological debate would be present. However, religion did not generally play a significant role. When it did, this would be on matters concerning the majority Danish Evangelical-Lutheran Church. In 1896, however, the Christian Daily was established after disputes between inner-mission Christians and more liberal wings of the church concerning exaggerations and allegations about their differences and mutual positions. There was a need for a newspaper that took ecclesiastical life seriously. The paper is still in print and has made a niche for itself on matter of faith, ethics and existence.

In radio and television, religion entered through a commitment to public service. In Denmark, because the state was the first to offer radio broadcasts with the Danish Radio, government – that is the ministry for cultural affairs – was committed by law to make sure that a certain standard of public service was met. When television was introduced, the same requirement of public service was put into force. With Danish Radio having a monopoly on broadcasting in both radio and television until 1988, the commitment to public service meant that both radio and television had to provide programming to suit the broader public. Thus, there were narrow programs with a small audience and large, often entertainment shows that addressed itself to the general public in prime time. As part of this, religion was given a legally and publicly financed voice from time to time.

Most substantially are the Sunday morning services of one of the parishes of the Danish Evangelical-Lutheran Church, which are aired both on radio and television since the very early days of radio. This caters to the 85% of the audience that are members of the Danish Evangelical-Lutheran Church. In addition to this, from time to time programs address issues in relation to minority religion. However, no voice is given on a regular basis to other religions or religious communities.

D 13 September 2012    ANiels Valdemar Vinding

Current issues and two cases

Sociologists of religion have in later years pointed to a repeated overexposure of religion in media. Religion is generally a hot topic and Islam, perhaps, particularly. By overexposure is meant (...)

Sociologists of religion have in later years pointed to a repeated overexposure of religion in media. Religion is generally a hot topic and Islam, perhaps, particularly. By overexposure is meant that religion figures more commonly in media than in other public spheres and even in political debates. In some papers, one in four comments was about religion in the period from 2000 to 2010. This remains true both before and after the Muhammad Cartoons were printed in 2005.

However, a distinct point worth making here, is that it is not religion as such that is given voice or being presented, but people’s opinions and attitudes towards religions, political or otherwise. People are not becoming the more religious, but religion is being contested more harshly in media as one form of expression of opinion. More and more people are forming more or less reflected opinions about religion. Which is very much part of the context that led to the Cartoons Crisis.

Case 1: Cartoon Crisis and Freedom of Speech in the face of religion

This is not the place to go into the whole story of the Muhammad Cartoons Crisis, but some aspects are relevant here.

Throughout the five years that have passed since the cartoons were first published, the newspaper Jyllands-Posten has maintained that it is protected under the freedom of speech. Different key figures in the affairs have issued limited apologies, saying they were sorry for the trouble they caused, but would not have acted differently. One of the newspapers, however, apologised to ‘anyone who was offended’. There we are far from finding agreement on the matter within Danish media.

A repeated part of this story is about whether or not there is a limit to freedom of speech that could be self-imposed as self-censorship. The start of the whole controversy was about the fear that certain cartoonists gave as reason not to illustrate a book about the Quran. The sentiment of the debate was that that people would do to the Bible things that they would not to the Quran. To the editors at Jyllands-Posten this could not do, as both (a negative) equality of religion and freedom of speech were challenged by this self-imposed censorship.

After the cartoons where published, the Prime Minister, Anders Fogh Rasmussen, was approached by eleven ambassadors from the Middle East in order to discuss the ‘smear campaign’ of the Prophet in Danish media. The Prime Minister would not apologize or even prosecute for something done within the limits of the law, and he - rather paradoxically - used Christian Lutheran doctrine to argue why politics and religion should not be mixed. Very recently, Wednesday 13th October 2010, the Danish foreign minister met in Cairo with the Grand Imam of the Al-Azhar and called the pain it caused Muslims ‘very regrettable’. This was received as an apology by the Egyptian media, but the foreign minister and the Grand Imam both stress that it was not an apology. They state that there is a difference between the hurt caused and the cartoons themselves.

Case 2: ROJ TV, dissenting media and terrorism

When the former Prime Minister, Anders Fogh Rasmussen, who came to the international limelight in the cartoons crisis, was candidate for the position of general secretary, he met with serious protests from Turkey. Not because of the Cartoons Crisis, but because Denmark allows ROJ TV to operate. ROJ TV has been under investigation since 2005 because Turkey claims that it receives support from the Kurdish separatists, the PKK, and it is spreading the Kurdish terrorist message. During the appointment hearings of Anders Fogh Rasmussen, Turkey was given indirect reassurance that the Danish police and state prosecutor traveled to Turkey to negotiate the specificities and investigate further. That apparently satisfied the Turkish government who took it as a positive response to their request.

