eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Social and religious data » Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Religious opinions, beliefs and attitudes

Results from the 2008 wave of the European Values Study in Cyprus

The European Values Study (hence, EVS), 2008 cycle, includes a number of questions about religion. Cyprus participated to the study with a sample of 1000 people. The results of the study can give (...)

The European Values Study (hence, EVS), 2008 cycle, includes a number of questions about religion. Cyprus participated to the study with a sample of 1000 people. The results of the study can give an insight to the attitudes of the people towards religion and religious organisations. Around 96% of the total sample said that they were Christian Orthodox ("which religious denomination do you belong to?", question Q23a), a very high percentage compared to the census results. This probably shows that people of other denominations may be under-represented in the sample. This is something that should be taken into account when analysing the results of the study.

One of the EVS questions is "How important is religion in your life?" (question Q1F). The responses of the Cypriot sample (shown below) suggest that religion is very important or quite important for around 93.1% of the respondents.

How important in your life: religion (Q1F)

FrequencyValid percentCumulative percent
very important 631 63.1% 63.1
quite important 300 30.0% 93.1
not important 58 5.8% 98.9
not at all important 11 1.1% 100

The responses of Cypriots to another question ("do you belong to a religious organisation?", question Q5aB) showed that around 5.5% of the population belongs to a religious organisation. However, only 3.7% of the respondents said that they had offered unpaid work for a religious organisation "do you work unpaid for a religious organisation?", question Q5bB).

Regarding to the attitudes of the Cypriots against other faiths, it is interesting to mention that 35.1% of all the respondents said that they don’t like having Muslims as neighbours (question Q6H). The corresponding percentages for Jews (question Q6M) and Christians (question Q6O) are 24.5% and 0%.

It is also interesting to mention that 91.1% of the whole sample said that they are religious persons (Q28) and 95.8% said that they believe in God.

D 12 September 2012    AIasonas Lamprianou

2008 update

In 2008, the ISSP included Cyprus for a second time. According to the 2008 ISSP results published in the newspaper Simerini (22 November 2009), 59% of the public believes in God without (...)

In 2008, the ISSP included Cyprus for a second time. According to the 2008 ISSP results published in the newspaper Simerini (22 November 2009), 59% of the public believes in God without reservations. Only 5% are atheists or agnostics. Belief in God is higher among women than men. 31% feel excessively religious and 36% somewhat religious, with only 7% self-identified as non-religious. 64% believe in life after death (down from 75% in 1998). 75% believe in miracles, 57% believe in Hell and 60% believe in Heaven.

D 12 September 2012    AVictor Roudometof

Religious opinions in 1998

Based on the 1998 ISSP survey, the profile of the population in the Republic of Cyprus is as follows. The overwhelming majority (98% approximately) are Greek Orthodox Christians, who follow their (...)

Based on the 1998 ISSP survey, the profile of the population in the Republic of Cyprus is as follows. The overwhelming majority (98% approximately) are Greek Orthodox Christians, who follow their parents’ religion and have a nearly negligible rate of intermarriage with people of other denominations and rites.

In general, Cypriots showed confidence to the Church and religious organizations. In the 1998 ISSP survey, only a minority of the public (24.8%) expressed very little or no confidence to Churches or religious organizations. However, a considerable segment of the public (32.4%) expressed only some confidence, while those expressing complete confidence amounted to only 13.4%. The overwhelming majority of Cypriots (82.4%) also felt that religious leaders should not attempt to influence government decision-making. However, the public also appeared to reject the view that Cyprus would be better off if religion was less influential. Only 31.8% of the public expressed strong or mild endorsement of this view. But the majority of the public did not endorse strongly either side and only small minorities advocated strong views (that is, 7.3% strongly agreed and 8.2% strongly disagreed with the statement).

Given the history of ethnic conflict in the island it is not surprising that 60.9% of Cypriots agreed that religions bring more conflict than peace in the world – with a mere 1.9% expressing strong disagreement with such a statement. In contrast, the public was divided with regard to whether strong religious beliefs lead to intolerance toward others. While 43.2% of the public agreed that this is so, 31.3% expressed their strong or mild disagreement with such a view and 25.6% remained neutral.

The 1998 ISSP offered the opportunity to evaluate the different expressions of individual religiosity. See the table below.

TABLE 1. Extent of belief in God

QUESTION 19:Please indicate which statement below comes closest to expressing what you believe about God REPONSES (%)
I don’t believe in God 1.6
I don’t know whether there is a God and I don’t believe there is any way to find out 2.8
I don’t believe in a personal God, but I do believe in a Higher Power of some kind 5.1
I find myself believing in God some of the time, but not at others 5.7
While I have doubts, I feel that I do believe in God 17.8
I know God really exists and I have no doubts about it 65

Source: ISSP: Religion II (1998).

