eurel     Sociological and legal data on religions in Europe and beyond
You are here : Home » Cyprus » Historical highlights » Historical survey

Historical survey

Religious history: The Church of Cyprus during the Ottoman period

After the Ottoman conquest (1570), the prelates of the Church of Cyprus ―the Archbishop and the Bishops of Paphos, Kition and Kyrenia― received important privileges from the Sultan, resulting in (...)

After the Ottoman conquest (1570), the prelates of the Church of Cyprus ―the Archbishop and the Bishops of Paphos, Kition and Kyrenia― received important privileges from the Sultan, resulting in their acquiring of significant power, both spiritual and political/economic, over their flock. However, due to heavy Catholic influence it had received during the Frankish and Venetian periods, in the first century after the Ottoman conquest the Church of Cyprus attempted in several occasions to come into contact with European rulers, most importantly the King of Spain and the Duke of Savoy, in order to expel the Ottomans and reinstall the domination of a Catholic Christian power over the island.

These contacts continued until around 1660, when the Ottoman state, in an attempt to curb the abuse of authority from the part of the governors of the island, upgraded the role of the prelates of the Church of Cyprus in local administration, allowing them an important role in the allocation and collection of taxes in the province. This development, together with their failure to procure western aid for the liberation of the island, signalled the end of the western relations of the Church of Cyprus and secured the loyalty of its prelates to the Sultan, who perceived them as high-level functionaries and appointed them to their thrones through an imperial document (berat).

An important development occurred in 1754, when the prelates of the Church of Cyprus were officially recognized by the Ottoman state as kodjabashis, that is, leaders and guardians of the Orthodox Christians, acquiring the right to represent the people of the island and to present petitions to the Sublime Porte independently from the local Ottoman governor. This new status triggered a period of increasing political and economic power for the Church of Cyprus rivalling that of the local Ottoman governor, and in fact it was perceived by many that the Archbishop was, to all intents and purposes, the real ruler of the island.

Due to its new position, the Church of Cyprus reached the zenith of its power in the second half of the 18th and the first decades of the 19th century, a period, which is also characterized by a cultural regeneration, reflected in the founding of schools, the funding of the publication of books and the creation of a new ideology, which gave prominent emphasis on education and learning.

The struggle for power between the Church of Cyprus and the local Ottoman authorities came to a head in the summer of 1821, when the Ottoman governor, using as a pretext the revolution which had just erupted in Greece, executed Archbishop Kyprianos I, together with the three Bishops ―alongside a host of other clerics and prominent men― replacing them with puppet Bishops appointed by himself, in an attempt to reassert the authority of the local administration over the Church.

The Church of Cyprus quickly recovered from this blow and was assigned a new prominent role in the Ottoman reforms, which followed the Imperial Prescript of 1839. Although it lost its dominant role in the imposition and collection of taxes, the appointment of the Archbishop and Bishops as ex officio members of the Councils created by the reforms institutionally incorporated the Church of Cyprus into the Ottoman administration. Through this development, the prelates were officially and institutionally recognized by the Ottoman authorities as the leaders of the Orthodox Christians of the island, a fact which would acquire exceptional significance in the following decades.

D 12 September 2012    AHarris Stavridis

The Church of Cyprus (1878-1977)

With the change of 1878, in which the British took over from the Ottomans the administration of the island, the Church assumed the role of leaders and spokesmen of the Orthodox Christians of (...)

With the change of 1878, in which the British took over from the Ottomans the administration of the island, the Church assumed the role of leaders and spokesmen of the Orthodox Christians of Cyprus. During the first years after the British occupation, the prelates of the Church of Cyprus cooperated closely with the new administration in order to protect the political and financial privileges they had acquired during the Ottoman period and to put forward demands of their Orthodox flock, most prominent among which was the demand for Enosis, [union (with Greece)], which had been gaining momentum in the island ever since the creation of the Greek state in the 1830s. Through this cooperation, the Church of Cyprus assumed a political role, and several prelates were elected by the people to the Legislative Council created by the new administration.

During the 19th century two ideological tendencies were gradually formed, a traditionalist one, carrying the ideology of the Patriarchate of Constantinople and attempting to preserve the traditional authority of the Church, and a nationalist one, which was a carrier of the irredentist national ideology of the Greek state. The conflict between these two ideologies came to a head in the Archiepiscopal Question of 1900-1910, when two factions led by the Bishop of Kyrenia, representing the traditionalists, and the Bishop of Kition, representing the nationalists, struggled for the Archiepiscopal Throne.