In March 2010, the Civil Board – which is the supervisory institution set up by the government decided that the financial support of ROJ TV was illegal. Their estimate of the financial support was about 118 million Danish Kroner (15 million EUR). In the months that followed, journalists from different newspapers documented in a series of articles that ROJ TV was closer to the PKK that previously assumed.All this led the Minister of Justice, on the 31st of August 2010, to ask the state prosecutor to take legal action against ROJ TV and affiliate companies. This was followed by warranted searches and confiscation of computers and archives. There will not be any prosecution of the people involved as the prosecutor wants the courts assessment of ROJ TV’s right to broadcast. Nothing is mentioned such as incitement to terror or the like. There has however been speculation that the legal action against ROJ TV, which is likely to drive them to go permanently off the air, has more to do with negotiations with Abdullah Öcalan. He is apparently still directing many of the PKK operations from his prison cell, and the Turkish Erdogan government wanted to secure Kurdish support for the constitutional referendum held on September 12th, 2010. The hope was that the referendum, which was successful, could help pave the way for Turkish membership. In a sense, the legal action against ROJ TV was a small part of that, and what will happen in court remains to be seen.

D 13 September 2012    ANiels Valdemar Vinding

For further information

Ellegaard (2010): “Er det nu nat med Roj-TV”, Information, 31. August 2010.
Iversen (2007), H. R.: “Religion skamrides i politik og medier,” Information, 25 july 2007.
Klausen (2009), J.: The (...)

Ellegaard (2010): “Er det nu nat med Roj-TV”, Information, 31. August 2010.

Iversen (2007), H. R.: “Religion skamrides i politik og medier,” Information, 25 july 2007.

Klausen (2009), J.: The Cartoons that Shook the World, Yale University Press.

Nissen (2010), U. B.: “Lutheran Natural Law. Thought in the Nordic Countries in the 21st century,” in: Christoffersen et al (2010): Law & Religion in the 21st Century – Nordic Perspectives. DJØF publishers, Copenhagen.

”ROJ TV – Danmarks varme kartoffel”, Politiken, 31. August 2010.

Sløk (2009), C.: “Here I stand: Lutheran stubbornnes in the Danish Prime Minister’s office during The Danish Cartoon Crisis”. European Journal of Social Theory 12 (2).

D 13 September 2012    ANiels Valdemar Vinding

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Danemark > Religion et société > Médias et religion

Médias et religion

La liberté d’expression et de religion dans les médias

Une analyse générale, et ensuite plus détaillée, des débats actuels sur la religion et les médias au Danemark commence avec la question de la liberté d’expression. Enoncée comme le droit d’écrire, (...)

Une analyse générale, et ensuite plus détaillée, des débats actuels sur la religion et les médias au Danemark commence avec la question de la liberté d’expression. Enoncée comme le droit d’écrire, d’imprimer et de donner son avis sans crainte de censure, la liberté d’expression est garantie dans la Constitution danoise de 1849 et dans toutes ses révisions subséquentes. Ainsi, la version la plus récente, de 1953, précise au §77 que "(...) toute personne est libre de publier ses idées sur papier, par écrit et oralement, sous réserve d’être tenue responsable devant une cour de justice. La censure et d’autres mesures préventives ne pourront jamais plus être réintroduites ». Ainsi, il relève de la responsabilité du gouvernement, sous le contrôle du Parlement, à la fois de s’assurer que la liberté d’expression est effective, de poursuivre en diffamation et de protéger l’ordre public.

La loi sur la responsabilité des médias danois a instauré un Conseil de la presse en tant qu’institution indépendante de contrôle pour traiter les plaintes de toute nature concernant les médias sous toutes leurs formes. Il établit, en collaboration avec des représentants des médias et du Parlement, les lignes directrices de l’éthique et du code de conduite de la presse. Selon ces lignes directrices, le Conseil de la presse - et dans des cas extrêmes, la police - s’assure que la liberté d’expression est maintenue sans qu’aucune des autres libertés ne soit violée, notamment la liberté de la vie privée et la liberté de croyance et de culte conformément à ses convictions.

