eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Denmark » Law and religion » General overview

General overview

State, Church and religion in Denmark

Written by Niels Vinding Valdemar and Lisbet Christoffersen (University of Copenhagen) as a contribution to the Religare project, the report Danish Regulation of Religion, State of Affairs and (...)

Written by Niels Vinding Valdemar and Lisbet Christoffersen (University of Copenhagen) as a contribution to the Religare project, the report Danish Regulation of Religion, State of Affairs and Qualitative Reflections exposes the state of religion in Denmark, especially in four areas: religion and family, religion and the labour market, religion and public space and State support for religions.

D 10 September 2012   

Legal aspect of Church-State relations

Denmark has a history of regulating religion that on the one hand represents a certain understanding of Lutheranism in a majority context after the religion wars (cujus regio, ejus religio), and (...)

Denmark has a history of regulating religion that on the one hand represents a certain understanding of Lutheranism in a majority context after the religion wars (cujus regio, ejus religio), and on the other hand presents some strenuous and difficult compromises in Danish realpolitik. Since the constitution of 1849, Danish regulation of religion based the Evangelical Lutheran Church firmly as one of four pillars of Danish society (§ 4) coupled with a dual constitutional promise of autonomy and establishment. A law was promised that would establish the Folkekirken as an self-determining and autonomous institution independent of, but supported by the State (sections 66 and 4), and likewise a law were to be made to regulate on equal terms the frame of the affairs of other religious communities in promise of similar freedoms and responsibilities as the Folkekirken (section 69).

The constitution gave a legal framework for explicit recognition by royal decree of those few religious communities that where already a political reality in 1849. Among these is the Jewish community, which was recognized already in 1685. This system of administrative recognition was prolonged also after the constitution, including a list of Christian main stream churches, such as Catholic Church, the Orthodox Russian congregation in Copenhagen, the Norwegian, the Swedish and the English Churches, the reformed churches, the Baptists, the Methodists and the Jewish Community in Denmark. The system of recognition was changed just after Second World War so that religious communities arrived after 1960 have only been approved, including Islam, Buddhism, and others, leaving them relegated to the administrative competences of the ministers and permanent secretaries of changing ministerial departments and offices.

See also: VINDING Niels Valdemar, "State and Church in Denmark", in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), State and Church in the European Union, Third ed., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2019, p. 87-108.

D 13 September 2012    ANiels Valdemar Vinding

Scandinavian Legal Realism

Religion in Denmark is, legally speaking, embedded in two different regulatory regimes. The Evangelical-Lutheran Church is regulated as a public, administrative body, that is: within public law; (...)

Religion in Denmark is, legally speaking, embedded in two different regulatory regimes. The Evangelical-Lutheran Church is regulated as a public, administrative body, that is: within public law; whereas all other religious communities are regulated under private law as associations, charities or private institutions. From a legal, organizational and administrative point of view, there is thus no qualitative difference between the Folkekirke and any other public administrative body. But the other religious communities are regulated just as any other private association with no clear distinction based on the very idea that the organisation is religious.

This regulatory approach can be said to be pragmatic with a conclusion derived from a legal fact. As such, the governing approach to regulation of religion is very much in line with the jurisprudence of legal realism, which in the framing of Danish professor of law Alf Ross (1899-1979) was the prevalent jurisprudence in the second half of the 20th century (Ross 1946, 1957). The legal realism we see in Denmark is part of a boarder trend called the Uppsala school of legal thinking, which was inspired by Swedish philosopher Axel Hägerström (1868 – 1939). He, and thus in turn legal realism, was grounded in reason and a positivist approach to legislation, which places law as necessary a condition for organized social life. Legal realism is marked by the pragmatic conclusions to be drawn from legal positivism and it denies that there is any valid law that is not positively established, such as natural law or religious informal law.