From the data, it is observed that while small minorities of atheists (1.6%), agnostics (2.8%) and people with a general spiritual orientation (5.1%) exist, the strong majority (83.8%) declared they believe in God. When probed deeper, the overwhelming majority (92.9%) declared that they believe in God now and always had, thereby suggesting the absence of strong shifts on religiosity in the course of their lives. The overwhelming majority (85.5%) also explicitly denied the existence of a turning point in their lives, which might have led to a renewed personal commitment to God.

While 22.3% reported they prayed on a daily basis, others prayed at least once a week (9.9%), weekly or at least several times per month (22.9%), once a month to several times per year (22.1%), about once or twice per year or even less than that (12%) and lastly, there were those who never did so (10.8%). But while individuals prayed regularly, their participation in church activities (other than attending services) was low with 63.7% of the respondents in the 1998 ISSP survey never doing so and only 0.8% attending such activities nearly every week or more frequently.

The majority also considered themselves to be somewhat religious (47.0%) or very religious (29.3%) with only a minority (4.4%) admitting to being very religious. In contrast, only 4% declared itself to be non-religious. Furthermore, a reported 46% of the public considered that basic truths exist in many religions while 49% expressed the view that truth exists only in one religion. A mere 5% expressed the view that there is very little truth in any religion. The majority of the public also believed in life after death, with only 19.8% expressing definite or possible doubts over the existence of afterlife.

D 12 September 2012   

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2019 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Chypre > Données socio-religieuses > Opinions et croyances religieuses

Opinions et croyances religieuses

Résultats de l’enquête 2008 de l’European Values Study à Chypre

L’enquête 2008 de l’European Values Study comporte plusieurs questions relatives à la religion. Chypre a participé à l’enquête avec un échantillon 1 000 personnes. Les résultats donnent un aperçu de (...)

L’enquête 2008 de l’European Values Study comporte plusieurs questions relatives à la religion. Chypre a participé à l’enquête avec un échantillon 1 000 personnes. Les résultats donnent un aperçu de l’attitude des Chypriotes envers la religion et les organisations religieuses. Environ 96% des personnes de l’échantillon déclarent qu’elles sont chrétiennes orthodoxes ("A quelle confession religieuse appartenez-vous ?", question Q23a). Ce pourcentage est très important en comparaison des données du recensement, ce qui indique que les membres des autres confessions sont probablement sous-représentés dans l’échantillon, information dont il faudra tenir compte pour analyser les résultats de l’enquête.

Les réponses à la question "Quelle importance a la religion dans votre vie ?" (question Q1F) suggèrent que la religion est très ou assez importante pour environ 93,1% des répondants.

Quelle importance a la religion dans votre vie (Q1F)

FrequencePourcentage validePourcentage cumulé
très importante 631 63.1% 63.1
assez importante 300 30.0% 93.1
pas importante 58 5.8% 98.9
pas du tout importante 11 1.1% 100

Les réponses des Chypriotes à la question "Appartenez-vous à une organisation religieuse ?" (question Q5aB) montrent qu’environ 5,5% de la population appartiennent à une telle organisation. Toutefois, seulement 3,7% des répondants ont déclaré avoir travaillé bénévolement pour une organisation religieuse ("Avez-vous travaillé bénévolement pour une organisation religieuse ?", question Q5bB).

En ce qui concerne l’attitude des Chypriotes envers les autres religions, il est intéressant de noter que 35,1% des répondants déclarent ne pas aimer avoir des voisins musulmans (question Q6H). Les pourcentages correspondants pour les juifs (question Q6M) et les chrétiens (question Q6O) sont respectivement de 24,5% et 0%.

Il nous faut aussi mentionner que 91,1% des personnes interrogées déclarent être des personnes religieuses (Q28) et 95,8% déclarent croire en Dieu.

12 septembre 2012

Nouvelles données en 2008

Chypre a été à nouveau pris en compte dans l’enquête ISSP de 2008. D’après les résultats qui ont été publiés dans le journal Simerini (22 novembre 2009), 59% des personnes interrogées croient en dieu sans (...)

Chypre a été à nouveau pris en compte dans l’enquête ISSP de 2008. D’après les résultats qui ont été publiés dans le journal Simerini (22 novembre 2009), 59% des personnes interrogées croient en dieu sans réserve. Seulement 5% se déclarent athées ou agnostiques. La croyance en dieu est plus élevée chez les femmes. 31% des sondés s’estiment très religieux, 36% assez religieux et seulement 7% s’identifient comme non religieux. 64% des personnes croient à une vie après la mort (elles étaient 75% en 1998). 75% croient aux miracles, 57% à l’enfer et 60% au paradis.

12 septembre 2012

Opinions religieuses en 1998

D’après le sondage réalisé en 1998 par l’ISSP, le profil de la population de la République de Chypre est le suivant : l’écrasante majorité de la population (environ 98%) est composée de chrétiens grecs (...)