La religion a en quelque sorte toujours fait partie de la vie publique et donc aussi des médias. Les journaux traditionnels et bien établis rapportaient les événements concernant l’Eglise et publiaient de temps en temps un sermon ou un débat théologique. En général, la religion ne jouait cependant pas un rôle important et, lorsque c’était le cas, cela concernait l’Eglise évangélique luthérienne danoise. En 1896 cependant, le Quotidien chrétien fut créé à la suite de différends entre des chrétiens dits "inner-mission" et les ailes plus libérales de l’Eglise au sujet d’exagérations et d’allégations relatives à leurs divergences et positions mutuelles. Il existait alors une demande pour un journal qui prenne au sérieux la vie ecclésiastique. Le journal existe toujours aujourd’hui et a créé son propre créneau en matière de foi, d’éthique et d’existence.

À la radio et à la télévision, la religion s’est fait une place grâce à l’engagement du service public. Au Danemark, l’État fut le premier à proposer des émissions de radio (sur la Radio danoise) et le gouvernement - c’est-à-dire, le ministère des Affaires culturelles – était tenu par la loi de garantir certaines exigences de service public. Lorsque la télévision fut introduite, la même exigence de service public fut appliquée. La Radio danoise détenant le monopole de la diffusion radiophonique et télévisée jusqu’en 1988, l’exigence de service public signifiait que radio et télévision devaient fournir une programmation convenant à un large public. Il y avait donc des émissions à faible audience et d’autres à large audience, souvent des spectacles de divertissement diffusés en prime time. La religion, quant à elle, s’est vue attribuer de temps à autre un créneau financé sur des fonds publics conformément à la loi.

La majeure partie des émissions religieuses consistent en des services dominicaux retransmis depuis une église de l’Église évangélique luthérienne danoise, et diffusés à la fois à la radio et à la télévision depuis les tout débuts de la radio. Ces retransmissions s’adressent aux 85% de la population membres de l’Église évangélique luthérienne danoise. En outre, sont diffusés de temps à autre des programmes qui traitent de questions portant sur les religions minoritaires. Aucun créneau d’expression n’est accordé toutefois de façon régulière à d’autres religions ou communautés religieuses.

13 septembre 2012

Questions d’actualité et deux études de cas

Les sociologues de la religion ont récemment souligné une surexposition de la religion dans les médias. La religion et, plus précisément l’islam est un sujet très à la mode. Par "surexposition" on (...)

Les sociologues de la religion ont récemment souligné une surexposition de la religion dans les médias. La religion et, plus précisément l’islam est un sujet très à la mode. Par "surexposition" on entend que la religion est présente plus fréquemment dans les médias que dans d’autres sphères publiques et même dans les débats politiques. Dans les colonnes et les débats de certains journaux, entre 2000 et 2010, un commentaire sur quatre concernait la religion, avant tout comme après la publication des caricatures de Mahomet en 2005.

Cependant, un point particulier à noter ici est que ce n’est pas la religion en tant que telle à laquelle il est fait référence ou qui est présentée, mais les opinions et les attitudes envers les religions, qu’elles soient politiques ou autres. Les gens ne deviennent pas plus religieux, mais la religion est contestée plus sévèrement dans les médias, ce qui constitue une forme d’expression de l’opinion. De plus en plus de gens se font des opinions plus ou moins réfléchies sur la religion, ce qui constitue réellement le contexte qui a mené à la crise des caricatures.

Cas 1 : La crise des caricatures et la liberté d’expression face à la religion

Nous n’entrerons pas ici dans les détails de l’histoire de la crise des caricatures de Mahomet, mais soulignerons certains aspects pertinents.

Tout d’abord, tout au long des cinq années qui se sont écoulées depuis la première publication des caricatures, le journal Jyllands-Posten a répété qu’il était protégé par la liberté d’expression. Différentes personnalités clés dans cette affaire se sont excusées, de façon limitée cependant dans le sens où elles se sont déclarées désolées pour la peine engendrée tout en affirmant qu’elles n’auraient pas changé quoi que ce soit. Un autre journal, cependant, a présenté ses excuses à "toute personne qui a été offensée". On est donc loin d’un consensus sur cette question dans les médias danois.

Ensuite, cet épisode soulève la question d’une limite volontaire à la liberté d’expression, soit l’autocensure. Le début de la controverse concernait la peur de certains dessinateurs d’avoir à illustrer un livre sur le Coran et l’idée qu’il y avait des choses que les gens pouvaient faire avec la Bible qu’ils ne se permettraient pas de faire avec le Coran. Pour les éditeurs du Jyllands-Posten, on avait là l’illustration d’une (in)égalité des religions et une remise en cause de la liberté d’expression par cette censure auto-imposée.

