eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Denmark » Social and religious data » Principal religions and denominations

Principal religions and denominations

The National Church

Den Danske Folkekirke (literally: The Danish People’s Church) is the established religion in Denmark (it gathers over 84 % of the population). Since the first Danish Constitution passed in 1849, (...)

Den Danske Folkekirke (literally: The Danish People’s Church) is the established religion in Denmark (it gathers over 84 % of the population). Since the first Danish Constitution passed in 1849, this Evangelical-Lutheran church has enjoyed the privileges of a national church, with state financed education of ministers, state-governed church-taxes and as the facilitator of official national holidays. The vast majority of the Danes are members of the national church. Due to the very high membership rate and a wide reaching independence in the local parishes the church naturally comprises a large variety of religious worldviews, from liberal to conservative as well as minimalist to maximalist. The societal role of the national church is therefore regularly the centre of political debates. The ecclesiastical authority of the national church is for all legal purposes the Minister of Ecclesiastical Affairs.

D 13 September 2012    AAnnika Hvithamar APeter Lüchau

Other Christian Denominations

The Catholic Church in Denmark is the second largest Christian denomination in Denmark. Although Denmark was a Catholic country up until the reformation in 1536, the contemporary denomination has (...)

The Catholic Church in Denmark is the second largest Christian denomination in Denmark. Although Denmark was a Catholic country up until the reformation in 1536, the contemporary denomination has no bonds with the pre-reformatory Church, as Catholics were persecuted and sent out of the country after Denmark turned Lutheran. When freedom of religion was granted to the citizens, in the 1849 constitution, only two congregations existed, mainly composed of foreigners. Even today, the Catholic parishes have a sizeable amount of immigrants, emphasized by the dominance of foreign clergy in the church. Membership of the Catholic Church is increasing, due to immigration, especially from Vietnam.

Jehovah’s Witnesses are currently the third largest denomination in Denmark. They came to Denmark at the end of the 19th century and since 1904 the journals of the movement have been published in Danish. Most Jehovah’s Witnesses in Denmark are ethnic Danes. Although the community has been, and to some degree still is, regarded as controversial, Jehovah’s Witnesses have been officially recognised by the Danish state in 1970 and since 1998 the right not to accept blood-transfusions has been amended to the Danish legislation. Jehovah’s Witnesses in Denmark are decreasing, although there has been a rise in new converts through mission among the immigrant population, especially Tamils.

A wide variety of smaller Christian communities, among which the Baptists, Pentecostal Churches, Apostolic Churches and lately African Churches are gathered in the Frikirkenet (Network of Free Churches), which coordinates the Evangelical-charismatic communities in Denmark.

D 13 September 2012    AAnnika Hvithamar APeter Lüchau

Other non-Christian Denominations

The largest non-Christian group in Denmark is Islam. It is a very diverse religious group comprised of many separate denominations and has no central coordinating organisation as is the case in (...)

The largest non-Christian group in Denmark is Islam. It is a very diverse religious group comprised of many separate denominations and has no central coordinating organisation as is the case in some European countries. Muslims have been and continue to be at the centre of many hot political debates.

Apart from Muslims, non-Christian denominations include several religions of Eastern origin, some that cater to ethnic Danes while others are mostly comprised of immigrants. Their membership is rather low.

D 13 September 2012    AAnnika Hvithamar APeter Lüchau

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Danemark > Données socio-religieuses > Principales religions et Eglises

Principales religions et Eglises

L’Eglise nationale

Den Danske Folkekirke (littéralement "l’Eglise du Peuple Danois") est la religion nationale du Danemark (elle rassemble plus de 84 % de la population). Depuis que la première Constitution danoise a (...)

Den Danske Folkekirke (littéralement "l’Eglise du Peuple Danois") est la religion nationale du Danemark (elle rassemble plus de 84 % de la population). Depuis que la première Constitution danoise a été adoptée en 1849, cette Eglise évangélique luthérienne bénéficie des privilèges d’une Eglise nationale dont l’Etat finance la formation des ministres et gère les impôts. Elle joue également un rôle d’intermédiaire pour la fixation des jours fériés officiels. La grande majorité des Danois est membre de l’Eglise nationale. En raison de ce fort taux d’appartenance et de la forte indépendance des paroisses locales, l’Eglise englobe une grande variété de conceptions religieuses du monde, allant de la vision libérale à la vision conservatrice, en passant par les visions minimaliste et maximaliste. Le rôle sociétal de l’Eglise nationale est ainsi régulièrement au centre des débats politiques. Pour toutes les questions juridiques, l’autorité ecclésiastique de l’Eglise nationale est le Ministre des affaires ecclésiastiques.

13 septembre 2012

Autres Eglises chrétiennes

L’Eglise catholique du Danemark est la deuxième Eglise chrétienne dans le pays. Bien que le Danemark ait été un pays catholique jusqu’à la Réforme de 1536, l’Eglise actuelle n’a aucun lien avec celle (...)

L’Eglise catholique du Danemark est la deuxième Eglise chrétienne dans le pays. Bien que le Danemark ait été un pays catholique jusqu’à la Réforme de 1536, l’Eglise actuelle n’a aucun lien avec celle d’avant la Réforme car les catholiques furent persécutés et expulsés du pays quand le Danemark est devenu luthérien. Quand la liberté de religion fut accordée aux citoyens avec la Constitution de 1849, il n’existait alors que deux communautés, composées essentiellement d’étrangers. Aujourd’hui encore, les paroisses catholiques comprennent un nombre important d’immigrants, accentué encore par la prédominance du clergé étranger dans l’Eglise. En raison de l’immigration, en particulier en provenance du Vietnam, les fidèles de l’Eglise catholique sont en nombre croissant.

Les Témoins de Jéhovah sont actuellement la troisième confession du Danemark. Ils sont arrivés au Danemark à la fin du 19ème siècle et, depuis 1904, les publications de ce mouvement sont éditées en danois. La plupart des Témoins de Jéhovah au Danemark sont de souche danoise. Bien que cette communauté ait été, et soit encore dans une certaine mesure, controversée, les Témoins de Jéhovah ont été officiellement reconnus par l’Etat danois en 1970. Par aileurs, depuis 1998, le droit de refuser une transfusion sanguine a été introduit dans la législation danoise. Les Témoins de Jéhovah sont en nombre décroissant au Danemark, malgré l’augmentation du nombre de nouveaux convertis résultant des missions menées auprès des immigrants, en particulier des Tamouls.

Une grande variété de communautés chrétiennes plus petites dont les Baptistes, les Eglises pentecôtistes, les Eglises apostoliques et récemment des Eglises africaines, est rassemblée au sein du Frikirkenet, le réseau des Eglises libres, qui coordonne les communautés évangéliques charismatiques du Danemark.

13 septembre 2012

Autres confessions non chrétiennes

L’islam est le groupe non chrétien le plus important au Danemark. C’est un groupe religieux très diversifié qui comprend un grand nombre de confessions distinctes et qui n’a pas d’organe central de (...)

L’islam est le groupe non chrétien le plus important au Danemark. C’est un groupe religieux très diversifié qui comprend un grand nombre de confessions distinctes et qui n’a pas d’organe central de coordination comme c’est le cas dans certains pays européens. Les musulmans ont été, et sont encore, l’objet de débats politiques nombreux et animés.

Outre l’islam, les confessions non chrétiennes incluent plusieurs religions d’origine orientale, certaines accueillant des Danois de souche alors que d‘autres sont essentiellement composées d’immigrants. Les membres de ces Eglises sont relativement peu nombreux.

13 septembre 2012