It is within this understanding that Denmark claims to be secular. Secularism is not a matter of public policy or a product of deliberate legislation. The legal and political pragmatism that claims this secularism considers itself realism, maintains that there is in legislation and in administration no consideration for the legal conclusions to be drawn from religion. Secularism is pragmatic and therefore understood as realistic, but it is difficult to see where secularism historically and structurally embedded in Denmark.

While the constitution added distinction, it stopped just short of actual separation. The first four articles of the constitution can be said to demarcate the jurisdiction or, figuratively speaking, erect the pillars on which the modern state was build. The first articulates the geographical territory of Denmark, the second establishes the monarchy, the third enacts the division of powers and the principles of justice, and the fourth establishes the Church of Denmark. This means that although the Church of Denmark and minority religious affairs were to be regulated autonomously, they were to be so within the organizational frame of the constitution. In this sense, the Church – in parallel analogy to the Monarchy and the institutions of power – were both constituent to and subjects of the rule of law and Democracy, as defined in the rest of the constitutional body.

To the extent that Denmark can be said to be secular, it is so in the logic of legal realism, and the Danish paradigm of regulating religion exposes itself to the same criticisms that legal realism did. This includes the notions of non-voluntarism, scepticism and the insistence on laws that must be based on social fact and regulate social behaviour. However, exactly based in social realities, the normative power of religious morals seems to be resurgent.

VINDING, N. V., "State of Affairs of Danish Regulation of Religion," in VINDING & CHRISTOFFERSEN, Danish Regulation of Religion: State of Affairs & Qualitative Reflections, RELIGARE. 2012.

D 13 September 2012    ANiels Valdemar Vinding

On the other religious communities

As section 66 of the current constitution governs the legal status of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Denmark, section 69 governs in a similar phrase the legal status of, literally, ’the from (...)

As section 66 of the current constitution governs the legal status of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Denmark, section 69 governs in a similar phrase the legal status of, literally, ’the from the Evangelical Lutheran Church deviant religious communities’’ that is the other religious communities in Denmark. As freedom of religion is guaranteed in the constitution, sections 67, 68 and 70, everyone is free to think, believe and worship as they please. There are, however, certain measures regarding religious communities that the constitution delegates to the decisions of parliament. In history, the affairs of other religious communities were decided by the ministry for ecclesiastical affairs who usually consulted the bishop of Copenhagen, but in 1998 this was changed, and now the Advisory Council regarding Religious Communities are consulted. This is an authority that on substantial grounds ’approves’ religious organizations’ and groups’ right to perform marriages, to invite religious professionals, and to have certain tax deductibility. The advisory council is no longer part of the ministry for ecclesiastical affairs, but is part of the Division of Family Affairs at the National Social Appeals Board.

In order to be approved as a religious community, the applicant group or organization needs to be part of a religion in a wide definition of such, there needs to be a substantial amount of members, there must be ministers or religious personnel to guarantee institutional stability, and there needs to be some creed or doctrine, also to make sure that the institution is durable, but also to make sure that it is public. In the past fifteen years, more than 99 religious communities and organizations have been approved.

In order to be approved for performing marriages, the minister or religious professional is to be checked by the police and the group needs to be recognized. That’s because the performance of marriage is a public act delegated by the authorities. Some gain a standing approval, and some an ad hoc approval on a case by case basis.

The marriage itself needs to be consensual, the parties cannot be married to others, there needs to be two witnesses, and they must declare a ’Yes’ when asked by the one performing the marriage. According to international private law some marriages will be recognized from abroad, but when a Danish employed interpreter in Iraq was persecuted for helping the Danish army, he was allowed to bring his two wives to Denmark.

VINDING, N. V., "Religious Communities Deviant from the Established Church" in IVERSEN, et al, The Future Danish Model of Religion. Reitzels Publisher, Forthcoming, 2012.

GEERTZ, A. W. and Mikael ROTHSTEIN, M., "Religious Minorities and New Religious Movements in Denmark", Nova Religio: The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions, Vol. 4, No. 2 (April 2001).