Après la publication des caricatures, le Premier ministre, Anders Fogh Rasmussen, a été approché par onze ambassadeurs du Moyen-Orient afin de discuter de la "campagne de diffamation" du prophète dans les médias danois. Le Premier ministre ne voulait ni s’excuser ni poursuivre l’affaire en justice, étant donné que la loi avait été respectée et il a utilisé - plutôt paradoxalement - la doctrine luthérienne pour justifier le fait que la religion et la politique ne doivent pas être mélangées. Le 13 octobre 2010, le ministre des Affaires étrangères danois a rencontré au Caire le grand imam de la mosquée d’Al-Azhar et a qualifié le mal infligé aux musulmans de "très regrettable". Cela a été reçu comme une excuse par les médias égyptiens, mais le ministre des Affaires étrangères et le grand imam ont souligné tous les deux que ce n’était pas une excuse. Ils affirment qu’il y a une différence entre le mal infligé et les caricatures elles-mêmes.

Cas 2 : ROJ TV, les médias dissidents et le terrorisme

Lorsque l’ancien Premier ministre, Anders Fogh Rasmussen - devenu célèbre au plan international pendant la crise des caricatures - devint candidat pour un poste de secrétaire général de l’OTAN, la Turquie a émis de vives protestations - non pas à cause de la crise des caricatures, mais parce que le Danemark avait permis à ROJ TV de fonctionner. ROJ TV fait l’objet d’une enquête depuis 2005, car la Turquie affirme qu’elle bénéficie du soutien des séparatistes kurdes (PKK) et qu’elle répand donc le message terroriste kurde. Lors des audiences pour la nomination de M. Anders Fogh Rasmussen, la police danoise et le procureur de la République se sont rendus en Turquie pour négocier et enquêter plus en avant. Cela a apparemment convaincu le gouvernement turc qui l’a interprété comme une réponse positive à ses demandes.

En mars 2010, le Conseil civil - institution de surveillance mise en place par le gouvernement a décidé que l’apport financier de ROJ TV était illégal. Ce soutien financier est estimé à environ 118 millions de couronnes danoises (15 millions d’euros). Dans les mois qui suivirent, des journalistes de différents journaux ont affirmé dans une série d’articles que ROJ TV était plus proche du PKK qu’on l’avait supposé précédemment.

Tout cela a conduit le ministre de la Justice à demander au ministère public, le 31 août 2010, d’engager des poursuites judiciaires contre ROJ TV et les sociétés affiliées. Des perquisitions et la confiscation d’ordinateurs et d’archives ont eu lieu. Il n’y a pas eu de poursuites contre des personnes impliquées et le procureur veut que le tribunal évalue d’abord les droits de diffusion de ROJ TV. Rien n’a été dit sur l’incitation au terrorisme ou quoi que ce soit de semblable. On spécule pourtant que l’action en justice contre ROJ TV, qui est susceptible de mettre fin définitivement à ses retransmissions, dépend surtout des négociations menées avec Abdullah Öcalan. Celui-ci dirige apparemment toujours de nombreuses opérations du PKK depuis sa cellule de prison et le gouvernement turc de M. Erdogan a voulu s’assurer le soutien kurde pour le référendum constitutionnel organisé le 12 septembre 2010. L’idée était que le référendum, qui a été un succès, pouvait aider à ouvrir la voie de l’adhésion turque à l’Union européenne et, dans un sens, l’action en justice contre ROJ TV faisait également partie de la même démarche. Il reste à savoir ce que décidera la cour.

13 septembre 2012

Pour plus d’informations

Ellegaard (2010) : “Er det nu nat med Roj-TV”, Information, 31 août 2010.
Iversen (2007), H. R. : “Religion skamrides i politik og medier,” Information, 25 juillet 2007.
Klausen (2009), J. : The (...)

Ellegaard (2010) : “Er det nu nat med Roj-TV”, Information, 31 août 2010.

Iversen (2007), H. R. : “Religion skamrides i politik og medier,” Information, 25 juillet 2007.

Klausen (2009), J. : The Cartoons that Shook the World, Yale University Press.

Nissen (2010), U. B. : “Lutheran Natural Law. Thought in the Nordic Countries in the 21st century,” in : Christoffersen et al (2010) : Law & Religion in the 21st Century – Nordic Perspectives. DJØF publishers, Copenhagen.

”ROJ TV – Danmarks varme kartoffel”, Politiken, 31 août 2010.

Sløk (2009), C. : “Here I stand : Lutheran stubbornnes in the Danish Prime Minister’s office during The Danish Cartoon Crisis”. European Journal of Social Theory 12 (2).

13 septembre 2012