eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Religions and society » Religions and schooling

Religions and schooling

Religious Education in Cyprus

The Orthodox Church in Cyprus has a history of about two thousand years (since 46 A.D). Its presence has been apparent in all aspects of local life and its history is inextricably linked with (...)

The Orthodox Church in Cyprus has a history of about two thousand years (since 46 A.D). Its presence has been apparent in all aspects of local life and its history is inextricably linked with that of the island. The vast majority of the people of Cyprus are believers of the Orthodox faith.

Religious education is part of the state educational system of the Republic of Cyprus. As stated in the Curriculum (rev. edition 1996), this subject serves several goals. These goals include "the understanding of the revelation of God as a response to fundamental questions of human existence"; the "acquaintance with the person, the teaching and the deeds of Jesus Christ"; and the "comprehension of the ethos and the customs of the country that relate to the Orthodox faith." Additional goals include the "learning of essential components of several denominations and religions"; and, the development of a sense of respect for the religious beliefs of other peoples.

The subject is taught at all grades and levels of education (primary and secondary, i.e., Gymnasium and Lyceum) for two teaching hours, with the exception of the Second Grade of Lyceum in which the course is taught for one and half hour. The teaching follows the guidelines of the Curriculum designed by the Ministry of Education and Culture. There are handbooks for each grade. The educational material for the First and Second Grade of Primary School is published by the Ministry of Education and Culture, whereas the educational material for all other grades are those employed by the State Education of Greece. The Ministry of Education and Culture has also published other secondary handbooks that are conducive to teaching the subject of religion.

In primary schools, religious education is taught by school teachers graduated from university, and in secondary education (Gymnasium and Lyceum) by theologians graduated from university. The subject is compulsory. Pupils may be exempt only after their parents place an appropriate demand and have it approved by the relevant authorities.

Recently, we have witnessed an increase in the number of people belonging to other religious beliefs than Greek Orthodoxy in Cyprus. Therefore, the subject of religious education is being modified accordingly. The chapters concerning other religions have already been increased or expanded in the new educational material and in the handbooks for primary education. The handbook of the Second grade of Lyceum deals exclusively with the main religions. Of course, the spirit of acquaintance, respect and coexistence with the Other - whoever that other may be – is more widely cultivated in the subject.

D 12 September 2012    AStavros Fotiou

Elementary schools and secondary education

With regard to elementary schools and secondary education, there are no schools controlled and/or operated by the Church of Cyprus (or other religious groups). In addition to the public schools (...)

With regard to elementary schools and secondary education, there are no schools controlled and/or operated by the Church of Cyprus (or other religious groups). In addition to the public schools (operated by the Republic of Cyprus) there are several private schools in the island, as well as a few English language schools (some of which have a long history since they were founded during the period of British colonialism).

April 2013

D 4 April 2013    AVictor Roudometof

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2022 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Chypre > Religion et société > Ecole et religion

Ecole et religion

L’enseignement religieux à Chypre

L’Eglise orthodoxe de Chypre est vieille d’environ deux mille ans (46 av. J. C.). Sa présence se ressent dans tous les aspects de la vie locale et son histoire est inextricablement liée à celle de (...)

L’Eglise orthodoxe de Chypre est vieille d’environ deux mille ans (46 av. J. C.). Sa présence se ressent dans tous les aspects de la vie locale et son histoire est inextricablement liée à celle de l’île. La grande majorité de la population chypriote est de confession orthodoxe.

L’éducation religieuse fait partie du système éducatif national de la République de Chypre. Comme l’énonce le Curriculum (édition révisée de 1996), l’enseignement de cette matière vise plusieurs objectifs. Ceux-ci incluent "la compréhension de la révélation de Dieu comme réponse aux questions fondamentales sur l’existence humaine", "la connaissance de la personne de Jésus Christ, de son enseignement et de ses actions" ainsi que "la compréhension des us et des coutumes du pays en relation avec la foi orthodoxe". D’autres objectifs sont également avancés comme "l’apprentissage des éléments essentiels de diverses confessions et religions" ainsi que le développement du respect pour les croyances religieuses des autres peuples.

La matière est enseignée dans toutes les classes et à tous les niveaux scolaires (primaire et secondaires, c’est-à-dire au Gymnasio et au Lykeio) à raison de deux heures de cours, à l’exception du second niveau du Lykeio où le cours dure une heure et demie. L’enseignement suit les directives du programme établi par le Ministère de l’éducation et de la culture. Des manuels scolaires existent pour chaque niveau scolaire. Le matériel pédagogique des premier et second niveaux de l’école primaire est édité par le Ministère de l’éducation et de la culture, le matériel employé dans les autres autres niveaux scolaires est celui utilisé dans l’enseignement public grec. Le Ministère de l’éducation et de la culture a également édité des manuels scolaires complémentaires qui contribuent à l’enseignement de la religion.

Dans les écoles primaires, l’enseignement religieux est délivré par des enseignants diplômés de l’université et dans l’enseignement secondaire (Gymnasio et Lykeio) il est délivré par des théologiens diplômés de l’université. C’est une matière obligatoire. Les élèves ne peuvent en être dispensés que si leurs parents en font la demande en bonne et due forme et si celle-ci a été acceptée par l’autorité concernée.

Récemment, on a observé à Chypre une augmentation du nombre de personnes de confession autre que la religion grecque orthodoxe. La structure de l’enseignement religieux est en train d’être modifiée en conséquence. Les chapitres traitant des autres confessions ont déjà été multipliés ou développés dans les nouveaux supports pédagogiques et dans les manuels destinés aux écoles primaires. Le manuel du second niveau du Lykeio traite exclusivement des principales religions. L’esprit de connaissance, de respect et de cohabitation avec autrui, quel qu’il soit, est évidemment largement cultivé dans l’enseignement de cette matière.

12 septembre 2012

Enseignement primaire et secondaire

Aucune école primaire ou secondaire n’est contrôlée et/ou gérée par l’Église de Chypre, ni par d’autres groupes religieux. Outre les écoles publiques gérées par la République de Chypre, plusieurs écoles (...)

Aucune école primaire ou secondaire n’est contrôlée et/ou gérée par l’Église de Chypre, ni par d’autres groupes religieux. Outre les écoles publiques gérées par la République de Chypre, plusieurs écoles privées sont présentes sur l’île, de même que quelques écoles anglaises dont certaines ont une longue tradition puisque leur création remonte à la période du colonialisme britannique.

Avril 2013
4 avril 2013