D’après le sondage réalisé en 1998 par l’ISSP, le profil de la population de la République de Chypre est le suivant : l’écrasante majorité de la population (environ 98%) est composée de chrétiens grecs orthodoxes qui suivent la religion de leurs parents et qui ne se marient que très peu avec des personnes d’autres confessions et d’autres rites.

En général, les Chypriotes font confiance à l’Eglise et aux organisations religieuses. Lors de l’enquête menée par l’ISSP en 1998, seule une minorité de la population (24,8%) a déclaré avoir peu ou pas confiance dans l’Eglise ou les organisations religieuses. Cependant, une partie considérable de la population (32,4%) a déclaré avoir une certaine confiance et ceux qui ont exprimé une confiance totale ne représentaient que 13,4% de la population. La grande majorité des Chypriotes (82,4%) a également émis l’opinion que les dirigeants religieux ne devraient pas essayer d’influencer les prises de décision du gouvernement. Toutefois, le public a aussi semblé rejeter l’idée que Chypre serait mieux gouvernée si la religion avait moins d’influence. Seulement 31,8% des personnes interrogées ont fortement ou modérément approuvé cette opinion. La majorité du public n’a pas adhéré complètement à l’une ou l’autre opinion et seules des minorités ont défendu des opinions fermes (7,3% étaient tout à fait d’accord et 8,2% n’étaient pas du tout d’accord avec l’assertion).

Compte tenu de l’histoire des conflits ethniques dans l’île, il n’est pas surprenant que 60,9% des Chypriotes aient approuvé l’idée que les religions génèrent plus de conflits qu’elles n’apportent la paix dans le monde (seulement 1,9% de la population n’était pas du tout d’accord avec cette assertion). Au contraire, le public était divisé quant à l’opinion que de fortes croyances religieuses conduisent à l’intolérance envers autrui. Alors que 43,2 % du public étaient d’accord avec cette assertion, 31,3% ont exprimé un désaccord fort ou modéré et 25,6 % n’ont pas émis d’opinion.

L’enquête ISSP de 1998 a permis d’évaluer la religiosité des individus. Voir le tableau ci-dessous.

TABLE 1. Importance de la croyance en Dieu

QUESTION 19 :REPONSES (%)
Je ne crois pas en Dieu 1.6
Je ne sais pas s’il existe un Dieu et je ne pense pas qu’il soit possible de le savoir 2.8
Je ne crois pas en un Dieu personnel, mais je crois en l’existence d’une Puissance Supérieure 5.1
Il m’arrive de croire en Dieu de temps à autre seulement 5.7
Malgré mes doutes, je crois en Dieu 17.8
Je sais que Dieu existe vraiment et cela ne fait aucun doute pour moi 65

Source : ISSP : Religion II (1998).

D’après ces données, malgré l’existence d’une petite minorité d’athées (1,6%), d’agnostiques (2,8%) et de personnes ayant une orientation spirituelle générale (5,1%), la grande majorité (83,8%) de la population a déclaré croire en Dieu. A partir d’un questionnaire plus détaillé, une majorité écrasante (92,9%) a déclaré avoir toujours cru en Dieu, ce qui suggère l’absence d’importants changements dans leur foi au cours de leur vie. Une grande majorité de répondants (85,5 %) a également nié de façon explicite l’existence d’un tournant dans leur vie qui aurait entraîné un renouveau dans leur dévotion personnelle envers Dieu.

Alors que 22,3% ont déclaré prier tous les jours, d’autres ont déclaré prier au moins une fois par semaine (9,9%), toutes les semaines ou plusieurs fois par mois (22,9%), une fois par mois ou plusieurs fois par an (22,1%), environ une à deux fois par an ou moins (12%) et enfin, ne jamais prier (10,8%). Cependant, alors que les Chypriotes ont affirmé prier régulièrement, leur taux de participation aux activités de l’Eglise (hormis leur présence aux services religieux) était faible, avec un absentéisme à la messe de 63,7% pour les répondants de l’enquête ISSP de 1998 et une présence hebdomadaire ou plus fréquente à ces activités de seulement 0,8% environ.

La majorité des personnes interrogées s’est déclarée comme étant relativement religieuse (47%) ou très religieuse (29,3%) et une minorité (4,4%) a déclaré être extrêmement religieuse. Par ailleurs, seulement 4% des répondants ont déclaré ne pas être religieux. D’autre part, 46% d’entre eux considèrent qu’il existe des vérités fondamentales dans de nombreuses religions alors que 49% ont déclaré que la vérité n’existe que dans une seule religion. Seulement 5% ont déclaré qu’aucune religion n’apporte de vérité essentielle. La majorité de l’opinion croit également en une vie après la mort et seulement 19,8% ont exprimé avoir beaucoup ou quelques doutes quant à l’existence d’une vie après la mort.

12 septembre 2012