The domination of the latter faction led the Church of Cyprus to an increasingly vocal demand for Enosis, (union with Greece) during the 1910s and 1920s, which created conflict with the British Government of the island. The latent conflict became a crisis in 1931 when, after a spontaneous revolt, the Colonial Government exiled the Bishops of Kition and Kyrenia, who had sparked the events with their actions. With the death of Archbishop Kyrillos III in 1933, the absence of the two Bishops, as well as the actions of the British Government, prevented the election of a successor, thus weakening significantly the Church of Cyprus, which was left with only one Bishop in the island, Leontios, Bishop of Paphos, who held the Archiepiscopal See for fourteen years as Locum Tenens (1933-1947). After World War II, during which the Church of Cyprus appeared to be loyal to the struggle against Fascism, the Holy Synod of the Church was reinstated and a new Archbishop was elected.

With the end of the Civil War in Greece, during which the Church suspended pro-Enosis activities, so as not to embarrass the embattled Greek Government to its British allies, the demand for Enosis started to be expressed ever more forcefully. Soon after his election in 1950, the new Archbishop Makarios III led the Greek Cypriots to a fervent pursuit of Enosis, taking the cause to the General Assembly of the United Nations and, finally, organizing an armed struggle in order to achieve it.

After the creation of the Republic of Cyprus (1960), Makarios III was elected as the first President of Republic with the overwhelming support of the public. This was the result of the prestige acquired by the Archbishop during the previous decade, as well as the leading political role of the Church among the Orthodox of the island in the previous centuries. Makarios held the office of President until his death in 1977. His tenure, characterized by constant political turmoil and inter-communal strife, enhanced the prestige of the Church and confirmed its ethnarchic (i.e. nation-leading) role among the Greek Cypriots.

D 12 September 2012    AHarris Stavridis

CNRS Unistra Dres Gsrl

Follow us:
© 2002-2020 eurel - Contact

eurel

Données sociologiques et juridiques sur la religion en Europe

Tweeter Rss

Accueil > Chypre > Repères historiques > Parcours historique

Parcours historique

Histoire religieuse : l’Eglise de Chypre pendant la période ottomane

Après la conquête ottomane (1570), les prélats de l’Eglise de Chypre - l’archevêque et les évêques de Paphos, Kition et Kyrénia - reçurent d’importants privilèges du sultan, ce qui eut pour conséquence de (...)

Après la conquête ottomane (1570), les prélats de l’Eglise de Chypre - l’archevêque et les évêques de Paphos, Kition et Kyrénia - reçurent d’importants privilèges du sultan, ce qui eut pour conséquence de leur faire acquérir un pouvoir considérable, à la fois spirituel et politico-économique, sur leurs ouailles. Toutefois, du fait de la forte influence catholique qu’elle a reçue durant les périodes franque et vénitienne, au cours du premier siècle suivant la conquête ottomane, l’Eglise de Chypre tenta à plusieurs reprises d’entrer en contact avec les souverains européens, et plus particulièrement avec le roi d’Espagne et le Duc de Savoie, afin de chasser les Ottomans et de rétablir la domination d’un pouvoir catholique chrétien sur l’île.

Ces contacts se sont poursuivis jusqu’en 1660 environ, lorsque l’Etat ottoman, pour tenter de restreindre les abus d’autorité exercés par les gouverneurs de l’île, revalorisa le rôle des prélats de l’Eglise de Chypre dans l’administration locale, leur accordant ainsi une fonction majeure dans la répartition et la collecte des impôts dans la province. Cette évolution, combinée à l’incapacité des prélats à obtenir un soutien de l’Occident pour la libération de l’île, marqua la fin des relations de l’Eglise de Chypre avec l’Occident et assura la loyauté de ses prélats au sultan, qui les considérait comme des hauts fonctionnaires et les nommait à leurs fonctions par le biais d’un document impérial (berat).

1754 vit se produire une évolution notable : les prélats de l’Eglise de Chypre furent officiellement reconnus par l’état ottoman comme kodjabashis, c’est-à-dire comme dirigeants et gardiens des chrétiens orthodoxes, et acquirent ainsi le droit de représenter le peuple de l’île et de soumettre des requêtes à la Sublime Porte, en toute indépendance du gouverneur ottoman local. Ce nouveau statut donna naissance à une période de croissance du pouvoir politique et économique de l’Eglise de Chypre, qui rivalisait avec celui du gouverneur ottoman local. En réalité, le sentiment général était que l’archevêque était pratiquement le véritable dirigeant de l’île.

Du fait de sa nouvelle position, l’Eglise de Chypre atteint l’apogée de son pouvoir durant la deuxième moitié du 18e s. et les premières décennies du 19e s., une période qui fut également caractérisée par une renaissance culturelle, qui se refléta dans la création d’écoles, le financement de la publication de livres et l’avènement d’une nouvelle idéologie, qui faisait la part belle à l’éducation et à l’apprentissage.

La lutte pour le pouvoir qui opposa l’Eglise de Chypre aux autorités ottomanes locales atteint des sommets durant l’été 1821, lorsque le gouverneur ottoman utilisa comme prétexte la révolution qui venait d’éclater en Grèce pour exécuter l’archevêque Kyprianos I, ainsi que les trois évêques - et un grand nombre d’autres ecclésiastiques et de personnages éminents - et les remplacer par des évêques fantoches, nommés par lui, dans l’espoir de réaffirmer l’autorité de l’administration locale sur l’Eglise.