KÜHLE, L., "Recognition of Religious Communities as Symbolic Capital", paper presented to NCSR in Uppsala/Sigtuna, August 22nd to 25th, 2002.

D 13 September 2012    ANiels Valdemar Vinding

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Danemark > Droit et religion > Présentation générale

Présentation générale

Etat et religion au Danemark

Rédigé par Niels Valdemar Vinding et Lisbet Christoffersen (Université de Copenhague) dans le cadre du projet Religare, le rapport Danish Regulation of Religion, State of Affairs and Qualitative (...)

Rédigé par Niels Valdemar Vinding et Lisbet Christoffersen (Université de Copenhague) dans le cadre du projet Religare, le rapport Danish Regulation of Religion, State of Affairs and Qualitative Reflections expose l’état des lieux de la religion au Danemark, notamment dans quatre domaines : religion et famille, religion et travail, religion et espace public, financement public des religions.

10 septembre 2012

Aspects juridiques des relations Eglise-Etat

L’histoire du Danemark est marquée par une réglementation des religions et par la prédominance du luthéranisme qui s’est imposé après les guerres de religion (en vertu du principe cujus regio, ejus (...)

L’histoire du Danemark est marquée par une réglementation des religions et par la prédominance du luthéranisme qui s’est imposé après les guerres de religion (en vertu du principe cujus regio, ejus religio). Cette prédominance est à l’origine de certains compromis difficiles dans le cadre de la Realpolitik danoise. Depuis la Constitution de 1849, la réglementation en matière de religion au Danemark établit l’Eglise évangélique luthérienne comme l’un des quatre piliers de la société danoise (§ 4). En vertu de la Constitution, l’Eglise évangélique luthérienne est religion d’Etat et est autonome. Une loi établit la Folkekirken (Eglise évangélique luthérienne du Danemark) comme une institution autonome, fondée sur le principe de l’autodétermination et indépendante de l’Etat, bien que subventionnée par lui (articles 66 et 4). Une autre loi réglemente les activités des autres communautés religieuses (article 69) en leur garantissant les mêmes libertés et responsabilités que celles de l’Eglise évangélique luthérienne.

La Constitution a établi un cadre législatif visant à reconnaître de manière explicite, et par décret royal, les quelques communautés religieuses qui étaient déjà une réalité politique en 1849. Ces communautés religieuses comprennent notamment la communauté juive, qui est reconnue depuis 1685. Cette procédure de reconnaissance administrative a été maintenue après l’instauration de la Constitution et comprend une liste des principales Eglises présentes au Danemark telles que l’Eglise catholique, l’Eglise orthodoxe russe de Copenhague, l’Eglise norvégienne, l’Eglise suédoise, l’Eglise d’Angleterre, les Eglises réformées, l’Eglise baptiste, l’Eglise méthodiste et la communauté juive. La procédure de reconnaissance des religions a été modifiée juste après la Seconde Guerre mondiale de sorte que les communautés religieuses apparues après 1960 (islamiques, bouddhistes ou autres) ont été reconnues tardivement et leur sort a été confié aux ministres et secrétaires permanents des bureaux et départements ministériels qui changent à chaque remaniement gouvernemental.

Voir aussi : DÜBECK Inger, "État et Églises au Danemark", in ROBBERS Gerhard (ed.), État et Églises dans l’Union européenne, 2e éd., Baden-Baden, Nomos, 2008, p. 56-79.

13 septembre 2012

Réalisme juridique scandinave

Les communautés religieuses au Danemark dépendent, sur le plan juridique, de deux régimes de réglementation distincts. L’Eglise évangélique luthérienne, Eglise d’Etat, est considérée comme une (...)

