eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Social and religious data » Religious geography

Religious geography

Two religiously homogeneous regions

In 1960 the Republic of Cyprus was constituted as an independent state, albeit under the protection of its former colonial power Great Britain, and Greece and Turkey, these two states representing the motherlands of the island’s two main ethno-confessional groups (Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots) (for details, see this website’s history section). Greek Cypriots constituted 74% of the population and Turkish Cypriots 18%. Maronite Christians, Armenians and Roman Catholics were the rest of the minority groups. Greek and Turkish Cypriots were dispersed throughout the island. The republic’s political life was tumultuous, with inter-communal violence between the Greek Cypriot majority and the Turkish Cypriot minority erupting in 1963-64. Subsequently, UN forces came to the island; the Turkish Cypriots remained barricaded into various ethnic enclaves.

After 1963, the Turkish Cypriot minority representatives no longer participated in the government and the two communities embarked into a series of inter-communal negotiations in order to resolve the situation. However, in 1974, Greek Cypriot ultra-nationalists – with the support of Greece’s military dictatorship (1967-74) and the Greek military regiment present in Cyprus – succeeded in overthrowing the Republic’s elected President Archbishop Makarios. Fearful that the new regime would attempt to unite Cyprus with Greece, Turkey used the clauses of the 1960 agreements to militarily intervene and in two successive rounds of military actions it occupied some 38% of the island. On this occasion, major population movements took place: Turkish Cypriots fled North (in the areas under Turkish military control) while Greek Cypriots fled South (in the areas outside of Turkish military control). The end result of the invasion was to “ethnically cleanse” a previously ethnically and religious heterogeneous island.

Two religiously homogeneous regions – the North and the South – were subsequently constructed. In the South, the Republic of Cyprus kept the Greek Cypriot population: it is overwhelmingly Eastern Orthodox (see the religious statistics reported in this web site). It remains to this day the only internationally recognized state on the island (and an EU member since 2004). The North became the de facto homeland of Turkish Cypriots and numerous Turkish immigrants. It was unilaterally declared in 1983 as the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) but this has not been internationally recognized (except by Turkey).

The TRNC’s population is overwhelmingly Muslim.
The information provided on this website concerns the post-1974 Republic of Cyprus, which is the internationally recognized state on the island.

D 12 September 2012    AVictor Roudometof

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe et au-delà

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Chypre > Données socio-religieuses > Géographie religieuse

GĂ©ographie religieuse

Deux régions religieuses homogènes

En 1960, Chypre devint une RĂ©publique indĂ©pendante, mais sous la protection de son ancienne puissance coloniale la Grande-Bretagne, de la Grèce et de la Turquie, ces deux dernières reprĂ©sentant les patries des deux principaux groupes ethno-confessionnels de l’Ă®le (les Chypriotes grecs et les Chypriotes turcs - pour plus de dĂ©tails, voir le chapitre histoire). Les Chypriotes grecs reprĂ©sentaient 74% de la population et les Chypriotes turcs 18%. Les chrĂ©tiens maronites, armĂ©niens et les catholiques romains composaient le reste des groupes minoritaires. Les Chypriotes grecs et turcs Ă©taient dispersĂ©s sur toute l’Ă®le. La vie politique de la rĂ©publique Ă©tait tumultueuse, des violences intercommunautaires entre la majoritĂ© chypriote grecque et la minoritĂ© chypriote turque s’Ă©tant dĂ©clarĂ©es en 1963-64. Par la suite, les forces de l’ONU arrivèrent sur l’Ă®le ; les Chypriotes turcs restèrent barricadĂ©s dans diverses enclaves ethniques.

Après 1963, les reprĂ©sentants de la minoritĂ© chypriote turque ont cessĂ© de participer au gouvernement et les deux communautĂ©s se sont lancĂ©es dans une sĂ©rie de nĂ©gociations intercommunautaires en vue de rĂ©soudre la situation. Cependant, en 1974, les Chypriotes grecs ultra-nationalistes - avec le soutien de la dictature militaire en Grèce (1967-1974) et du rĂ©giment militaire grec prĂ©sent Ă  Chypre - ont rĂ©ussi Ă  renverser le prĂ©sident de la RĂ©publique Monseigneur Makarios. Craignant que le nouveau rĂ©gime ne tente d’unifier Chypre avec la Grèce, la Turquie a invoquĂ© les clauses des accords de 1960 pour intervenir militairement et a occupĂ© environ 38% de l’Ă®le après deux actions militaires successives. A cette occasion, d’importants mouvements de population ont eu lieu : les Chypriotes turcs se sont enfuis au Nord (dans les zones sous contrĂ´le militaire turc), tandis que les Chypriotes grecs ont fui au Sud (dans les zones situĂ©es en dehors du contrĂ´le militaire turc). Le rĂ©sultat final de l’invasion fut le "nettoyage ethnique" d’une Ă®le prĂ©alablement hĂ©tĂ©rogène d’un point de vue ethnique et religieux.

Deux rĂ©gions religieusement homogènes - le Nord et le Sud - ont ensuite Ă©tĂ© crĂ©Ă©es. Dans le Sud, la RĂ©publique de Chypre a gardĂ© la population chypriote grecque : elle est majoritairement orthodoxe orientale (voir les statistiques religieuses). Elle reste Ă  ce jour le seul État internationalement reconnu sur l’Ă®le (et membre de l’UE depuis 2004). Le Nord est devenu la patrie de facto des Chypriotes turcs et de nombreux immigrĂ©s turcs. Il a Ă©tĂ© dĂ©clarĂ© unilatĂ©ralement en 1983 RĂ©publique turque de Chypre du Nord (RTCN), mais cela n’a pas Ă©tĂ© reconnu sur le plan international (Ă  l’exception de la Turquie).

La population de la RTCN est majoritairement musulmane. Les informations fournies sur ce site concernent la RĂ©publique de Chypre après 1974, qui est l’État internationalement reconnu sur l’Ă®le.

12 septembre 2012