eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Social and religious data » Other religious and non-religious groups

Other religious and non-religious groups

Ancient and recent minorities

There are three historic religious minorities (Armenians, Roman Catholics or Latins and Maronites). However, it is important to note the total number of Roman Catholics includes recent waves of (...)

There are three historic religious minorities (Armenians, Roman Catholics or Latins and Maronites). However, it is important to note the total number of Roman Catholics includes recent waves of mostly Asian immigrants. Because of the nature of their migration, the total number of Roman Catholics is growing and reaches approximately 12,000 in 2008. In addition to them, there is a small population of members of the Anglican Church and Muslims.

D 12 September 2012    AVictor Roudometof

Several small minorities

The Roman Catholic constituency consists of natives as well as large numbers of immigrants (mostly Asians) who work in Cyprus. Protestants include both natives as well as other Europeans (mostly (...)

The Roman Catholic constituency consists of natives as well as large numbers of immigrants (mostly Asians) who work in Cyprus. Protestants include both natives as well as other Europeans (mostly British) permanently settled on the island. The Muslims include a small Roma population as well as Turkish Cypriots who have made their home in the Republic of Cyprus instead of the island’s northern part (e.g. the unrecognized Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus – see Two religiously homogeneous regions). In addition to the Roman Catholics, the Armenian & Maronite groups are historical religious groups in the Republic of Cyprus. (See “Religious Minorities”). The Armenian Church also involves membership both to an ethnic and a religious group. Still, Armenians in the Republic of Cyprus have been largely integrated into the public sphere, just like the Maronite community. All non-Orthodox faiths generally have very low public visibility, their rituals and ceremonies rarely receiving publicity.

For more information, see the Religious minorities heading.

D 30 April 2013    AVictor Roudometof

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2021 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Chypre > Données socio-religieuses > Autres groupes religieux

Autres groupes religieux

Minorités anciennes et récentes

Il existe trois minorités religieuses historiques à Chypre (Arméniens, Catholiques romains ou latins, Maronites). Il est cependant important de noter ici que le nombre total de Catholiques romains (...)

Il existe trois minorités religieuses historiques à Chypre (Arméniens, Catholiques romains ou latins, Maronites). Il est cependant important de noter ici que le nombre total de Catholiques romains inclut des vagues récentes d’immigrés, principalement asiatiques. En raison de ces migrations le nombre total de catholiques romains augmente pour atteindre approximativement 12000 personnes en 2008. On compte par ailleurs un petit nombre de membres de l’Eglise anglicane et de musulmans.

12 septembre 2012

Plusieurs petites minorités

La communauté catholique romaine est composée d’autochtones et d’un grand nombre d’immigrés, essentiellement asiatiques, qui travaillent à Chypre. La communauté protestante est composée à la fois (...)

La communauté catholique romaine est composée d’autochtones et d’un grand nombre d’immigrés, essentiellement asiatiques, qui travaillent à Chypre. La communauté protestante est composée à la fois d’autochtones et également d’autres Européens, majoritairement des britanniques, établis de manière permanente sur l’île. La communauté musulmane comprend une faible population rom ainsi que des Chypriotes turcs ayant choisi de s’établir en République de Chypre plutôt que dans la partie nord de l’île (la République turque de Chypre du Nord non reconnue – voir Deux régions religieuses homogènes). Outre les catholiques romains, les communautés arménienne et maronite sont des groupes religieux implantés historiquement en République de Chypre (voir Minorités religieuses). L’appartenance à l’Église arménienne implique à la fois l’appartenance à un groupe ethnique et à une communauté religieuse. Cependant, la communauté arménienne est largement intégrée à la sphère publique en République de Chypre, tout comme la communauté maronite. De manière générale, l’ensemble des confessions non orthodoxes ne bénéficient pas d’une grande visibilité auprès du public. Leurs rituels et leurs cérémonies font rarement l’objet de publicité.

Pour plus d’information, voir la rubrique Minorités religieuses.

Avril 2013
30 avril 2013