Les communautés religieuses au Danemark dépendent, sur le plan juridique, de deux régimes de réglementation distincts. L’Eglise évangélique luthérienne, Eglise d’Etat, est considérée comme une administration publique, autrement dit un organisme de droit public. Toutes les autres communautés religieuses relèvent, quant à elles, du droit privé et sont constituées en associations, organisations caritatives ou institutions privées. D’un point de vue juridique, organisationnel et administratif, il n’existe aucune différence entre la Folkekirken et les autres administrations publiques. En ce qui concerne la réglementation s’appliquant aux autres communautés religieuses, elle est identique à celle de n’importe quelle association privée, qu’il s’agisse d’une association à caractère religieux ou non.

Ce cadre réglementaire, qui peut être considéré comme pragmatique, se fonde sur un fait juridique. En effet, la réglementation de la religion au Danemark s’inscrit parfaitement dans l’évolution de la jurisprudence danoise et de son réalisme juridique qui, selon le danois Alf Ross (1899-1979), juriste et philosophe de droit, correspond à la jurisprudence dominante au cours de la seconde moitié du XXème siècle (Ross, 1946, 1957). Le réalisme juridique que l’on trouve au Danemark fait partie d’un mouvement national plus large appelé « l’Ecole juridique d’Uppsala », un mouvement inspiré par le philosophe suédois Axel Hägerström (1868 -1939). Les théories d’Axel Hägerström, et, par là même, du réalisme juridique scandinave, se fondent sur la raison et sur une approche positive de la législation en considérant la loi comme une condition indispensable à l’organisation de la vie sociale. Le réalisme juridique, et son approche pragmatique qui relève du positivisme juridique, dénie la possibilité qu’un droit puisse être établi autrement que positivement, tels le droit naturel ou le droit informel religieux.

C’est dans le cadre de cette interprétation que le Danemark se déclare laïc. La laïcité ne relève pas de la politique publique et ne peut découler d’un choix législatif. Le pragmatisme politique et juridique à l’origine de cette laïcité se fonde sur le réalisme et soutient que toute décision législative ou administrative doit être prise sans tenir compte de la religion. La laïcité est pragmatique et, par conséquent, perçue comme une chose réaliste mais il est difficile de définir avec précision quand et comment la laïcité s’est véritablement implantée au Danemark, que ce soit d’un point de vue historique ou structurel.

Même si la Constitution a toujours établi une différence entre l’Eglise et l’Etat, elle n’est jamais allée jusqu’à les séparer. Les quatre premiers articles de la Constitution peuvent être considérés comme le fondement du système juridique ou, pour parler en termes plus imagés, comme les fondations sur lesquels l’Etat moderne a été érigé. Le premier article définit le territoire géographique du Danemark, le deuxième institue la monarchie constitutionnelle, le troisième établit la séparation des pouvoirs et les principes de justice et le quatrième institue l’Eglise nationale. Cela signifie que même si l’Eglise nationale danoise et les questions relatives aux minorités religieuses étaient réglementées de manière autonome, elles le seraient dans le cadre organisationnel de la Constitution. En ce sens, l’Eglise, au même titre que la monarchie et les institutions du pouvoir, fait partie intégrante de l’Etat de droit et de la démocratie qu’elle se doit de respecter, comme le définit la Constitution.

Dans la mesure où le Danemark peut être considéré comme laïc, cette laïcité trouve ses racines dans le réalisme juridique et le modèle danois, en réglementant la religion, s’expose aux mêmes critiques que celles dont le réalisme juridique a pu faire l’objet. Ces critiques portent sur les notions de non volontarisme, de scepticisme et d’emphase sur les lois qui se fondent sur des faits sociaux et réglementent le comportement social. Cependant, en dépit de ces critiques, le pouvoir normatif de la morale religieuse, qui se fonde justement sur les réalités sociales, semble connaître un nouvel essor.

VINDING, N. V., "State of Affairs of Danish Regulation of Religion," in VINDING & CHRISTOFFERSEN, Danish Regulation of Religion : State of Affairs & Qualitative Reflections, RELIGARE. 2012.