L’Eglise de Chypre se remit rapidement de ce coup et un nouveau rôle important lui fut attribué lors des réformes ottomanes, qui suivirent l’Ordonnance impériale de 1839. Bien que l’Eglise perdit son rôle majeur dans la mise en place et la collecte des impôts, la nomination de l’archevêque et des évêques aux postes de membres ex officio des Conseils issus des réformes eut pour effet d’intégrer de façon institutionnelle l’Eglise de Chypre à l’administration ottomane. Cette évolution permit aux prélats d’être officiellement et institutionnellement reconnus par les autorités ottomanes comme dirigeants des chrétiens orthodoxes de l’île, un fait qui acquerra une importance exceptionnelle durant les décennies suivantes.

12 septembre 2012

L’Eglise de Chypre (1878-1977)

Avec les changements survenus en 1878, lorsque les Britanniques prirent le relais des Ottomans pour l’administration de l’île, l’Eglise assuma les fonctions de dirigeant et de porte-parole des (...)

Avec les changements survenus en 1878, lorsque les Britanniques prirent le relais des Ottomans pour l’administration de l’île, l’Eglise assuma les fonctions de dirigeant et de porte-parole des chrétiens orthodoxes de Chypre. Au cours des premières années d’occupation britannique, les prélats de l’Eglise de Chypre coopérèrent étroitement avec la nouvelle administration afin de protéger les privilèges politiques et financiers acquis durant la période ottomane et de présenter les exigences de leurs ouailles orthodoxes, la plus importante d’entre elles étant la demande d’union avec la Grèce (Enosis), qui avait gagné du terrain dans l’île depuis la création de l’Etat grec dans les années 1830. Grâce à cette coopération, l’Eglise de Chypre endossa un rôle politique, et plusieurs prélats furent élus par le peuple au Conseil Législatif créé par la nouvelle administration.

Durant le 19e s., deux tendances idéologiques virent progressivement le jour : une tendance traditionaliste, écho de l’idéologie du Patriarche de Constantinople et tentant de préserver l’autorité traditionnelle de l’Eglise, et une tendance nationaliste, qui transmettait l’idéologie nationale irrédentiste grecque. Le conflit entre ces deux idéologies atteint son apogée lors de la Question archiépiscopale de 1900-1910, lorsque deux factions menées par l’évêque de Kyrénia, représentant les traditionalistes, et l’évêque de Kition, représentant les nationalistes, se livrèrent une lutte sans merci pour le trône archiépiscopal.

La domination de cette dernière faction mena l’Eglise de Chypre à réclamer l’Enosis (union avec la Grèce) de façon de plus en plus pressante durant les années 1910 et 1920, ce qui provoqua un conflit avec le gouvernement britannique de l’île. Le conflit latent se mua en une véritable crise en 1931 lorsque, après une révolte spontanée, le gouvernement colonial exila les évêques de Kition et Kyrénia dont les actions avaient déclenché ces événements. A la mort de l’archevêque Kyrillos III en 1933, l’absence des deux évêques ainsi que les actions du gouvernement britannique empêchèrent l’élection d’un successeur, affaiblissant ainsi grandement l’Eglise de Chypre, qui n’avait plus qu’un évêque sur l’île, Leontios, évêque de Paphos, qui occupa le siège épiscopal pendant quatorze ans en tant que Locum Tenens (1933-1947). Après la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, durant laquelle l’Eglise de Chypre sembla rester loyale à la lutte contre le fascisme, le Saint Synode de l’Eglise fut réinstauré et un nouvel archevêque fut élu.

Durant la guerre civile en Grèce, l’Eglise suspendit ses activités pro-Enosis, afin de ne pas embarrasser le gouvernement grec en difficulté vis-à-vis de ses alliés britanniques. Mais dès la fin du conflit, les revendications concernant l’Enosis reprirent de plus belle. Peu après son élection en 1950, le nouvel archevêque Makarios III mena les Chypriotes grecs dans une quête fervente de l’Enosis, présentant leur cause devant l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies, et organisant, finalement, une lutte armée pour obtenir gain de cause.

Après la création de la République de Chypre (1960), Makarios III fut élu premier président de la République grâce au soutien enthousiaste de la population. Ce fut le résultat du prestige acquis par l’archevêque durant la décennie précédente, et du rôle politique majeur de l’Eglise parmi les orthodoxes de l’île au cours des siècles précédents. Makarios remplit les fonctions de président jusqu’à sa mort en 1977. Son mandat, caractérisé par une constante agitation politique et des conflits intercommunautaires, accrut le prestige de l’Eglise et confirma son rôle de leader national parmi les Chypriotes grecs.

12 septembre 2012