13 septembre 2012

Les autres communautés religieuses

En vertu de l’article 66 de la Constitution actuelle, le statut de l’Eglise nationale du Danemark est réglé par la loi. En ce qui concerne les « Eglises dissidentes », autrement dit les autres (...)

En vertu de l’article 66 de la Constitution actuelle, le statut de l’Eglise nationale du Danemark est réglé par la loi. En ce qui concerne les « Eglises dissidentes », autrement dit les autres communautés religieuses du Danemark, l’article 69 dispose que leurs conditions sont également fixées par la loi. En ce qui concerne la liberté religieuse, elle est garantie par la Constitution (articles 67, 68 et 70) et les citoyens ont le droit de penser, de croire et de pratiquer leur culte conformément à leurs convictions. Toutefois, certaines décisions relatives aux communautés religieuses ne relèvent pas de la Constitution mais sont prises par le parlement. Historiquement, la question des « Eglises dissidentes » était placée sous l’autorité du ministère des Affaires ecclésiastiques qui consultait généralement l’évêque de Copenhague avant toute décision. Les choses ont changé en 1998 et, aujourd’hui, c’est le Comité consultatif en charge des affaires relatives aux communautés religieuses qui est consulté. Cette autorité peut, si les raisons sont fondées, reconnaître certaines organisations religieuses, elle peut également reconnaître aux groupes religieux le droit de célébrer des mariages, de faire appel à des chefs religieux pour leurs cérémonies et de bénéficier de certaines déductions fiscales. Le Comité consultatif ne fait plus partie du ministère des Affaires ecclésiastiques, il fait partie de la Division des affaires familiales rattachée à la Commission nationale de recours en matière sociale.

Pour qu’une communauté religieuse soit officiellement reconnue, l’organisation, ou le groupe religieux, doit faire partie d’une religion qui n’est pas considérée comme minoritaire, ses membres doivent être suffisamment nombreux, la communauté religieuse doit avoir des officiers ou des ministres du culte qui garantissent la stabilité institutionnelle et elle doit avoir un credo ou une doctrine afin de garantir le caractère pérenne de l’institution ainsi que son caractère public. Au cours des 15 dernières années, plus de 99 communautés et organisations religieuses ont obtenu une reconnaissance officielle de l’Etat danois.

Pour qu’un ministre ou un officier du culte ait le droit de célébrer des mariages, il doit faire l’objet d’une enquête de police et la communauté doit être reconnue officiellement. En effet, le mariage est un acte public qui a des effets civils et, de ce fait, ne peut se faire sans autorisation. Certaines communautés bénéficient d’une autorisation permanente de célébrer des mariages, d’autres doivent demander une autorisation spéciale, accordée au cas par cas.

En ce qui concerne le mariage lui-même, il doit être consensuel, les parties ne peuvent être mariées à d’autres parties, la présence de deux témoins est obligatoire et les parties doivent donner leur consentement oral à ce mariage par un « oui » lorsque l’officier du culte le leur demande. En vertu du droit international privé, certains mariages célébrés à l’étranger peuvent avoir valeur légale au Danemark et lorsqu’un interprète travaillant en Iraq pour le gouvernement danois a fait l’objet de persécutions pour avoir aidé l’armée danoise, il a été autorisé à venir au Danemark avec ses deux femmes.

VINDING, N. V., "Religious Communities Deviant from the Established Church" in IVERSEN, et al, The Future Danish Model of Religion. Reitzels Publisher, Forthcoming, 2012.

GEERTZ, A. W. and Mikael ROTHSTEIN, M., "Religious Minorities and New Religious Movements in Denmark", Nova Religio : The Journal of Alternative and Emergent Religions, Vol. 4, No. 2 (April 2001).

KÜHLE, L., "Recognition of Religious Communities as Symbolic Capital", paper presented to NCSR in Uppsala/Sigtuna, August 22nd to 25th, 2002.

13 septembre 2012